[Addon] XPSP3 QFE POSReady Updates 20180613

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Atari800xl
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:46 pm
Location: NL

Post by Atari800xl » Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:40 pm

Thank you very much! Using the changelog, I made a new (localized) OnePiece POSAddon, then a new June-2015 XP iso. We still haven't heard from OnePiece, but I hope you will stay around! (You already "promised" to stay around forever <g>)
THANKS again!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:05 am

Atari800xl wrote:Thank you very much! Using the changelog, I made a new (localized) OnePiece POSAddon, then a new June-2015 XP iso. We still haven't heard from OnePiece, but I hope you will stay around! (You already "promised" to stay around forever <g>)
THANKS again!
You're welcome. Glad I could help. :)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:18 am

Updated to 20150618:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:42 am

Updated to 20150626:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:07 pm

Updated to 20150702:

skrell
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:12 pm

Post by skrell » Sun Jul 05, 2015 10:07 pm

I would REALLY like to use your addon with OnePiece's update pack as I'm having some VERY weird errors with my XP builds (yes i've tried both with and without your addon) mostly related to gdiplus and/or programs using dotnet framework 2.
Rather than install QFE's update addon + wmp addon + ie8 addon + dotnet framework 3.5 + dotnet framework 4 addon i'd like to simply try Oncepiece's which does all of the work for me with regard to all those and i'm hoping lessen my chances of these errors which i cannot seem to get rid of. :(

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:02 pm

I hear you, skrell. I've been thinking about it for a while now. Maybe next month, but .NET updates are still beyond my expertise.

Updated to 20150710:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:14 am

Updated to 20150714. Please read the Changelog for full details.

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:47 am

thanks 5eraph for all your hard work on these POS updates.

btw some redundancy in 0714 as my updatepack already includes latest MRT, Flash and TZupdate

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:30 am

Somehow I missed your release. :o

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:38 pm

5eraph wrote:Somehow I missed your release. :o

that's what happens when you hide in your basement and play all day :)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:46 pm

That's just a bit too accurate, user_hidden. It happens to be the coolest part of the house. LOL

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 16, 2015 6:13 pm

Updated to 20150716. Please read the Changelog for full details.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Jul 16, 2015 9:45 pm

TY!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Jul 20, 2015 7:46 pm

You're welcome.

Updated to 20150720:

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:01 pm

7/23/2015 - Update for Windows Embedded POSReady 2009 (KB3055973) ;)
http://www.microsoft.com/download/details.aspx?id=48214
Adds support for TLS 128-bit & 256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) cipher suites

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Jul 24, 2015 7:42 pm

Great find, Outbreaker! How did you find it?

Does anybody know why it took Microsoft seven years to port KB948963 from Win2003 to 32-bit XP? SEVEN YEARS?! Damned near to the day they waited from 2008/07/25 until 2015/07/23.

Updated to 20150724:

User avatar
Outbreaker
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:06 am

Post by Outbreaker » Fri Jul 24, 2015 8:01 pm

I got it from 'ricktendo64' and he got it from the Microsoft RSS Feed. :)
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... tiyupdates
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... ntent.aspx
I think a company complained about this limitation and that's why they finally put out a Hotfix for WinNT5.1. :rolleyes:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Jul 24, 2015 8:15 pm

Thanks, Outbreaker. Those are my thoughts as well, especially since TLS is now the only decent encryption supported in XP. :)

User avatar
Atari800xl
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 5:46 pm
Location: NL

Post by Atari800xl » Sat Jul 25, 2015 5:09 am

This one's not language-specific, is it? (Sorry, still learning)

-EDIT-
Guess not, got a bit confused bt the "ENU", and was looking for a dropdown box to change the language :-)

After including it in my list of updates and running DXUPAC (selecting my own language, not ENU), the files were still added, so I guess that's the proof of it being "general", not language specific.

Sorry to bother you...

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:29 am

Updated to 20150811. Please read the Changelog for full details.

User avatar
molecule
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:05 pm

Post by molecule » Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:25 pm

@seraph -- have you ever tried integrating one of your post_EOS cumulative Addon packages with OnePiece's AIOv106 Update pack, on XP pro SP3?

i.e. 1st run RyanVMI = XP pro SP3 x86 + One Piece AIO Update pack. (test for setup install). then 2nd run Ryan VMI = above as source, with one of your QFE post-EOS addon packs?

As far as I can tell, the AIO has (many? most?) of the elements of the QFE -- except I think I remember reading that OncPiece switched from QFE branch to GDR branch regarding WMP (or regarding everything?) (changelog quote "4.0.1-100815: switched .Net updates from QFE to GDR branch to improve WU/MU compatibility") Would the internal use of a different branch affect the compatibiltiy of a new QFE Addon pack to a prior integrated GDR Update pack? If it might work, I might try it just for fun.

Thanks for your help in maintaining the POS Ready lists!!
all the platonic solids are created by sexigesimal modulation of rotational action ... the tetrahedron for example is modulo 3

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:12 pm

You're welcome.

I haven't tried this addon with OnePiece's update pack yet. Now that I've finished (mostly) with XP x64, I'll have a bit more time to look into it properly.

You are correct in that the issue with branches was primarily between .NET and the Microsoft Update website; MU seemingly could not update .NET. Updates would install but not be detected afterward, I believe. If I create a separate addon for OP's pack it may be missing the .NET updates. We'll see.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:03 pm

Updated to 20150823. Please read the Changelog for full details.

spawn
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 3:31 am

Post by spawn » Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:46 am

thanks for keeping my xp updated
:)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:01 am

You're welcome, spawn. :)

Updated to 20150908. Please read the Changelog for full details.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:50 pm

Updated to 20151013. Please read the Changelog for full details.

It has been reported that all recent versions of Adobe Flash Player are vulnerable to a zero-day exploit. Therefore, this release completely removes Adobe Flash Player from your source. Another release of this addon is planned for when Adobe corrects the known flaws in its software--probably within the next few days.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:10 pm

Why not just permanently leave flash out, let people install what they need, Thanks for the update

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:04 pm

You're welcome. :)

Been thinking about it, GH0st. Removed it entirely from the XPx64 pack back in July to finalize that pack.

Flash Player has two things going for it: It's baked into Windows XP, so it will always be there unless somebody excises it. Microsoft even updated Flash Player 6 for a while and released those updates through their Automatic Update mechanism. Second, the update pack that this addon augments is not under my control. user_hidden maintains it. If he wants to remove Flash Player from his update pack then that's his choice. And I'll respect his decision by not including it in this addon.

But I won't override his decision to keep it in his pack by permanently removing it with my addon. It's beyond this addon's scope; which is to add updates released after XP's end-of-service date. The temporary removal is intended as a workaround, nothing more.

When user_hidden updates his pack with a fixed version of Flash Player then I may create another addon to remove Flash Player. That functionality won't be kept in the POSReady addon.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Oct 15, 2015 5:43 am

Sounds good!

I personally would prefer to not have it at all. The version that gets installed with these packs (in the past) was not the version needed for SRWare Iron (Chrome alternative), so I would have to uninstall it, then install another version after.

Either way, I have enjoyed both your update packs for years and years now, Thanks to you both!!

long-lurker
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:17 am

Post by long-lurker » Thu Oct 15, 2015 6:17 am

i agree...
i don't like Flash or the "Malicious Software Removal Tool" being included...
it only "forces" an update pack renewal EVERY MONTH even if there are no "real" updates for the month...

edit: ps, i do manual installs of BOTH Flash versions (IE and Firefox/Chrome), i prefer doing them MANUALLY as opposed to them being 'included' in Windows...


edit2: ie, the "security" of my MICROSOFT Windows installation should only pertain to MICROSOFT software updates... we don't "embed" Firefox or Chrome into our MICROSOFT Windows intallation, i don't see why we "embed" Adobe software...

but either way, i do highly appreciate the efforts of those that provide update packs, long live RyanVM...
Last edited by long-lurker on Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

freddy78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:15 pm

Post by freddy78 » Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:02 am

Hello where can i find all the embedded updates for windows xp sp3 Greek from May until October to download them and install them manual? thanks

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:34 am

Try the Microsoft Update Catalog, freddy78. The site requires ActiveX, so Internet Explorer is recommended.

freddy78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:15 pm

Post by freddy78 » Fri Oct 16, 2015 3:30 am

5eraph wrote:Try the Microsoft Update Catalog, freddy78. The site requires ActiveX, so Internet Explorer is recommended.
its no use the last update there is from march 2014

User avatar
mf3imp
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:15 pm

Post by mf3imp » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:24 am

Search for "xp embedded" and sort the results by date

freddy78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:15 pm

Post by freddy78 » Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:48 am

mf3imp wrote:Search for "xp embedded" and sort the results by date
i did it i found the newest updates but i cannot download it at all i tried from two different computers but when i choose the ones i want go to the basket and press download i choose the location to be saved and then an error comes up and no download

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:20 am

Keep trying. That site is under heavy load and often fails when Patch Tuesday rolls around.

User avatar
mf3imp
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:15 pm

Post by mf3imp » Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:31 am

Flash Player 19.0.0.226 is out

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:55 pm

I'll give user_hidden time to update his pack before including the latest Flash Player version in the POSReady Addon. Either way, new 32-bit Flash Player removal addons are ready to go.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Sat Oct 17, 2015 12:19 am

freddy78 wrote:
5eraph wrote:Try the Microsoft Update Catalog, freddy78. The site requires ActiveX, so Internet Explorer is recommended
its no use the last update there is from march 2014
You need to modify your registry so you can download the "POS" updates, which are from May 2014 thru this month, all thru MS Updates!
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\WPA\PosReady]
"Installed"=dword:00000001
You can also google "XP Updates Trick Sebijk" and get a registry file to do it for you! This will give you the newest updates.

freddy78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:15 pm

Post by freddy78 » Sat Oct 17, 2015 10:55 am

GH0st wrote:
freddy78 wrote:
5eraph wrote:Try the Microsoft Update Catalog, freddy78. The site requires ActiveX, so Internet Explorer is recommended
its no use the last update there is from march 2014
You need to modify your registry so you can download the "POS" updates, which are from May 2014 thru this month, all thru MS Updates!
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\WPA\PosReady]
"Installed"=dword:00000001
You can also google "XP Updates Trick Sebijk" and get a registry file to do it for you! This will give you the newest updates.
Hello i managed to fix it thanks
i applied some old windows updates that i missed over the years and now when i click on the start menu in the turn off computer option it appears with the classic windows theme and not with my black theme (only the turn off menu that has the options to restart-turn off-stand by) do you happen to know what update-updates causes this so i uninstall it?
thanks

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:58 pm

Nope, no idea, prolly not an update that did it, but your THEME!

freddy78
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:15 pm

Post by freddy78 » Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:51 am

GH0st wrote:Nope, no idea, prolly not an update that did it, but your THEME!
found it it was an update i delete it and all back to normal.

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Sun Oct 18, 2015 10:46 pm

freddy78 wrote:
GH0st wrote:Nope, no idea, prolly not an update that did it, but your THEME!
found it it was an update i delete it and all back to normal.
For future reference, which update caused the problem?

Cheers and Regards

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:20 am

Updated to 20151110. Please read the Changelog for full details.

As suggested by several users, a Flash Player removal addon has been released in the first post of this thread. Removal addons of this type require a second pass with RVMi after all other addons have been integrated. If using nLite, it is sufficient in a single pass when the removal addon is placed last, after all other addons.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Wed Nov 11, 2015 11:54 am

Thanks Bro!

Dibya
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:39 am

THANK YOU !!!!!5eraph

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:55 am

You're welcome, guys.

Updated to 20151124:
Last edited by 5eraph on Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 pm

Updated to 20151202:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:31 am

Updated to 20151209. Please read the Changelog for full details.

Post Reply