[Release] Kels' UberPacK v16.6 & Notepad2-Mod

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:48 am

same here ;)

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:03 pm

Thanks for the update to v6.04 but the 'Post Subject' has not been updated and it still shows as

Code: Select all

Post subject: [Release] Kels Uber Addons Pack v6.3 -->2006/03/07<--
Any comments regarding the non working 'Quick Launch Enabled'?

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:12 pm

Sorry for the repeated posts but you have 'NirSoft IconsExtract v1.40 (Shortcut in Accessories\NirSoft)' listed twice in the 'Full list of things that are included.' I know it's a small thing but even then I thought I'd point it out since I have been noticing this for the last few builds.

By the way, thanks for including 'Jcarle's Compression Bin 1.2 W/shell registration' in the Uber pack, might I suggest adding a few more of the utilities that you have eliminated from the 'Kels CPL All-in-One Bonus Pack Addon' to the Uber pack. Namely they would be:
Microsoft VirtualCD CPL
ResHack CPL
UPXShell CPL
Power Defrag GUI CPL

Thanks a ton and please keep up the great work, it is most sincerely appreciated.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:10 am

a good enhancement for mouse weel that supports applications that dont have the weel scroll support in them
+ using only the [ALT] key to scroll taskswitchXP :)
http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/ ... wheel.html

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:43 pm

Kel's Uber Addons Pack v6.4
The following two don't work:
1. Quicklaunch is now enabled by default
2. Open Expert "To Right Click"' v1.40 (Uninstallable)

1. Quicklaunch is not enabled by default for me. By the way, my unattended DVD creates multiple users, In case that has anything to do with the problem.

2. Upon clicking on 'Open With --> Add Application...' or 'Open With --> Configure OpenExpert...', only an error window pops up:

Code: Select all

Open Expert

Could not found OpenExpert
Please select the installation directory

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:35 pm

Awww maaaan.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:18 pm

Updated!

For those of you with the OpenExpert issue save the following as a reg file (Don't forget to change C: with you drive if windows is installed on another drive) and run the reg file.
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\BAxBEx]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\BAxBEx\OeffnenMitEx]
"cmd"="C:\\Program Files\\OpenExpert\\OpenExpert.exe"

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:25 pm

Kel's Uber Addons Pack v6.4

Another problem found.

Code: Select all

Custom "Power Menu" to contain most of the shell extensions
The above is not working properly. None of the shell extensions are 'contained' in 'Power Tweaks'.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:28 pm

fixed that

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:31 pm

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:fixed that
Thanks for the speedy response. :)
Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Updated!

For those of you with the OpenExpert issue save the following as a reg file (Don't forget to change C: with you drive if windows is installed on another drive) and run the reg file.
Is this still required with the Updated v6.5

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:35 pm

no not with the new version just with the old version.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:55 pm

WGA Tool v1.5.512 Same format as in Ryans pack so one will over-write the other neatly.
This is now redundant and therefore not required, since 'RyanVM's Windows XP Post-SP2 Update Pack 2.0.4' already includes it.

I guess it's time for an update. :)

pyroman1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:38 pm

Unlocker

Post by pyroman1 » Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:46 pm

Sorry if this has already been asked, but with 13 pages of posts I didn't see anything in a quick scan.

Is Unlocker actually now version 1.8.1? It is in the lite pack, so I assume the answer is yes.

Thanks for making these great packs!

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:02 pm

Yes it is.

king_niral
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 2:54 pm
Location: Jabalpur,India

Post by king_niral » Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:46 pm

im having a problem ! with GWFSpidg.dll & Lgtckctl.dll (Says "files missing" during instalation) i did a search and found that the same two files are found in the RyanVM 2.0.3 update pack.So i guess they are clashing though this was the Problem with Uber pack 6.4 and before i will check it with uber pack 6.5 and let u know ! Btw can i just add these files to the integartion before making the ISO ?

Im using Nlite coz i add Internet explorer 7 to the installation !

Thanx !


Edit: the problem still persists...Though its one file smaller. :wink: Now the only file thats missing during installation is LGTCKCTL.dll.

Thanx again !
Asus K8N-E Deluxe(30 deg MAX)
Athlon64 2800+(41 deg Celcius Max Temp)
Transcend 512 MB DDR 400 3-3-3-8
Samsung 80GB with 8MB Buffer (Sata)(10 degrees Maximum Temperature)
Geforce FX 5700le 128MB

Trying More Freezing Techz. Before OCing !!!

FlyingGleek
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by FlyingGleek » Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:59 pm

Kelsenellenelvian, huge thank you for your continuing support of this Uber Pack - greatly appreciated!

Quick note to let you know that in v6.5 there is a difference in the Metapath.exe and the Upx.exe file entries in the Dosnet and the Txtsetup sections that causes windows to report (in the setuperr.log file):

"Error:
Setup failed to enumerate all component packages.
Software which depends on this package may not function properly. Contact your system administrator.

***"

Would this error affect other addons? To clarify, if setup fails to enumerate all component addons in Uber6.5addon, will it also affect other addons too (even if they are without errors themselves)?

Just a heads up so it is fixed for v6.6. :)

Note: Very big thank you to n7Epsilon too for his FGCBAv40.exe tool which helped me track down this issue! :D

Cheers!

FlyingGleek
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by FlyingGleek » Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:52 am

Kelsenellenelvian, after a few attempts to pinpoint this problem (...Setup failed to enumerate all component packages...), I still haven't solved it.

I finally removed All the addons except for RyanVM's 2.04 update pack and still get this error in the setuperr.log file after windows installs.

I wasn't searching for this error previously... is this error normal in setuperr.log? Or should setuperr.log be clean? Anyway, I've been at this way too long - almost 24hrs - so I'll try again tomorrow after some sleep.

Sorry Kelsenellenelvian for thinking it was your addon causing this problem (although the two errors I reported before are actually reported by the FGCBAv40.exe program by n7Epsilon)

Thanks in advance for any insight anyone can give to this problem I'm having. G'night and...

Cheers!

User avatar
TripleA
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:38 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Post by TripleA » Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:32 pm

May I suggest the removal of "Open Subfolder" in the next revision?

For me at least, this extension causes the disappearance of practically all of the context menu on many important folders such as Program Files and the Windows installation folder. I know not if this is a feature or a bug, but it's annoying as hell.

It's just not worth it, for me. Indeed, I personally never used this particular extension...

But it's just a suggestion: I'm perfectly able to remove it for my own use... ;)

Thanks ever so much for all the effort.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 26, 2006 11:11 am

Updated.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 26, 2006 11:14 am

FlyingGleek wrote:Kelsenellenelvian, after a few attempts to pinpoint this problem (...Setup failed to enumerate all component packages...), I still haven't solved it.

I finally removed All the addons except for RyanVM's 2.04 update pack and still get this error in the setuperr.log file after windows installs.

I wasn't searching for this error previously... is this error normal in setuperr.log? Or should setuperr.log be clean? Anyway, I've been at this way too long - almost 24hrs - so I'll try again tomorrow after some sleep.

Sorry Kelsenellenelvian for thinking it was your addon causing this problem (although the two errors I reported before are actually reported by the FGCBAv40.exe program by n7Epsilon)

Thanks in advance for any insight anyone can give to this problem I'm having. G'night and...

Cheers!
The 2 errors are most likely just because the names where different (Capitalizations and such) So the files are named the same but may appear different if it is looking fo the exact same name. Like UPX.exe & upx.exe.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sun Mar 26, 2006 3:01 pm

I hope I don't come across as being ungrateful or critical, but I was wondering why your pack still includes the following:

Code: Select all

WGA Tool v1.5.512 Same format as in Ryans pack so one will over-write the other neatly.
Considering that this 'version' is now a part of Ryan's 'RVMUpdatePack 2.0.4.cab' and your pack is primarily an "addon" to Ryan's pack, I can't understand the utility of it being repeated. I know it should not cause any problems as such, but even then if it is not required then why have it?

Once again, I would like to thank you for your efforts in keeping this pack updated and also for your other work on the forum.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 26, 2006 3:22 pm

No reason not to delete in really because my pack works for Win2003 also. Plus I know of a couple of other peeps that use these addons but don't use the update pack.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Sun Mar 26, 2006 4:08 pm

There is a small problem in v6.6, the file ReadMe.txt is referenced twice in UberPack.inf: one as the readme file for TaskSwitchXP and one as the readme for RegShot

The file is listed once in SourceDisksFiles and is present once in UberPack.cab containing only the Readme for TaskSwitchXP and nowhere within the pack is the readme for regshot...

A workaround is to add two readme filenames in SourceDisksFiles and rename each of the different names to the README.TXT in the appropriate program's CopyFiles section... (referenced by DestinationDirs)...

I have found this while debugging FGCBA (next version to be released) ...

I am using your pack as the base on which I am testing and building its features.

Please tell me if this is really a bug or if I am missing something else...
Thanks a lot for this great pack...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:30 pm

Will look further into it thanks.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:37 pm

It was a bug thanks for finding it. I fixed ad re-released it as a silent update just redownload please.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:31 pm

kel can i reapply this pack on the older one (6.5) coz i have amde a compilation and its really hard to do it again..

thx

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 26, 2006 9:43 pm

yes

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:27 am

Can you please check this:

"entries_UberPack.ini" is adding NirSoft.cab to TXTSETUP.SIF and DOSNET.INF...
This file does not exist inside the AddOn CAB and will cause a File Copy error in Nirsoft.cab

I can see that NirSoft.inf however doesn't reference it (because it's used for uninstall) and the NirSoft utilities are inside UberPack.cab and copied by UberPack.inf directly... so these 2 lines are safe to remove from "entries_UberPack.ini"

Code: Select all

d1,NirSoft.cab
NirSoft.cab  = 1,,,,,,_x,,3,3
I found this also while debugging FGCBA and I want to check whether this was normal or if FGCBA is freaking out...
The 2 errors are most likely just because the names where different (Capitalizations and such) So the files are named the same but may appear different if it is looking fo the exact same name. Like UPX.exe & upx.exe.
btw, I have fixed this in the next version of FGCBA.

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:16 am

and I noticed GWSFPIDGen.DLL is missing from this 6.6 pack of yours too :)
is this intentional, i.e. is it harmless ?

Just wanted to point it out, but the issue of NirSoft identified by n7Epsilon is much more important to look at I feel

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:22 am

It is missing because it is no longer needed as of version 1.5.512 of Windows Genuine Advantage validation tool ...
And it is correctly removed from the INF and INI files...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:51 pm

OK fixed it...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:28 pm

Added Microsoft SyncToy v1.2 <-- NEEDS .net framework!

cybpsych
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:45 am

Kel, there's a typo on the first page:

Unlocker v1.8.1

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:50 am

Cool thanks.

Draknar
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Twin Ports

Post by Draknar » Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:06 pm

There is new ver's of MyUninstaller v1.34 & CurrPorts v1.08 are out.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/myuninst.html

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/cports.html

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Mar 30, 2006 7:29 pm

LOL hey great will do it tonight...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:45 am

Updated.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:55 am

kel version 6.8 had one small issue.. the NirSoft shortcuts which are created have different names to those created by the NirSoft All-in-One 1.8..

Like the Uber Pack 6.8 had - DrivView
NirSoft All-in-One 1.8 had - DriverView

So if someone used both the packs ( i knw its stupid ) they wud have multiple entries of the same software.

User avatar
odyn1982
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Bialystok, Poland

Post by odyn1982 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:56 am

I found one error (thanks to FGCBA):
[CopyNirSoft]
ZipInst.chm
ZipInst.chm <--- should be ZipInst.txt
because:
[SourceDisksFiles]
ZipInst.chm=1
ZipInst.txt=1

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:12 am

:lol: This was fixed in the All-In-One Nirsoft pack... (but apparently not in this yet...)

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:55 am

Fixed as a silent update.

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:20 am

link is down?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:28 am

Updated.

User avatar
odyn1982
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 11:38 am
Location: Bialystok, Poland

Post by odyn1982 » Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:46 am

I've found three bugs (two of them with FGCBA)
1. In section [dosnet_files] there is "d1,Notepad.lnk" but "Notepad.lnk" is missing in [txtsetup_files] (but do we need this?)
2. Nr. of [SourceDisksFiles] entries: 96 but total nr. of files specified by [DestinationDirs] is 95
3. Entry
"HKCU,"Control Panel\Desktop","FontSmoothingType",0x00010001,0x00000002"
repeats in "addon_ql.inf" and "uberpack.inf"

I suggest to use FGCBA to release bugfree addon packs ;)

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:31 am

OK For nomber 2 I spent ALL day going through my inf with a fine-toothed comb everyway possible and there are 96 entries in both sections. As for the rest just typos nothing big but, yes they are errors. Thanks for the heads up. Errors are fixed.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Mon Apr 03, 2006 2:54 am

Sorry about the vague errors, I am enhancing this greatly now with the 0.5 series of FGCBA...

Version 0.51 EDIT: Released, fixes this issue...
Last edited by n7Epsilon on Tue Apr 04, 2006 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:50 am

Font smoothing AKA cleartype is not working in 7.1

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Apr 04, 2006 1:34 pm

K will look into it.

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:29 am

Audio shell extension update availble http://www.softpointer.com/AudioShellHistory.htm

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:05 am

And while you're at it, remove "WGA.AddReg" from the AddReg directive of both the [DefaultInstall] and the [Kelspack] sections, since [WGA.AddReg] section doesn't exist. (found by FGCBA 0.54)

Minor issue, but it's nice to reach perfection. :)

Post Reply