XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack for Windows XP Post-SP3 20180109

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Post by SHO_GuN » Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:08 pm

I am curious ... where do you get the data in your tzupdate.inf?

I can't seem to find matching data in KB2633952.

For example, line 14 contains "Kabul" - I can't find that anywhere in KB2633952.

Thanks

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:53 pm

SHO_GuN wrote:I am curious ... where do you get the data in your tzupdate.inf?

I can't seem to find matching data in KB2633952.

For example, line 14 contains "Kabul" - I can't find that anywhere in KB2633952.

Thanks
I build it from the registry of a clean running system. It seems 5eraph and myself use the same methodology.
The tzupdate.inf is a complete timezone data while the KB only has the updated data.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:04 am

Yep. Same method. Slightly different implementation when building the actual INF.

My INF only includes the changes between the original registry entries and the latest time zone update as found by differencing the exported "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Time Zones" key with code65536's diff.exe, so it's smaller despite following gosh's rigid text-mode INF rules (specifically, always using 8-digit data type IDs with Reg2Inf's /longflags).

I know for certain that US English XPx86, XPx64 and 2003x64 share nearly identical time zone registry entries (the only difference between x86 and x64 being the MapID for Tasmania Standard Time, "20,-1" vs. "20,65") . If one wanted they should be able to swap our time zone update INFs and achieve the same result.

EDIT: A working script has been posted for those interested.
Last edited by 5eraph on Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Dec 14, 2011 9:21 am

I still prefer to use tzchange.exe

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:20 pm

I'm getting an error with 201111213, using the same addons I used with 20111110 which didn't give this error.

qfecheck,

Code: Select all

KB2264107:  This hotfix should be reinstalled.
The following files are not valid in the system catalog:
		C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\NTDLL.DLL
Related error in setuperr.log.

From the update pack details:

KB2264107 - This update helps protect against DLL preloading vulnerabilities in software applications on the Windows platform.


Any ideas? Is it on my end?
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Dec 14, 2011 9:42 pm

shiner wrote:I'm getting an error with 201111213, using the same addons I used with 20111110 which didn't give this error.

Any ideas? Is it on my end?
all fine here !

maybe a bad integration?

here is the info on the file in the update pack:

File: ntdll.dll version 5.1.2600.6055
CRC-32: 1684124f
MD4: 6f85e2860b25b78808c16023c722b541
MD5: 15ce4dbc22fab90b3ca5352af1fff81c
SHA-1: bf3d9f67b968755a2d0659540a1d115e0525f02b

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:53 pm

All hashes are OK here.

I will go back and start again.

Am I correct in thinking that this version of ntdll.dll was added in qfe1.48?
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:03 am

u_h, I don't know what to say.

I now have 3 vms using 20111213 and all give the same error above on ntdll.dll. The hashes of ntdll.dll in those VMs all match the hashes you posted. My latest integration included only your pack, nothing else.

Any suggestions? Is there any information I can give you?
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:53 am

shiner wrote:u_h, I don't know what to say.

I now have 3 vms using 20111213 and all give the same error above on ntdll.dll. The hashes of ntdll.dll in those VMs all match the hashes you posted. My latest integration included only your pack, nothing else.

Any suggestions? Is there any information I can give you?

Lemme check into it more and get back to you.....

I'm prepping a rebuild with a fix and I'll PM you with a link to test.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:31 pm

20111215....silent update

SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Post by SHO_GuN » Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:59 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:I still prefer to use tzchange.exe
I don't know if there are any side effects from the way u_h and 5eraph are handling time zone updates - but I haven't encountered any.

However, there is at least one minor problem using tzchange.exe, at least under certain conditions. If you use winnt.sif to set your time zone and do an install between the old time shift date and the new time shift date, the system time will be thrown off by one hour. It works fine for the rest of the year.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:55 pm

@SHO_Gun

yup I changed to the tzupdate.inf method a while back which alleviated many timezone bugs.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Dec 17, 2011 8:00 pm

That's the problem Kurt_Aust described to me back in October 2009, after my hiatus. It wasn't until a month later (XPx64 pack 2009-11_2) that I realized it was necessary to add the changes before the relevant entries in WinNT.sif were parsed.

SHO_GuN stumbled upon the same problem a few months after that, which prompted user_hidden to use a similar method.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:00 pm

5eraph you are amazing when it comes to picking up quotes from the past....amazing :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:39 pm

user_hidden wrote:5eraph you are amazing when it comes to picking up quotes from the past....amazing :)
I F%@#ing agree

geoslake
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 3:43 am

Post by geoslake » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:00 am

I'm almost sure it's not related to this pack, but for now about 3 months (i build a new cd with almost each update, adn reinstall), my explorer icons often revert to TILE view (I only use LIST view).
Ive unchecked "remember each folder settings", and Ive "applied to all folders". It always worked that way.
It seems to happen randomly.
This is really really annoying :(


Thanks

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:49 am

geoslake wrote:I'm almost sure it's not related to this pack, but for now about 3 months (i build a new cd with almost each update, adn reinstall), my explorer icons often revert to TILE view (I only use LIST view).
Ive unchecked "remember each folder settings", and Ive "applied to all folders". It always worked that way.
It seems to happen randomly.
This is really really annoying :(


Thanks

not pack related at all.

Asim_Omer
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:09 am

Post by Asim_Omer » Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:16 pm

TY.

Adrian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:02 am

Post by Adrian » Mon Dec 26, 2011 2:41 pm

has this update been tested with nlite? integrating only this gives the following error when it finishes copying files and wants to save the configuration. This never happened with the 20111110 update
Image

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:00 pm

Adrian,

must be a bad integration or check your source.
something seems corrupted.
that is not an UpdatePack issue.

Adrian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:02 am

Post by Adrian » Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:19 pm

yup,you were right
Last edited by Adrian on Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Adrian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:02 am

Post by Adrian » Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:39 pm

update KB2618444 still offers to install from MS

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:43 pm

It's not an update pack issue if you added IE7 or IE8, Adrian. Use an up to date addon for IE7 or IE8.

Adrian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:02 am

Post by Adrian » Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:08 am

yeah i figured later i didn't update a separate ie8 addon

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:01 pm

20120110
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool v4.4.5802
added KB2584146
added KB2584577 replaced KB2506212
added KB2585542 replaced KB971737 & KB2541763
added KB2598479
added KB2603381
added KB2629462 replaced KB956625
added KB2631813 replaced KB2282612
added KB2646524 replaced KB2567680

pdl808
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:13 pm
Location: Milpitas, CA USA

Post by pdl808 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:21 pm

The file name on page 1 needs to be updated. The file download and checksum are OK. Thanks.

User avatar
vioplujjnsjzfg
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:07 pm

Post by vioplujjnsjzfg » Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:30 pm

user_hidden wrote:20120110
updated
Thanks again, U_H, for the fantastic service you provide. I'm certain it's appreciated by many - including me :wink:

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:29 pm

pdl808 wrote:The file name on page 1 needs to be updated. The file download and checksum are OK. Thanks.
fixed :wink:

KaosKid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:20 pm

Post by KaosKid » Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:47 am

Hi

I want to make an up-to-date install disk, and find that upgrading all the dotnets from M$ site is such a pain after install. This being such a small pack should I assume that I need to look at another pack if I need the dotnets integrated? Thanks!

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:14 am

dotnets, ie8 and wmp11

KaosKid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:20 pm

Post by KaosKid » Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:26 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:dotnets, ie8 and wmp11
Thanks for the quick reply ricktendo64 :D

Due to its conciseness, I will take this to mean that if I want any of the above, I need to look at another pack. Please correct me if I misunderstood.

Botus
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Botus » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:59 pm

both user_hidden and onepiece do a great job releasing regular (monthly) xp update packs :D

you can add this update pack and its brings the security patches / other bugs fixes up to date for a std win xp build (with a few extras, see front page u/h gives all the info)

as a next step u can add the parts rick suggests to you new build, search these for addons to build your own customised disc here:

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=14

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=7



or onepiece makes an all in one update pack here

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6438

KaosKid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:20 pm

Post by KaosKid » Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:23 pm

Thanks Botus for the helpful links

User avatar
vodacuza
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Fukushima 3rd reactor

Post by vodacuza » Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:34 pm

yes u_h makes a great job making this pack as it is...and having to resist to himself and to others not to force integration of ie8, wmp11, dx, .net and so on...as a matter of fact there is a pack on xable net that has 27 megabytes... and consists only of high priority updates...to me both packs are great, depending on what do you want to attain 8)

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:01 pm

lejedeag's conversation has been moved since it has nothing to do with this topic.

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9504

User avatar
vioplujjnsjzfg
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:07 pm

Post by vioplujjnsjzfg » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:57 pm

Immediately after a fresh install, MU/WU is bugging me to install KB2632503.

Should this be part of this pack or should I be looking elsewhere?

EDIT: A more thorough search has revealed this belongs to IE8.

phox
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:45 pm

Post by phox » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:39 pm

Your IE8 AddOn is not updated!? Try again with this one:

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5999

User avatar
vioplujjnsjzfg
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:07 pm

Post by vioplujjnsjzfg » Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:06 pm

phox wrote:Your IE8 AddOn is not updated!? Try again with this one:

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5999
Yep. That's the one I used - working fine now. I don't know how I missed it earlier.

User avatar
vmanda
Posts: 1634
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:25 pm
Location: TM.Romania

Post by vmanda » Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:27 am

Adrian wrote:has this update been tested with nlite? integrating only this gives the following error when it finishes copying files and wants to save the configuration. This never happened with the 20111110 update
Image
I have same issue. Seems that install is stopped when loading hivesys.inf

EDIT: solved. integrated drivers issue.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sat Jan 21, 2012 7:07 pm

vmanda wrote:I have same issue. Seems that install is stopped when loading hivesys.inf
EDIT: solved. integrated drivers issue.
:wink:

mutedchild
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:17 am

Post by mutedchild » Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:09 am

hi u_h, i get an "unknown hard error system32/ntdll.dll" ,so i check the file in the updated winxp source and found out that the ntdll.dll isn't updated, still the same version.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:30 am

What is the file's version number, mutedchild? The file in I386 should be 5.1.2600.6055. It is the proper version number in both user_hidden's pack 20120110 and OnePiece's pack 5.4.0.

The file in I386\SYSTEM32 should not need updating, and neither x86 pack does so. You can try updating it yourself and see if it works.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:13 pm

mutedchild

5eraph just replied above.....something at your end i presume as the updatepack has the correct file.

mutedchild
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:17 am

Post by mutedchild » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:37 pm

the file version is 5.1.2600.5512. Actually, i tested my compiled iso on virtualbox before burning it and it doesnt give me that error message but when i burn it and try the actual disc it the error message pops up. Thats why i check the ntdll.dll found out that its different from u_h pack.
EDIT: sorry u_h, i never thought there are 2 ntdll.dll in my source. Thank you user_hidden and 5eraph.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Feb 05, 2012 1:05 pm

i got this version modded on a cd
http://www.mediafire.com/?khoa61ytt19d5ao

can I use the latest update pack to overwrite the existing one

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:42 am

ENU_user wrote:i got this version modded on a cd
http://www.mediafire.com/?khoa61ytt19d5ao

can I use the latest update pack to overwrite the existing one

i didn't check your file but if it is older than what is in the updatepack
it will be overwritten.

dudeuk
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:34 am

Post by dudeuk » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:14 am

yours and xable update packs work very well for me..

im using a untouched xp pro sp3 student edition 8)

thanks user_hidden for keeping this update pack alive and updated monthly
your also so quick at releasing your update packs so soon after the hotfixes are out.. :D


do u know where i can get a dot net framework aio 1.1 - 4.0 addon
that installs before t13 or as close to the start of t13
ive got a aio framework 2.0 - 4.0 addon that installs after first boot, :cry:
but would rather have framework thats installed before my silent addons install
at t13 as ive got a silent install of WLMessenger 14.0.8117.416 that needs framework at t13 for wlm to install properly..

i am already using your Microsoft .NET Framework AIO ROE x86
would you think by adding your other addon aswell Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 SP1 may fix the problem..
as i dont know what framework WLMessenger needs to be able to install

thanks in advance for your relpy
Last edited by dudeuk on Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
laddanator
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: virginia

Post by laddanator » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:28 pm

I still prefer to use tzchange.exe
Is this something from MS and where can it be downloaded?
"I'LL BE BACK"

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:27 pm

It is included in the update pack. The latest version can also be found in KB2633952.

User avatar
Ralfo67
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 8:36 am
Location: AU

Post by Ralfo67 » Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:29 am

Thanks @user_hidden for this pack and all the other packs you do. Much appreciated.

Post Reply