[Release] Internet Explorer 7 English w/Updates (v2.0.4a)

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun May 13, 2007 2:36 pm

Thanks for the comments my friends. Very nice to hear those words from all of ya :wink:

Updated the addon to 1.0.5. (Couldnt wait Ryan's new release)
Fixed restart prompt at first logon. No restart is needed anymore :).
Added KB931768 (Replaces KB928090 & KB929726). Added MU ActiveX entry posted here, in order to make MU run at first time.

I also removed the alternative addon (no-restart) for now, its not needed anymore as normal addon doesnt require restart anymore. But tell me to add it again if you really need it.

Thats all from me for now.
nJoy ur life :)

Edit: Added rapidshare.com mirror.

dkrus
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by dkrus » Sun May 13, 2007 5:06 pm

Thanks

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Sun May 13, 2007 6:07 pm

if i use this pack over the old one (1.0.4 alternate no restart) will it work .. or do i need another alternate no restart addon.. if so could u also post the alternate no restart addon for version 1.0.5.. thx

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun May 13, 2007 7:36 pm

avneet25 wrote:if i use this pack over the old one (1.0.4 alternate no restart) will it work .. or do i need another alternate no restart addon.. if so could u also post the alternate no restart addon for version 1.0.5.. thx
Ok i will add it again. THe only issue with it is error reports in setuperr.log file and tweaks. Tweaks will be applied to all users. Or i can use my new method for it too :twisted:
But now i need a new naming for alternate addon. Normal addon doesnt require a reboot anymore, so no-reboot is not suitable. Any ideas?

Edit: Removed links for an hour. Will reupload normal addon...

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun May 13, 2007 8:32 pm

I added alternative addon for people who used old alternate addons. I reuploaded normal addon, changed ieuinit.inf file a bit. No version change.

I'm changing the inf file with a modified one at first restart, in both addons. So your tweaks wont get applied to new users.
Alternative addon had had errors with icons but i fixed them with a reg key. I'm not sure if there are more errors but we know none for now. So, I suggest you to use normal addon for maximum stability.

I didnt test the alternative addon yet. I'll be glad if someone can test it.
Also is there anybody using these addons with WinXp Home edition? I wonder the results with home edition...

For those who wonders: The real difference between 2 addons is these files: imgutil.dll, inetcpl.cpl, inseng.dll, mshtml.dll, msrating.dll, pngfilt.dll, webcheck.dll
In normal addon i dont overwrite these files with XpSP2 ones. I use cab file to copy them with a different naming, then after setup finishes (at OOBE) these files overwrite older ones. In alternative addon, i overwrite all files in Xp disc.
Thats all.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun May 13, 2007 8:48 pm

IMO its better to overwrite the files instead of having duplicate files.

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Mon May 14, 2007 2:51 am

MrNxDmX wrote:Also is there anybody using these addons with WinXp Home edition? I wonder the results with home edition...
I'm using it in XP Home...works perfectly. I'm having an intermittent issue on the first thru third restart with "winlogon.exe" error that tends to resolve itself by the third or fourth restart (never to appear again) but I'm not sure if it's this pack or not.

sigh...more testing.

BTW, Ryan's new update pack is up.

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Mon May 14, 2007 4:30 am

I'm getting an error than corpol.dll is not signed properly by Microsoft. I checked the MD5 sum of the file in the virtual machine and the one in my real and they are identical. Is this a MS problem (grrr again!) or something else.

Thanks for doing this heavy job and keep up the good work

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Mon May 14, 2007 9:04 am

so the alt addon replaces files, whereas the plain one adds files and keeps the old ones too? Also the alt one must be used if integrating over the previous alt addon? Just checking. Going to build a new source later with Ryan's new update.

User avatar
pawan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: India

Post by pawan » Mon May 14, 2007 9:56 am

colornokia wrote:I'm getting an error than corpol.dll is not signed properly by Microsoft. I checked the MD5 sum of the file in the virtual machine and the one in my real and they are identical. Is this a MS problem (grrr again!) or something else.
same error here

Code: Select all

Setup detected that the system file named [c:\windows\system32\corpol.dll] is not signed properly
by Microsoft.  This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Mon May 14, 2007 10:57 am

Is that file from Vista?
File must be:
Corpol.dll
7.0.6000.16441
07-Mar-2007
17:45
17,408
but it is 08-jan-2007
Maybe just replase it from KB931768?

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/securi ... 7-027.mspx

... or modify it date...
Last edited by Us2002 on Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
pawan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: India

Post by pawan » Mon May 14, 2007 11:28 am

Us2002 wrote:Is that file from Vista?
:D :D :D

by the way we all are here in windows xp update pack forum.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon May 14, 2007 11:41 am

Us2002 wrote:Is that file from Vista?
File must be:
Corpol.dll
7.0.6000.16441
07-Mar-2007
17:45
17,408
but it is 08-jan-2007
Maybe just replase it from KB931768?

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/securi ... 7-027.mspx

... or modify it date...
It's not from Vista, but it is a GDR file version instead of a QFE version. Maybe that's the problem.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Mon May 14, 2007 11:46 am

And what I must to do? In that KB SP2QFE version only for x64.

User avatar
pawan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: India

Post by pawan » Mon May 14, 2007 11:47 am

It's not from Vista, but it is a GDR file version instead of a QFE version. Maybe that's the problem.
solution if any?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon May 14, 2007 11:56 am

Us2002 wrote:And what I must to do? In that KB SP2QFE version only for x64.
uh, no
Corpol.dll 7.0.6000.20544 07-Mar-2007 17:40 17,408
Though in fairness to you, they aren't listed as GDR or QFE files in the IE7 for XPSP2 list.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Mon May 14, 2007 12:04 pm

Sorry, Ryan was right.
Corpol.dll
7.0.6000.20544
07-Mar-2007
17:40
17,408

But where are Inetcpl.cpl, Mshtml.dll, Msrating.dll, Webcheck.dll, Updspapi.dll in pack?

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Mon May 14, 2007 12:39 pm

FWIW on my system that has all the current hotfixes from Microsoft Update installed the old fashioned way since it was last reloaded in Dec 2006, I have the Jan version of corpol.dll (same as in the ISO built with the current pack).

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon May 14, 2007 12:47 pm

Us2002 wrote:Sorry, Ryan was right.
Corpol.dll
7.0.6000.20544
07-Mar-2007
17:40
17,408

But where are Inetcpl.cpl, Mshtml.dll, Msrating.dll, Webcheck.dll, Updspapi.dll in pack?
Read the thread.
MrNxDmX wrote:For those who wonders: The real difference between 2 addons is these files: imgutil.dll, inetcpl.cpl, inseng.dll, mshtml.dll, msrating.dll, pngfilt.dll, webcheck.dll
In normal addon i dont overwrite these files with XpSP2 ones. I use cab file to copy them with a different naming, then after setup finishes (at OOBE) these files overwrite older ones. In alternative addon, i overwrite all files in Xp disc.
Thats all.
Also, updspapi.dll is a generic hotfix installer file and isn't needed.
techtype wrote:FWIW on my system that has all the current hotfixes from Microsoft Update installed the old fashioned way since it was last reloaded in Dec 2006, I have the Jan version of corpol.dll (same as in the ISO built with the current pack).
Of course, because GDR files are installed by default.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Mon May 14, 2007 12:56 pm

Yes, read at past minute, no questions :). In second addon they are present, my mistake. Can I get QFE version of this dll?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon May 14, 2007 12:58 pm

Sure, download the hotfix and extract it with the /x switch. They're in the SP2QFE folder.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
just_laze
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by just_laze » Mon May 14, 2007 1:16 pm

Hi,

Thanks for updating the add-on.

Can you please confirm that after setup completes IE7 can be run straight away without the need to restart, now that you've removed the restart prompt anyway?

laze.
Last edited by just_laze on Mon May 14, 2007 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Mon May 14, 2007 1:19 pm

Tnx, but file not present (i saw that in manifest too).

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Mon May 14, 2007 1:26 pm

Us2002 wrote:Tnx, but file not present (i saw that in manifest too).
This is a topic of some discussion on the net -- as to why that file is not in there!

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Mon May 14, 2007 1:33 pm

Very strange - KB931768 doesn't include corpol.dll :shock:
However KB928090, which KB931768 replace, does contain corpol.dll. Wow what's going on here. Also KB928090 doesn't include QFE version of the files, only GDR. Wow what a MS mess

User avatar
just_laze
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by just_laze » Mon May 14, 2007 4:42 pm

Hi,

Regarding corpol.dll, what is all this dribble. Is there a real problem, if not can we leave it to rest now and move on to any real bugs that may be found?

laze.

User avatar
jej
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:53 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

Post by jej » Tue May 15, 2007 12:09 am

hi, thanks for this addon

man... se better about your alternative addon, this work fully with...

the normal addon, cause various errors in windows... and not install ie7 corretly, when i try to open ie, simple, it no open.

only this... bye

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Tue May 15, 2007 4:01 am

after integrating normal addon 1.0.5, MU claims for KB931768-IE7: is it normal?

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Tue May 15, 2007 4:26 am

Sorry for this post. I'm sure it's just to give Ryan/DmX a light headache, but...

Some of this stuff is just WAY over my head, although I think I get the gist of it. The "normal" addon adds files to the XP disk, and the "alternate" overwrites them... (kinda like your Update Pack, right Ryan?)

So wouldn't this be better? Which is the more stable version?
:( :(

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Tue May 15, 2007 6:10 am

IE7 slipstreamed breaks RunOnceEx, the new cummulative update perhaps; had to resort to batch, whether it is this pack or directly slipstreamed, all via nlite 1.35. Moreover, the install finishes using the alternative pack, but, executables in SVCPACK do not run, IE7 is "buggy" and most of the tweaks are not applied at first logon or reboot. The additional corpol.dll error occurs as stated earlier in the thread; not present with previous version, but, quite a bit has changed since then. IE7 directly slipstreamed using nlite breaks RunOnceEx, but, with batch at GUI the install is good. The TCPIP.sys is updated with these recent MUS fixes-for 100% CPU Utilization, which, BTW does not work....again. :shock:
Last edited by RickSteele on Wed May 16, 2007 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue May 15, 2007 6:57 am

colornokia wrote:Very strange - KB931768 doesn't include corpol.dll :shock:
However KB928090, which KB931768 replace, does contain corpol.dll. Wow what's going on here. Also KB928090 doesn't include QFE version of the files, only GDR. Wow what a MS mess
And you just figured out the crux of the matter. Basically, KB928090 had corpol.dll in it. KB931768 doesn't (even though the MS security bulletin claims that it should). MrNxDmX removed KB928090.cat when updating to 1.0.5. This in turn led to corpol.dll not being signed since KB931768.cat doesn't recognize it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
just_laze
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by just_laze » Tue May 15, 2007 6:00 pm

So...

The solution is to re-add KB928090.cat, right? Or can you modify KB931768 to sign corpol.dll using KB928090.cat as a reference?

laze.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue May 15, 2007 6:14 pm

Woot what a mess :(
ricktendo64 wrote:IMO its better to overwrite the files instead of having duplicate files.
But that way creates errors. Dont forget the User Accounts Icon issue. Its fixed with a registry entry. :wink:
mr_smartepants wrote:I'm using it in XP Home...works perfectly. I'm having an intermittent issue on the first thru third restart with "winlogon.exe" error that tends to resolve itself by the third or fourth restart (never to appear again) but I'm not sure if it's this pack or not.
Thanks for report mr_smartepants. If you find the reason of error and if its this pack, i will try to fix it.
DigeratiPrime wrote:so the alt addon replaces files, whereas the plain one adds files and keeps the old ones too? Also the alt one must be used if integrating over the previous alt addon? Just checking. Going to build a new source later with Ryan's new update.
Alt addon replaces all files at same time of integration. Normal addon replaces all files except 7files (that i listed above) at same time of integration. Replaces remaining 7 at OOBE.
Us2002 wrote:But where are Inetcpl.cpl, Mshtml.dll, Msrating.dll, Webcheck.dll, Updspapi.dll in pack?
They are in NR_IE7en.cab file in normal addon.
just_laze wrote:Can you please confirm that after setup completes IE7 can be run straight away without the need to restart, now that you've removed the restart prompt anyway?
Yeah, I confirm it.

@ jej: I couldnt understand your post. Can you give more information please.
nonno fabio wrote:after integrating normal addon 1.0.5, MU claims for KB931768-IE7: is it normal?
No its not normal. It shouldnt show that fix. I'll look into it again. Which addon did you use?

@RaGhul: Normal addon is more stable than alternative one. (IMO)

@RickSteele: How do you test RunonceEx? I want to give a try.

Thanks for reply Ryan. You removed KB928090 in your latest pack, too. :wink:
I think that, corpol.dll issue occurs only when you integrate on a source that has a previous version of the update pack. But i dont think that its not my nor your fault.

Edit:
just_laze wrote:The solution is to re-add KB928090.cat, right? Or can you modify KB931768 to sign corpol.dll using KB928090.cat as a reference?
Or edit both this addons and update pack's entries.ini files and delete KB928090 from obsolete list. Or you can add KB928090.cat file manually.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Tue May 15, 2007 6:53 pm

ok guys ..both addons ..which one to use..i mean which one doesnt have any errors ..or shud i wait for another update

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue May 15, 2007 7:01 pm

avneet25, i've tested normal addon several times, and dont remember any issues. Not sure about the alternative addon. I added it after request, not really tested yet.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue May 15, 2007 7:04 pm

MrNxDmX wrote:Thanks for reply Ryan. You removed KB928090 in your latest pack, too. :wink:
Well no duh. The files fixed by the IE6 cumulative updates haven't changed...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Tue May 15, 2007 7:19 pm

@MrNxDmX

"@RickSteele: How do you test RunonceEx? I want to give a try."

Save below as RunOnceEx.reg

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx]
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I double click my RunOnceEx.cmd file in Windows Explorer, navigate to HKLM>...RunOnceEx to see if all the entries registered and were saved to the registry, all went well that way; delete the key, exit regedit, merge the above reg file, make my ISO, backup my boot partition, delete, repartition boot and run the install. As I have stated before in RyanVM's forum I can only use nlite, using Integrator gives me a fatal NTFS.SYS error no matter what I do after txtmode on reboot to GUI.

Writing

REG ADD %KEY% /V Flags /T REG_DWORD /D 128 /F

(from Yzowl in the MSFN forums) under the title line was/is the only way I was able to fix the issue; but, no dialogue box when RunOnceEx is executing; so, I was installing "blind", however, the entire cmd ran to successful completion. Two fresh installs wthout the above line addition, first one failed to install any SVCPACK executables; ie: RogueSpearAddonsRuntimesCF_2.5.3 and RunOnceEx also failed completely-no 010_RogueSpearsRuntimesPart2, apps or partition formatting etc. using your alt pack; upon trying to install both RogueSpear's runonce combo runtime packs after reboot nothing, no install; they would extract and silently fail with no system log entries. The other using nlite to slipstream IE7 and the three hotfixes, no changes to order or method of making ISO; iernonce.dll was/is just not recognizing the key and could not be forced to do so from commandline-rundll32.exe......, but, SVCPACK executed to successful completion, and the rest could be installed after reboot,ie:010_RogueSpearsRuntimesPart2 etc.
:oops: just realized the Phishing Filter hotfix..089 is no longer required, but, I do not think it caused these failures....am making a new ISO without it. :rolleyes:
I do tend to run on don't I....? :lol: Hope I answered your question! :)

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Wed May 16, 2007 2:31 am

MrNxDmX wrote:
nonno fabio wrote:after integrating normal addon 1.0.5, MU claims for KB931768-IE7: is it normal?
No its not normal. It shouldnt show that fix. I'll look into it again. Which addon did you use?
I've used normal one (not the alternative) on a fresh XP cd

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Wed May 16, 2007 6:54 am

MrNxDmX wrote: I think that, corpol.dll issue occurs only when you integrate on a source that has a previous version of the update pack. But i dont think that its not my nor your fault.
Nope I used clean source only with SP2 integrated

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Wed May 16, 2007 10:52 am

I also get the same corpol.dll error; fresh ISO and install

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Wed May 16, 2007 3:00 pm

Used NR_IE7en_Addon_1.0.5_alt.7z with the the latest RyanVM in a new install source worked perfect :)

User avatar
galileo
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:11 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA

Post by galileo » Wed May 16, 2007 5:03 pm

@DigeratiPrime

What integration tool: RVMIntegrator or nLite ?

Single pass integration or some particular order ?

Any other addon packs or tweaks ?

Thanks for any comments :)

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Wed May 16, 2007 10:29 pm

@MrNxDmX

Just in case this is how I make my ISO's-three steps, in the order they are listed below, all with nlite 1.35:

Step 1)
RVMUpdatePack2.1.10, RVMAddonsDX9_1.3, Xable_CalcPlus-v1.2_addon, Kels_WGABare_V1.7.36.0_addon, Boooggy_WMP11_Addon, Kels_CMDHere_addon_v1.4, Kels_RegUnReg_addon_v1.1, Kels_SpiritPyre_Ext_addon_2.0, MrsP_Cabinet_Tools_SDK_Combo_Addon_v1.2, MrsP_FileCase_ShellExt_Addon_v1.2.7.28, Ricks_Reg2Inf.40_AddOn (built for me by ricktendo64), RogueSpearAddonsRuntimesCF_2.5.4

Step 2)
IE7-WindowsXP-x86-enu, IE7-KB929969-WindowsXP-x86-enu, IE7-WindowsXP-KB931768-x86-enu, OR
NR_IE7en_Addon_1.0.5_alt, remove screen savers, windows color scheme, music samples, all display and sound controller drivers, apply any tweaks, patches, service mods, create winnt.sif and first.cmd OR cmdlines.txt /RunOnceEx.cmd

Step 3)
Integrate nforce4 sata RAID, SMBus, NVIDIA Ethernet, ASUS Acpi, 158.22_forceware_winxp_english and Samsung SyncMaster 225BW, make bootable ISO.

I've found removing the drivers from XP's cabs first in a separate operation allows for unfettered unsigned driver installation that is much more stable, including sound. When I tried to integrate the unsigned GeForce, XP would throw them into a custom system32\temp file after GUI during final reboot and install the generic legacy ones; upon reinstall after logon XP would not replace the miniport with the unsigned update, even though this behaviour is set to ignore in the answer file, System Properties and group policy. Finally, removing the drivers from XP's cab files also eliminates the "are you sure you want to...." nag prompt when I reinstall the integrated drivers-no ryme or reason!

All my ISO's are similar; I remove the cursors, MSN, games etc. from the answer file and cannot import my group policy settings because I install nothing to %programfiles% having my dll and driver caches, along with many other files and all my apps, moved_installed to/situated on partitions that cannot be formatted until after OOBE.......
Last edited by RickSteele on Thu May 17, 2007 8:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Wed May 16, 2007 10:32 pm

DigeratiPrime wrote:Used NR_IE7en_Addon_1.0.5_alt.7z with the the latest RyanVM in a new install source worked perfect :)
no lines in your setuperr log at all? :!:

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Thu May 17, 2007 2:57 am

RickSteele wrote: create winnt.sif and first.cmd OR cmdlines.txt /RunOnceEx.cmd
.......
I thought this pack broke RunOnceEx?? Or was that fixed?

I'm having an intermittent issue where half of my addons are not getting listed in the svcpack.inf file after integration. I'm still testing to determine the 'problem child'. No 'finger-pointing' yet. :cry:
At one point, after integrating about a dozen addons, only one was listed in svcpack.inf...weird.
Last edited by mr_smartepants on Thu May 17, 2007 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

doxik
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:46 am

v1.0.5 problem

Post by doxik » Thu May 17, 2007 5:55 am

I've got problem with this addon (v1.0.5) not alternate

setuperr.log includes:

Setup detected that the system file named xxx is not signed properly
by Microsoft. This file could not be restored to the correct Microsoft version.
Use the SFC utility to verify the integrity of the file

xxx files:

jsproxy.dll, url.dll, urlmon.dll, wininet.dll, advpack.dll, corpol.dll, extmgr.dll, ie4uinit.exe, ieakeng.dll, ieaksie.dll, ieakui.dll, iedkcs32.dll, iernonce.dll, iexplore.exe, mshtmled.dll, mstime.dll, occache.dll

and MBSA sais that KB931768 is missing.

I used RVMIntegrator on fresh XPsp2 and XPsp2 with RVMUpdatePack2.1.10 with the same result.

I tried also v1.0.5alt: setuperr.log is the same as v1.0.5 with including imgutil.dll, inseng.dll, mshtml.dll, msrating.dll, pngfilt.dll, webcheck.dll, inetcpl.cpl

But MBSA sais that KB931768 is OK (installed)

I integrate in two steps if UpdatePack is presented, because in one step integration Integrator crashes.

XPsp2 with RVMUpdatePack2.1.10 has only these in setuperr.log:
plugin.ocx and sc.exe is not signed properly.

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Thu May 17, 2007 8:05 am

mr_smartepants wrote:
RickSteele wrote: create winnt.sif and first.cmd OR cmdlines.txt /RunOnceEx.cmd
.......
I thought this pack broke RunOnceEx?? Or was that fixed?

I'm having an intermittent issue where half of my addons are not getting listed in the svcpack.inf file after integration. I'm still testing to determine the 'problem child'. No 'finger-pointing' yet. :cry:
At one point, after integrating about a dozen addons, only one was listed in svcpack.inf...weird.
Yes, RunOnceEx is broken by IE7 slipstream, when combined with the latest cummulative update-worked OK 1.04; regardless of whether this pack or nlite is used. I was merely being as thorough as I could in answering MrNxDmX's question addressed to me. I created four ISO's each session; two with the pack, one using RunOnceEx, the second, batch; two with nlite slistreaming IE7, one using RunOnceEx, the second, batch. The May cummulative update, I believe, is the cause for broken RunOnceEx and, to my knowledge, is not easily fixable. I have the same SVCPACK errors using the 1.05alt pack as laid down in my previous post; this is specific to the alt pack-I have not tried the "normal" pack.
I have no problems at all when nlite is used to slipstream IE7 and hotfixes, and a batch is used after OOBE.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: v1.0.5 problem

Post by RyanVM » Thu May 17, 2007 8:39 am

doxik wrote:XPsp2 with RVMUpdatePack2.1.10 has only these in setuperr.log:
plugin.ocx and sc.exe is not signed properly.
The setuperr.log entry for plugin.ocx is that it doesn't exist, not that it isn't signed. And my pack doesn't touch sc.exe, so that error's got nothing to do with me.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Thu May 17, 2007 8:49 am

I'm using the alternative addon and have no problems. I decided to start trying out that version once I fully understood the difference between the original and the alternative.

In setuperr.log I am indeed getting the "Setup could not register the OLE Control" for several files as is detailed in the first post of this thread, but I am not seeing any errors relating to corpol.dll anywhere.

I've done a bit of web browsing to a couple dozen sites trying to include those that use ActiveX, Java, Flash, etc. and no errors or problems.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 17, 2007 9:43 am

i think all errors SFC utility can produce by this addon or any other should get first priority .
cannot let the system hung on this kind of error at anytime. in example: what if one is away from keyboard and sfc jumps some error that await some kind of confirmation
same for plugin.ocx, if it can produce sfc errors then it must not.
my point is : if the error log complains and is interacting fully with sfc then it shouldn't ..

Post Reply