[New Updated Tutorial] Making A 7-Zip Switchless Installer

Questions or comments on the switchless installers? Want to create a new one? Talk about it here.
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue May 22, 2012 8:44 pm

There is a bug (or a on purpose) in 1.5.0.2485 GUI Dialogs (have not tested 1.4)

When you press and hold SHIFT to jump to AutoInstall part of config.txt the FinishMessage no longer shows (I hope this is not on purpose)

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Wed May 23, 2012 2:19 am

Apparently, per gora - http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... 2ea#124098 - it seems to be on purpose.
2 ricktendo64
This is normal behavior of the module
OK+Shift run AutoInstall.

In Russian help file is written:
After all the operations (unpacking, run programs, deleting files, creating shortcuts, etc.) will display a dialogue with the text contained in 'FinishMessage'. Whenever an unattended installation ('AutoInstall' or 'AutoInstallX') concluded the dialogue is blocked.

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Wed May 23, 2012 2:49 am

Apparently showing the FinishMessage for an unattended installation was considered a bug and so this was "fixed" in version 2485.
And yes, this was "fixed" in the 1.4 and 1.6 lines as well.

If you want the message, you will have to go back to build 2478.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed May 23, 2012 2:54 am

I understand in the case of /ai but not in the case of SHIFT, if you use the GUI to begin install then use SHIFT to bypass RunProgram then that means you want to see the finish message

User avatar
gora
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:33 am
Location: Ivanovo, Russia

Post by gora » Wed May 23, 2012 3:22 am

shiner wrote:If you want the message, you will have to go back to build 2478.
It is not necessary. Use the prefix fmX parameter AutoInstall, and there will be no problems.

Code: Select all

AutoInstall="fm1:setup.exe"

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed May 23, 2012 3:37 am

Then you break /ai...IMO it was fine how it used to be

User avatar
gora
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:33 am
Location: Ivanovo, Russia

Post by gora » Wed May 23, 2012 3:54 am

2 ricktendo64
I personally do not break or anything. This behavior FinishMessage was made by Oleg even when this option in all versions of it like that. In one of the latest versions of the bug appeared, and is not inhibited by FinishMessage OK+Shift. Now this bug has been fixed.
I do not change or anything in the behavior of the module, I'm just a beta tester and write Russian help for the module. All decisions are made by Oleg.
I'm not saying that this behavior is "good" behavior, I'm just stating that it complies with the previous algorithm.

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Wed May 23, 2012 4:40 am

@gora,

Rick did not mean any offense. In English, when he said "Then you break ..." that is the same as saying "Then it breaks ...", or "That causes a break with ...". It was not directed at you or anyone personally. Sorry for the confusion.

We understand that this is a correction to fix a "bug" that was introduced, but it seems that the behavior with the bug was convenient under certain circumstances. Would it be possible to add the behavior back somehow? So that if you use the GUI to begin install then use SHIFT to bypass RunProgram then you see the finish message, but if you use /ai that you don't see the message. (I hope I described the desired behavior correctly.)

Cheers and Regards

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed May 23, 2012 12:45 pm

I did not mean literally "you" broke it, I said if you/me/anybody adds fm1 to AutoInstall it will break /ai

My personal opinion is that this

Image

Should lead to this

Image

User avatar
gora
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:33 am
Location: Ivanovo, Russia

Post by gora » Wed May 23, 2012 10:14 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:if you/me/anybody adds fm1 to AutoInstall it will break /ai
Add to a switch -ai also a switch -fm0 and everything again will earn

Code: Select all

AutoInstall="fm1:setup.exe"

Code: Select all

sfx.exe -ai -fm0
At start of OK+Shift of dialogue of FinishMessage will be, and at start with switches of dialogue won't be

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed May 23, 2012 11:26 pm

I know how the command lines to force and/or hide it thats not a problem, the thing is they "fixed" something that was not broken

I dont understand the reason it was removed from SHIFT+OK with the GUI sfx, I understand the regular sfx with no GUI and no BeginPrompt, you double click the SFX while holding SHIFT to jump to the AutoInstall section and you avoid the FinishMessage...but I think if there is a BeginPrompt present you should show the FinishMessage when you use SHIFT+OK in GUI setups

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Thu May 24, 2012 12:34 am

@rick,
does your config file has a 'fm0' prefix for AutoInstall? Could you post your whole config file here?
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu May 24, 2012 12:53 am

Does not have it because it was not necessary with the previous version

If you want my confg.txt you can find it on this page under resources http://www.wincert.net/forum/topic/9790 ... le-x86x64/

The next version of that AIO installer I made the GUI allot nicer (as you can see from the screenshots above) but just a little disappointed that they removed the FinishMessage when you use SHIFT+OK (I dont think I will add fmX either because it will just mess things up)

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Thu May 24, 2012 1:04 am

from his changelog:
- link removed for phpBB doesn't support that long link -
Google translated:
1.5 RC1 (build 2485) 17/05/12
* Do not block the output of 'FinishMessage' when you click "Yes / OK" + Shift in the window 'BeginPrompt' (gora: forum.oszone.net)


He hasn't made latest source (2485) public, so I can't figure out what he did.


-edit-
never mind. Found the source on russian page (eng page and svn not up-to-date yet though).

-edit 2-
Yes he did change SHIFT + OK behavior to exactly same as -ai.
So the change log should be:
Do not block on 'FinishMessage' window if Shift+OK is clicked in 'BeginPrompt' window.
- That implies 'FinishMessage' window will not show.

So this is designed. And that's the only change besides version number. Period.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:18 am

FYI,

I just noticed that about 11 days ago Oleg Sherbakov, developer of the modified 7-zip module, announced:
All:
Work on the unit is collapsed indefinitely. Maybe forever. Please forgive me.
http://forum.oszone.net/post-2040506-1392.html

So, unless someone is willing to fill the void, there will no longer be any updates to the modified module.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
mooms
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:29 pm
Location: France

Post by mooms » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:12 am

that's bad news....
What is the key differences between "modified" and "original" modules btw ? (i always used modified module made by Oleg so i don't know the capabilities of the original)
Alteration of the world
Want to thank me ? If you buy something on Banggood with this link, I will earn a little %.

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:33 am

mooms,

The number of additional features provided by the modified 7z module versus ipavlov's stock release is quite numerous.

But two of the most basic I can think of are the ability to use multiple Run parameters and AutoInstall parameters in the config.txt.

You can get a better idea by reading 7zSD_En.chm under 'History'.

Most of the releases in this forum use only a small number of the features present in the modified module.
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
gora
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:33 am
Location: Ivanovo, Russia

Post by gora » Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:39 am

Original has the following parameters only:

Code: Select all

Title
BeginPrompt
Progress
RunProgram
Directory
ExecuteFile
ExecuteParameters
and has no multiple parameters

User avatar
mooms
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:29 pm
Location: France

Post by mooms » Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:02 am

Thanks to both of you, modified module is indeed a must for us.
Maybe Igor Pavlov could merge the changes in the official branch ?
Well, I'm guessing this was already discussed, so maybe no.

Oleg_Sch
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 7:46 am

Post by Oleg_Sch » Sun Dec 30, 2012 6:42 pm

Not all so bad.
I don't have enough time to developing of the module and I can't promise anything, but project is not died.
I updated branches 1.5 and 1.6 and you can download new versions from SVN or russian download pages of the site. Changelog available only in russian, but you can see some short comments in english in 7zSfxMod/sources/version.h
And...
Happy New Year!
:)

User avatar
mooms
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:29 pm
Location: France

Post by mooms » Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:45 pm

Cool!

Happy new Year Oleg_Sch, and welcome among us !
Alteration of the world
Want to thank me ? If you buy something on Banggood with this link, I will earn a little %.

User avatar
shiner
Posts: 655
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:18 am
Location: SE Asia

Post by shiner » Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:22 pm

Yes, that is great news.
Happy New Year.

Direct link to latest stable version: 1.5.0.2712:

7zsd_150_2712.7z
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:17 am

Added a link to the old, deprecated and unstickied tutorial in the first post for archival purposes.

Zephyr
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:53 pm
Location: London

Re:

Post by Zephyr » Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:16 am

shiner wrote:
Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:22 pm
Yes, that is great news.
Happy New Year.

Direct link to latest stable version: 1.5.0.2712:

7zsd_150_2712.7z
Latest version from Github released 5th April 2017:

https://github.com/github/ghfw-build-ex ... p/7zSD.sfx
XP FOREVER!

User avatar
mooms
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:29 pm
Location: France

Re: [New Updated Tutorial] Making A 7-Zip Switchless Installer

Post by mooms » Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:42 am

Why responding to such an old thread ? Alo, what is the version of the module of your link ?

Here is an archive with a lot of different version of the modified module by Sherbakov, the latest one is 1.7.0.3900

7zsd_tools_All.7z
Alteration of the world
Want to thank me ? If you buy something on Banggood with this link, I will earn a little %.

Post Reply