[Release] FnF's Driver Sweeper 0.9 Addon 2.0-070809 w/Config

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

[Release] FnF's Driver Sweeper 0.9 Addon 2.0-070809 w/Config

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:48 am

I picked this up recently as a free and more thorough alternative to the recently commercialised Driver Cleaner; it's fast and easy to use with well-ordered interface. Includes uninstallation routines.

The normal version installs Quick Launch and Start Menu shortcuts, the CPL version installs a control panel shortcut. Both versions include code for all the shortcuts (also a desktop shortcut) and I've included a configuration script below: if you want a different combination of shortcuts, just extract the files from either version and run the Configure.cmd in the same folder; you'll be asked which shortcuts should be created and based on your answers the INF will rewrite itself! A lot of effort went into this, so I hope you enjoy the versatility :)
Guru3D - Driver Sweeper 0.9
NORMAL VERSION LINK: MAIN, MIRROR1, MIRROR2
CPL VERSION LINK: MAIN, MIRROR1, MIRROR2

CONFIGURATION SCRIPT LINK: MAIN, MIRROR1, MIRROR2
NORMAL VERSION MD5: 6D840A429AF5BA9BE8C6F82D8251F08F
CPL VERSION MD5: 313B433C2606A0FC191E687489269BC6

SIZE: 436 KiB
Description: Remove driver leftovers from your system.
Op System: Windows 2k, XP and 2k3 (x86)
Builddate: 2007/07/27
Language: English, Dutch, Polish, Finnish, Russian, Ukrainian, German, Hungarian, Japanese, Turkish, Korean and French
Title: Guru3D - Driver Sweeper
Version: 0.9
License: Freeware
Website: www.guru3d.com/index.php?page=driversweeper
Installs to: "%programfiles%\Driver Sweeper"
Uninstaller: Removes program files, shortcuts and reg entries
Guru3D - Driver Sweeper is a fast tool to remove driver leftovers from your system. It's very important to remove your drivers on a proper way, because driver leftovers can cause problems like stability and startup problems. You can use it if you want to update/remove drivers from your system.
MODERATOR EDIT: Porn GIF and link removed.

Changelog:
Addon v2.0 (based on Driver Sweeper 0.9): Pretty much completely rewrote the inf, and wrote in a configuration section! Using the Configure.cmd above, you can now have the inf file rewrite itself, to have it install only the shortcuts you want. A lot of minor things were changed, as well.
Addon v1.1 (based on Driver Sweeper 0.7.5): Now offering two versions: one with quick launch and start menu shortcuts, one with only a CPL shortcut. INF code is nearly identical, but has the code for the relevant shorcuts commented out.
Addon v1.0 (based on Driver Sweeper 0.7.5): Initial release. A lot of work went into the uninstaller, so I hope you like what you see; bug reports, suggestions of how to improve it are appreciated. Enjoy!

PS: Though I did quite a bit of work on it myself, initial creds for the uninstaller go to Mrs Peel, and several others for their tips.
Last edited by Mitsuko Aninikkou on Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:51 pm, edited 8 times in total.

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:55 am

Thanks man. Although I can't download it right as the slots for my country is full. Can you upload somewhere else if it isn't too much? Megaupload kinda sucks.

User avatar
runningfool87
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by runningfool87 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:23 am

thanks, looks very promising. any chance of removing the existing shortcuts and giving it a control panel shortcut? not a big deal, but this seems like something that would look perfect sitting in the CPL...

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:38 am

I'll see what I can do about the shortcuts.. I have an idea that should please everyone, but I don't know if it'll work. For now I'll read up on how to add cpl shortcuts.

As for mirrors, can you suggest any good ones?

OZ
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:20 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by OZ » Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:00 pm

HI. If you want to make a cpl i can upload a link to full CPL File Maker. its easy program to make cpl extensions. I use it and have no problems just it needs some minutes to learn how it works :D

For uploading file you can use :
http://www.mediafire.com/
http://www.freefileupload.net/

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:35 pm

Thanks for the suggestion but I already figured it out from looking at ricktendo's sidebar addon :)
New version coming soon, and I'll add those mirrors.

Edit: new version out, check it out :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Dont use my sidebar addon as a CPL shortcut template, use Kels CPL AIO. The reason is the shortcuts will be put in the "Apperance & Themes" category

Here are the other category locations info so you can change the location http://support.microsoft.com/kb/292463

You have to edit the number in this string
HKCR,"CLSID\{37efd44d-ef8d-41b1-940d-96973a50e9e0}","{305CA226-D286-468e-B848-2B2E8E697B74} 2",0x10001,01,00,00,00
Or you could use Kels CPL AIO as a template instead and the CPL shortcut will be put in the Others category

EDIT: nevermind... I see you did not include that line in your CPL strings, but it would be cool if you could add it to "Printers and Other Hardware" or "Performance and Maintenance" category

BTW thanks to SoKoOLz for that CPL Category info

EDIT2: Your Quick Launch and Desktop ProfileItems flags are wrong use it in this format instead (forces the shortcut to be installed in %UserProfile% instead of %AllUsersProfile%)

Code: Select all

[inst.qlaunch]
Name            = %disp_name%,0x00000001
CmdLine         = 16422,%disp_name%,%exec_name%
SubDir          = ..\..\Application Data\%quilaunch%
WorkingDir      = 0
Infotip         = %info_text%
EDIT3: Ignore the flags correction you just did not have it activated is why it did not install the shortcus... ,1 works fine
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:39 pm

I did put it into a category, actually, check out this line:

Code: Select all

HKLM,"%curr_vers%Control Panel\Extended Properties\{305CA226-D286-468e-B848-2B2E8E697B74} 2","%16422%\%disp_name%\%exec_name%",0x10001,5
I did it this way because I thought Driver Sweeper qualified more as 'A Control Panel tool' than a 'shell namespace extension' (the two possibilities that KB article gives)

Edit: As for the ProfileItems, they work fine for me. 0x0001 (or however many zeroes you add) is exactly the same as 1, so I don't see how it could be a problem.
Edit2: by the same reasoning, 0x10001 should be equivalent to 65537.. not that it matters, but I might try it sometime to settle the issue :P

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:45 pm

Mitsuko Aninikkou wrote:Edit: As for the ProfileItems, they work fine for me. 0x0001 (or however many zeroes you add) is exactly the same as 1, so I don't see how it could be a problem.
Yea the reason they werent working is that I did not have them turned on :P

,1 works just fine

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:50 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:
Mitsuko Aninikkou wrote:Edit: As for the ProfileItems, they work fine for me. 0x0001 (or however many zeroes you add) is exactly the same as 1, so I don't see how it could be a problem.
Yea the reason they werent working is that I did not have them turned on :P

,1 works just fine
Glad to hear it :)
By the way I tried replacing 0x10001 with 65537 as I was bored and just as I thought it works ;) If INF files follow standard programming conventions as I know them then IIRC 0b---- should be a binary number, 0x---- should be a hexadecimal number (we already know this to be true) and 0---- should be an octal number.

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:31 am

Thanks man for uploading to other sites.

User avatar
runningfool87
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by runningfool87 » Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:09 am

thank you for the CPL version, very appreciated :)

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:36 pm

No problem, both of you. By the way, to anyone who might be reading this, I'm currently working on making the inf able to configure itself. At the moment the configuration is not repeatable, because certain options make it unable to revert to the original.. It does work though, and I still hope to find a solution so I can perfect the process. All that's needed to start the configuration (which allows you to choose which shortcuts to install) is the following line, which I've placed in a .bat file for ease of use: rundll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection DSweeper.inf,ConfigInstall

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:31 am

Success! The finalised, reversible configuration code is as follows: :)

Code: Select all

;-------------------------;
;| Configuration Section |;
;-------------------------;

[ConfigInstall]
RunPreSetupCommands = conf.setup,conf.desktop,conf.qlaunch,conf.stamenu,conf.cpl,conf.defaultinstall

[conf.setup]
%launchinf%%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,ConfigSetup
[ConfigSetup]
UpdateInis = conf.setup.inis
[conf.setup.inis]
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"AddReg"=inst.cpl,"%;AddReg"=inst.cpl,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,"%;ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,"%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,"%;%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,"%;UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"AddReg"=inst.cpl,"%;AddReg"=inst.cpl,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,"%;ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,"%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,"%;%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,"%;UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,1

[conf.desktop]
%launchinf%%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,ConfigDesktop
[ConfigDesktop]
BeginPrompt = conf.desktop.prompt
UpdateInis = conf.desktop.inis
[conf.desktop.prompt]
Title      = %disp_name% Installation Configuration
Prompt     = Would you like to place a shortcut on the Desktop?
ButtonType = YESNO
[conf.desktop.inis]
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"%;ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,"ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"%;ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,"ProfileItems"=inst.desktop,1

[conf.qlaunch]
%launchinf%%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,ConfigQLaunch
[ConfigQLaunch]
BeginPrompt = conf.qlaunch.prompt
UpdateInis = conf.qlaunch.inis
[conf.qlaunch.prompt]
Title      = %disp_name% Installation Configuration
Prompt     = Would you like to place a shortcut on the Quick Launch toolbar?
ButtonType = YESNO
[conf.qlaunch.inis]
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,"ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,"ProfileItems"=inst.qlaunch,1

[conf.stamenu]
%launchinf%%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,ConfigStaMenu
[ConfigStaMenu]
BeginPrompt = conf.stamenu.prompt
UpdateInis = conf.stamenu.inis
[conf.stamenu.prompt]
Title      = %disp_name% Installation Configuration
Prompt     = Would you like to create a Start Menu group for %disp_name%?
ButtonType = YESNO
[conf.stamenu.inis]
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"%;%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,"ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"%;UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,"UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"%;%;%;ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,"ProfileItems"=inst.stamenu,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"%;UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,"UpdateInis"=inst.shortct,1

[conf.cpl]
%launchinf%%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,ConfigCPL
[ConfigCPL]
BeginPrompt = conf.cpl.prompt
UpdateInis = conf.cpl.inis
[conf.cpl.prompt]
Title      = %disp_name% Installation Configuration
Prompt     = Would you like to place a shortcut in the Control Panel?
ButtonType = YESNO
[conf.cpl.inis]
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,%%disp_name%%,"%;AddReg"=inst.cpl,"AddReg"=inst.cpl,1
%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall,"%;AddReg"=inst.cpl,"AddReg"=inst.cpl,1

[conf.defaultinstall]
%launchinf%%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,ConfigDefaultInstall
[ConfigDefaultInstall]
BeginPrompt         = conf.defaultinstall.prompt
RunPreSetupCommands = conf.defaultinstall.exec
[conf.defaultinstall.prompt]
Title      = %disp_name% Installation Configuration
Prompt     = Configuration is complete. Would you like to install the program now?
ButtonType = YESNO
[conf.defaultinstall.exec]
%launchinf%%1%\%prog_infs%.inf,DefaultInstall
I'll probably do a release with this soon - need to figure out the best way to do it.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:49 pm

I'm back from France (was off at the Rencontre Jasnières, if anyone's heard of it) and just about ready to update this addon. Driver Sweeper is now at 0.9, but I still need to make some changes and do a test in vmware before I update - so for anyone using this, expect an update sometime during the next few days.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Thu Aug 09, 2007 2:41 pm

Mitsuko Aninikkou wrote:I'm back from France (was off at the Rencontre Jasnières, if anyone's heard of it) and just about ready to update this addon. Driver Sweeper is now at 0.9, but I still need to make some changes and do a test in vmware before I update - so for anyone using this, expect an update sometime during the next few days.
Okay, so I didn't manage to update this before now, but here's the version you've all been waiting for! (or not) Enjoy!

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:24 pm

Thanks for this - it should come in handy.

One suggestion - your changelog is confusing. You have version 1.0 and version 2.0 but the post title refers to version 0.9. I can see what you mean but maybe it needs to be clearer that this is the second release of the program which itself is at version 0.9.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:50 pm

Mandarin wrote:Thanks for this - it should come in handy.

One suggestion - your changelog is confusing. You have version 1.0 and version 2.0 but the post title refers to version 0.9. I can see what you mean but maybe it needs to be clearer that this is the second release of the program which itself is at version 0.9.
Thanks for the tip, I'll clarify the changelog :) Just so you know, this addon may still suffer from the issue described here. I don't experience this issue, so it's hard to fix, but we've identified some possible explanations. I'm prepping a VMWare install to explore those further.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:55 pm

Mitsuko Aninikkou wrote:Thanks for the tip, I'll clarify the changelog :)
That's much clearer. :D

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Thu Aug 09, 2007 5:01 pm

Cool. I've also been informed by 5eraph that the problem in that thread is exclusive to that addon and that a fix has been found, so my addon should be fine. I still intend to update it with some very minor changes to the uninstaller, but there's no hurry (and you're not missing out on anything, really)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:50 pm

You went nutso with the uninstall... I like it

EDIT: I especially like the way you line up the uninstall reg string

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:33 am

I made some major progress today on the next phase of my configuration script, so this addon may see another update sooner than I thought. Unfortunately, syntax limitations forced me to remove your DelNodeRunDLL32 trick, ricktendo, so some cmd windows will very briefly be visible during uninstallation. The gain (I'll elaborate on what that is at release time ;) ) outweighs the loss though, I think.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:41 am

Why not use the RunPost/PreSetupConnamds ":1" hide cmd window flag if you want to not show them

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:55 am

Ooh, thanks for the tip.. I noticed that ":1" before but I never found any documentation on it so I forgot about it.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:01 am

INF_DOCUMENTATION

Code: Select all

Flag  	Meaning
1 	Quiet Mode
2 	No Delay
4 	Delay Command

User avatar
Zyx_Maiden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by Zyx_Maiden » Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:22 am

Tested in my new build: Working flawlessly. Thank you for this addon.
If you see dinosaurs, stop using drugs. But, if you don't use drugs, GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE!

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:46 am

OMFG there is porn on this topic :D

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:46 am

How the hell did I miss that? Thanks for the heads up, ricktendo64. :)

saper
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:10 am

Post by saper » Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:58 am

how to download ??????

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:22 am

there are lot's of pop-ups here (for dating) :( ... to download? just click on any of the links: MAIN, MIRROR1, MIRRO2 ... thanks!
-KIKI-

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:52 pm

Main, Mirror1, Mirror2 all lead to dating and other sites. Why?

Could not find a link at all to program. :cry:

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:30 am

for those trying to download the file.. megaupload (main link) IS a link to the file.. look for the letters/entrybox in the upper right side of the main part of the page.. type them in and hit enter.. wait 45seconds and poof.. link to download :)


have fun..

skrell
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:12 pm

Post by skrell » Sat Jun 21, 2008 4:36 pm

can someone PLEASE update this to 1.5 which is the latest version?

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:28 am

TechnoHunter wrote:for those trying to download the file.. megaupload (main link) IS a link to the file.. look for the letters/entrybox in the upper right side of the main part of the page.. type them in and hit enter.. wait 45seconds and poof.. link to download :)

have fun..
OK - got the addon but no valid link to the configuration script. :(

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Sun Jun 22, 2008 2:41 am

yeah, seems the links for the configuration.cmd file expired..

anyone happen to have grabbed it way back when and willing to repost a link?

Post Reply