REQ:- cmd command anywhere on right click

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
cosy
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:56 pm

REQ:- cmd command anywhere on right click

Post by cosy » Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:57 am

is there anything like this?
I'm looking for an Add-on, at right click-cmd command.
Thank you

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:13 am

Here is an inf file I use myself to add the appropriate entries into the registry. It's not an addon, though I can make one out of it if you wish.

Code: Select all

[Version]
Signature = $Windows NT$

[DefaultInstall]
AddReg = Registry

[Optional Components]
CMDHere

[CMDHere]
OptionDesc = "CMD Here"
Tip = "Lets you open a command window in the current(ly selected) directory"
Modes = 0,1,2,3
AddReg = Registry

[Registry]
HKCR,*\shell\1st,,,"Open With..."
HKCR,*\shell\1st\command,,,"{09799AFB-AD67-11d1-ABCD-00C04FC30936}"
HKCR,*\shell\cmd,,,"Open Command Window Here"
HKCR,*\shell\cmd\command,,,"cmd %COMSPEC%"
HKCR,Directory\shell\cmd,,,"Open Command Window Here"
HKCR,Directory\shell\cmd\command,,,"cmd /K cd %L & %%COMSPEC%%"
HKCR,Drive\shell\cmd,,,"Open Command Window Here"
HKCR,Drive\shell\cmd\command,,,"cmd %COMSPEC%"
The '1st' entries are there so that opening a command window doesn't become the default option for every unknown filetype - it does add an extra Open With... option to -every- file type, but I don't know of a better way.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:25 am

I use only these lines in the [Registry] section:

Code: Select all

HKCR,"Directory\shell\cmd",,,"Open Command Prompt Here"
HKCR,"Directory\shell\cmd\command",,,"cmd.exe /k ""cd %L"""
HKCR,"Drive\shell\cmd",,,"Open Command Prompt Here"
HKCR,"Drive\shell\cmd\command",,,"cmd.exe /k ""cd %L"""
Works fine for me when right-clicking a drive or folder.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:32 am

Yeah, but personally I think it's much more useful to be able to right click on a file (such as an executable you want to run in a command window) while you're already inside a folder, and tell it to open a command window there. Of course that's just my opinion, so take from my .inf file what you need ^_^
Edit: I also prefer to see the %COMSPEC% message as I think it looks better that way. If you don't, just take it out.
Last edited by Mitsuko Aninikkou on Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

cosy
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:56 pm

Post by cosy » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:35 am

Mitsuko Aninikkou wrote:It's not an addon, though I can make one out of it if you wish.
Thank you for the response, can you please make one, I don't want to always go to the registry to do this all the time...
A nice day

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:39 am

That's a good idea, MA. My only problem with it is that if I want to run a file from the console then I usually want to add parameters to the command line.

Not bad, otherwise. :)

cosy
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:56 pm

Post by cosy » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:40 am

5eraph wrote:I use only these lines in the [Registry] section:

Code: Select all

HKCR,"Directory\shell\cmd",,,"Open Command Prompt Here"
HKCR,"Directory\shell\cmd\command",,,"cmd.exe /k ""cd %L"""
HKCR,"Drive\shell\cmd",,,"Open Command Prompt Here"
HKCR,"Drive\shell\cmd\command",,,"cmd.exe /k ""cd %L"""
Works fine for me when right-clicking a drive or folder.
thank you,
would you be kind enough and make a batch file so I can just import this to the registry...?
BTW:- is it also possible to make a small add-on for this?
Appreciated

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:48 am

No problem, cosy. I'll have it ready in a few minutes. :)

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:52 am

:P it's like a race..
Edit: Some formatting for my post so it resembles 5eraph's release (looking good, mate :) )

Open Command Prompt Here Addon

Detail:
  • Integrate with RyanVM Integrator v1.4.3 or nLite 1.2.1 (or later versions of either).
Download:
Notes:
  • This addon is meant only for integration; use 5eraph's version or the inf above to manually install it.
Last edited by Mitsuko Aninikkou on Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:52 am, edited 4 times in total.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:08 am

5eraph wrote:That's a good idea, MA. My only problem with it is that if I want to run a file from the console then I usually want to add parameters to the command line.

Not bad, otherwise. :)
Could you elaborate? What parameters would you use?

cosy
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:56 pm

Post by cosy » Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:11 am

@5eraph
sorry, I sent you a small PM

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:19 am

LOL, Mitsuko Aninikkou. I didn't mean to race, but it's still fun. :)

Open Command Prompt Here Addon

Detail:
  • Integrate with RyanVM Integrator v1.4.3 or nLite 1.2.1 (or later versions of either).
Download:Notes:
  • The INF within this addon is designed to work when integrated and as a standalone. Right-clicking to Install works.

    It's not necessary to use this addon with Mitsuko Aninikkou's. They generally accomplish the same thing using different methods. :)
Changelog:
  • [2007/01/18 15:10 GMT] - v1.1 - Fixed a typo that should have prevented the registry tweaks from being imported during Windows setup.
  • [2007/01/17 14:20 GMT] - v1.0 - Initial Release.
Last edited by 5eraph on Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:15 am, edited 2 times in total.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:37 am

Work like a sharm 5eraph,really usefull!Thanx :lol:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:17 pm

Thanks for the complements, everyone. :)

When I want to run a file at the console, MA, I'll generally want to add parameters like this:

Code: Select all

ModifyPE.exe this.dll -c
KB999999.exe /q /o /n /z
MyApp.exe -runwindowed -actcrazy
I can't add arbitrary parameters like that by just right-clicking on the file. ;)
Last edited by 5eraph on Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:21 pm

Aah, I suspected you meant something like that.. What my tweak does is open a console window inside the folder the file is located in. So you can still run the file with those switches. The only difference between this tweak and the others is that here the console window is opened pointing to the directory the file is located in, whereas with the others it's opened pointing to the directory or drive you've selected ;)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:25 pm

That's cool. I'll have to try it out and maybe use it myself. :)

Post Reply