[Release] RyanVM WMP10 Addon Version 3.1a (Updated 2-24-2007

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Locked
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

[Release] RyanVM WMP10 Addon Version 3.1a (Updated 2-24-2007)

Post by RyanVM » Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:04 pm

Current Version: 3.1a
What's In It:
Windows Media Player 10 build 4332
Windows Media Connect 2
KB895181 Hotfix
KB895316 Hotfix
KB902344 Hotfix
KB911564 Hotfix
KB912455 Hotfix
KB913800 Hotfix
KB923198 Hotfix
KB923689 Hotfix
KB925398 Hotfix
KB925470 Hotfix
KB926251 Hotfix
What's New:
Version 3.1
  • Added KB925470 Hotfix. Replaces KB921134 Hotfix.
Version 3.0
  • Added KB902344 Hotfix.
  • Added KB923689 Hotfix.
  • Added KB925398 Hotfix.
  • Added KB926251 Hotfix.
Version 2.9
  • Added KB923198 Hotfix.
Download: http://download.ryanvm.net/files/RVMAddonsWMP10_3.1a.7z (10.0MB)
MD5 Checksum: E67166623215E21F1F06D4B4D7747E77
Last edited by RyanVM on Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:23 am, edited 22 times in total.

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:12 pm

awesome dud u rock..will test it out..

JoeyJoe
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:07 pm

Post by JoeyJoe » Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:23 pm

When my usage recharges (next month.. bloody 10 gig a month!) ill download this and give it a go. Ryan, think this would work if you remove Windows Media Player (not old one, just the new one) using nLite? I had that problem with the other WMP 10 addons, that they dont work if you remove WMP even tho the standard switchless .exe installer works properly.

I know its most likely an nLite issue, but ill just have to wait another week to see i suppose.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:30 pm

Very Nice :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:47 pm

This addon directly overwrites files on the CD. If you remove WMP with nLite, these files will also be removed.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

panda67
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 9:38 pm

Post by panda67 » Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:08 pm

Thanks for this!

Vista
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:02 pm

Post by Vista » Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:23 am

What is the difference between yours & boooggy, WMP PACK??

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:25 am

tested..working fine so far..just a question..when u go to help about ..wat version shud u get

cheers

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:35 am

one little error..
in the wmp10.inf at hotfix addreg there are 2 entries for KB910393.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 24, 2005 4:29 am

Excellent, thanks Ryan, will test asap.

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Thu Nov 24, 2005 4:36 am

Thanks Ryan ,Testing

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Nov 24, 2005 4:46 am

Vista wrote:What is the difference between yours & boooggy, WMP PACK??
*sigh*, or you could just read older posts / wait for an answer in boooggy's tread instead of asking this in both treads...

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:01 am

Works perfectly. VERY NICE :) :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:15 am

boooggy wrote:one little error..
in the wmp10.inf at hotfix addreg there are 2 entries for KB910393.
Oops, nice catch. I have no idea how I managed to overwrite KB907658 with that.

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:22 am

what file would we have to edit to fix that, i take it this is a small problem.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:25 am

It's minor on the same scale as the typo that was found in the last RVMUpPck.inf. Not a huge deal.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

XIII
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:47 am

Post by XIII » Thu Nov 24, 2005 4:47 pm

I am not able to restore my licenses. The same was true for version 1.0.

It did work with version 1.3 (Ryan's or Booogy's?)...

Do I need to do something special?
We are one, but we are not the same... Talk to each other!

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Thu Nov 24, 2005 5:23 pm

Hi Ryan, can you please check the issue I found here:
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=10624#10624

I am able to consistently reproduce it ...

Thank you for this great addon, aside from this issue, everything else works properly....

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:37 pm

XIII wrote:I am not able to restore my licenses. The same was true for version 1.0.

It did work with version 1.3 (Ryan's or Booogy's?)...

Do I need to do something special?
n7Epsilon wrote:Hi Ryan, can you please check the issue I found here:
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=10624#10624

I am able to consistently reproduce it ...

Thank you for this great addon, aside from this issue, everything else works properly....
I'll look into these, thanks.

Lumina
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:40 pm

Post by Lumina » Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:44 pm

I have windows xp Media Centre, and i get that error sometimes, try unhiding the liscense files then updating them again, it seems to help for me.
cant think of anything to put.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Nov 25, 2005 4:28 pm

It makes me nervous that the build 4332 WMP10 files trick Windows/Microsoft Update into thinking that Windows Media Connect 2.0 has been installed when it hasn't been. Upon investigating further, the core WMC2 files are a bit under 1MB in size (the main portion of the 6.5MB download is wmfdist95.exe, which isn't needed with build 4332 of WMP10).

For that reason, I've decided to add WMC2 to the next WMP10 addon. It will help avoid confusion and will have a minimal impact on download size and CD/hard drive space consumed.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Fri Nov 25, 2005 5:13 pm

I expect that MS will be 'integrating' a lot more of their media software into WMP. There is already a separate MS-managed web site for DRM license downloads that's available as a beta for content and other media-player developers.

So on your part, adding WMC with WMP is probably a good move.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:18 pm

RyanVM wrote:I've decided to add WMC2 to the next WMP10 addon.
Thank you. I was considering requesting it since the two seem to be so closely linked anyway. No rush, but do you have an ETA?

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:31 pm

Adding WMC2 is a VERY good idea.

Thank you!

avneet25
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Fiji Islands
Contact:

Post by avneet25 » Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:53 pm

i think someone did make an addon for wmc 2

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... 89b8e9c1a7

User avatar
warrior1109
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by warrior1109 » Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:21 pm

I also think it would be great to put the 2 into one package. :D

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:16 am

I totally agree
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:18 am

thanx for release Ryan

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Error confirmed

Post by n7Epsilon » Tue Nov 29, 2005 12:55 pm

Hello RyanVM,
I have tested again with just the update pack 2.0.1 (which when alone, no problems happen) and with both the update pack and (ONLY) the official WMP10 Addon integrated with v1.0.5 of the integrator...

There is a "Setup failed to enumerate all component packages" error in SetupErr.log and on OOBE start (on first reboot), there is no music or intro movie (ie: Title.wma / Intro.wmv) not running.

Strangely enough, after install is finished WMP10 seems to be working correctly (with the mini-mode..etc.)

I have placed a link a 7-zip archive containing all Windows XP setup log files (Setupact.log, SetupLog.txt, SetupApi.log, SetupErr.log) for additional diagnosis...

Here: http://rapidshare.de/files/8338703/SetupLogs.7z.html

This problem is also imminent with booogy's modded addon and also occured with booogy's WMP10 v1.6 addon.

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:09 pm

I doubt that this will affect the pack at all but I thought I would mention it anyway. WMP10 base installer has been updated.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en

JaSai
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:11 am

Post by JaSai » Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:20 pm

Protagonist. wrote:I doubt that this will affect the pack at all but I thought I would mention it anyway. WMP10 base installer has been updated.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... layLang=en
I have downloaded the new installer and extracted all files.
The build version are 3802 and date are 2005/01/28.
I think it have no updates.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Tue Nov 29, 2005 11:18 pm

n7epsilon: I see the same message in my setuperr.log. I have no idea what it means or if it's something which we even need to worry about other than the OOBE issue. I also have no time to try and track this issue down right now (I'm in the last few weeks of classes, so things are getting crazy), so if someone else wants to try and pinpoint the problem, be my guest :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:16 pm

...only one simple question:

1 - slim my wxp-sp2 with nLite
2 - remove internal WMP9
3 - add ryanvm post sp2 update pack v2.0.1
4 - add ryanvm wmp10 addon v2

and my NEW xp installation CD is with full WMP10?

Help me.

Tks2all

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:22 pm

Leave WMP9 on the CD. The WMP10 addon is overwriting a bunch of WMP9 files, and if nLite removes them, it won't work right.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:26 pm

1 - slim my wxp-sp2 with nLite
2 - not remove any internal WMP9 or associated files
3 - add ryanvm post sp2 update pack v2.0.1
4 - add ryanvm wmp10 addon v2

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Dec 04, 2005 10:04 pm

just add both within nLite following the directions on my site
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Sun Dec 04, 2005 10:15 pm

... in other words, all RVM cab's, replace directly the corrispondent files to XP CD, and if some component are nLite removed, also RVM addon-cab-upgrade-KB*.exe, are removed.

Very Nice!

Thank You Very Match RyanVM.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:59 pm

even with the pack integrated wu still finds wmc2.....

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:59 pm

thats because i dont think wmc2 is integrated in this pack yet, im not sure, maybe ryan can confirm this.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:08 pm

RyanVM wrote:It makes me nervous that the build 4332 WMP10 files trick Windows/Microsoft Update into thinking that Windows Media Connect 2.0 has been installed when it hasn't been. Upon investigating further, the core WMC2 files are a bit under 1MB in size (the main portion of the 6.5MB download is wmfdist95.exe, which isn't needed with build 4332 of WMP10).

For that reason, I've decided to add WMC2 to the next WMP10 addon. It will help avoid confusion and will have a minimal impact on download size and CD/hard drive space consumed.

.......................

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:50 pm

exactly until the next wmp10 addon :D, not yet in this one. :(
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:59 pm

I think it's a recent change on the WU end. I've noticed that recently wmc2 appears as well. I'm still going to add wmc2 to the wmp10 pack, though. I think it adds completeness. Oh well, I guess boooggy has another way mod my addon :P

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Mon Dec 05, 2005 5:43 pm

Right indeed, I suddenly have

- Microsoft Base Smart Card Cryptographic Service Provider Package: x86 (KB909520)
- Windows Media Connect 2.0 (KB909993)

as optional updates.

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Dec 08, 2005 5:29 am

Ryan, will you include "Microsoft Base Smart Card Cryptographic Service Provider Package: x86 (KB909520)" as well in the next version of your WMP10 Addon?

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:03 am

i dont see the link between wmp and this hotfix......

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:48 am

Omg... damn hangover, I didn't even bother to read what it was... I automatically presumed it had to do with WMP10 since it appeared suddenly together with WMC2 @ optional updates of MU. I will make a request for it as an addon.

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:57 pm

@ ryanvm

your cab work fine but:

1 - quick launch icon are missing (restore icon creation function to quick launch)

2 - the function "set program access and default" failed creation of quick launch MediaPlayer icon

3 - Remove message dialog and function " search music files" at first boot of Media Player

All others features included are ok!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:26 pm

datalife wrote:@ ryanvm

your cab work fine but:

1 - quick launch icon are missing (restore icon creation function to quick launch)
No. Add it yourself if you want it.
2 - the function "set program access and default" failed creation of quick launch MediaPlayer icon
I'll look into it, but no promises.
3 - Remove message dialog and function " search music files" at first boot of Media Player
Not going to happen, but I'm sure you can find a registry tweak to do that for your own unattended installs.

datalife
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:24 pm

Post by datalife » Thu Dec 08, 2005 8:22 pm

ok

Thanks you very match Ryan

armond
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Glendale, CA USA

Post by armond » Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:24 am

Hi,
1. Where I can download the build 4332 of Windows Media Player? I couldn't find it on Microsoft site.
2. When I'm integrating the RVMAddonsWMP10_2.0.cab, I'm seeing an error message in the setuperr.log saying that one or more components could not be installed. Is it a real problem? Are there any way to solve the problem?
Thank you for all your helps!

Locked