Problem with Kel's add ons & some other issues using nLi

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Kev_83

Problem with Kel's add ons & some other issues using nLite

Post by Kev_83 » Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:00 am

I apologise if this is not the appropriate forum. This is the problem :

Firstly : I'm a total newbie know-nothing. So as soon as i see jargon, i'm lost. lol.

i have done this before, at the turn of the year, and it worked fine. I used nLite 1.3 Final at that time & whatever Kel's Control Panel add on version was in January '07.

Yesterday i failed doing the following:

Using nLite 1.4RC.
I tried to make a WinXP CD (Pro) including various add-ons & Ryan's update file.
The update file clearly worked. Some of the add ons such as a7zip and CCcleaner, spyware blaster they worked also.
Kel's Control Panel add-on pack (v.6.5 (the old one i have in my folder is 5.4) just would NOT install. Neither would this add on : [Multi_Siginet_MultiTheme-AddonsPack_1.7]

During the process, i also tweaked some of the WinXP defaults, such as adding users, sticking some icons (My Docs etc) on the desktop by default. NOTE : as i said, i'm a know nothing, so i only messed with options that i knew what they did. Obvious, basic options.

I made about 4 or 5 CD's. Some of the CD's, i wouldn't put the XP code in by default. Some of them i wouldn't add extra users, just to see if it'd finally work, but they all didn't.

In the end, i had to use the old CD i made in January & then download all the MS updates SINCE january, which took ages

First off, i'm just wondering why it did not work?

Secondly, short of going through my entire stack of CD's wasting each one, there surely must be a way of finding out if the CD is going to work or not without having to go through the whole process each time?

Sorry for such a long post.

ENU_user

Post by ENU_user » Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:18 am

Kev_83

Post by Kev_83 » Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:13 am