Are Update Packs/Software Addons still virgins?

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Amiga
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:31 pm

Are Update Packs/Software Addons still virgins?

Post by Amiga » Thu Nov 10, 2005 7:59 pm

Is there a standard in our slipstreaming community with these update packs/software applications whether they are altered/tweaked with certain settings? I am guessing it varies by each author who submits the CAB files. I wonder if I have to go into, let's say, Acrobat Reader 7.0.5 and neuter it from autoupdating, etc.

I really appreciate all the hard work that goes into these things. The forum is really a great hub for these updates and their descriptions, just wish the posts would list whether the goodies are still virgins or not as far as their settings.

Aloha,
Don aka Amiga

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:15 pm

Except for better Icons on some of mine for appearance all of min are "virgin"

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:06 pm

Some are some aren't. But you should be able to tell from the file size. For example look at the adobe one, only 6 something MB. Compared to the normal 20+. The adobe one is very slimmed down and yes auto-updating is removed from that.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:35 pm

Recently i`ve tryed to get into the habit of making a note in the release thread when somthing like install location is not default.

So yeah unless stated otherwise my addons are "virgins"

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:41 pm

In my next addon pack, I'll probably set the Unlocker location back to the default one used by its installer rather than using system32.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Daemonforce
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:56 am
Location: International Telcom

Post by Daemonforce » Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:48 pm

Unless otherwise noted, all my releases have been and will be the default manufacturered software. There shouldn't be any differences between my releases and what you find on the software site(s).
Do you have stairs in your house?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:17 pm

I do use upx on all of my stuff to conserve as much space as possible

dale5605
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:26 pm

Post by dale5605 » Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:29 pm

I personally think for things like calcplus, unlocker, programs, any thing of the sort that help files and stuff like that should be removed.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:41 pm

I always add in the help files just for the idiots that really need them.

Post Reply