[Release] Orb shown on every boot (FIXED)

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nightwolf81
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:10 am

[Release] Orb shown on every boot (FIXED)

Post by Nightwolf81 » Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:35 am

This will allow the pretty orb (from all the vista web sites) to show after scroll bar boot and before logon.

it's been repaired to work properly and also change the background to black (if not used nlite to change it for you)!

Download: http://rapidshare.com/files/3174197/LXP ... on_1.2.cab

MD5: 28C43F0668B5E6DEAE14E479E38E34A6
size: 32kb

BEFORE anyone asks. . .here's the screen shot (imagine it on a all black desktop (you can change it by replacing the bmp in the cab):

Image

User avatar
Zyx_Maiden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by Zyx_Maiden » Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:02 pm

Hi Nightwolf81, Does this replace the "Welcome" screen we saw just before logon?

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:52 am

And any chance of getting hosting from somewhere other than rapidshare?
Thanks :)

User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by ahmerkhan » Fri Apr 06, 2007 3:21 pm

Rapidshare never works for me...:(

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:28 pm

is it animated ??

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:37 pm

i've put it on fileden for those that might have trouble with rapidshare.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/2/24/ ... on_1.2.cab

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Apr 10, 2007 6:58 pm

avneet25 wrote:is it animated ??
No its not animated.

Saito
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:46 am

Post by Saito » Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:40 pm

fileden mirror says:
This is a private file. Only the owner can view it or download it.

jamesdean
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:40 am

Post by jamesdean » Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:44 pm

For those having problems with either mirror, try this one:

http://www.divshare.com/download/983119-574

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:09 pm

Saito wrote:fileden mirror says:
This is a private file. Only the owner can view it or download it.
sorry about that. my bandwidth got exceeded on there :P

Saito
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:46 am

Post by Saito » Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:01 pm

thank you all

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:37 pm

this hasnt been updated in a long time, but does anyone think this addon would still work?

i'm afraid to include it

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:09 pm

ccl0 wrote:this hasnt been updated in a long time, but does anyone think this addon would still work?

i'm afraid to include it
Works fine.
I use it on all my installs. Very nice!
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:06 pm

I have a done a dozen integrations with this and it doesn't seem to work for me... the startup.bmp has been copied to the windows directory but I don't see it during any boot. Can anyone help direct me what to look for so I can trouble shoot this?

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:50 am

Do you use the default install location (ie. C:\Windows) or something different?
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:21 am

mr_smartepants wrote:Do you use the default install location (ie. C:\Windows) or something different?
It's in the C:\Windows directory along with winnt.bmp & winnt256.bmp

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:59 pm

compstuff wrote:I have a done a dozen integrations with this and it doesn't seem to work for me... the startup.bmp has been copied to the windows directory but I don't see it during any boot. Can anyone help direct me what to look for so I can trouble shoot this?

try this one http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php? ... 3&hl=vista

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:54 pm

ccl0 wrote:
compstuff wrote:I have a done a dozen integrations with this and it doesn't seem to work for me... the startup.bmp has been copied to the windows directory but I don't see it during any boot. Can anyone help direct me what to look for so I can trouble shoot this?
try this one http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php? ... 3&hl=vista
Thanks very much... I will try it and report back...

EDIT: I just finsihed another install with KEL's version and that didn't wotk either... assuming that this addon is working I must have some "tweak" that interferes with this... since I can't seem to figure this out and it's not a required addon, for the meantime I will just have to do without... thanks

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:14 pm

Being stuborn I couldn't help but try this one more time:

XPSP3+redxii SP3 update+NO ADDONS or anything...the new startup.bmp is copied to my windows directory. The new bmp does not appear at anytime during boot but it did manage to become my default desktop background :rolleyes:

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:31 pm

That's odd. I was sure it was a theme addon interfering. Do you have anything 'theme-related' in your winnt.sif?
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:44 pm

mr_smartepants wrote:That's odd. I was sure it was a theme addon interfering. Do you have anything 'theme-related' in your winnt.sif?
Your 100% correct... I do have a theme mod that I thought I had rem'ed out but I didn't. I am now running a new test, definitely without the theme mod, and will report back shortly...

EDIT: for sure NO theme mod and I got the same results...

crookadile
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:22 am
Location: Rotherham England

Post by crookadile » Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:24 am

I am having the same trouble as compstuff.
I have tried this and Kel's version and all they do is replace my desktop wallpaper.

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:13 am

here is another one.. maybe this one will work http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php? ... c=3657&hl=

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:17 am

cool... I'll try it on my next set... thanks :)

crookadile
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:22 am
Location: Rotherham England

Post by crookadile » Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:28 am

If you have the same luck as me compstuff it wont work.
It does exactly the same as the other 2.Just replaces the desktop wallpaper.

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:07 am

crookadile wrote:If you have the same luck as me compstuff it wont work.
It does exactly the same as the other 2.Just replaces the desktop wallpaper.
Thanks for that info crookadile... now I won't try it since I have already wasted waaaay to much time on a non-essential addon that just doesn't seem to work and I definitely don't have the skills to resolve it :rolleyes:

crookadile
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:22 am
Location: Rotherham England

Post by crookadile » Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:29 am

Same here mate, I don't think I'll bother with it.
Like you said it's not essential and obviously it has flaws.

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:56 am

Compstuff, I think what you might be looking for is this: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... highlight=
I use BOTH of these in my builds and it works perfect.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:59 am

mr_smartepants wrote:Compstuff, I think what you might be looking for is this: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... highlight=
I use BOTH of these in my builds and it works perfect.
you realize thats the same on that was made by the op? :P

i'm guessing this thing conflicts with something else those two guys are doing

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Wed Oct 01, 2008 4:41 am

Well, there's two addons. BTSbg_Addon_v1.0.CAB and LXP_startuporb_addon_1.2.cab
The one in this thread (LXP_startuporb) only changes the desktop wallpaper. If that's all it's doing, then it's working.
The one in the other thread (BTSbg_Addon) displays the orb with the text "Installing Drivers" during the boot-phase the BTS driverpacks are decompressing. Before, there was no feedback from driverpacks as to progress, but with the new DPS Base there's a progress bar displaying progress.
Then the (LXP_startuporb) addon (same as OP in this thread) takes over and replaces the first Orb with the desktop wallpaper orb essentially to remove the "installing drivers" text.
Both have worked perfectly fine for me ever since they were released.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Wed Oct 01, 2008 10:10 am

mr_smartepants wrote:The one in this thread (LXP_startuporb) only changes the desktop wallpaper. If that's all it's doing, then it's working.
i think its suppose to do more than that. when vista is booting up they show that orb thingy. i think this addon is suppose to reproduce that same effect, only without the animation(just a static image) i remember trying this orb addon a few months back and thats what it did. worked perfectly. this was before sp3 though..

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:38 am

ccl0 wrote:
mr_smartepants wrote:The one in this thread (LXP_startuporb) only changes the desktop wallpaper. If that's all it's doing, then it's working.
i think its suppose to do more than that. when vista is booting up they show that orb thingy. i think this addon is suppose to reproduce that same effect, only without the animation(just a static image) i remember trying this orb addon a few months back and thats what it did. worked perfectly. this was before sp3 though..
Thats what I thought and that's the way I was always reading the threads but now I'm confused after reading mr_smartepants. I actually wanted it to function the way your describing and then in a way it is like branding the slipstreams as opposed to a regular XP disk

crookadile
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:22 am
Location: Rotherham England

Post by crookadile » Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:39 am

So it looks like service pack 3 is the reason it's not working right then.
Can the makers of the orb addon get it to work right with sp3.

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:42 pm

I honestly don't know why you guys are having problems. I use SP3 (Home & Pro) and I have zero problems using these addons. If you only use the BTSbg addon, you'll find the orb with the txt appears immediately following txtsetup and before T-39, and it's persistent all the way to the desktop (winntbbu.dll will cover it, but it's still there. Just delete winntbbu.dll and you'll see what I mean). I use the LXP startup orb addon basically to get rid of the "Installing Drivers" txt.
Perfection.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!

crookadile
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:22 am
Location: Rotherham England

Post by crookadile » Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:05 am

Well I have used 3 orb addon's (including the BTSbg_addon) and all they have done is change the desktop wallpaper.
Like compstuff said earlier it's only eye candy so i'll not bother with it.

ccl0
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:56 am

Post by ccl0 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 2:33 pm

crookadile wrote:Well I have used 3 orb addon's (including the BTSbg_addon) and all they have done is change the desktop wallpaper.
Like compstuff said earlier it's only eye candy so i'll not bother with it.
its not that great really. its only a static image, not animated like with vista.
i think last time i used it was back in march with sp2+ rvm sp2 addon. maybe i'll test it out later and see if its broken for me too. could it be possible that its a conflict with something else you are integrating?

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Fri Oct 03, 2008 3:31 pm

mr_smartepants wrote:I honestly don't know why you guys are having problems. I use SP3 (Home & Pro) and I have zero problems using these addons. If you only use the BTSbg addon, you'll find the orb with the txt appears immediately following txtsetup and before T-39, and it's persistent all the way to the desktop (winntbbu.dll will cover it, but it's still there. Just delete winntbbu.dll and you'll see what I mean). I use the LXP startup orb addon basically to get rid of the "Installing Drivers" txt.
Perfection.
i 2nd that. i have same results on sp3 and sp2.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
wolfsoul
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 9:28 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by wolfsoul » Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:24 pm

Someone made and gave me a btsg addon.. I dunno if it's the same
Oops it is sorry :S
anyway think Im just going to use Btsg then

chicho1970
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:35 pm

Post by chicho1970 » Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:12 pm

If you can't get the addon to work, just make sure the startup.bmp is copied to wallpaper folder during windows setup then run regedit from runonce to apply reg file. Works every time. :lol:

Post Reply