[Release] EncSpot Pro Free Addon v2.2b2-070804

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

[Release] EncSpot Pro Free Addon v2.2b2-070804

Post by Mrs Peel » Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:29 am

NEWSFLASH: The professional version of EncSpot is now available free of charge! See their website here for the announcement. This addon pack has now been updated to the professional version and pre-registered with their public free registration code.

Another from my favourite and often-used mp3 utility collection. An oldie but a goodie....

EncSpot Pro v2.2b2
LINK: MrsP_EncSpot_Pro_Free_Addon_v2.2.b2-070804
MD5: C11429C40AB75299AF32804A85BB5220
SIZE: 267 KB
Description: Analyze mp3 files and display LAME tag switches
Op System: Windows 2000, XP Home, XP Pro & 2003 (x86 only)
Builddate: 2005/05/31
Language: English
Title: EncSpot Pro
Version: 2.2b2
License: Freeware
Website: http://www.guerillasoft.co.uk/encspot/pro.html
Installs to: "%programfiles%\Multimedia\EncSpotPro"
Uninstaller: Removes program files, shortcuts, reg entries and personal settings
EncSpot Basic
EncSpot is an application which reports useful facts about your mp3 collection. The most famous feature is its ability to guess which encoder was used to encode each file. It will also give you a general idea of the audio quality of the file.
For files encoded with Lame (and that's what everyone's using, right?) EncSpot can read the 'Lame Tag' which gives detailed information on the switches used when the file was encoded.
Features:
* Quality Rating: The 'Quality' column of EncSpot rates each file according to its bitrate, encoder, and various other criteria. It is only a coarse approximation, and should not be taken too seriously. In particular, you should not necessarily delete all 'red' files, but it might be worth listening to them and replacing them with better rips if possible. The current formula used to determine the quality can be viewed here.
* Encoder Guess: A fairly complicated rule is used to guess which encoder was used for each file. It is not foolproof, but has been refined over time so that it is usually accurate. You can see details of the rule here if you are interested.
* Sync Errors: If two mp3 files are joined by simply appending one file to the next, or the file has been corrupted somehow, then a 'sync error' may occur. This is when a frame's header reports that the frame is a certain length, but the next frame does not appear to be at the predicted position. EncSpot will count the number of such glitches (which may be audible). Often the last frame in a file is cut short, which is really a different error, so EncSpot will only count sync errors which are followed by a valid mp3 frame.
* Other Information: EncSpot can display a lot more information in the list than given above. At present the available columns are divided into four groups: general, mpeg plus, lame tag, and ID3v1. Such standard information as the size and bitrate of the file are in the general group while the mpeg plus group details some information relevant only to mpeg plus files. Files encoded with recent versions of Lame may contain extra metadata in the Lame Tag (an extension of the Xing Tag). This is the lame tag group. Finally, ID3v1 tag information comprises another group.
* Other Types of Audio File: EncSpot started life as a program to analyze mp3 files, but after many requests I have slowly started to add support for oher compression schemes. At the moment mpegplus files are supported, as are mpegpro files (though this is still work in progress, unfortunately). Other types are certainly on the way, like Vorbis, Monkey Audio, and also the lowly .wav. EncSpot only scans files that have certain extensions, but you can customize this list, adding .temp files for example.
Image

:D

[Edit 2007/06/20] Updated to the NOW FREE Professional version v2.2beta2 and added reg entries to automatically register the program with their free public reg key. Added reg entries to open folder in EncSpot from shell menu.
[Edit 2007/07/21] Rebuilt to include and uninstaller and fix a file name error - big thanks to Kel for pointing this out
[Edit 2007/07/27] Minor inf tweak to streamlime the addreg code and make uninstaller work with XP Home
[Edit 2007/07/31] Rebuilt optional components section
[Edit 2007/08/04] Fixed entries.ini and optimised some stuff in the inf file
Last edited by Mrs Peel on Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:48 am, edited 10 times in total.

piXelatedEmpire
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 7:49 am

Post by piXelatedEmpire » Thu Jul 06, 2006 8:34 pm

just read on the website the pro version is temporarily unavailable but will soon be released free! Yay! :)

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Wed Aug 23, 2006 8:04 am

OMG really???????? Please let me know when that happens cos I don't want to miss it!!!!! :) :) :)

Zety
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by Zety » Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:20 pm

Hello,

Just wanted you to know that this is what you can see on the website:

Code: Select all

The professional version of EncSpot is now available free of charge! Download license file here.
I haven't tested it yet ^^

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:28 am

Wohoooooo! Thanks for the headsup about that piXelatedEmpire and Zety. I've upgraded this to the pro version now and it's all pre-registered. Sorry I took so long with it....

Cheers!

Zety
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:09 pm

Post by Zety » Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:59 pm

Thanks for the update :D

striker80
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:00 pm

Post by striker80 » Tue Jul 03, 2007 10:54 am

This addon didn't play fair with my Intel PROset program. Its a utility that comes with the network stuff for my motherboard. It causes an error message to popup that says "network componet not installed". I'am not sure how serious of a problem that this is, or if it messes up other stuff with network drivers, etc., (so I just removed the addon and burned a new dvd). You probably don't have time right now to deal with this, and it's not that big of a deal. Thanks for the work to make this addon, and I do appreciate all you do.

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:23 am

Thanks for the headsup.

I can't personally see anything in this software (its basically a single exe file) or the reg entries for it (I only added a shell menu) which should effect any of your networking components, but if this really is the source of your conflict (which I seriously doubt) then it would have to be a problem with the software itself rather the addon.

So I am wondering did you ever use the previous free version that I used to share here? If the old one worked OK for you then I am more than happy to upload it again and offer it as an alternative version (like I've done with my uTorrent and HeadAC3che packs, which I left the old versions up for also)

Would you mind downloading the pro and free EncSpot's from the authors site and do a manual install in a live build running Intel PROset to see if they are both problematic or just the pro version?

Cheers.

striker80
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:00 pm

Post by striker80 » Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:33 pm

Hi,

Ok will do all you suggest. I already have you previous addon, (I always keep the old ones, just incase). I didn't have any problems with the previous EncSpot addon.

I did the Windows install about 6 times, on hard drive, trying to find which of the addons was causing the problem. The last six were yours. XnView_Full_LCE_Addon_v1.91.1, KeePass_Password_Safe_Addon_v1.07, Free_Visual_Ping_Addon_v0.8, RegTweaker_CPL_Addon_v2.1.281, GipsySoft_Zoom_Plus_Addon_v1.100, RenderSoft_CamStudio_Addon_v2.0, and MrsP_EncSpot_Pro_Addon_v2.2b2. I installed, (tested to the hard drive), after discovering the problem, rather than using VmWare, because of it possibly involving network stuff.

I can't see anything in the addon either, that could cause this, but it does. If you have Intel then you probably know that the utility is installed in the system tray, with the Intel LAN V6.4_PRO2KXP drivers, (I do this manually, after installing the chipset drivers, when WinXP is finished installing, ...i'm not using driver packs, etc.).

I'll post back with results of test you suggested, sometime today.

striker80
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:00 pm

Post by striker80 » Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:17 pm

Ok, I just installed the basic, then the Pro EncSpot. There was no error message at starting Intel PROset. So I don't know what's going on. I thought the problem would be in EncSpot, but I guess it's not.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:52 am

you forgot to change the name of the html file to htm thus throwing up an error...

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:10 am

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:you forgot to change the name of the html file to htm thus throwing up an error...
Bugger me! Dunno how I missed that when I tested it - in fact it might have actually been misnamed like that in the old free version release too. YIKES! Will fix and update rebuild later today. Thanks for headsup.

I still don't know why this would be effecting the guys problems with his Intel PROset tho, cos there's no similar file names or any of the usual suspects for conflicts with other addon packs. With this bug that Kel pointed out it should have caused the windows setup to completely fail because it could not find the wrongly named template file.

Did you actually integrate this into an ISO build Striker or did you manually install the thing on your live windoze build?

That's important information for us to know if we are to effectively troubleshoot addon bugs.

striker80
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:00 pm

Post by striker80 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:25 am

I used the rvm intregrator, and intregrated RVMUpdatePack2.1.11.7z into a clean copy of Win XP Pro + sp2. Then I intregrated with the rvm intregrator, about 158 addons from all of you here. Then I burned the results with Nero 7. I also always make an iso of the results and put it on another drive, for backup, (and the directory of the Win XP used). Then I install the results of the DVD to my main hard drive. It usually takes about an hour to install and about another hour to install drivers. I have VMware.Workstation 6, and I use it once in awhile, but since the little woman works at Office Depot, I get DVDs really cheap. Nothing beats installing to a hard drive anyways.

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sun Jul 22, 2007 1:41 am

Sorry this took a few days longer than I expected, cos I needed to do some extra work building an uninstaller for it.

The previous file you guys downloaded from here didn't match the MD5 for the one I had installed and tested here on my local drive, so I guess I must have jumped the gun with uploading an unfinished copy (it wouldn't be the first time I did that DUH). Hopefully this should not happen again since I am now including date stamps in my file naming and I can better organise my own work flow system here.

Let me know how you go with this one Striker. I hope it sorts out your problem, but I am a bit dubious that my bad filename could have caused problems with some system drivers that are totally unrelated to the program. Still, I am very curious to see your results cos troubleshooting is a good learning curve for you and me both.

G'luck and thanks for your patience! :)

striker80
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:00 pm

Post by striker80 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:14 am

It works great! I also used your latest updated XnView, RegShot, WinRoll, and ESB Calculator. All work perfect. Thanks for all your hard work!

striker80
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:00 pm

Post by striker80 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:44 am

Oh, forgot to say, the Intel ProSet is a program that starts when windoz starts. It runs in the system tray and allows many options to be set, for the on board adapter. So it was really just stopping that program from showing anything but its splash screen, which really had nothing to do with drivers. I just thought it might at the time.

The network component that the error message was referring to, was just a part of that program, and had nothing to do with network drivers, etc. (checked it out further this weekend). Also I checked your program out with its own install, (with no other addons). It still had the same problem. I don't like to test out addons like that though, because I plan on using an addon with many other addons, so it's important to me, to see if they all work together on my system.


Thanks again!

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:30 am

striker80 wrote:Nothing beats installing to a hard drive anyways.
Actually, I find that installing Windows in VMWare Workstation is much faster than a real install on the same computer. :o

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:11 am

striker80 wrote:......because I plan on using an addon with many other addons, so it's important to me, to see if they all work together on my system.
This is exactly why it is so important for me to try and understand how this pack could have caused such a problem. I try my very best to use unique cab and inf naming in my addon packs so that there is no possibility of my addon conflicting with the addon of another pack maker OR some native component in the windoze i386 folder.

I am not going to be able to sleep at night until I can figure this out and how exactly something such as a bad filename could be responsible for such an apparently unrelated conflict, so I need to ask you if there is ANY chance whatsoever that there was an addon (from myself OR any other pack maker here) which you might possibly have integrated in your previous ISO build that you OMITTED to include in this latest one where everything works OK.

The only possible way to isolate a post-install problem to one particular addon is to do a clean slipstream with ONLY that addon and nothing else (expect perhaps your Intel thingee). You did not make it clear to me if your previous test which you posted results for in an earlier reply had ONLY this EncSpot addon and NO OTHER addons from myself or another pack maker.

This is very important information for me to know, because if it actually was this addon that was breaking something else in some way then obviously I never want to repeat this error in future, so I need your help here on this since you are the only member who has reported a POST-install conflict like this with one of my addons.

My experience with addons that have a discrepancy where the filenames in the inf and cab to do match exactly has always been that the entire windows setup will fail when it reaches the point where it cannot find the correct file, so I MUST know why this did not happen in your case.

Thanks for your replies and willingness to persevere with your troubleshooting assistance.

striker80
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:00 pm

Post by striker80 » Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:27 am

@roirraW "edor"
Actually, I find that installing Windows in VMWare Workstation is much faster than a real install on the same computer.
Yes it's about 15 min faster. Hard drive install, (with bunches of addons in the build), is about 1 hour. VMWare install, (with the same addons etc.), is about 45 minutes. I don't mind the 15 minutes too much. Installing to the hard drive is better, so I can check out how my video, sound, and network, drivers, etc., react to the updates and addons. So I use VMWare a few times, then install to the hard drive a few times, (or more if I'm having a problem with drivers). You have to install to the hard drive once in a while at least, or you may have a problem, you don't even know you have, (if you use VMWare only all the time). :wink:

===================

Mrs Peel
You did not make it clear to me if your previous test which you posted results for in an earlier reply had ONLY this EncSpot addon and NO OTHER addons from myself or another pack maker.
======
striker80
Also I checked your program out with its own install, (with no other addons). [\quote]

======

@Mrs Peel

Yep no other addons from you or another pack maker. The RVMUpdatePack2.1.11.7z was intregrated along with your EnSpot addon using RVM_Integrator_1.4.3.exe.

That was a couple of days ago. All deleted and forgot about. Sorry to cause you problems. Your new addons work great.

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:09 pm

striker80 wrote:Sorry to cause you problems. Your new addons work great.
On the contrary, it is me who has caused you problems (and also not done a very good job of reading your post either it seems DUH) so the apology should be from me to you, not vice versa.

I am just trying to better understand (for the sake of general learning and experience) the ways that addons can break other addons (and other system stuff) to help avoid any future conflicts with any of my other releases.

It's you who have been doing your best to help me here and I appreciate that you have done everything that you possibly could have done to assist me in my learning curve.

I am glad this turned out all OK for you, I'm just hating that it's turned out for me that the reason your Intel thingee was effected like that is still a mystery.

Cheers
:lol:

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:52 am

Optimised addreg section with strings instead of full path....

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:53 pm

This will hide properly in the "Windows Components Wizard" now....

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sat Aug 04, 2007 11:11 am

Fixed entries file....

msdemich
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:52 am

Post by msdemich » Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:31 am

Awesome, thanks!

Post Reply