XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack for Windows XP Post-SP3 20180109

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:55 pm

vodacuza wrote:Which line entry inside the WINNT.SIF generated by nlite or Ryan VM integrator is responsible for removal of some "useless" behaviours of windows xp installation using the original disk, such as:

- the red filling progress bar, counting down 10 seconds before restarting PC several times during install.

Code: Select all

[Unattended]
WaitForReboot="No"
vodacuza wrote:- the page with the License Agreement, that needs to push F8 to be accepted.

Code: Select all

[Unattended]
OemSkipEula="Yes"

jaynbe
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:37 pm

Post by jaynbe » Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:02 am

Concerning Root certificates:

New KB931125 Root Certificates Update March 2011

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... 7e58dd5a89

yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:41 am

wtf.... I gamble it's same as Feb 2011......... Now gonna downloading it to check the result.


==edit==

totally same....
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:44 am

Yet MU still does not accept the new root certs

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:21 pm

actually this is Mens rea, they have parked xp :rolleyes:

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:44 pm

vodacuza wrote:actually this is Mens rea, they have parked xp :rolleyes:
Dude, what are you talking about?

Its a mistake, plain and simple

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:28 pm

let me freely express my opinion that after 2 consecutive "mistakes" there might be a chance to imply their will, "ill will" :) to urge people use newer OS. they implement new components like ie9 and others... within other OS instead of xp, it would be very easy for them to make latest dx and ie available for xp...

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:08 pm

jaynbe wrote:Concerning Root certificates:

New KB931125 Root Certificates Update March 2011

exactly the same as the one included in 1.4.9 updatepack.

hey Ricktendo64 did you ever look into adding the cert by cmdline to fix the nag in your pack. i haven't had the time to even look at it.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:41 pm

@u_h nope

BTW MU finally accepts the latest rootcert

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:46 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:@u_h nope

BTW MU finally accepts the latest rootcert
well if MU is fixed then the cmdline is not required.
never the less what should work if needed may be:
certmgr.exe -add -c certfile.cer -s -r localMachine root

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:34 am

detected to you as well ?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2524375

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:05 am

vodacuza wrote:detected to you as well ?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2524375
aware of it and already in local beta build amongst some other updates.....

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Sat Apr 02, 2011 4:41 am

With my latest integration the install screen hangs a while just before the "F8 eula" screen ....
only thing that I added extra this time was the silverlight addon.
there is also a longer than normal pause at T39

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Apr 02, 2011 9:33 am

@ =[FEAR]=JIGSAW

haven't had your issue, and i always test the pack with addons and MY silverlight addon.
can you try again with a new clean integration and test?
perhaps it was something gone bad during that process.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:46 am

=[FEAR]=JIGSAW wrote:With my latest integration the install screen hangs a while just before the "F8 eula" screen ....
only thing that I added extra this time was the silverlight addon.
there is also a longer than normal pause at T39
that's exactly the time dedicated to detect possible storage media from within or attached to the computer, that might serve to xp installation or:
- partitions, some problems with the formatting of
- usb disks & sticks forgotten attached
- newly added disks
- resident tiny partitions forcibly and stupidly created by prior win7 installations
- preexisting boot files from older but still viable xp installation
- bios disabled floppy along with physically present floppy unit
- new sata oem drivers integrated

and more like it

delete the partition, targeted to install xp, before recreating and formatting it ntfs.

it is normally to hang more at t13, make the same silverlight addon with the proper switch to make it visible the progress bar... you will see an almost abnormal hanging time, right before finishing the install of silverlight on an installed xp :)

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:55 pm

Thanks guys ... I did notice the CD performs different on different machines. ;)
.... makes sense then that it's not an integration error.

adric
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:38 pm

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... +exe#96716
user_hidden wrote:this little util can check the updates on your WindowsXP system

Installed_hotfixes.exe

File: Installed_Hotfixes.exe
CRC-32: 3344b031
MD4: 488196ea64d74fac5f98b2e2bcbda7e0
MD5: 9767fb89ef7350dc91d0cb7c5944af19
SHA-1: 9f491452427d34a90b8fc1b6d005b4559acf4573
I'm sure it's a false positive, but recently, this exe shows up as high risk cloaked malware by Prevx. Virus total shows 17/42 hits. I'm curious as to what is being detected.

Al

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:22 pm

adric wrote:I'm sure it's a false positive, but recently, this exe shows up as high risk cloaked malware by Prevx. Virus total shows 17/42 hits. I'm curious as to what is being detected.

Al

yup false positive ......

adric
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:04 pm

user_hidden wrote:

yup false positive ......
Any idea what programming language this was written in or whether it was packed with upx? A detection rate of 40% seems a bit high no?

Al

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:44 pm

not exactly false positive, as that's not a suspicious file containing a routine very much alike with that of a virus signature that 's mistankenly considered to be an infection too, but rather a tool that antivirus software producers decided by arbitrary voting... like long ago christian councils decided, what to remove and what to add to the holy Bible... :wink:

yet under the generic terms "false positive" you reunite all that's NOT a threat but rather unliked by those who have just enough power to sit next to the voting button

"Evid Patch Tool"...that is innocently patching ms's "tcpip.sys" it is a threat (they say)
any keygenerators alike :P

the most hilarious I found to be MalawareBytes that detects the keygen that people use to register that piece of software, "don't steal our work threat" :D

so it is within their will to decide whether to extend their protective policy more than the infection's range...and for example to protect against piracy or anything that harms some big brother's interests

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:34 pm

@adric

i don't even remember how i packed it.
i probably built it with QBC but it was a while ago.
deffinately NO virus or Trojan.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:37 pm

updated 20110412 ....

1.50:
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool Key to v3.18
updated Adobe Flash Player 10.2.153.1 ActiveX Control
updated FontReg 2.1.3
updated ResetWMI 1.3.3
added KB2412687 replaced KB958869
added KB2491683
added KB2485663 replaced KB2259922
added KB2497640 replaced KB2482017
added KB2498072
added KB2503658 replaced KB2141007
added KB2506212
added KB2506223 replaced KB2479628
added KB2507618 replaced KB2485376
added KB2508272 replaced KB980195
added KB2508429 replaced
added KB2509553 replaced KB951163 & KB958752
added KB2510581 replaced KB971961 & KB981349
added KB2511455 replaced KB983458
added KB2523087 replaced KB2519231 & KB2515337
added KB2524375

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:17 am

thanks

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:18 am

runs very smooth here, except that Flash Player support seems not to be available

I have tried on youtube first then on some other site containing news, full with flash animations...none showing up

please someone that has made the latest build to confirm it or not
:D

REEDIT:

oops, recovered by itself, might have been a virtual box bug, don't think that flash installed by itself silently, I didn't saw anything at all, no legit allowance asking..., rather virtual box was doing something wrong, sorry :wink:

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:47 am

@vodacuza

list your addons you integrate with, perhaps there is a conflict.

have you tried on a real system or another VM?
btw, i test using Virtualbox and have no issues.

anyone else reading have witnessed this issue?

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:59 pm

Using Ryan VM Integrator for all the below:

qfe pack 1.50
5er_KB922120-v6_user_hidden_Removal_Addon.7z
Kels_Runtimes_addon_v7.6.rar
SPTD_1.78_AddOn.zip
ASPI v472a2
YumeYao_MicrosoftOldRuntimeLibraries_Addon_1_0_0
YumeYao_MicrosoftVC78910RuntimeLibraries_MixedAddon_2_0_5
YumeYao_WMP11_Addon_ENU_V3_4_4
YumeYao_IE8_Addon_Nosetuperr_ENU_1_4_6
SFX_Java_JRE_6u24
Addon_DirectX32_9.0c_Runtimes_201006.7z (u_h)
Unlocker-v1.9.0_addon
Addon WinRAR 4.0
CAPICOM-KB931906-v2102
Silverlight 4.0.60129
SetupLocale_addon
DotNetFX20SP2_20101002_Addon_ENU_xp2k3only.7z (yume's)
RedDXManaged_1.1.0
IDM6.05_Build11_Addon
Performa_addon


Yes I'll do another one only with the qfe pack over the latest msdn xp, to observe the flash behaviour with ie6 , then use the same project but adding yume's ie8 addon, I ve made some minor changes in the inf file of the ie8 addon but some 3 or 4 and no more than usualy ... disabling phishing filter, unhide menu bar and moving it to top (I mean no ActiveX setting touched) and come back to tell the result with and without ie8, no other addons

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:17 pm

same issue after simple qfe integration
aborting phase 2 (adding yume's ie8 addon) as an irrelevant one
I'll try same simple integration again, this time renouncing to nlite settings, I'll use only ryan integrator and qfe pack, making bootable image with ryan integrator too

youtube recommended me to go to adobe to view movies, also other web pages not displaying flash content

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:29 pm

Try to integrate mine's flash aio addon to see what happens.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:39 pm

vmanda wrote:Try to integrate mine's flash aio addon to see what happens.
flash is built into the updatepack.

what vodcuza should do is integrate msdn iso with qfe_1.50 and see what happens. no other addons, then 1 by 1 see which is the culprit.

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:50 pm

Image it will surely work, as it will supersede any previous flash engine component

yet the ideea is to have the already delivered one functional, more for the reason that I do not use any other browser addon, such as mozila or alike... needing only the ie flash support that usually comes with qfe pack, then having to integrate 2 things that aim the same...it may be practical sometimes but not quite professional for the build I desire

I may install mozila optionaly afterwards...and so, if I can take the effort to install it after...I can also manualy allow within that moment the corresponding flash plugin to download and install and only this way I might need all the adobe flash support... adobe flash active x for ie it is enough by now, thanks vmanda :P

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:11 pm

no
it says:
"You need adobe flash player to watch this video
download it from Adobe"

all else works really fine, MU sits obedient, reporting no need of any update

I will expect somebody else to confirm as I am convinced he will surely do

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:42 pm

Line 7612 of qfeUpPck.inf needs to be edited to register the proper file name.

Code: Select all

[Flash.Register]
11,Macromed\Flash,Flash10[color=white]o[/color].ocx,1
To work around the problem on an existing install, type the following in the Run box or at any command prompt:

Code: Select all

regsvr32.exe "%SystemRoot%\system32\Macromed\Flash10o.ocx"

adric
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:50 pm

user_hidden wrote:updated 20110412 ....

1.50:

added KB2508429 replaced
I assume you meant replaced KB2345886. Is that correct?

Al

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:04 pm

5eraph wrote:Line 7612 of qfeUpPck.inf needs to be edited to register the proper file name.

Code: Select all

[Flash.Register]
11,Macromed\Flash,Flash10[color=white]o[/color].ocx,1
To work around the problem on an existing install, type the following in the Run box or at any command prompt:

Code: Select all

regsvr32.exe "%SystemRoot%\system32\Macromed\Flash10o.ocx"
thanks 5eraph for the quick remedy
saw the n there... the question is where to find the editable line within an existing build, I mean is it possible to replace the n with o somewhere inside the build ? where it goes the info from that inf once it passes through ryan integrator ? 8)

if it is not possible, no problem to make it again, only to look inside that inf and appreciate the huge work u_h did, I suppose I can modify that... and re-7zip it, so that not to download the fixed qfe ?!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:24 pm

Save the following code to a file named "entries_flashfix.ini" and integrate with RVMi. It should work when integrated with pack v1.5.0_20110412 or anytime after it.

Code: Select all

[general]
builddate=2011/04/13
description=Fix for Flash in WindowsXP Post-SP3 Update Pack (QFE) v1.5.0
title=Flash fix for qfeUpPck.inf
version=1.0

[ExtraFileEdits]
qfeUpPck.inf|11,Macromed\Flash,Flash10n.ocx,1|11,Macromed\Flash,Flash10o.ocx,1|1
Last edited by 5eraph on Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:04 pm

damn.....

thanks 5eraph for using your experienced eyes and Vodacuda for reporting.

i'l update a new pack shortly.

User avatar
mf3imp
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:15 pm

Post by mf3imp » Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:08 am

user_hidden wrote:i'l update a new pack shortly.
A new Flash Player is scheduled for this Friday:
http://www.adobe.com/support/security/a ... 11-02.html

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:14 am

THX good to know.

yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:24 am

It's good news that adobe finally take care of their products' security, but obviously they have a long way to go.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:34 pm

Wow, that's the third out-of-band update for this quarterly cycle!
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

User avatar
gabo
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: Biggest city in the world, Mexico City
Contact:

Post by gabo » Thu Apr 14, 2011 9:29 pm

code65536 wrote:Wow, that's the third out-of-band update for this quarterly cycle!
OMG!! code65536 is back!
gabo

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1374
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:44 pm

You must not have been paying attention - he's been back for about a month I think, and are we ever glad to have him!

Cheers and Regards

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Fri Apr 15, 2011 4:10 pm

20110415

silent update of Flash Player ActiveX 10.2.159.1

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:24 pm

Thx

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:47 am

thanks

User avatar
laddanator
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: virginia

Thanks

Post by laddanator » Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:07 pm

Just wanted to give user_hidden and everyone on this site for making these addons and packs! I know what kinda head ache this stuff can be. I make a lot of my own stuff and its time consuming. Thanks again everyone for making this site possible!
"I'LL BE BACK"

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:03 am

@laddanator

we appreciate it

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:48 pm

MS updated the MRT April update :) digital signature says: 19 April 2011 instead of the older 7 April 2011

also added a new update KB2492386, that I cannot download it yet

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:08 am

updated 20110427 ....

1.51
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool Key to v3.18 v2
updated Microsoft Update Catalog Web Control 7.4.7057.248
added KB2492386 replaced KB955759

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:32 pm

thanks, I'll make a new windows with it, adding the other updates as well: java, silverlight and IDM

Post Reply