[Release] RyanVM Addons Pack 1.9.0 (Updated 2008-08-25)

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:08 pm

Symantec is seeing this now too...and quaranteeing it
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:46 pm

I just added an exception to my Autoprotect settings to whitelist it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:49 pm

I'm going to add the registry entry which whitelists cmdow.exe with SAV 10.1 for the next release. If anybody has the registry values for other AV software, I'd be willing to add those as well. Just post them here.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:12 pm

armond wrote:Hi,
I'm using Kaspersky Internet Security 6.0.0.300 with signatures date: 6/7/2006 4:46:40 PM (GMT+03:30 Tehran time). It detects the CMDOW.exe as have "Win32.HideWindows" virus on it. I'm knowing that AVG is detecting it also.
Ryan, consider removing "Virus!" from your addon. Thank.
and this:
steveolson wrote:RyanVM:

Love your add-on packs, BUT...

Now Symantec Client Security (Corporate version of Norton Antivirus)is flagging CMDOW as a "hacking tool".

I'll usually do a bit of work on an unattended CD during downtime at work. Of corse, now that's impossible due to the fact that NAV is constantly flagging this file.

Since this program line is so wide-spread maybe this should be looked into.

Do you have any way of letting the author of CMDOW know that this is happening, and maybe he can get SYmantec to drop the "hacking tools" designation.

I wish we could drop SYmantec in favor of something else, but that's a corporate-wide decision that I have little or no input into.

I hate to see any functionality removed, but maybe a compromise is in order. Wouldn't it be easy to whip up an additional add-on that would work in tandem with yours to remove CMDOW from the mix. That way people could have it either way.

-- Steve Olson
same happens here with my Bitdefender AV Scanner unfortunately
and also with some NirSoft proggies as well (AsterWin comes to my mind)

any way to resolve this ?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:48 pm

uh, read the post above yours?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

mindwarper
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by mindwarper » Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:58 pm

OK fair enough :)
Then I can live with it

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jun 21, 2006 6:39 pm

1.6.5 is up
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jun 29, 2006 3:33 pm

The only problem with using a whilelist to work around the false positive with CMDOW is that it doesn't work for System Restore save points, because files in those are given names like A3892532.exe, so there's no way to avoid Symantec setting off alarms when it comes across that file.

I'm beginning to consider removing cmdow simply because I really don't use it for much of anything anyway. I've found myself actually deleting it from live systems for friends and such just because I know they'll freak if SAV pops up with a virus warning and it really serves them no purpose anyway.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:36 am

The 7zip version of 1.6.5 is now available.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Post by the_guy » Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:36 am

Hey Ryan,

neat Addon Pack. 1 thing though. You can use the version of makecab.exe from XP SP1/IEAK 6 as it also doesn't mess up file dates.

If you want, I can send you a copy of the file.

the_guy

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:17 am

the_guy wrote:Hey Ryan,

neat Addon Pack. 1 thing though. You can use the version of makecab.exe from XP SP1/IEAK 6 as it also doesn't mess up file dates.

If you want, I can send you a copy of the file.

the_guy
Yeah I can confirm that makecab 5.0.2147.1 also doesn't mess dates. Running it exclusivly now (makecab v5.0.2147.1, cabarc v5.2.3790.0). Weighting at only 79.2 KB compared to the bloated one from 97.

Have to try your suggestion the_guy, makecab.exe 5.1.2600.1106 @ ~77.5 KB. Thanks for the info..

Have been thinking about "reporting" this before.

Direct link to IEAK 6: ieak6.exe
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:08 am

Thanks for the headsup, guys.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

sos149sign
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:39 am

Sysinternals

Post by sos149sign » Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:36 pm

Ryan, you rule.

I noticed you removed Sysinternals utils from your pack a while back because the authors were being somewhat "uncooperative" when you were trying to get license to distribute it. Now that Microsoft bought Winternals/Sysinternals, will you be able to put some of them back in? There are a few Sysinternals and Nirsoft programs I always install, and it would be nice to have some of them in your pack if possible.

Thanks much.

the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Post by the_guy » Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:41 pm

@sos: Look in the List of Addons thread. There should be a NirSoft Addon, made by Kelsenellenelvian (somehow got it, I think). I don't know the link right now, but check out that Addon to see if it has all of the Nirsoft Programs you're looking for.

the_guy

salamaza
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:25 am

Post by salamaza » Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:31 am

hi Ryan, thanks for this pack, BUT my antivirus "avast" detects your pack with a malware!!, check this picture !

http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/6973/123ws6.jpg


can you do something about that...should i just let it ?!, or is real :shock:
and avast cause nlite to crash!
(the antivirus is in norwigian)

hope a fast answer.

the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Post by the_guy » Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:29 am

That would be a false positive. Avast is just reporting cmdow as a virus, which it is not.

the_guy

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:18 pm

the_guy wrote:That would be a false positive. Avast is just reporting cmdow as a virus, which it is not.

the_guy
yeah, its a known buggy thing. you can ignore it.

salamaza
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:25 am

Post by salamaza » Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:52 pm

hmmm a pack without cmdnow would nice..., i dont use it anyway...also idont think many people use it ...maby a poll about that ...would be great

thanks

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:01 pm

I've been thinking about removing it myself
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

salamaza
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:25 am

Post by salamaza » Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:33 pm

RyanVM wrote:I've been thinking about removing it myself
that would be great!, so i can use this pack again!.(avast keeps crash nlite, even if i ignore the "trojan")....

User avatar
Mad Evil
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:19 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Post by Mad Evil » Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:16 am

delete meh. my bad :D

stevec4
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:49 pm

Post by stevec4 » Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:52 pm

Hey guys
I just installed the 210 version with RVM addon and got an error that CDNOW.EXE could not be copied. skipped it and everything was good.

Just wanted to let you all no

SC

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:56 pm

Are you the same SteveC over @ The Elder Geek?

stevec4
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 4:49 pm

Post by stevec4 » Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:26 pm

newp its not me ...

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:02 pm

I say you just get rid of CMDOW. There's alternatives anyway.

User avatar
gab
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:13 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by gab » Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:34 pm

404 not found (1.6.5 in 7zip format, first post)

sambenin
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:21 am

MAKECAB.EX_ file is newer than the one integrating

Post by sambenin » Sat Aug 05, 2006 10:03 am

I got this error while intgrating Ryan update Pack addons v1.6.5

MAKECAB.EX_ file is newer than the one integrating
file version in ISO : 5.1.2600.2180
File version in hotfix :0.0.0.0
how to solve it?
All my files have the same MD5 as the one posted

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:59 pm

Turn off version checking in nLite
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:43 pm

1.7.0 is up
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Juzman05
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:11 pm
Contact:

Post by Juzman05 » Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:24 am

can this be integrated over 1.6.5 or need a clean source?
-
Image
|...... AusTech ..... Personal Blog ..... Acidic Designs ......|

bledd
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 7:33 am

Post by bledd » Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:29 am

why does this include remote desktop, does it differ to the version that comes with XP?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:59 am

Juzman05 wrote:can this be integrated over 1.6.5 or need a clean source?
You only need to ask this question once, not three times ;). Yes, you should be able to integrate over top unless I specifically say otherwise when I release.
bledd wrote:why does this include remote desktop, does it differ to the version that comes with XP?
The Server 2003 version allows you to tell it to automatically reconnect when disconnected. The XP version doesn't.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

salamaza
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:25 am

Post by salamaza » Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:10 am

Thanks alot ryan!!, i love you man...thanks for remove the CMDnow ;)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:26 pm

A little pre-vacation present for y'all :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:32 am

Thanks for the early update, Ryan. Take it easy and relax this coming week.

And I'm sure it's a few weeks late to mention, but happy anniversary. :)

ScOOt3r
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Vancouver 2010 Olympics!

Post by ScOOt3r » Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:51 am

Thanks Ryan for a great update again.. enjoy your holiday..


ScOOt3r!
Go Canada Go!

SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:11 am

LOL, thank you Ryan
Image

User avatar
sdageforde
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Florida

Post by sdageforde » Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:31 am

Looks like Hash Tab got updated to v1.11.

As always great work.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:07 pm

http://beeblebrox.org/hashtab/ quote:
Download HashTab v1.11 for x32
Download HashTab v1.11 for x64
x32? :lol:

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:09 pm

[11/29/2005] HashTab version 1.11 is released! Added port to x64. Included new languages... Turkish, Portugese, traditional and simplified Chinese. 1.11 contains a critical bugfix for 1.10.

To upgrade, just run the new installer.
Uhm wtf, Ryan uses 1.9, but looks like 1.10 and 1.11 are from 2005??

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:41 pm

Well, ViVa, I can tell you that the DLL size has nearly doubled from 1.9 to 1.11. Also, the File Hashes tab from 1.11 shows: ©2006 Cody Batt.

This latest version definitely wasn't released in 2005. It must be a typo on the webpage. ;)

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Sep 26, 2006 3:18 pm

What has the DLL size got to do with it? ;)

A typo yes, but still "11/29/2005", it's not like it's "11/29/2006" now, even that would be a couple of months away. :P

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Sep 26, 2006 3:26 pm

I personally just find it more funny that people don't think I read my own forums and feel the need to bump my thread to tell me about these new releases.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Tue Sep 26, 2006 3:32 pm

I think sdageforde just tried to be helpful.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Sep 26, 2006 4:41 pm

I'm sure that was the intent, but sometimes the actions of well-intentioned people don't turn out as intended ;)

(And sdageforde is far from the first person to make such a post - heck, in the beginning of the Update Pack, people honestly felt the need to point out whenever MS released new security updates for me to include :lol:)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Tue Sep 26, 2006 5:04 pm

I`m sure they know you know ryan.. it`s just a gentle nudge or reminder if you will :D

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Sep 26, 2006 6:34 pm

Yea Ryan, why cant you be more patient with n00bs and addon seekers like Xable is :lol: Link
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:16 pm

lol, you should have seen the PM I sent to a guy over at MSFN who was spamming the nLite boards with useless threads.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5188
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:24 am

1.7.2 is up
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Sun Oct 01, 2006 4:16 pm

Gracias!

Locked