Onepiece XP Post-SP3 AIO Update Pack FINAL

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:43 am

nonno fabio wrote:@outbreaker: only the name remains because onepiece hasn't removed yet this:

Code: Select all

[Optional Components]
WinMFC ;Windows Management Framework Core Top level option
The reason is that he's trying to force remove addons to fully work with Nlite too: Nlite often fails to apply this section:

Code: Select all

;This section allows you to edit things that normally would not be possible to edit.
[ExtraFileEdits]
Maybe edit original OPMWXPUP.inf like this:

Code: Select all

[Optional Components]
	; WinMFCRemovalStub
	WinMFC        ;Windows Management Framework Core Top level option
and add line to MFC removal addon:

Code: Select all

[ExtraFileEdits] 
OPMWXPUP.inf|; WinMFCRemovalStub<NEXT>	WinMFC|; WinMFCRemovalStub<NEXT>	;WinMFC|1

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:25 am

nLite v1.4.9.1 can apply [ExtraFileEdits] sections with the following limitations:

Code: Select all

[ExtraFileEdits]
FileToEdit|[color=orange]FindString[/color]|[color=#7070ff]ReplaceString[/color]|ReplaceCount
  • <NEXT> at the beginning or end of the FindString will fail with an error from nLite.
  • <NEXT> at the beginning or end of the ReplaceString will be ignored.
  • Line indentation (whitespace) at the beginning of lines in the FindString will cause that replace to fail silently. nLite removes all whitespace from the file before editing, so it won't be found. :evil:
  • nLite applies special formatting to all lines in TxtSetup.sif before [ExtraFileEdits] is applied, like changing the spacing around equals signs (=). All ExtraFileEdits to TxtSetup.sif should be verified before releasing an addon that modifies this file in this way. :evil:
  • nLite removes comment lines from the ReplaceString. These lines will not be added. :evil:
Other limitations may also exist. Those listed are just the ones I can verify.

jfcarbel
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:08 am

Post by jfcarbel » Wed Dec 16, 2009 3:56 am

nonno fabio wrote:@jfcarbel: in OPMWXPUP.inf under [Base.WgaNotify.AddReg] there's the regline registering LegitCheckControl.dll, actually working flawlessly.
Defender.msi is Windows Defender setup file. It verifies the genuinity of your system before install, so if Defender installs with no messages means that WGAV is correctly working
I have this in that file as well:
[WgaNotify.Remove]
AddReg = WgaNotify.Option.MarkRemoved
UnregisterDlls = Stop.WgaNotify, Remove.WgaNotify
DelFiles = WGA.Notifications.System32.Files, WGA.Notifications.dllcache.Files
DelReg = Base.WgaNotify.AddReg, KB905474.AddReg
AddReg = KB892130.AddReg
So it looks like maybe the installer lumps in adding WGAV registry entries with WGAN removal since KB892130 is the WGAV stuff. If you recall in my first post, I did a remove AddOn for WGAN. But I assumed removing WGAN would not effect WGAV, but that does not seem to be the case for me.

my question is who and what registers the DLL LegitCheckControl.dll?
KB892130.AddReg should add the registry entries, but I wonder if these fail because the DLL is not registered.

Can you try the same removals I did and see if you have any issues with WGAV not being installed.

sarmican
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:48 pm

Post by sarmican » Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:38 am

thank you nanno fabio for helping me to solve codec problems in your update pack. I have to integrate a codec pack like vista codec package or K-lite codec pack to play avi and mpeg files. i tried K-lite mega codec pack it was completely successful but i need no player so i prefer vista codec pack 5.5 .

Botus
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Botus » Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:55 am

sarmican wrote: i tried K-lite mega codec pack it was completely successful but i need no player so i prefer vista codec pack 5.5 .
in one of the first set up windows when you install K-lite mega pack is a drop down menu where you can select to install a media player or not.

I always use option "8: lots of stuff without player"

sarmican
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:48 pm

Post by sarmican » Mon Dec 21, 2009 8:39 am

I mean to integrate a K-lite mega codec pack silent installer with profile "8: lots of stuff without player" or use the latest vista codec pack wich has no player.

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:30 am

Run this command in the CMD Box:
"K-Lite Mega Codec Pack v5.5.1.exe" -makeunattended

sarmican
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:48 pm

Post by sarmican » Tue Dec 22, 2009 1:37 am

thank you all

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Fri Dec 25, 2009 9:22 pm

2 OnePiece & Nonno Fabio:
What about MSXML6 v6.20.2003.0 (from KB973686) & Windows Imaging Component (WIC) 1.0.1 from YumeYao?

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:28 am

both obsolete

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:40 am

newsposter wrote:both obsolete
MSXML6 in this pack - 6.20.1103.0.
WIC.DLL - pack = 6.0.6001.22211, YumeYao = 6.0.6002.22182
WICEXT.DLL - pack = 6.0.6001.22211, YumeYao = 6.0.6001.22253
PMH.DLL - pack = 6.0.6001.22185, YumeYao = 6.0.6001.22253
WMPHOTO.DLL - pack = N/A (SP3 = 6.0.6001.17009), YumeYao = 6.0.6001.22375

Botus
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Botus » Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:30 am

as a matter of interest, I loaded windows as an upgrade on a pc with this pack integrated all went well, until I opened IE8 and had black menu bars. (not the first time I ever saw this)

Searched for issues seem to be a well know bug from MS...

a simple cure was to play with "high contrast display settings" using the left side of the keyboard, shift + alt + print screen gives you menus to play. Not sure which bit fixed it as took an eon for this to appear and I'd been pressing that combination for a while so got the menu about 20 times..... :rolleyes:

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Sat Dec 26, 2009 6:20 am

Pasha_ZZZ wrote:2 OnePiece & Nonno Fabio:
What about MSXML6 v6.20.2003.0 (from KB973686) & Windows Imaging Component (WIC) 1.0.1 from YumeYao?
Unfortunately there are no XP SP3 hotfixes for those components.
Maybe YumeYao took files out of Vista hotfixes
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:35 pm

MSXML6 SP2 for XP SP3 - KB973686

YumeYao's WIC files did come from Vista.

User avatar
OnePiece Alb
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Albania
Contact:

Post by OnePiece Alb » Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:13 pm

5eraph wrote:MSXML6 SP2 for XP SP3 - KB973686.
System Requirements
* Supported Operating Systems: Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2; Windows XP Service Pack 2
MSXML6.0 RTM, MSXML6.0 SP1, MSXML6.0 SP2

?????????????

Image
Last edited by OnePiece Alb on Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:18 pm

OnePiece Alb wrote:System Requirements
* Supported Operating Systems: Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2; Windows XP Service Pack 2
MSXML6.0 RTM, MSXML6.0 SP1, MSXML6.0 SP2
Use the force, Luke... Use the force! XP SP2 is required, but SP3 is supported too, if you unpack files & replace. With YumeYao's WIC from Vista files too...

User avatar
OnePiece Alb
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Albania
Contact:

Post by OnePiece Alb » Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:23 pm

Hi Pasha_ZZZ, No, the thing they know well, is not it the ninth setup.msi msxml6 of what is needed in Windows XP SP3, I am a long time, even the addon msxml6 in win2k3 and win2k, and I know it will not and correct to install forcefully msxml6.msi in windows xp sp3

Ciao.
Last edited by OnePiece Alb on Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:26 pm

OnePiece Alb wrote:No, the thing they know well, is not it the ninth setup.msi msxml6 of what is needed in Windows XP SP3, I am a long time, even the addon msxml6 in win2k3 and win2k, and I know it will not and correct to install forcefully msxml6.msi in windows xp sp3
It is because XP SP3 is already contains MSXML6 SP2, but version is older than from KB973686. Newer WIC files is even from Vista, but works fine...

User avatar
OnePiece Alb
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Albania
Contact:

Post by OnePiece Alb » Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:27 pm

Pasha_ZZZ wrote: It is because XP SP3 is already contains MSXML6 SP2, but version is older than from KB973686
http://thehotfixshare.net/board/index.p ... st&p=18125
Pasha_ZZZ wrote: Newer WIC files is even from Vista, but works fine...
Nonno Fabio explains it better than when it enters

Ciao

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:57 am

OnePiece Alb wrote:
Pasha_ZZZ wrote: Newer WIC files is even from Vista, but works fine...
Nonno Fabio explains it better than when it enters
I'm sure newer WIC files will work fine in XP too but it's a personal choice to use only XP fixes in the main UpdatePack. I think a special WIC update addon is better
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:01 am

nonno fabio wrote:I think a special WIC update addon is better
Yes, WIC addon is here, but there is no MSXML6 addon for XP SP3 (only files replacement).

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:00 am

Unlike MSXML4, same MSXML6 version has different files depending on Windows version they are aimed at. Recent msxml6.dll updates for Win2k-2k3-XPsp2 have different MD5 hashes from the one for XPsp3 and this is also for the latest MSXML6 hotfixes KB937636-937637, both published the same day (so there isn't a older/newer one).

So Onepiece decided to keep in his pack the files from XPsp3 dedicated hotfix, even if their version is lower than the one from the "Win2k-2k3-XPsp2" hotfix
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

proximous
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:06 pm

Post by proximous » Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:04 am

Thanks for this great pack! I'm having a small problem with WDS. I did a simple install (nothing but XPSP3, Onepiece XP Post-SP3 AIO Update Pack v3.2.0-091209, and user_hidden's .NET35SP1 installed during runonce), WDS is installed, however it doesn't work. The magnifying glass in the system tray ALWAYS says:

Waiting to receive indexing status...

I rebooted, and tried to force indexing, nothing...always that same message. Eventually, I reinstalled WDS by running WindowsSearch-KB940157-XP-x86-enu.exe and now it works fine.

Does anyone else have this problem?

EDIT: I just tested again, this time without .NET35, so it is just a plain XPSP3 with this pack installed by the Integrator. WDS is installed, but not working. Any help debugging would be appreciated.

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:31 am

Seems as in some PCs Windows Desktop Search doesn't start correctly.
It's a non reproductable behavior as thousand and thousand of installations don't show any issue about WDS.

In the present topic you can find a workaround. See this, for example: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=96825#96825
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Sun Jan 03, 2010 7:10 am

Just updated my XP install CD for the first time in ages and everything went smoothly with one small exception. I get 3 "found new hardware" windows during the installation which I have never seen on an XP install before. They are all related to "Terminal Service (or maybe it was server)" and come up one after the other. I think they were for respectively "terminal service for mouse", "terminal service for keyboard" and a third one which I don't now recall. Going through the dialogue steps so you get to "let windows search automatically" lets the installation complete and obviously finds the necessary drivers. I don't understand why it finds the drivers but puts up the dialogue boxes saying it has found new hardware?
It is not really a problem because it does work perfectly provided I confirm the steps in the found new hardware wizard and it takes only a few seconds for each of them but I haven't seen that happen in any of the earlier packs.

proximous
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:06 pm

Post by proximous » Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:17 pm

@nonno fabio:

Thanks. Don't know why I'm having the problem, but I do have it on multiple machines with absolutely nothing by this addon on a clean XPSP3. Strange. I'll try the CMD file the next time I do an install. Thanks!

EDIT: The CMD file fixes the problem! I guess I'll just add that to RUNONCEEX since I have this problem on every single install.

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:54 am

new release (see changelog)
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:34 pm

What about this Fix: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... 426#100426

And will there be no new Update Pack for this month should there not be a DirectX update this month ?

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:26 am

that's not related directly to the pack but to the specific remove addon.

It hasn't been updated since Onepiece's is considering if changing remove addons with something else or not.

When newer DX updates will come out, there will be a 3.3.1 update pack
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:26 am

The new Silverlight Update won't install. In me option it is because the uninstaller is not place there where it should be paced. I have see this problem caming and im sure i will get the same problem with all the same moded uninstaller that are not placed there where it sould be placed.

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:00 pm

You need only to uninstall the older version before installing new one
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:18 pm

I did find this out later but this is a NoGo if you must do it on over 40 PC's.

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:10 am

Outbreaker wrote:I did find this out later but this is a NoGo if you must do it on over 40 PC's.
Try to create such CMD file:

Code: Select all

start /wait "Removing Silverlight..." MsiExec.exe /X{89F4137D-6C26-4A84-BDB8-2E5A4BB71E00} /qn
start /wait "Installing new Silverlight..." Silverlight.exe /q
Where Silverlight.exe - redistributable from here by Microsoft.

This CMD silently uninstalls Silverlight & then silenty installs new one

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:17 am

Yes thx but i normally have auto download update and install enabled so an admin is not really happy if they have problems like this.
And even there was no point in changing the unistaller option for Silverlight or the other addons.

tcox8
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:13 pm

Post by tcox8 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:15 pm

pawan wrote:
nick_white wrote:I found another problem, this time when installing XP SP3 with Update Pack 1.7.0 on my home computer.

Image
I have faced the same problem, when I use ryanvmintegrator, with nlite there is no problem at all.
I am curious if there has been a workaround for this? I am integrating the current release (3.3.0) and getting this issue. Any fixes other than using nlite?

my process.
-integrate with RyanVMi Onepiece's update pack(3.3.0) with ie8 cosmetic addon and .net family addon
-integrate second time to remove bitlocker togo
-integrate third time to remove silverlight
-add drivers
-create ISO
Image

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:28 am

So i have now removed Silverlight form this Update Pack and used a old Silverlight addon and i had no problems to update Silverlight and the uninstaller was also where it should be. I hop in the next version this is fix because this bug is a NoGo.

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:58 am

updated.

@tcox: try not to integrate IE Cosmetic addon and see if it works
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Sat Jan 23, 2010 8:16 am

Do we still have 2 uninstallers (one working unistaller) & (one brocken unistaller) if we install a new version of one of the included addons ?

phox
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by phox » Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:22 am

@ nonno fabio

Despite "Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack",
I kindly ask you to consider reorganising your pack so, that all additions, for which
you ofer separate scripts to be removed, be offered as options. That aprouch will
save lot of time spend for repeting of RVM precessing for removal!

Without that solution I use your AddOns for IE8 and WMP11 with XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack.

wildwestgoh
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:59 am

Post by wildwestgoh » Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:33 pm

@ nonno fobio

Can you kindly list out what's included (beside routine hotfixes) into this update pack?
Like IE8, WMP11, DX9, Adobe Flash Player, .NET Framework + version, etc?
I did notice there's a list of installation that can be "=off" but I don't understand most of the abbreviation.

Thanks in advance for your hard work =)

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:37 pm

wildwestgoh wrote:Can you kindly list out what's included (beside routine hotfixes) into this update pack?
See 1st post:
Nonno Fabio wrote:Internet Explorer 8, included:

Windows Media Player 11, included:

Adobe Flash Player v10.0.42.34
MSXML 4.0 SP3 v4.30.2107.0 (including KB973685)
Microsoft.NET Framework v1.1.4322.2407
DirectX for WinXP Post-SP3 August 2009 Update (including DirectX for Managed Code for .NET 1.x)
Microsoft European Union Expansion Font Update 1.2
Microsoft & Windows Update v7.4.7600.226
Microsoft Update Catalog Web Control v7.4.7057.223
(Q282784) QFEcheck v6.2.29.0
(KB873374) GDI+ Detection Tool
(KB890830) Malware Removal Tool v3.3
(KB892130) Windows Genuine Advantage Validation v1.9.40.0/(KB905474) Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications v1.9.40.0
(KB931125) Root Certificate Update - November 2009
(KB940157 & KB961184) Windows Search 4.0
(KB952011) Windows Feature Pack for Storage 1.0 - Image Mastering API v2.0 (IMAPIv2.0) Update for Blu-Ray Media
(KB952013) Windows Feature Pack for Storage 1.0 - ICCD Smart Card Driver
(KB955305) Microsoft Silverlight v3.0.50106.0
(KB968930) Windows Management Framework Core - WinMFc (includes Powershell v2 and PowershellISE)
(KB970401) BitLocker To Go Reader

User avatar
boshkash
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:38 pm

Re: Onepiece XP Post-SP3 AIO Update Pack v3.3.1-100123

Post by boshkash » Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:44 am

Thanks nonno fabio :) Good Work

tcox8
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:13 pm

Post by tcox8 » Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:20 pm

nonno fabio wrote:updated.

@tcox: try not to integrate IE Cosmetic addon and see if it works
works! thanks so much!!!! :-D
Image

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:04 pm

wildwestgoh wrote:@ nonno fobio

I did notice there's a list of installation that can be "=off" but I don't understand most of the abbreviation.

Thanks in advance for your hard work =)
You're welcome ;)

Code: Select all

WinRM = Windows Remote Management
PowerShell = Powershell v2 console
PowerShellISE = Powershell Integrated Scripting Environment (graphical Powershell)
(those 3 are the components of Windows Management Framework Core)
MicrosoftUpdate = Microsoft Update
Silverlight = Silverlight
DirectX = DirectX Updates
MDX = DirectX for Managed Code
MSXML4 = MSXML 4
WDSearch = Windows Desktop Search
IMAPI2 = Image Mastering API v2
ICCDSCD = Smart Card Driver
WgaNotify = Windows Genuine Advantage Notifications
WRMC = Windows Rights Management Core
BitLockerToGo = BitLockerToGo Reader
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

airbag
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:46 pm

Post by airbag » Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:08 pm

Can anyone tell me which features that I absolutely require and can't remove with nLite when I'm using this add-on? I keep installing Windows with it and it always hangs just before entering the first start-up screen with "Applying settings"... Obviously I can install it without having any changes made.
Outbreaker wrote:The IE8 Rollback option doesn't work i get a error after Windows XP has restarted:
"The applocation has faild to start because iertutil.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."
The explorer.exe will also not start also if you use the Task Manager to start explorer.exe it will not start the error will came up.
I've had the same problem... not that I'd need to uninstall IE8, but it's kind of annoying... Or did I just completely uninstall IE? I forget...

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:59 am

The issue quoted there is not related to a Nlite removal but to the use of an unclean XP CD for unistallation.

Ricktendo64 who has a great knowledge of Nlite uses a particular entries.ini file for his Latino Pack to prevent removal of needed files:

Code: Select all

Este sección previene que Componentes nesesarios sean removidos por nLite (v1.4.9 en adelante)
[NeededComponents]
185,187,211,239,241,273,319,321,534,830,849,934,938,949,1411,1631

; #                   Componente                         Dependencia      Inactivo
;181 ="Administrador Multimedia del Sistema"              |WMP11            (X)
;185 ="Núcleo de Internet Explorer"                       |IE8+MU
;187 ="Internet Explorer"                                 |IE8+MU
;209 ="Ayudante de MS"                                    |SrchAsst         (X)
;211 ="Actualizaciones Automáticas"                       |IE8+MU
;239 ="Coordinador de Transacciones Distribuidas ('DTC')" |MU
;241 ="Transf. Inteligente en Segundo Plano ('BITS')"     |MU
;273 ="Servicios de Terminal"                             |WDS
;281 ="Asistente de Búsqueda"                             |WDS              (X)
;319 ="Reproductor de Windows Media 6.4"                  |WMP11
;321 ="Reproductor de Windows Media"                      |WMP11
;534 ="Sistema de Notificación de Eventos ('SENS')"       |IE8+MU
;830 ="Aprovisionamiento de Red"                          |TermService
;849 ="Herramienta de Diagnostico de DirectX"             |DirectX
;934 ="'MSMail y MAPI'"                                   |WDS
;938 ="Notificaciones de Inicio de Sesión"                |IE8
;949 ="Codecs de Núcleo Acm"                              |WMP11
;1411="Soporte de Scripting para Visual Basic"            |IE8
;1631="DirectX"                                           |DirectX

;Proteje archivos nesesarios de eliminación por nLite (v1.4.9 en adelante)
[KeepFiles]
dsksrch.chm
mymusic.inf
plylst1.wpl
plylst2.wpl
plylst3.wpl
plylst4.wpl
plylst5.wpl
plylst6.wpl
plylst7.wpl
plylst8.wpl
plylst9.wpl
plylst10.wpl
plylst11.wpl
plylst12.wpl
plylst13.wpl
plylst14.wpl
plylst15.wpl
syncpl01.wpl
syncpl02.wpl
syncpl03.wpl
syncpl04.wpl
syncpl05.wpl
syncpl06.wpl
syncpl07.wpl
syncpl08.wpl
syncpl09.wpl
syncpl10.wpl
syncpl11.wpl
syncpl12.wpl
unidrv.dll
unidrv.hlp
unidrvui.dll
unires.dll
You can find find more here: http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php? ... 5eb468c4e4
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:04 am

phox wrote:@ nonno fabio

Despite "Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack",
I kindly ask you to consider reorganising your pack so, that all additions, for which
you ofer separate scripts to be removed, be offered as options. That aprouch will
save lot of time spend for repeting of RVM precessing for removal!

Without that solution I use your AddOns for IE8 and WMP11 with XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack.
Every Removal addon takes only 4-5 seconds to integrate. The only annoyance is that you must integrate them one by one in single RVMi sessions but I think it's nothing so impossible
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:54 pm

The new pack is working perfectly for me - nice work and much appreciated.

I ran 5 removal addons in individual passes of RVMI followed by another pass to integrate the IE8 fix.

Then I integrated nearly 30 addons on one pass ticking the "Optimise System files" in RVMI.

I finish off with nLite to strip out all the languages I don't need and to apply all the tweaks and settings I like.

phox
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by phox » Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:27 am

[quote="nonno fabio"] Every Removal addon takes only 4-5 seconds to integrate.
The only annoyance is that you must integrate them one by one in single RVMi sessions
but I think it's nothing so impossible[/quote]

It is not just question of time and annoyance but of principle:

Why first put everything in and then run RVM several times to remove unwanted components?
Why not make optimal update pack with options?
Is it to much work to make those components optional?

Thank you for your time and attention.

User avatar
Pasha_ZZZ
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Russia, Slobodskoy

Post by Pasha_ZZZ » Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:51 am

phox wrote:Why first put everything in and then run RVM several times to remove unwanted components?
Why not make optimal update pack with options?
Is it to much work to make those components optional?
This is All-in-One pack. Optimal update pack - for you? For me? Optimal for each other?

Post Reply