[Release] Internet Explorer 7 English w/Updates (v2.0.4a)

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:57 am

SoKoOLz wrote:wow!!

my gosh! MrNxDmX. Thank you.
BTW is this addon now contains the latest IE7 Fixes till now?

Anyway, it's nice to see you continue with this addon, I thought you are going to stop.

Cheers ^^
yes no more update needed.....

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Sat Jan 19, 2008 11:04 am

electroglyph wrote:with 1.06b my RunOnceEx doesn't work, hope it works with this one
...its b3 not ie7.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

electroglyph
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 5:52 pm

Post by electroglyph » Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:31 pm

there was nothing even wrong with my RunOnceEx, i just made a simple mistake. sorry for the clutter 8)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:24 pm

bober101 wrote:im prety sure ure addons works cuz all other ie7 addons used to work and nows ther are issues with ryan b3 update pack, i just hope it come to his attention.afew of the ie7 hotfixes are in rvmudp b3 witch leads me to belive there maybe registry issues.. or just soemthing else.
Umm, i'm deleting all ie6 related registry entries from ur windows installation (that are added by ryans update pack). And i dont suppose that Ryan added ie7 related updates. COrrect me if I'm wrong.
keloo05 wrote:Is this addon based on IE 7.0.5730.13, or 7.0.5730.11 ?
It's based on 7.0.5730.11 files. but AFAIK, only cat file and some setup related files were changed with 7.0.5730.13 release. Its on my to do list. Will check it out.
kal wrote:I'm thinking about making an IE7 addon for french source. Can I use yours?
If yes, could you tell me which inf files did you write to get it works, just entries_NR_IE7en.ini and NR_IE7en.inf ?
Of course u can my friend :wink:
all inf files in the addon needs to be changed with ur language. PM me if u need more details.
electroglyph wrote:there was nothing even wrong with my RunOnceEx, i just made a simple mistake. sorry for the clutter 8)
This makes me happy :rolleyes:

Everybody is welcome. Just inform me if u find any errors. I'll be helping you :)

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:28 am

MrNxDmX i assume ure addon has the same hotfixes as onepeices 1.9.2 addon?

cause his has 4 and 3 of them were in ryans pack, i cheked both guys .inf file and the same 3 hotfixes were there.

so thats why i was assuming ure addon would have had about the same hotfixes as onepecies' addon.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Sun Jan 20, 2008 5:56 am

Tested with lastest version (1.0.7 alt). Everything Works fine!
Great job again!
Image

sebbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:56 pm

Post by sebbie » Tue Jan 22, 2008 6:55 am

I am fairly new to using your addon but I have been testing the lastest 1.07 version. I have put my own reg tweaks into the xie7en.inf for all users but have found they only get applied to administrator users and not to limited. Is this by design or can it be fixed ?

User avatar
Nameless Mofo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:18 pm

Post by Nameless Mofo » Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:32 am

I'm pretty sure you need to add the tweaks to both the xie7en.inf file and the nr_ie7en.inf file. The nr_ie7en.inf file is actually the one that applies the tweaks at time zero, and it also sets runonce entries to replace itself with the xie7en.inf.

sebbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:56 pm

Post by sebbie » Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:51 am

Nameless Mofo wrote:I'm pretty sure you need to add the tweaks to both the xie7en.inf file and the nr_ie7en.inf file. The nr_ie7en.inf file is actually the one that applies the tweaks at time zero, and it also sets runonce entries to replace itself with the xie7en.inf.
I have added to both and setup a couple of users as administrators and a couple as limited accounts. The tweaks get applied ok to the users setup as administrators but not to the others.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:32 am

I have found that some, but not all, tweaks put into the .inf files will take hold. This isn't anything new with v1.0.7 however. It was the same thing for me back with the old version. And I think that it may just be a limitation with how XP setup works. I've tried some more exotic things in .inf files on my own such as deleting shortcuts from the start menu and while they work post-setup, they do not work during setup.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:33 pm

bober101, onepecies' addon has KB935560 and KB945007 that my addons dont have. I'll make an addon for KB945007 in next update but i'm not sure about KB935560. I can add it to pack if users request so. But i dont want to add unofficial ie7 fixes to my addons.

SoKoOLz, thanks for report :P

I'll update my addon after microsoft's new release at feb 12th (See KB946202 and KB940767). They will release a new ie7 installer, and i will update both addons with that. My addons are based 7.0.5730.11 currently. I'm working on 7.0.5730.13 now.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:05 am

it could have been great if the effort was going towards IE7 builder like the one made for sysinternals by odyn and n7
that includes also the localizing part in the addon building ...
but then of course the data base would have to be extra clever in rendering the correct download links for each language per a hotfix
with an announcement thread announcing a "feed" or a "key" for getting latest updates ......

until that happens...

can you make one regular addon for ie7mui
so from there, i will maybe try to make a tool to select the localizing layer wanted by the user
removing the rest so it wont be extra bloated with all the language packs in it ...

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:23 am

ENU_user wrote:can you make one regular addon for ie7mui
so from there, i will maybe try to make a tool to select the localizing layer wanted by the user
removing the rest so it wont be extra bloated with all the language packs in it ...
So, you want me to make an addon of "Internet Explorer 7 MUI Pack". Am I right?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:44 am

i was thinking only the mui hot fix... at first

then with using edits with integrator to apply it over i386 having a pre integrated IE7 addon

thinking about it ...
maybe breaking the mui pack for each wanted language offered as addons is best ,but maybe its better having a tut for making mui in the wanted language ...

what do you think ..?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:59 am

i think its maybe best to break the muiPack per the languages offered and upload them as addons :cool:

Us2002
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:53 am

Post by Us2002 » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:41 am

But muipack can be installed by guirunonce in silent mode, is realy need to make addon for IE, if first must to make muipack addon for windows?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:08 am

im not sure if you need to install mui pack for windows shell, in order for ie7 mui to work. or what is depended ...

i am only curious to know how it will work successfully triggering it a little ..

i don't mind testing...

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:26 pm

I installed MUI pack for IE7 on a windows xp sp2 ryanvm 221b3 integrated machine. MUI installed ok, but i can see no options to choose the language in ie7. No other mui pack installed on the machine. Also an addon seems to be too diffucult for me. there are lots of directories with lots of files containing same name. a switchless installer would do the job easily IMO.

I can make a tutorial for translating my addon. But anybody can ask me anytime for help in translating my addon :)

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:22 pm

thanks for checking this out a bit ...
at first i was looking at getting the inf file cleaned up side by side with folders.

but now i think deleting the unneeded languages by folders will do, as the inf file will probably look to install only the files available specific to the UI used in winnt.sif ..
i may be wrong, but i will need to test some ..and see .. what gives

btw, in vista all files and patches will use the same base files
and you can change the language to any one you wish at anytime
vista takes the full advantage of MUI. no more localing or local files needed like in xp ;)

User avatar
armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:12 pm

Hi, MrNxDmX,
First of all, Thank you again for your excelent work.
FYI:
Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer 7 for Windows XP Service Pack 2 (KB944533)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:23 pm

Fast enough?

The KBs aren't even posted yet!!!

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:33 am

Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer 7 for Windows XP (KB944533)
Typical download size: 2.2 MB , 4 minutes
Security issues have been identified that could allow an attacker to compromise a system running Internet Explorer and gain control over it. You can help protect your system by installing this update from Microsoft. After you install this item, you may have to restart your computer. Details...

posted now

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:09 am

Thanks for report guys. I have to update my turkish update pack, turkish ie7 addon and these. Will take some time :(

User avatar
Zyx_Maiden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by Zyx_Maiden » Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:28 am

I know you do really good hard work with those addons and updatepack. We will patiently :rolleyes: wait for next version. :D
Thanks a lot for your work.
If you see dinosaurs, stop using drugs. But, if you don't use drugs, GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE!

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Feb 14, 2008 6:30 pm

I've uploaded my normal addon here: --removed link-- (MrNxDmX)
Size: 10,7MB / MD5: 616DAF5ACE480F8CBBFAD6BE7C31A1D4

Havent tested this one yet, for that reason i havent updated first post.
I've updated core files to version 7.0.5730.13, also added KB944533 (obsoletes KB942615).

I will update this addon also alternative addon after RVM Integrator 1.5 release. I may add KB947518 as its a public release now.
Will do a version change again, so u wont conflict.
Cheers
Last edited by MrNxDmX on Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Nameless Mofo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:18 pm

Post by Nameless Mofo » Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:00 pm

Hi MrNxDmX, will the next release version of this addon require Integrator 1.5 or still compatible with 1.4.3?

Xplodzion
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:57 am

Post by Xplodzion » Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:02 am

MrNxDmX wrote:I've uploaded my normal addon here: http://rapidshare.com/files/91933427/NR ... 8a.7z.html
Size: 10,7MB / MD5: 616DAF5ACE480F8CBBFAD6BE7C31A1D4

Havent tested this one yet, for that reason i havent updated first post.
I've updated core files to version 7.0.5730.13, also added KB944533 (obsoletes KB942615).
I just tested it, works fine. :wink:

I Integrated with nlite, 0 problems during OS installation.
I need a signature.

hottiger
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 7:55 pm

Post by hottiger » Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:12 am

Sry for the stupid question but what's the difference between this and the onepiece addon?

RtOaNn
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:46 am

Post by RtOaNn » Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:58 am

I've a question regarding the updating of IE7 files by Automatic Update.

If I integrate either MrNxDmX's or OnePiece's IE7 addon, can Automatic Update update those IE7 files?

I was just worried that after integrating this addon, my IE7 files won't get updated later on.

So I just need an answer on this. Thanks!

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:16 am

RtOaNn wrote:If I integrate either MrNxDmX's or OnePiece's IE7 addon, can Automatic Update update those IE7 files?
I can only speak for this addon, but I see no reason there would be any difference with OnePiece's addon, yes the updates work fine. It would make absolutely no sense at all to integrate IE7 if that didn't work. And I'm sure you would have seen an awful lot of posts regarding the topic.

RtOaNn
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:46 am

Post by RtOaNn » Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:39 am

RogueSpear wrote:
RtOaNn wrote:If I integrate either MrNxDmX's or OnePiece's IE7 addon, can Automatic Update update those IE7 files?
I can only speak for this addon, but I see no reason there would be any difference with OnePiece's addon, yes the updates work fine. It would make absolutely no sense at all to integrate IE7 if that didn't work. And I'm sure you would have seen an awful lot of posts regarding the topic.
Thanks RogueSpear, I must have missed out on those posts.

Yup, will search more before I post.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:05 pm

What I meant was that if the updating didn't work properly then there would have been a lot of posts about that. After re-reading my post I can see that what I wrote could be a little confusing.

In general, things posted for download here should operate in a normal fashion unless otherwise specified. For instance, some people will specify that an addon does or does not follow the 8.3 file naming system for compatibility with launching setup from Windows. In my experience you can assume an addon does in fact follow that naming system unless specifically stated otherwise. We try to achieve integrations that would make your source appear as close to "stock" as possible to the uninitiated. The main difference being that the source will be superior in that you will not have to perform any (or as many) updates and since you have the updated file integrated there will hopefully be less chance of some kind of error/crash or security vulnerability.

RtOaNn
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:46 am

Post by RtOaNn » Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:53 am

RogueSpear wrote:What I meant was that if the updating didn't work properly then there would have been a lot of posts about that. After re-reading my post I can see that what I wrote could be a little confusing.

In general, things posted for download here should operate in a normal fashion unless otherwise specified. For instance, some people will specify that an addon does or does not follow the 8.3 file naming system for compatibility with launching setup from Windows. In my experience you can assume an addon does in fact follow that naming system unless specifically stated otherwise. We try to achieve integrations that would make your source appear as close to "stock" as possible to the uninitiated. The main difference being that the source will be superior in that you will not have to perform any (or as many) updates and since you have the updated file integrated there will hopefully be less chance of some kind of error/crash or security vulnerability.
Alright, I got your point now. I thought I missed out some posts which stated that using this addon meant our IE7 can't be updated anymore.

Thanks for the clarification!

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Feb 18, 2008 9:30 pm

MrNxDmX wrote:I'll update my addon after microsoft's new release at feb 12th (See KB946202 and KB940767). They will release a new ie7 installer, and i will update both addons with that. My addons are based 7.0.5730.11 currently. I'm working on 7.0.5730.13 now.
It seems that ms didnot release a new ie7 installer. I'll update both addons soon, with KB947518 integrated...

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:19 am

Ok, main post is updated with new links.
Added KB947518. Tested alternate addon in vmware, and worked fine. Normal one isnt tested yet, will be glad if u can test and report back here.

nJoy :)

Edit: Addons are compatible with integrator 1.4.3.
As 1.5 is not final yet, i havent changed the addon structure yet.

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:17 pm

thx
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
Gorki
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:36 am
Location: Croatia

Post by Gorki » Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:02 am

Thanks MrNxDmX. Nice to see you (all around) again... :)
Keep up with good job.

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:17 pm

Thank you very much!

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:13 pm

You are all welcome my friends :)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Feb 25, 2008 11:24 pm

Updated to 109a.
I removed plugin.ocx from obsolete files, now using reg keys to delete it, thanks HJW for info. The error report in setuperr.log should be obsolete now. (It may occur with Ryans update pack, though). And i added KB947513 related entries.
Will do a version change after release of RVM Integrator 1.5 final.
nJoy :)

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:39 am

Awesome!

Thanks again!!!

pupil
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:24 pm
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Post by pupil » Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:10 pm

any idea if this will be addable to an XP disc with SP3 integrated? this is the only addon I really need to add when SP3 comes out.

Also, will the RVM Integrator be able to do this, or should it be done by nLite?

thanks
Bardo Thodol dotnet
www.bardothodol.net

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:02 pm

pupil wrote:any idea if this will be addable to an XP disc with SP3 integrated? this is the only addon I really need to add when SP3 comes out.
In theory yes, it can be added to SP3. But since SP3 is not yet released, bugs can be discovered and so... just stay tune.

pupil wrote:Also, will the RVM Integrator be able to do this, or should it be done by nLite?
I prefered RVM Integrator for it's simplicity. nLite has so many option that some of them don't really work well.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:12 pm

I havent played with sp3 yet, as its not final. My addons may work with sp3 rc's or may not work, no official word from me :( But i know that it has worked for sb.
Like project51, I prefer to use RVMi in integrations, but its always up to you, both does the job.

pupil
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:24 pm
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Post by pupil » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:09 am

oh yeah, i always use the RVM Integrator, I only use nLite to remove components at the end, I wasn't sure if the RVMI is compatible with an XPSP3 disc, I guess it would be though.

Thanks, I'll experiment when the SP3 goes final, just thought Id ask here in case someone had been playing with the RC's.

thanks
Bardo Thodol dotnet
www.bardothodol.net

XeroxZer0
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:22 pm

Post by XeroxZer0 » Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:58 am

MrNxDmX wrote:Updated to 109a.
Will do a version change after release of RVM Integrator 1.5 final.
nJoy :)
Does this mean it currently does not work with RVM Integrator 1.5.1 Final? Or do you mean you will be just changing the version of the addon to compensate with the RVM Integrator release?

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:03 am

XeroxZer0 wrote:
MrNxDmX wrote:Updated to 109a.
Will do a version change after release of RVM Integrator 1.5 final.
nJoy :)
Does this mean it currently does not work with RVM Integrator 1.5.1 Final? Or do you mean you will be just changing the version of the addon to compensate with the RVM Integrator release?
from the first page "Addons are compatible with RyanVM Update Pack from 2.1.6 to 2.2.1.
Addons are not yet compatible with RVM Integrator 1.5."

:)

so we will be waiting till they are to use this new integrator :)

TechnoHunter

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:26 am

from the first page:
MrNxDmX wrote:Addons are not yet compatible with RVM Integrator 1.5.
I didn't catch that but I never had problem with 1.09a and RVMIntegrator 1.5.1

No problem here.

User avatar
lespea
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by lespea » Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:55 am

I think he just meant that he will be using the more advanced functions of the integrator now that it is final.

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:51 am

MrNxDmX wrote: Edit: Addons are compatible with integrator 1.4.3.
As 1.5 is not final yet, i havent changed the addon structure yet.
Project51 indicated no problems with the Addon using RVM 1.5.1. What will the consequences be if we use the Addon with the RVM 1.5 Final?

Al

Post Reply