[Release] Dimio DTaskManager Addon v1.50-070804

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

[Release] Dimio DTaskManager Addon v1.50-070804

Post by Mrs Peel » Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:00 am

As recommended by Benners, this alternative to the native windows task manager has more functionality and is an infinitely better process killer than others I have tried (including my dearly beloved Darius Taskkill).

Please be assured that this installer will NOT actually overwrite any files in your system, but instead uses reg entries so that when you open "Task Manager" by right-clicking the taskbar, or use the CTRL-SHIFT-ESC hotkey, it will automatically open this DTaskManager instead.

The uninstaller restores everything back to windoze system default and nukes all trace of the program.

DTaskManager v1.50
LINK: MrsP_DTaskManager_Addon_v1.50-070804
MD5: 8C4D77E39CCA5BC3892C637FB5C349E2
SIZE: 153 KB
Description: A powerful alternative Task Manager for windows
Op System: Windows 2000, XP & 2003 (x86 only)
Builddate: 2007/06/13
Language: English
Title: DTaskManager
Version: 1.5
License: Freeware
Website: http://dimio.altervista.org/eng/
Installs to: "%programfiles%\System\DTaskMan"
Uninstaller: Removes program files, shortcut and restores task management back to windoze default
DTaskManager
DTaskManager, obviously, is a Task-Manager, but specifically engineered to give additional functionalities that the Windows bundled TaskManager (and other third party products) do not have:
Features:
1. Three different ways to close a process, as the "termination request", the standard "forced termination" with dialogue tolerance, and the "forced termination" of any type of process, bypassing all permissions (it can also terminate running system processes).
2. DTaskManager allows you to suspend and reactivate a process (as in Linux). This is useful, for example, to temporarily suspend a task that uses system resources when you don't want to terminate it (such as a DivX encoding process).
3. DTaskManager allows you to select more than one process at a time, and terminate all of them "simultaneously".
4. DTaskManager does not need any useless confirmation.
Image

Enjoy (or not)

:D

[Edit 2007/07/29] Fixed string problem in entries file
[Edit 2007/08/04] Fixed entries.ini and optimised some stuff in the inf file
Last edited by Mrs Peel on Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:44 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Zyx_Maiden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by Zyx_Maiden » Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:12 am

Thank you for this exelent release, I'll include this one in my next week new build, i'll report back asap.

Keep up good work!

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:19 pm

Broken. Right after 'formatting' stage, Setup complains about %win_comp%.inf

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Sat Jul 28, 2007 2:23 pm

-blink- well heck, here i was thinking i had most of the windows hot keys known/memorized...

thanks for the info about ctrl-shift-esc :)

keep up the good work MrsP!

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:27 pm

biatche wrote:Broken. Right after 'formatting' stage, Setup complains about %win_comp%.inf
Buggery bollox! Looks like it's not parsing a string in sysoc entries. Did you use integrator or nLite to slipstream this?

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:34 pm

broken link. at least not working for me

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:38 pm

Sheeeesh I only edited the post a few minutes ago, give Ryan a chance to upload the new file to his server :shock:

And you didn't answer my question.... Integrator or nLite?

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:50 pm

rvm int. sorry i got the habit of not reading in full.. ryan needs to upload the file to his server? i thought he's busy and always assume (bad) that selected members can upload themselves? o_O

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:07 pm

biatche wrote:ryan needs to upload the file to his server? i thought he's busy and always assume (bad) that selected members can upload themselves?
Not me unfortunately, and it's a humungous pain in the arse on days like this when you need to quickly update something that only took you 5 seconds to fix.

Wanna start a member petition for Ryan to give me my own FTP account ;)

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:02 pm

wait till i find a permanent host, you may host your files on my server as you please.

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:42 pm

This sounds like something that will come in handy so I'll grab it when I can. Thanks Mrs. P.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Sun Jul 29, 2007 5:12 pm

Hi the link doesn't seem to work..unless something is wrong on my side. Thanks

edit
===

oh its broken.. didnt read above

User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by muiz » Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:42 pm

Nope , link is dead

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:24 am

Link working perfectly now - just downloaded it.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:55 am

link works now thanks. however the addon itself doesn't still. anyone got this working? it still complains about that %win_comp% thing.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:02 am

confirmed, Biatche, expand the cab and open the Entries_DTaskMan.ini file

change

Code: Select all

[Strings]
win_comp = "DTaskMan"
to this

Code: Select all

[filenames]
win_comp = DTaskMan
as per another post from one of Mrs.P's threads..

once changed save the file and re-cab..

this is a temp fix till MrsP gets it changed.. but it should serve ya till then

-wave- good luck

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:10 am

TechnoHunter wrote:confirmed, Biatche, expand the cab and open the Entries_DTaskMan.ini file

change

Code: Select all

[Strings]
win_comp = "DTaskMan"
to this

Code: Select all

[filenames]
win_comp = DTaskMan
as per another post from one of Mrs.P's threads..

once changed save the file and re-cab..

this is a temp fix till MrsP gets it changed.. but it should serve ya till then

-wave- good luck
I would change it if I knew there was a problem.

Are you saying that using "[Strings]" in an entries file does not work?

I have not seen this before, can you help me understand this please?

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Tue Jul 31, 2007 3:42 am

hiya MrsP, the above info came from this post in the thread that was split off from booogy's slipstreamer.. 5eraph is the originator :) i just basically copied and pasted.. hope i didnt confuse things for anyone..

as i understand it the reason it wont work has something to do with the integrator taking the quotes literally cause its in enteries_*.ini not an .inf file..

-wave-

TechnoHunter

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sat Aug 04, 2007 11:10 am

Fixed entries file....

User avatar
Zyx_Maiden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by Zyx_Maiden » Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:10 pm

Thanks for having fixed this addon, i'll surely use it really soon.

User avatar
Zyx_Maiden
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post by Zyx_Maiden » Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:14 pm

Tested in my new build: Working flawlessly. Thank you so much for this addon Mrs Peel.
If you see dinosaurs, stop using drugs. But, if you don't use drugs, GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE!

msdemich
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:52 am

Post by msdemich » Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:02 pm

Excellent replacement for the task manager. It actually REMEMBERS the sort order. :P

msdemich
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:52 am

Post by msdemich » Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:38 am

okay, this is my last bump for the night, I swear!

I love this because its small and so much more useful than the MS variety. I live in a Microsoft town and let me just say that they could really use more producers like you. I know a couple of ANZACs here as well :P

Grover
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:41 am
Location: CHCH, New Zealand

Post by Grover » Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:34 pm

Australian & New Zealand Army Corps.?
Or maybe you're referring to the class of frigate, which I have served on.

But yes this is a great app.

Grover.

Post Reply