[Discontinued ] Sysinternals Tools

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

[Discontinued ] Sysinternals Tools

Post by Xable » Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:31 pm

I`ve discontinued this addon because of sysinternals licensing.

An excellent sysinternals addon builder however has been made by n7Epsilon and avneet25, check it out here
Last edited by Xable on Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:50 am, edited 33 times in total.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:37 pm

These are in ryans addon pack already.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:45 pm

It's ok to make seperate addons. ;) Some may want them seperate.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:46 pm

Good point.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:16 pm

As siginet says ppl might not want the full addon pack, this way there`s more choice. And i think ryan has less time than i do to keep them up-to-date. ;)

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:19 pm

How about adding sync and pagedefrag to the cab?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:21 pm

Nice idea.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:03 pm

newsposter wrote:How about adding sync and pagedefrag to the cab?
Ooh i like Sync... added that also PageDefrag and Autoruns ;)

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:17 am

What happens when I integrate this pack and ryan's addon pack as well?

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:53 pm

autoruns 8.22 is out :wink:

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:55 pm

If I click the link it gives me 404 error: Not Found...
what's up with that ?

or has it to do with me using firefox ? (should not be the case, I guess)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:11 pm

He took them down because there was an error in how he made them
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:39 pm

RyanVM wrote:He took them down because there was an error in how he made them
Ha that's good and fast reply here :)

Thanks for the news on that item :)

troscat
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:40 am
Location: Philippines

Post by troscat » Sun Oct 09, 2005 3:26 am

fluid wrote:What happens when I integrate this pack and ryan's addon pack as well?
Can anybody answer the above question, pls? I'm also interested to know.

Thank you.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Oct 09, 2005 3:33 am

troscat wrote:
fluid wrote:What happens when I integrate this pack and ryan's addon pack as well?
Can anybody answer the above question, pls? I'm also interested to know.

Thank you.
It should install fine after UnO releases the fixed version.

The integrator will uninstall the entries that Ryans pack made according to the same files... then it will install UnO's. As long as UnO uses the same file structure. So in my theory you should be fine to install it over ryans pack.

UnO could also use the new [obsolete_files] section and the [old_sysoc] section to help him uninstall ryans versions.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

troscat
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:40 am
Location: Philippines

Post by troscat » Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:11 am

Thanks Siginet for the explaination. But what if I don't use your Integrator and instead use nLite via its Hotfix integration? Does the same thing happens as what you've said with your Integrator?

Please excuse me if i'm in the wrong forum to ask my last question concerning nLite, but i think this is relevant here in this forum.

Thank you.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:26 am

The reaction of nlite with these addon packs is close enough to the integrator that it should work about the same.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Oct 09, 2005 10:25 am

fluid wrote:What happens when I integrate this pack and ryan's addon pack as well?
Like others have said, it shouldn't be much of a problem. That being said, this whole addons thing has taken off better than I could have ever imagined. I'm strongly considering dropping my addons pack in favor of letting people like UnO maintain these instead. He's doing a superb job in keeping things up to date.
Kelsenellenelvian wrote:The reaction of nlite with these addon packs is close enough to the integrator that it should work about the same.
Many of the options in entries*.ini aren't supported by nLite as far as I know.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:10 am

Awww damn sorry I thought it would work.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:52 pm

Yes I have not been in contact with nuhi to let him know of the new things I've added to the entries.ini file. I will try to contact him on IM next time I see him. But to answer your NLite questions you should ask them in the NLite forums. Nuhi would be the best person to answer your question. But if you speak with him please mention the new entries to him for me. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

fluid
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 4:46 am

Post by fluid » Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:56 am

Ryanvm: so I should use your integrator to integrated this addons or nLite's fine to use unless stated otherwise?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:51 am

If UnO is only using features of the integrator which were supported prior to RC12/13, nLite should work fine. If he's using some of the newer stuff Siginet added recently, it won't work 100% properly.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:13 am

Seems like he has version 1.2 available, as it is that what u download if u click on the link in top post :)

Just to inform you all...

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:27 am

He has v1.3 available now... but it`s not a functional update so no need to worry :)

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Tue Oct 18, 2005 1:38 pm

UnO wrote:He has v1.3 available now... but it`s not a functional update so no need to worry :)
not functional ?
how's that, I don't follow ?

and what is different from the version that is included in Kel's Uber pack 2.1 ?
as described here:
[Release] Kels Uber Addons Pack v2.1 Updated!

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Tue Oct 18, 2005 2:31 pm

not functional ?
how's that, I don't follow ?
Meaning i just changed a few things in the ini/inf`s, i didn`t update any components so there`s no need to download again and re-do your cd.
and what is different from the version that is included in Kel's Uber pack 2.1 ?
No differance, all Kel has done is collect member made addons and put them into one collective addon. Untill i update this with newer components they are the same (functionality wise)

Hope this clears things up :)

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Tue Oct 18, 2005 3:51 pm

UnO wrote:
not functional ?
how's that, I don't follow ?
Meaning i just changed a few things in the ini/inf`s, i didn`t update any components so there`s no need to download again and re-do your cd.
and what is different from the version that is included in Kel's Uber pack 2.1 ?
No differance, all Kel has done is collect member made addons and put them into one collective addon. Untill i update this with newer components they are the same (functionality wise)

Hope this clears things up :)
yeps now it has become very clear indeed ;)

Nazgul
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:01 am
Location: Netherlands, The

Post by Nazgul » Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:26 pm

Mark released some new versions over at Sysinternals:
  • Autoruns 8.3
    Another Autoruns update adds print monitor DLLs and Explorer column handlers - both of which have been used by real malware - and dramatically improves scan times when image verification is selected.
    RootkitRevealer 1.56
    This version adds support for NTFS volumes with cluster sizes larger than 4 KB.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:52 pm

lol i just noticed myself, thx Nazgul updated

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:55 pm

Updated Autoruns to v8.31

englishmen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:02 am

Post by englishmen » Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:25 am

Any chance of including Contig maybe also include Power Defragmenter GUI not developed by Sysinternals but supplies a easy to use gui to contig. Or maybe create a separate addon for contig and Power Defragmenter GUI.

Contig: http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Contig.html
Power Defragmenter GUI: http://www.excessive-software.tk/

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:00 pm

nice find englishmen!

would you prefer contig and Power Defragmenter GUI added to the sysinternal pack or as a seperate addon? i`m indifferent either way :)

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:44 pm

If a pack is 'advertised' as being sysinternals.com components, it should remain that way.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:00 pm

newsposter wrote:If a pack is 'advertised' as being sysinternals.com components, it should remain that way.
Agreed, but Contig is a sysinternals component. Power Defragmenter GUI is just a GUI for it, so even if that is added to the addon it will still be a sysinternals.com components only addon.

englishmen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:02 am

Post by englishmen » Fri Nov 04, 2005 4:09 am

Glad you like it UnO i have been using contig with the gui for about 6 months now and it is the best defragger i have used. I think maybe a separate pack as the gui is not by sysinternals and as newsposter stated it is advertised as
sysinternals. Thanks eith way :-)

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:17 am


englishmen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:02 am

Post by englishmen » Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:20 am

Thanks so much UnO, There is how ever a "Power Defragmentor GUI CPL" under Control Panel Extensions maybe someone should remove that one as it it the same as yours.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:24 am

NO mine is a cpl version and his is one located in the start menu. User choice man.

Besides mine was released first.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sun Nov 06, 2005 7:10 am

Yes user choice they are both differant.

Although kel you only made it when you saw the request here, and that was after i had already made it clear i was going to make the addon.

Not trying to compete that`s just the truth.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Nov 06, 2005 7:17 am

Yeah you right I just got mine out first but the points go to you LOL. Sorry

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sun Nov 06, 2005 7:23 am

Haha you can have all my points kel, anyway we all know who the real addon king is around here... that`s ryan :lol:

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Nov 06, 2005 7:28 am

Definatly!!!!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Nov 06, 2005 11:10 am

:lol:, something like that
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

englishmen
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:02 am

Post by englishmen » Mon Nov 07, 2005 3:49 am

Sorry Kelsenellenelvian fr the mix up i did not now they was different, thanks either way.

User avatar
rds_correia
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: \o/ on my way to Rock in Rio - Lisboa '06 \o/

Post by rds_correia » Thu Nov 10, 2005 2:30 am

Guys,
On the addons DL page this one still reads 1.4 from 10/05.
And we're already using 1.5 from the 11/05.
Could you ask the addons pack maintainer to update the page?
TIA
Cheers

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:17 am

Fixed thanks...

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:15 am

v1.6 up

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:54 pm

v1.7 up. damn autoruns is a pain in the arse :lol:

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Dec 03, 2005 10:33 am

v1.8 up

JoeyJoe
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:07 pm

Post by JoeyJoe » Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:10 pm

The link isnt working for me Xable. Im getting a 404 - Not Found error.

edit: Working now, i must have been trying to download it while you were updating.
Last edited by JoeyJoe on Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Locked