[Release] Copy To/Move To Context Menu Shell Extension Addon

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

[Release] Copy To/Move To Context Menu Shell Extension Addon

Post by armond » Wed Aug 16, 2006 2:26 pm

Hi All,
This is my third addon pack:
http://addons.ryanvm.net/armond/CopySendAddon_1.2.7z
Size: 19.3 KB
MD5: 3BA72252B933410FBA6C0BAF4D9ADAA7
More Information:
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=27459
Tested with RVM Integrator 1.4.2
Last edited by armond on Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:00 pm, edited 3 times in total.

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:53 am

Version 1.1 released. Give it a test :)

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:50 am

Armond - been testing all morning to find why my new build CD is failing and it looks like this addon is pulling things down.

Done over 20 tests each time reducing the addons until only this one is left and it fails everytime in VMWare.

I'm using the latest addon pack from Ryan and the latest Integrator V1.4.2.

Of I try to integrate it with any other addon it fails at the "inspecting your hardware" step with a win.sif error in something line line 9842.

On its own it fails at the blue screen stage where it just starts to copy windows files, with a similar error in "syntax" at a similar point.

This failure is repeating in my tests and all the other addons I have put with it have been tested by me previously with no problems.

Can someone have a look at this please because it looks like a useful addon if it works.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:54 am

Also - checked the MD5 from the Integrator log and that is fine so it is not a corrupt download.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:56 am

[DLL.Register]
11,ShellExt,copysend.dll,1

The shellext part needs to be remove for one thing because you are not sending the dll to that folder.

it should look like this:

[DLL.Register]
11,,copysend.dll,1

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:56 am

Testing now - will report back if all goes as it should.

Edited with result - changed the entry as per Kels instructions and it still fails immediately at the point where it says "loading windows" with a syntax error at line 9240 in the win.sif.

Looks like there is something else wrong here as well but at least now I know all the other addons I have been using are not to blame for the failure.

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:22 pm

Are you using RyanVM Addon pack?
My addon is already included in his addon pack.
I'm currently very busy. I'll look the issue later. Sorry.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Mon Nov 06, 2006 12:30 pm

I'm using Ryans main 2.1.3 update pack - not the smaller addon pack he released with some additional applications and tweaks, which is what I think you mean.

Thanks for the reply Armond.

Edit - I see you mean Ryan's addon pack v1.7.2 - probably simpler for me to just use that pack because I am integrating the unlocker, tweak ui and most of its components anyway.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Mon Dec 25, 2006 7:12 pm

The problem with this addon is an additional " , " at the end of the entry it's making within the TXTSETUP.SIF file.

Try the following for your entries_*.ini

Code: Select all

[general]
BuildDate = 09/07/2006
description = Copy To/Move To Context Menu Addon Pack
Language = English
Title = Copy To/Move To Context Menu Addon Pack
Version = 1.2
Website = http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn

[sysoc]
CopySend=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,%addonsinf%,HIDE,7

[dosnet_files]
d1,copysend.inf
d1,copysend.dll

[txtsetup_files]
copysend.inf  = 100,,,,,,,20,0,0
copysend.dll = 100,,,,,,,30,0,0

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\copysend.inf
rvmtemp\extracted\copysend.dll
That will retain the INF call to register the file from ShellExt and prevent any TXTSETUP.SIF errors.

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Mon Dec 25, 2006 10:21 pm

OK, Will fix it soon. Thank you.

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:03 pm

Version 1.2 of the addon released. I think that all errors are fixed now.

User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Post by kelaniz » Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:17 am

Anyone know if this addon has the Copy/Move option that has the New Folder button in the folder tree, or just the basic folder tree with no New Folder button?

Thanks,

KZ
-KZ

Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:45 am

It's the same addon that is included in the RyanVM's addon pack. Also see the more info link on MSFN.

User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Post by kelaniz » Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:37 pm

Well, I don't use RyanVM's addon pack. And on the MSFN thread, one guy asks about it (but does imply it doesn't have the button. So I'm guessing the answer is no.)

Not to complain, armond, but wouldn't it have been quicker if you had just replied "No"? :)

Ah well. I really wish whoever created the original DLL (Microsoft powertoy developers?) had thought to include that tiny, but necessary, feature. It's such a pain to click through the folder tree to comp/move something, then realize you need it in a new directory. So, you have to open Explorer, go to that same location and create the folder, then do the copy/move all over again.

The regtweak does have that feature, but it also introduces the bug where right clicking a Start Menu entry and choosing open/explore/whatever opens the Copy/Move handler instead. Third-party solutions aren't much better, because they're too bloated for such a simple utility. Ok, now I AM complaining!

Anyway, thanks for the reply. :)

kel
-KZ

Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:14 pm

Hey, can someone have a look at this. nlite (yah, I know) is calling out an integration error in the %addonsinf% section.

I *think* that the following entried_copysend.ini will fix it:

[filenames]
AddonsInf = copysend.inf

[sysoc]
CopySend=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,%addonsinf%,HIDE,7

[dosnet_files]
d1,%addonsinf%
d1,copysend.dll

[txtsetup_files]
%addonsinf% = 100,,,,,,,20,0,0
copysend.dll = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0,CopyToSendTo.dll

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\copysend.inf
rvmtemp\extracted\copysend.dll

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:18 pm

P.S. Integrator, not NLite.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Aug 06, 2007 6:20 pm

well, addons that work in the Integrator should also work in nlite.

Post Reply