[RELEASE] Boooggy's WMP 11 direct integration solution

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:31 am

fragbert please try before speak.....
slipstreamer doesnt need nlite or other way to disable sfc. slisptreamer works just fine with sfc on.

bhurtel
please try slipstreamer on a fresh source and then install to see if u loose the theme service.

bhurtel
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:26 pm

Post by bhurtel » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:06 pm

yep.. iam already using patched sfc_os.dll
still i am encountering various problem
one of them is theme issue and show desktop icon on quick launch bar

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:53 pm

bhurtel
please use only wmp slipstreamer on a fresh source ...with no patched files or addons.

XeroxZer0
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:22 pm

Post by XeroxZer0 » Sat Jul 05, 2008 10:47 pm

If i'm integrating WMP 11 with Slipstreamer into a Windows XP SP3 source, do I still need all the hotfixes listed on the Slipstreamer web site?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Jul 05, 2008 10:55 pm

yes

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:11 pm

For Windows XP SP3 I've been only slipstreaming WMP11 (without any hotfixes) and WU/MU is not reporting the need for any further hotfixes. Is this a bug with WU/MU?

I checked the WMP11 Slipstreamer website and this particular issue isn't addressed in the FAQ, so I'm not sure if this has been discussed elsewhere.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:12 pm

Because these are fixes that MS makes public (because of low demand) but at the same time doesn't publish them on Windows Update / Microsoft Update.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:15 pm

Well I guess that would splain it. Thanks..

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:48 pm

AFAIK, WMP11 doesn't even show up itself on WU/MU at all on a SP3 system (if WMP10 or WMP9 is installed, for example). So it's my opinion that the WMP11 hotfixes not showing up when WMP11 alone is installed or integrated, that it's Microsoft's underzealous effort at synchronizing WU/MU with SP3.

.NET 3.0 or 3.5 don't show up under SP3 either.
Gigabyte case GZ-FA2CA-AJB
Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P with Realtek High Definition Audio
HIS Radeon HD 4850 512MB
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3GHz
Corsair 4GB DDR2-6400 4-4-4-12
4x1TB SATA RAID 0+1/2x640GB SATA RAID 0/Misc. PATA
Windows 7 x64

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:47 am

sounds like SP3 has a fair share of problems

there is 2 hotfixes that used to be listed but no longer are without an explanation or at least I cannot find one.

KB942264
and
942264

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:52 am

KB942264 has been obsoleted by KB945381, which is on the list.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:53 am

Please see the first post, we automatically add/remove hotfixes from the list on the site as they become superseded by other wmp11 hotfixes microsoft releases.

If you wish to see details, follow this thread: http://boooggy.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4.

Any changes we make to the hotfix list will be documented in that thread from now on.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:10 am

ok I removed both those hotfixes from my slipstream list now thank you.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:34 am

chrisalys
please check slipstreamer site. we keep a list with all necessary hotfixes which is updated as soon as microsoft releases new fixes for wmp11.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:13 pm

boogy I used ryan's latest post sp3 beta pack and also used the wmp11 slipstreamer via nlite, both nlite and your slipstreamer I used latest versions, and also slipstreamed hotfixes listed on your site.

However there was a error listed in qfecheck on my test installation and I have been advised my wmp11 integration may have caused it.

Here is the files affected.

KB898461: This hotfix should be reinstalled.

The following files are incorrect for this hotfix:
C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\PREINSTALL\WINSE\WXP_X86_0409_V1\SPMSG.DLL.REF

C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\PREINSTALL\WINSE\WXP_X86_0409_V1\SPUNINST.EXE.
REF
C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\PREINSTALL\WINSE\WXP_X86_0409_V1\SPUPDSVC.EXE.
REF

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:43 pm

i dont know who told u that....but this hotfix has nothing to do with wmp 11 integration.
please retest without wmp integration and recheck.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:23 am

yep will do.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:35 am

Hi, sorry for the delay, when I removed wmp11 and the hotfixes from my install the error is gone.

The way I am integrating is adding wmp11 to nlite, nlite automatically runs wmp11 slipstreamer and then it installs the hotfixes, this is the the nlite documentation says to do this.

What I might try next is integrating wmp11 and the hotfixes myself with your integrator before running nlite. As I noticed although nlite calls your integrator to integrate wmp11 it does integrate the wmp11 hotfixes itself.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:32 pm

wierd....but anyhow please send me the nlite preset.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Sat Jul 12, 2008 7:53 am

is ok to private msg you the file? and I believe it has my cd key in it so that will have to be removed.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:22 am

ok boooggy I did this and worked.

1 - ran wmp11 slipstreamer and integrated wmp11 + hotfixes to clean image.
2 - ran nlite and integrated ryans update pack + other addons

Now no errors, previously nlite was running ryans update pack before your integrator, it was forcing that order so I think the problem is either the order or somehow nlite is messing it up.

--edit--

seems this order keeps wmp9 installed.
Last edited by Chrysalis on Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:30 am

It's not nLite. Integrating RVMUP_SP3_0.9.x with RVMi, then using WMP Slipstreamer 1.3.2.0 also causes those QFECheck errors. No problems when integrating the Update Pack alone.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:48 am

ok thanks for doing that seraph as next I was planning to try RVMi, I guess this is a wmp11 integration issue then. :(

I even did a test where I installed wmp11 via windows update after install and its fine.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:26 am

ok guys will check
thx for reporting it.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:43 pm

chrysalis
i looked into ryans last pack and i couldnt find the .cat file for 898461.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:43 pm

You are correct, boooggy, but inserting the CAT does not fix the problem.

I suspect that the Slipstreamer is copying those three files out of the WMP11 update packages and overwriting the newer files in the source. Specifically, those files are:
  • spmsg.dll
    • Update Pack version: 6.3.13
      version after WMP11 Slipstreamer: 6.2.29
    spuninst.exe
    • Update Pack version: 6.3.13
      version after WMP11 Slipstreamer: 6.2.29
    spupdsvc.exe
    • Update Pack version: 6.3.13
      version after WMP11 Slipstreamer: 6.2.29

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:15 pm

You are right, this is going to be fixed in next version. Thanks for figuring it out 5eraph.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:23 pm

No problem, guys. If you had a donate link, I'd use it. But I'll settle for helping however I can. :)

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:34 pm

5eraph wrote:If you had a donate link, I'd use it.
That makes two of us.

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Sat Jul 12, 2008 4:18 pm

great work seraph. Also thanks to all involved on thie integrator is very useful.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:06 am


User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:53 am

v1.3.4.0 seems to work perfectly for me with x86 and x64 sources. Great work! :)

One question: Did you remove the ShowAppTitlebarVTen tweak for x86?

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:58 am

good to hear 5eraph
i think i did remove that long time ago...even since this was addon.....

Chrysalis
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:37 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Chrysalis » Sun Jul 13, 2008 5:39 pm

excellent great work.

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:47 am

boooggy

quick question did you guys remove the Tweaked option from the latest build v1.3.4.0? when I select that option now it never gets added I have tried it on a clean source with SP3 and nothing else just to make sure it was not an addon causing the problem but still no luck.

Thanks again for the awesome tool you and n7Epsilon have created looking forward to testing the IE Slipstreamer you are working on. :D

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:09 pm


dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:07 pm

Thanks guys it works perfect again..... :D

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:42 am

Sorry guys I spoke to soon it looks like the use custom icon is now not working? I'll check back later to see what you find and thanks again.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:06 pm


dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:48 pm

Thanks again guys......

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:36 pm

I have been thinking about this for awhile, and I hope someone can give me an answer here. Lets say that the wmp11 slipstreamer was updated. In addition, the list of hot fixes was updated to represent was is needed for the slipstreamer to make wmp11 up to date. Assuming some new hot fix supersedes another hot fix, if the "original" hot fix was also integrated in with the newer hot fix that superseded it, does that cause a problem with the wmp11 slipstreamer? Or is that intelligently taken care of by the slipstreamer?

I really like what the wmp11 slipstreamer does, I just want to prevent causing myself any problems in the future. Thanks for the help guys.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:32 am

crashfly
slippy does file version compare so it will update any file to the last version.

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:40 am

boooggy wrote:crashfly
slippy does file version compare so it will update any file to the last version.
Thank you very much. I appreciate the answer and very much appreciate the slipstreamer. Kudos to boooggy!
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Happy-Dude
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:13 pm

Post by Happy-Dude » Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:11 pm

EDIT 2:: Hmm ... Error occurred again; this time I corrected it by selecting the hotfixes/ patches in a different order (which I probably did last time also). Makes sense, since MS, more often than not, always has updates left over after each updating session ;) .

EDIT: Ahh, slipstream successful with read-only attributes removed :) !!
Integration completed successfully
Error report: (Unexpected handle or something like that)

Posted at quotes. Trying slipstreamer onto folder with the read-only attributes removed. Wish me luck ;)
WMP11Slipstreamer v1.3.4.2
Detected source: Windows™ XP Professional SP3

Hotfixes:
windowsmedia11-kb928788-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb929399-v2-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb929773-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb932390-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb933547-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb935551-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb935552-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb939209-x86-intl.exe
WindowsMedia11-KB939683-x86-ENU.exe
windowsmedia11-kb944882-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb945381-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb946665-x86-intl.exe
windowsmedia11-kb950478-x86-intl.exe
WindowsXP-KB941569-x86-ENU.EXE

System.UnauthorizedAccessException: Access to the path 'C:\Documents and Settings\Stanley\Desktop\WinXP_Pro\i386\wmp11temp\Fixes\Update\Update.exe' is denied.
at Epsilon.Slipstreamers.WMP11Slipstreamer.Backend.StandardHotfixApply(String fixesFolder)
at Epsilon.Slipstreamers.WMP11Slipstreamer.Backend.ApplyFixes()
at Epsilon.Slipstreamers.WMP11Slipstreamer.Backend.Slipstream()
at Epsilon.Slipstreamers.WMP11Slipstreamer.MainForm.WorkerMethod(Object workerParam)

Extra error information:
Offending hotfix: windowsmedia11-kb950478-x86-intl.exe

Deleting "C:\Documents and Settings\Stanley\Desktop\WinXP_Pro\i386\wmp11temp"... Done!

The source being modified has not been damaged.
All changes have been successfully reverted.

bigfatroundguy
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: USA

Post by bigfatroundguy » Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:27 am

where are the settings stored - ie, output type - "tweaked"? thx

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:27 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:Install the WMP11 Slipstreamer or copy the EXE to the %ProgramFiles%\nLite folder then Add the Windows Media Player 11 Installer from Microsoft into the Hotfixes Tab and when it comes time to integrate WMP, nLite will launch the Integrator and Slipstream it
I realize this is an old post but I am trying to automate WMP11 Integration + all the hotfixes with either RVMI or nLite... I did search all over but I guess I missed any straight forward directions.

nLite: is your previous solution still how to do it? How do I add the hotfixes?

RVMI: do I use the run program after integration and then enter the parameters for the command line switches?

These are the command line switches I put together:

Code: Select all

WMP11Slipstreamer.exe /installer:"C:\!Slipstream\_XPTools\WMP11\wmp11.exe" /winsource:"my target location"
/hotfix:C:\!Slipstream\_XPTools\WMP11\|kb928788.exe|kb929399.exe|kb929773.exe|kb932390.exe|kb933547.exe|kb935551.exe|kb935552.exe|kb939209.exe|KB939683.exe|kb941569.exe|kb944882.exe|kb945381.exe|kb946665.exe|kb950478.exe" /output:"Normal" /slipstream /closeonsuccess
Any help would be appreciated...

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:33 pm

For nLite you add the hotfixes as if you are adding normal hotfixes for direct integration. nLite handles the rest.

For the integrator, yes, you launch it using that method or in a batch file after it finishes.
The command line is correct except for a little syntax error:
Put a quote (in the place where I put the quote in yellow) to match with the quote at the end of the "hotfix" parameter's value.
.... /hotfix:"Path to hotfix folder|hotfix1.exe|hotfix2.exe" ...
Remove the trailing slash ( \ ) after the hotfix path to avoid problems.

I have edited your post to maintain forum layout.

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:22 pm

n7Epsilon.. thanks VERY VERY MUCH!!! I tried with RVMI and it worked like a charm... this will make the entire process soo much easier.

I understood the " correction but I don't seem to see the trailing slash (\) after the hotfix path

I think I now understand how to post "code" and will do so from now on :oops:

One last question for the sake of recent/updated clarification:

When I test I use about 6 or so steps during integrations but after all is working I would like to reduce the steps and automate as much as possible. With that said do you think I could integrate MrNxDmX NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.2.7z in the same step I am using RVMI to call WMP11 Slipstreamer? I only ask because I seem to have read contradictory information regarding which should be done 1st... WMP11 or IE7

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:53 pm

WMP11Slipstreamer does not touch hive infs or any of the ie files. It and IE7's operations are completely mutually exclusive. It doesn't matter which is done first.

(Unless rvm integrator has a bug and corrupts the files when it integrates ie7)

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:58 pm

I will be testing this evening and will report back... THANKS

EDIT: I have now tested this four times and each one worked perfect... THANKS
Last edited by compstuff on Thu Sep 11, 2008 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply