[Release] Kels BareWGA closed

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

[Release] Kels BareWGA closed

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:19 am

Closed use Ryans or Xables
Last edited by Kelsenellenelvian on Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:40 am, edited 4 times in total.

tamilcheetas
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:46 pm
Location: india

Post by tamilcheetas » Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:06 am

Hearty thanks mate.. :P

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:38 am

FYI - I probably won't bother with a bare addon now that you've got one up. Since my goal is a clean MU anyway, WGANotify is the route I'm going to take.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:12 pm

RyanVM wrote:FYI - I probably won't bother with a bare addon now that you've got one up. Since my goal is a clean MU anyway, WGANotify is the route I'm going to take.
Ryan please correct me if I am wrong, but I think once you have the 'bare' WGA addon installed, MU does not list 'WGANotify' for download. Atleast that is how it worked so far, not too sure now with v1.7.17.0

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:56 pm

AFAIK, WGANotify is prompted now regardless of whether or not WGA is already installed. Feel free to prove me wrong - it's an easy enough experiment.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sun Feb 25, 2007 3:19 pm

Mr. RyanVM plz don't double post. You're risking getting banned!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:53 pm

Double post? What double post? :shifty:
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:31 pm

by using this addon,,, wga is still available in windows update site...
weird
is it microsoft already added the wga a must to download again and again?
Last edited by cyberloner on Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:39 pm

cyberloner ....did u even bother to read first post????

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:45 pm

M$ updated the wga tool to v1.7.0018.1. Info here, download here.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:11 pm

Thanks updated...

User avatar
just_laze
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by just_laze » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:57 am

Hey,

Using your add-on, I take it KB905474 will not show up on Windows Update or download via Automatic Updates?

laze.

User avatar
joll69
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:59 pm

Post by joll69 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 3:23 pm

just_laze wrote:Hey,

Using your add-on, I take it KB905474 will not show up on Windows Update or download via Automatic Updates?

laze.
that's incorrect...the wga notify will still show..

wga is in two parts, this is just the file that MU/WU forces u to install before i will even show you what u dont have...the wgan (notifications) is a separate set of files that hook into winlogon.exe...in other words, KB905474 (the notifications) is 2 things...1. NOT in this addon...and 2. NOT needed by anything, it's just bloated crapware, especially if u are legit...it just adds more crap for ur system to load up without good reason...

my $0.02

spidercop
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:42 pm

Post by spidercop » Fri Mar 23, 2007 4:05 pm

cant u make it so there is no wga crap showing on windows update i dont want wga crap on my pc but i dont want that stupid wga crap on my windows update list

Pistolero
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:27 pm

Post by Pistolero » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:48 pm

spidercop wrote:cant u make it so there is no wga crap showing on windows update i dont want wga crap on my pc but i dont want that stupid wga crap on my windows update list
But don't you want no wga crap showing on windows update? Don't you want wga crap on your pc? Do you think that wga crap is stupid?

spidercop
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:42 pm

Post by spidercop » Fri Mar 23, 2007 10:58 pm

i think wga is stupid i have vlk key but sumtimes they flag it as illegal but it aint so its crap it runs wen my pc start en use resources for what if i was using illegal windows i just use e crack there al over the net but i wanna be legal en dont have the crap

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Fri Mar 23, 2007 11:10 pm

RyanVM wrote:AFAIK, WGANotify is prompted now regardless of whether or not WGA is already installed. Feel free to prove me wrong - it's an easy enough experiment.
Yep, you're correct.

DeaDruiD
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Post by DeaDruiD » Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:25 pm

[dosnet_files]
d1,Wga.inf
d1,Wga.dll
Your addon contains legit.dll not Wga.dll so your addon triggers a "file missing" error during install.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:19 pm

fixed sorry.

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:16 am

evrything gets copyed right, but i dont think the legitchekcontrol.dll is getting registered right in the system, so windows updates says that theres no wga in my system.if i compare ure addon to ryans old one, ican see that he added reg keys to be imported relating the the version of the said wga.or maybe im just having bad luck and its supposed to work...
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 25, 2007 7:54 pm

This will not tell the update service WGA in installed this will just show your windows as validated when you goto windows downloads or the update site.

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:05 pm

i see,but on ryans old addon,the previous version of wga did not appear as an update to do.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:14 am

Yeah, um, afaik, I think that's because M$ didn't force you to re-download WGA before... but now it does, regardless of whether it already detects that you have it.

M$ is gonna do this like the Malicious Software Removal Tool for now:
New WGA every month, and MUST be installed (unless, of course, you uncheck the little box in MU)
:D

Someone correct me if I'm wrong. :shifty:

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:34 pm

well its more as this is bare wga so the wgatray.dll isint registered in the system so its logical that m$ sees its not installed.but thet fact of having a previous version of the wga and having to update to stay uptodate is true,but its also true that u can stay at an older version...untill they implant having a minimum version.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:36 am

Yes, exactly... Huh?!?!

(I've had a few beers, but STILL!!)

WGA is complicated, and I won't even pretend to understand all the different parts. All I can tell you is that this addon, in a nutshell, prevents you from having to download a Hotfix from MU, then restart, just to SEE what you need to download, therefore saving you a download and restart when you check MU.

BTW, Kel, when's the final comin', yo?
:P

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:37 am

NEVER!!! :P

The damn ps on my system just blew so it will be a day or 2...

BZJoe
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 1:19 pm

Post by BZJoe » Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:43 pm

Thanks for this KEL. Going to use it now for an install....

Kakaru
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:26 pm

Post by Kakaru » Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:49 pm

Thanks a lot for this addon.

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:21 am

Love this, Kel!! :D

Now, if you can get this thing to even prevent WGA from showing up in the so-called 'critical' updates list as well, that would be SWEET!!

Still, though, it works real nice as it is.

Myself, I remove Securtity Center with nlite and use MU manually, so I just uncheck WGA. But this saves me an extra step. REAL nice, buddy!!

:wink: :wink:

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun May 13, 2007 1:34 am

I updated this to 1.7.36.0 and tried like heck to get it to act like the full WGANotify hotfix but nogo so it remains as is.

SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Sun May 13, 2007 7:42 am

thx for the update ^^
Image

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Fri May 18, 2007 10:06 am

Thx, Kel. Appreciate this.

Hey, I know you tried. :D
Still, all I gotta do now (with this pack added on) is uncheck WGA when I go to MU, so... works for me!! ;)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri May 18, 2007 10:16 am

RaGhul, you know MU settings are kept in DataStore.edb, don't you? ;)

Uncheck WGAN, close IE, stop the Automatic Updates service in SERVICES.MSC, copy the file out, then restart the service. There you go.

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:59 am

:shock: Actually... no. I did not know that. Thx for the tip. ;)

Maybe I could make an addon to do that automatically?

BTW, I always gut 'Automatic Updates' out of my XP anyways. :D

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Thu Jun 21, 2007 8:40 pm

@Kel,

Xable just split up his "High Priority Light Update Pack". I always just integrated his pack (as it was), and also added your BareWGA Addon. Now, his WGA Addons are separated.

He's got 2 different addons, as you can see here: LINK

So, should I use yours, his, or both of them together? :?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:35 pm

OMG use his it's and actual bare WGA hotfix-type. WOW

.cat file and all.

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:28 am

Hehehe, I take it from your enthusiasm that you had never taken a look at his WGA addon before.

Well, if you say it's the bong, I'll bite. He makes some pretty good stuff, that Xable guy.
;)

Post Reply