[AddOn] Windows Vista SP1 Sidebar v6.0.6001.16659

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
banditnich
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:56 am

Post by banditnich » Fri Jun 29, 2007 3:16 am

Eiffel wrote:It's "normal". Try to replace vshell32.dll with one from first build of Vaio and see if it works for you...
I don't get a chance to download the first build of Vaio Eiffel, If you had it can you share it for me?

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Fri Jun 29, 2007 9:23 am


banditnich
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:56 am

Post by banditnich » Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:41 am

Thanks Eiffel.

ayanamist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:57 am

Post by ayanamist » Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:38 am

AN ERROR OCCURED!!!
After i integrate this addon, all other addon including nlite won't work correctly. after installation the user account in cotrol panel won't work and many functions don't work too.
plz check it ag.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jul 11, 2007 5:15 pm

Updated... Just some tweaks and fixes no major updates (see changelog)

@ayanamist:
You absolutely sure its this addon causing this?

NTAuthority
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:40 am

Post by NTAuthority » Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:42 am

Blgh, it looks like sokoolz.com is completely blocked by my ISP, or they block my ISP... :| (@Home, Netherlands) The site does work in some proxies, but they don't allow downloading the file. So, could anyone mirror the file please? :)

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:30 am

thanx
but is it cool with Xpize? and does it take any resources?

sambenin
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:21 am

Post by sambenin » Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:29 am

Sorry but it's difficult to download , very very slow , any alternative link?
Thanks
Image

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:03 pm

Wesmosis wrote:but is it cool with Xpize? and does it take any resources?
Yes and Not much
sambenin wrote:Sorry but it's difficult to download , very very slow
Good things come to those who wait :lol:
Sorry no mirror (BTW how slow? 15 mins?)

Huberer
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:06 am

Post by Huberer » Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:45 am

Hello!

Where can I download the latest version of the Sidebar. The link in the first post doesn't work.
Please help me I want to test this sidebar.

Thanks in advance

Huberer

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:54 am

Works for me.

Huberer
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:06 am

Post by Huberer » Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:51 am

Really?
Not from my side. When I try to click on the link (where it should be) it doesn't show me that there is one. When I try to enter www.sokoolz.com it shows me that this side doesn't exist.
Where is the problem?

Huberer

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:24 am

Don't know why, but some ppl are having this dl problem.

BTW Alky v1.0 (a.k.a. VAIO) might be released @ the end of this month with Sidebar support and Bug fixes.

http://groups.google.com/group/alkyproj ... 6496d5c877

Report any sidebar bugs here http://www.aeroxp.org/board/index.php?showtopic=9530

Paparazzi
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:19 am

Post by Paparazzi » Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:56 am

Rick,
Don't know if you are aware of this, but it would certainly interest you.
Amnesty™ Generator 1.0 -> http://www.amnestywidgets.com/GeneratorWin.html convert millions of web widgets, games and videos – designed to live on home pages, blogs, Google gadgets or MySpace – into gadgets for your Sidebar. If you like widgets on the web, you’ll love them on your Sidebar.

Cheers!
:)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:04 am

Dude already got it hex edited and patched to work on XP (thanks to Rafael), even made a addon of it for XP http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=1378

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:44 am

Dude already got it hex edited and patched to work on XP (thanks to Rafael), even made a addon of it for XP
Hi Rick, again the login problem to wincert for download. Can you put it somewhere else ?

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:29 am

Eiffel wrote:Hi Rick, again the login problem to wincert for download. Can you put it somewhere else ?
No. I attached it because its a small addon, only 139 KB saving me the clutter on SoKoOLz's ftp, its convenient free hosting for me and if you cant download it because those are the forum rules then too bad.
If I want a cool addon or program from RogueSpear, Siginet, MSFN or other sites that require you to register to dl or view attachments, then I simply register.

P.S. I only attach like 2% of my addons most are direct links

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:00 am

If I want a cool addon or program from RogueSpear, Siginet, MSFN or other sites that require you to register to dl or view attachments, then I simply register.
Me, I prefer to not download :) Don't see justified to register only for ocasionally downloads.

On the other side, if you need hosting for your small files, I can guest them on my site, with direct link, if you want. Just to be less than 4Mb. If interested, just send me an PM.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 3:23 pm

Eiffel wrote:Me, I prefer to not download :) Don't see justified to register only for ocasionally downloads.
Alright

Hey guys thanks to MrNxDmX I have the Sever 2008 Sidebar v6.0.6001.16510
Do I update the AddOn now or wait for Alky to come out next week?

EDIT: Here are the files if you guys want to give the Server 08 Sidebar a shot http://www.mediafire.com/?9judixo0pxo

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:11 am

Do I update the AddOn now or wait for Alky to come out next week?
If it will really come next week, I can wait ;)

User avatar
runningfool87
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by runningfool87 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:45 am

alky is coming out next week!?!?!?!?!? i thought it was still in super-pre-alpha! :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:01 am

I have been testing some of the bug fixes and I can confirm that the Slideshow bug is 100% fixed (finally), the WiFi bug 50% fixed (still no SSID) and the sidebar support for other than en-US folders will be addressed also.

And yes the dx10 part of Alky I think might not gonna be fully complete (I have no idea about this part of Alky) but I do know the VAIO part will have some small bug fixes for us sidebar users.

ayanamist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:57 am

Post by ayanamist » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:14 am

ricktendo64 wrote:Updated... Just some tweaks and fixes no major updates (see changelog)

@ayanamist:
You absolutely sure its this addon causing this?
yes, i'm sure.

i integrate many addons, and after integrate this one, the exception will occur, otherwise it won't, so i conclude it.
maybe it conflict with other addons or nlite, or its own fault, i can't judge.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:40 am

Note: n order to have the Windows Sidebar Correctly Working & Integrated into your XP Source CD you need to to integrate these addons along with the Sidebar: IE7, WMP11 & W-LAN API Hotfix Addon (non RVM UpdatePack users)

User avatar
runningfool87
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by runningfool87 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:53 am

hey rick, will the vista wifi addons work for the next sidebar version, or will we still have to get the ones that have been "fixed" for xp?

i recently tried the vista ones...they crashed the sidebar and took my desktop on a magical sleigh ride :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:52 pm

Its already been fixed (SSID still broken) but Rafael needs to work on it some more to make the SSID work without causing the delay load error.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:59 pm

BTW Alky scheduled to be released the 28th
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
chetri
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:55 am
Location: India

Post by chetri » Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:37 am

************ EDIT:***sorry Accidently duel posting hence edited first on

This post had EDITED
Last edited by chetri on Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
`



I made this letter longer than usual because I lack the time to make it short.
--------Blaise Pascal

User avatar
chetri
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:55 am
Location: India

Post by chetri » Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:41 am

@rick
Note: in order to have the Windows Sidebar Correctly Working & Integrated into your XP Source CD you need to to integrate these addons along with the Sidebar: IE7, WMP11 & W-LAN API Hotfix Addon (non RVM UpdatePack users)
In which order? :?:
I have integrated several ways --- :arrow: rvmupdate2.1.11->updateaddon 2.1.11.6 in one pass
then integrate wmp 11 ---> IE7---->Ricks_WindowsSidebar_AddOn_v70711.7z (13mb file)
STATUS: Not worked. (Some dll not found (starting with letter V???????.dll)

again integrate Ricks_WindowsSidebar_AddOn_v70711.7z (13mb file)---->wmp 11 ---> IE7
Result : same :o

And yes i am using RVMI to integrate
and without sidebar addon Voila the system works.

P.S: all installation are in live pc, not any VPC
`



I made this letter longer than usual because I lack the time to make it short.
--------Blaise Pascal

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:42 am

Looks like VAIO did not get installed during svcpack...

The sidebar and everything got installed but VAIO did not thats what the v?????.dll error usually is.

BTW the order does not matter and I integrate everything together. Updatepack, WMP11, IE7 and Sidebar

Sm0ker
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: UK

Post by Sm0ker » Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:07 am

Rick, I can test the WIFi Gadget.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:18 am

edited

ayanamist
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:57 am

Post by ayanamist » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:31 am

it seems that there are other people having the same problem.
i have integrate ie7, wmp11 and rvm update pack but this aio addon dont work. it appears to break the install of windows xp because user account dont work either.
hope you fix it :-)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:05 am

NEW one with the new Alky will soon be out, will release it on WinCert when it becomes public

User avatar
chetri
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:55 am
Location: India

Post by chetri » Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:23 am

ricktendo64 wrote:Looks like VAIO did not get installed during svcpack...

The sidebar and everything got installed but VAIO did not thats what the v?????.dll error usually is.

BTW the order does not matter and I integrate everything together. Updatepack, WMP11, IE7 and Sidebar
It is vadvapi32.dll
ricktendo64 wrote:NEW one with the new Alky will soon be out, will release it on WinCert when it becomes public
Now i am waiting for this one.
`



I made this letter longer than usual because I lack the time to make it short.
--------Blaise Pascal

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:17 pm

chetri wrote:It is vadvapi32.dll
It is a file in VAIO... Like i said it did not get installed.

User avatar
chetri
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 4:55 am
Location: India

Post by chetri » Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:52 pm

ricktendo64 wrote: It is a file in VAIO... Like i said it did not get installed.
But The VAIO is in the addon "in the folder svcpack"

BTW i m waiting for your next realise.
Thanks
`



I made this letter longer than usual because I lack the time to make it short.
--------Blaise Pascal

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:39 pm

chetri wrote:But The VAIO is in the addon "in the folder svcpack"
I know VAIO installer is in there but I had one test ISO recently for some reason the Alky install failed... The only thing different was JRE and WLM messenger (both MSI's also) were not integrated in that test I ran. I set them to be installed before Alky and all went much better the second time.

OH and I think I found the typo that might have been the cause of some errors
DisplayResource="@%%ProgramFiles%%\%SIDEBAR%\sidebar.exe",1000
I needed to remove the AT symbol, it did not belong in DisplayResource (used for multilingual sidebar shortcut names)

BTW ALL Alky Sidebar tests so far have been flawless so far just waiting for it to go public and the addon will be released.

Will now be compatible with both Xable and RyanVM UpdatePacks, also gonna have a Server 2003 version and a INF Installer version for any OS.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:46 am

Alky for Apps is out... Sidebar addon updated, link is in my sig. I use the sidebar from Server 2008 beta 3 (thanks to MrNxDmX)

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Mon Aug 06, 2007 4:42 am

Downloaded. Thanks. But what about an Vista Sidebar with Alky ?

2008 is still beta, so... you understand I think...

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:00 am

Dude this is the sidebar that might be in Vista SP1... The weather gadget (for me at least) does not have the any problems like before.

This sidebar is better, trust me.

User avatar
runningfool87
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by runningfool87 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:58 pm

nice job, rick.

will the old alternative sidebar skins (patched sidebar.exe) still work with this one?

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:17 pm

No... I haven't updated the respatches, I'm waiting for and recommend Windows Sidebar Styler v2.0.6 (Sidebar will be resizable)

cindy
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:33 am

Re: [NEW] Windows Server 2008 beta 3 Sidebar (w/Alky for Apps)

Post by cindy » Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:18 am

ricktendo64 wrote:Image Image

Windows Server 2008 beta 3 Sidebar
Link is in my sig
MD5: 5ACE494BA1EB8ABD5D6F61905D0CBF8B
Size: 15.6 MB

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Sun Nov 18, 2007 1:41 pm

Rick, thank you very much for this and all your work!

Of all the weather gadgets I've tried under my Vista machine, I prefer the WChannel one (with it's SunDown skin which is included) you can get from http://www.greycastle.com/gadgets/wchannel/index.html. Direct download is http://www.greycastle.com/gadgets/wchan ... hannel.zip. Is there anything I can do to add this to my XP installations using your addon? I tried double-clicking of course, but didn't expect it to work and it didn't. If possible, I would like to know how to add it after the fact (after XP installation) and also how to integrate it into your sidebar addon.

If you tried it, you might agree it's the best. ;)

kostn95user
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:21 am

Post by kostn95user » Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:26 pm

Hi! I want to intergrate the sidebar in greek windows xp. How can i do this? I've intergrated with nlite but i get some problems like wlan drivers not loaded and stucks into windows boot...delay to windows staret up etc...
If u could help it will be great...
thanks anyway

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:15 am

Hi ricktendo64, is there any chance that you'll release this as a switchless installer (again)? There was one in the past if I recall correctly. The reason I ask is that I prefer to have software like this as an optional installable component, rather than having it integrated into the XP source. Thank you in advance. :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:08 am

Nope, no plans

BTW my inf works EXACTLY like a installer, it will prompt and even check if alky for applications is installed so why dont you just use it that way

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:34 am

Ok, thank you for the heads up. I'll look into the inf method.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:51 am

Just right click on sidebar.inf and choose install

Post Reply