TimeZone Addon

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
DizzyDen
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:47 am

TimeZone Addon

Post by DizzyDen » Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:35 am

FIXED............. This is the same as all others posted by me in this thread now.

The following addon pack should fix the timezone issues:

If you care to try this TimeZone addon, I included section to delete timezones from hlkm/software/microsoft/windows nt/currentversion before adding the newest microsoft updated timezone information.

I also went ahead and used my standard strings in this version to reduce the size, although overall was minimal size saving since the inf compresses significantly anyway.

Newest DD TZ FIX

Size: 35.8 KB (36,679 bytes)
MD5: DADE8DF9E7591D6B249EFAE5091EA82A
HA1: E69EB623AA7C2270D3501BFFF3FED2FB884EDE98
CRC: C3534A32

(link fixed)
Last edited by DizzyDen on Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:26 am, edited 3 times in total.
You Can't Get, If You Won't Give
YCGIYWG

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: TimeZone Addon

Post by dougiefresh » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:24 am

DizzyDen wrote:The following addon pack should fix the timezone issues:
With UpdatePack v2.2.1 beta 2?
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:57 pm

I was looking at this add-on this morning and had to leave before being able to post about the problem I found. You have two add.reg sections, one immediately after the other. The second section isn't referenced by the Optional Component section and there is nothing under the first section, so your add-on won't make any difference the way it's written.
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:25 pm

i tested this on a vm ware last night and it made no difference,so maybe the 2nd addreg section have entries that are needed.

edit:ok ive cheked the inf out i understand,this will never work liek it is a simple solution is to delete the "[KB942763.Add.Reg]" header.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:01 pm

EDIT: Removed my post due to updated version in next post....
Last edited by dougiefresh on Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

User avatar
DizzyDen
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:47 am

Post by DizzyDen » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:25 pm

NO toes to worry about here dougie, thank you, DrN had pointed out the error as well.... was in a haste to leave for work and left an extra section header in. I left the strings out, to save time in implementation... 6 of 1, half a dozen of another.

FIXED, same link as all other links by me in this thread now....

If you care to try this TimeZone addon, I included section to delete timezones from hlkm/software/microsoft/windows nt/currentversion before adding the newest microsoft updated timezone information.

I also went ahead and used my standard strings in this version to reduce the size, although overall was minimal size saving since the inf compresses significantly anyway.

Newest DD TZ FIX

Size: 35.8 KB (36,679 bytes)
MD5: DADE8DF9E7591D6B249EFAE5091EA82A
HA1: E69EB623AA7C2270D3501BFFF3FED2FB884EDE98
CRC: C3534A32

(link fixed)
My apologies for releasing faulty addon in my haste :(
Last edited by DizzyDen on Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
You Can't Get, If You Won't Give
YCGIYWG

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:36 pm

No problem, Diz!
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:00 am

i tested the dougiefresh fix version just now but my timezone still goes to kabul ...
full install on new pc...

and all the country timezone have 2 entries.... double list...

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:31 pm

same as cyberloner, but, using DizzyDen's Fixed TimeZone repair Addon
-did not work at all for me either...awesome effort though and thanks very much :D

User avatar
DizzyDen
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:47 am

Post by DizzyDen » Thu Jan 10, 2008 4:33 am

If you care to try this TimeZone addon, I included section to delete timezones from hlkm/software/microsoft/windows nt/currentversion before adding the newest microsoft updated timezone information.

I also went ahead and used my standard strings in this version to reduce the size, although overall was minimal size saving since the inf compresses significantly anyway.

Newest DD TZ FIX

Size: 35.8 KB (36,679 bytes)
MD5: DADE8DF9E7591D6B249EFAE5091EA82A
HA1: E69EB623AA7C2270D3501BFFF3FED2FB884EDE98
CRC: C3534A32

(link fixed)
You Can't Get, If You Won't Give
YCGIYWG

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:31 am

will do this weekend...just finished a real time install-thanks

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Sat Jan 12, 2008 8:52 am

DizzyDen wrote:If you care to try this TimeZone addon, I included section to delete timezones from hlkm/software/microsoft/windows nt/currentversion before adding the newest microsoft updated timezone information.

I also went ahead and used my standard strings in this version to reduce the size, although overall was minimal size saving since the inf compresses significantly anyway.

Newest DD TZ FIX

Size: 35.8 KB (36,679 bytes)
MD5: DADE8DF9E7591D6B249EFAE5091EA82A
HA1: E69EB623AA7C2270D3501BFFF3FED2FB884EDE98
CRC: C3534A32

(link fixed)
Worked perfectly Dizzy-nlited install and Integrator; both fresh installs, realtime, thanks a million-much appreciated. :D

User avatar
DizzyDen
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:47 am

Post by DizzyDen » Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:28 am

Thanks Rick.... I have edited all of my posts here to link to the newest addon that you have confirmed works.
You Can't Get, If You Won't Give
YCGIYWG

User avatar
HJW
XPu Master
Posts: 622
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:17 pm
Location: University of Technology Delft, Netherlands

Post by HJW » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:21 pm

confirmed working here too

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:43 pm

Can you guys try 2.2.1b3 without this addon? Hopefully it isn't needed anymore.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Gorki
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:36 am
Location: Croatia

Post by Gorki » Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:47 pm

RyanVM wrote:Can you guys try 2.2.1b3 without this addon? Hopefully it isn't needed anymore.
Yep I tried beta3 using Nlite,set time zone according to my local settings. All settings where there on boot,no problems involving this.
Thank U Ryan. :)

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:42 pm

nlite and Beta3=no more concern...thanks

Post Reply