Additional pack requests

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Additional pack requests

Post by newsposter » Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:51 pm

Quicktime v7 (without iTunes, the 19 Mb download)
7Zip 4.23
BOINC 4.45
Sun Java 5.05
TClock

thanks!

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Sat Oct 22, 2005 7:26 pm

Basically all that would be is a switchless installer which then adds itself to svcpack and into svcpack.ini under SetupHotfixesToRun correct?

I don't know how to make an addon pack but someone can use my java switchless for it if they want.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Oct 22, 2005 7:35 pm

All you need to make addons is a little time, this thread and PowerArchiver
You can learn more from other peoples work aswell and if you realy get stuck ask for help ;)

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:13 pm

But it could be an interesting idea to make an outline for something like this. Like just make a generic entries file that will edit svcpack.ini setuphotfixestorun section and put a file in svcpack. And then all you would have to do is change a few lines specific to whatever program you are trying to put in.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:39 pm

Seriously the entries file to edit setuphotfixestorun is realy only one line, look at how it`s done, you will kick yourself at how simple it is.

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:11 pm

UnO wrote:Seriously the entries file to edit setuphotfixestorun is realy only one line, look at how it`s done, you will kick yourself at how simple it is.
Yea but look at all the other crap you have to do.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:25 pm

Yea but look at all the other crap you have to do.
What other crap?

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:42 pm

The other crap in the entries.ini :P

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:46 pm

There is no other crap?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Oct 23, 2005 9:46 am

You don't have to put stuff in entries.ini unless it's actually needed...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Oct 23, 2005 12:39 pm

Put this in an Entries_setuphotfixes.ini

Code: Select all

[ExtraFileEdits]
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|[SetupHotfixesToRun]|[SetupHotfixesToRun]<NEXT>Quicktime.exe<NEXT>7zip.exe<NEXT>BOINC.EXE<NEXT>sjava.EXE<NEXT>TClock.EXE|1
This will run Quicktime.exe, 7zip.exe, BOINC.EXE, sjava.EXE and TClock.EXE with no silent switches whatsoever. You can change the name of the exe's and add whatever switches you need to add after each file name. That's all there is to it. ;) You don't need any other entries whatsoever.

Although... just remember that if you were to try to install this over something that allready had this installed... then it would install it twice.

So here is an idea of what you could do... this will check to see if each of those exe's exist. If they exist then it will delete them. Then it will add all of them to the svcpack.inf file:

Code: Select all

[ExtraFileEdits]
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|Quicktime.exe||1
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|7zip.exe||1
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|BOINC.EXE||1
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|sjava.EXE||1
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|TClock.EXE||1
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|[SetupHotfixesToRun]|[SetupHotfixesToRun]<NEXT>Quicktime.exe<NEXT>7zip.exe<NEXT>BOINC.EXE<NEXT>sjava.EXE<NEXT>TClock.EXE|1
I haven't tested that... but in theory it should work. ;)
Last edited by Siginet on Sun Oct 23, 2005 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:02 pm

It doesn't seem to work. After integration the line is not under the SetupHotfixesToRun section of svcpack.ini. And the file is not placed in svcpack either.

I have this in my entries.ini
[ExtraFileEdits]
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|[SetupHotfixesToRun]<NEXT>jre.exe||1
<NEXT>jre.exe

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sun Oct 23, 2005 5:53 pm

I had an error in my syntax above... which I fixed.

You typed yours wrong as well.

The way you typed yours you are telling it to look for:

Code: Select all

[SetupHotfixesToRun]
jre.exe
and replace it with nothing. Which means delete it if it exists.

Pay close attention to the poles. They are the seperators.
;Filename|ChangeFrom|ChangeTo|Count
;Filename is the path and the name of the file to edit.
;ChangeFrom is the text to change
;ChangeTo is the text to replace with.
;Count is the number of times the specific text will be changed if it is found more than once. Put 0 to change all instances.
;If you type <NEXT> anywhere in your text it will mean to advance to the next line.
;example COMPDATA\3com.txt|Microsoft|Siginet|2
[ExtraFileEdits]
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|jre.exe||1
rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|[SetupHotfixesToRun]|[SetupHotfixesToRun]<NEXT>jre.exe|1
This will check to see if jre.exe exists in the svcpack.inf file. If it exists it will delete it.

Code: Select all

rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|jre.exe||1
This will replace:
[SetupHotfixesToRun]
With:
[SetupHotfixesToRun]
jre.exe

Code: Select all

rvmtemp\svcpack.inf|[SetupHotfixesToRun]|[SetupHotfixesToRun]<NEXT>jre.exe|1
Try that and see what happens for you. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:05 pm

Ok it works now. The line is properly added under the setuphotfixestorun section of svcpack.ini.
But now how do I tell the integrator to also move the installer into the svcpack folder?

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:10 pm

Wow i think I am very stupid. I just have to put it in svcpack folder. Should have been common sense to look at the structure of ryan's pack. I am re-testing now. :oops:

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:13 pm

Ok it works, thanks siginet, much <3 :)

skitty
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:13 pm

Post by skitty » Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:02 am

i wouldn't mind seeing an addon pack for codecs

Post Reply