[Release] NotePad++

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Zety
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by Zety » Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:22 pm

Hello,

I'm wondering : am I the only one getting A5739DD22FEBCC842D576D9986FC673C for the Kels_NotePad++_v4.3_addon_replacer2.cab's MD5 instead of 3D866013ED821C8F029F7114797663AB as said on the first post ?

I downloaded it twice and got the same MD5 each time.

Just wanna know if I should be getting to the bed early or not ;o)

User avatar
TripleA
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:38 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Post by TripleA » Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:03 pm

I get A5739DD22FEBCC842D576D9986FC673C as well. Kel likely forgot to update the MD5 in the first post: it is unlikely that a corrupt archive would extract without errors.

Well, either that or he uploaded the wrong archive. But I'm an optimist...

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:32 am

2 Kel
May be you forgot add in .ini:
[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\Note.inf

ps: 4.4 is out

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:10 pm

is maybe the same problem (missing [i386_compress] entry) present in your WinSCP addon as well??

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:23 pm

2newsposter
no, in WinSCP addon WinSCP.in_ is compressed, not WinSCP.inf

benjamminzIS
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:07 am

Post by benjamminzIS » Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:33 pm

links are broken for me...
_coming soon, don't hold your breath

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:42 pm

Updated links and addon.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:51 am

Updated again.

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Sun Oct 28, 2007 7:46 pm

thanks again Kel! :D

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Oct 29, 2007 8:31 pm

thanks

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Wed Oct 31, 2007 7:30 pm

Kels_NotePad++_v4.5_addon_replacer_Build2.cab
"build2"?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:22 pm

Yeah I had to fix a litlle issue with it.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:25 pm

4.6 is up

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:25 am

Thanks for the fast update Kel :)

Halfwalker
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:45 pm

Post by Halfwalker » Fri Nov 23, 2007 5:31 pm

Small problem here with the Launcher version ... On editing any file I get a popup that states :
Missing "setInfo" function

This plugin is not compatible with the current version of Notepad++.
Remove this plugin from the plugins directory if you don't want to see this message on the next launch time.
Except the only instances of setInfo I can find are in the xml.api and pascal.api files.

D -

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Nov 23, 2007 10:16 pm

Thats not my fault. Exoect them to update soon then...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:47 am

Fixed the error it was in my inf file sorry...

Halfwalker
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:45 pm

Post by Halfwalker » Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:08 pm

Hi - back again :P

After multiple builds and testing, I have a bizarre problem with the notepad++_v4.6 addon. It seems to kill some part of scripting abilities, both VBS and javascript. The basic situation is that when the notepad++_v4.6 addon is integrated with RVM Integrator 1.4.3, certain vbs scripts will fail during install after first boot (kicked off by RunOnceEx registry entries). WPI.hta will also fail.

My setup looks like this :

XP Pro Corp with WMP11 (via the WMP11_Slipstreamer), RVM update pack 2.1.11 and all subsequent MS hotfixes applied with nLite. Bashrat driver pacs also integrated. This config installs perfectly. I save the I386 dir off for reuse ...

I use RVM Integrator to integrate the following addons :

Kels_lite_addon_v3.9.cab
RogueSpearAddonsCCleaner_2.02.527.zip
RogueSpearAddonsieSpell_2.5.1.zip


This config also installs perfectly.

I restore the saved I386, then integrate the following addons :

Kels_lite_addon_v3.9.cab
Kels_NotePad++_v4.6_addon_replacer_build2.cab
RogueSpearAddonsCCleaner_2.02.527.zip
RogueSpearAddonsieSpell_2.5.1.zip


This config dies during install when a vbs script runs. That produces a popup box as follows :
Script: D:\APPS\102.VMWARETOOLS\VMWareTools.vbs
Line: 35
Char: 2
Error: Invalid syntax
Code: 800401E4
Source: (null)
This is an error that's been seen before, and is documented in the WPI forums under the wpa.hta error.

When the system is doing the personalized setting, it gets to Windows Media Player 11, which dies with a popup like :
Advanced INF Install
Error creating process <C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\WMPEnc.exe /RegServer>. Reason: The system cannot find the file specified.
Notepad++ itself doesn't get installed. There is no notepad++.exe anywhere on the system drive, and the original 17k notepad.exe is still in place. I've spent many hours narrowing the problem down, but note, this doesn't mean that the notepad++_v4.6 addon is the only pack that causes the problem - there may be others. I started with a known good base (the hotfixed I386 dir) and integrated addons one at a time, building a CD image and installing in VMWare to test. Hours. And hours.

I still have a bunch more to test. But at the moment, this is repeatable - if I remove the notepad++_v4.6 addon from the list, everything is fine. Put it back in, scripts fail. Doesn't matter where in the order of integration it is either.

I also have WPI on the disc, though not being kicked off (yet). If I run WPI.hta manually, I get :
An error has occured in the script on this page.

Line: 101
Char: 2
Error: Invalid syntax
Code: 0
URL: file:///D:/WPI/WPI.HTA

Do you want to continue running scripts on this page ?
So. Where shall I start looking ? How can I instrument things to get some debugging output that will be useful ?

D -

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Nov 26, 2007 3:07 am

Ummmmm wow I have no clue m8.

The problem with replacing notepad like this with the dummy file is that windows actually HAS NO notepad writer or reader to use untill around the T-12 mark.

Plus it messes up driver signeing and various other 16 bit subsystems.

Halfwalker
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:45 pm

Post by Halfwalker » Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:34 am

Ah well. I grabbed the original installer and launcher and did my own install via RunOnceEx. Working fine now. I wonder why integration craps things out so oddly ?

Thanks -

D -

SnogBird
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 9:12 pm

Post by SnogBird » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:20 pm

DigeratiPrime wrote:Kels_NotePad++_v4.5_addon_replacer_Build2.cab
"build2"?
"build3"? :P

The link isn't working at the moment... just change the 2 to a 3 and you're fine.

Thanks Kel!

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:10 am

two typos. list??.api and spelling something.
need a build4 i suppose.. whats up with the sooooooooo many typos every release?

thanks for all the hard work

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:25 am

Man I honestly dunno it's like this damned addon is a curse on me.

Everytime I update it it gets messed up.

I did update I just never updated the post over here I will do now.

VERY sorry :(

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:30 am

yeah i fixed it, though it cost me 1-2 hours of rebuilding the cd and re-formatting then editing the inf file since it corrupts everything like how i used to complain.

But then, Looking at the inf, it looks kinda messy, it was so difficult for me the spot the error too... maybe you could clean it up using tabs or something... i have little knowledge about writing infs...

surely theres a way to keep things real neat and readable so it won't be easy to make typos

but then again, i really couldnt figure out how you could possibly add a "1" to list.api or something...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Dec 04, 2007 12:32 am

It was when adding the =1 I have dyslexic fingers and simply was going to fast...

SnogBird
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 9:12 pm

Post by SnogBird » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:37 am

Dyslexia is just the body's inability to keep up with the mind... happens to us smart people all the time
:P

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:38 am

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAH

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:50 pm

GREAT NEWS everyone!!!

ricktendo figured out what the whole issue has been with this pack.

There is apparently a file in the I386 dir that is named the same as one of the files in the notepad++ so the inf was grabbing the wrong FILE. grrrr.

So now the file has been renamed and is being tested right now!

User avatar
Gorki
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:36 am
Location: Croatia

Post by Gorki » Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:17 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:GREAT NEWS everyone!!!

ricktendo figured out what the whole issue has been with this pack.

There is apparently a file in the I386 dir that is named the same as one of the files in the notepad++ so the inf was grabbing the wrong FILE. grrrr.

So now the file has been renamed and is being tested right now!
Had same thing with one of mine addon. Renaming one of them will solve the problem easy. I'm glad you break the spell! :D :P

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:32 am

Kels, one is listed as build4 and the other at build5, is that right?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:49 pm

yes

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:20 am

merci

mitsukai89
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm

Post by mitsukai89 » Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:37 pm

how come .cpp files are registered for notepad, in the uninstallable addon

mitsukai89
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:16 pm

Post by mitsukai89 » Tue Jan 01, 2008 11:18 am

update to 4.7 please

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:37 am

Updated.

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:05 pm

hey kel, your link to the homepage is messed up. other than that, good work :)

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:58 pm

Updated.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Jan 02, 2008 11:58 pm

Updated.

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:48 am

Thanks Kel! :D

Bazzek
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:25 am

Post by Bazzek » Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:28 am

Am i being blind or stupid, i can't figure out what to do with the .cab files. I know that with WPI it would probably work like a charm, but since i am not using WPI (yet) is there a way to use it in a default runonceex.cmd sollution?

The question is regarding the notepad replacer OR the non-replacer. One of the two would be what i need (replacer is best, but i suspect i will need WPI for this)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:26 am

these addons are designed and made for inf based optional components addons to the setup not chain linked to WPI in anyway.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:21 am

4.7.2

Bazzek
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:25 am

Post by Bazzek » Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:05 am

ENU_user wrote:these addons are designed and made for inf based optional components addons to the setup not chain linked to WPI in anyway.
Okay, my bad, any hints on where i can find info on how the inf based addon thingy works?

Bazzek
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:25 am

Post by Bazzek » Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:26 am

Okay, after some searching i think i got it...

To use the replacer all i need to do is unpack the zip into the I386 folder of my Windows XP install CD?

If i don't want the replacer i put it in the CMDlines.txt file in $OEM$


Am i right in this? if so, thanks for your help :)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:07 am

.. CMDlines and $OEM$ has nothing to do with this.

what app do you want\need readable files to open with by default on you're system
back to ms notepad?
notepad++ has multi language support and loads easy and fast ..

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:16 am

You add these into the RVMIntegrator or into nLite in the hotfixes\addons section and it integrates them into your source.

Bazzek
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:25 am

Post by Bazzek » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:01 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:You add these into the RVMIntegrator or into nLite in the hotfixes\addons section and it integrates them into your source.
okay, why i didn't pick up on the fact that this can be added with nlite i dunno...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:30 am

Updated but expect a 4.7.4 sooon they left out a couple of files....

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:01 pm

does anyone get a plugin error in this latest version? 4.7.3

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:48 pm

What plugin error biatche?

I need more info.

Post Reply