XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack for Windows XP Post-SP3 20180109

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:13 am

Thx

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Wed Aug 19, 2015 6:44 am


User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Aug 19, 2015 11:22 pm

In addition, could you be persuaded to add KB969632 to this month's update, user_hidden?

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:01 pm

@adric & @5eraph

grabbed them both along with latest flash (but that will update i'm sure before patch Tuesday)

spawn
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 3:31 am

Post by spawn » Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:50 am

thanks for your support of xp :)

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Sep 03, 2015 6:28 pm

spawn wrote:thanks for your support of xp :)
thank you

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Sep 08, 2015 8:36 pm

change log:
20150908
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool v5.28
updated Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.232 ActiveX Control
added KB969632
added KB3077715 replaced KB3062741

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:45 am

Thanks, user_hidden. :)

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:47 am

and many thanks to you 5eraph for the POS Ready addon

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Mon Sep 14, 2015 3:32 am

Thx

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:43 am

I've noticed a few times installing XP that POSReady does not get enabled. Even though I am using the EnablePOSReadyMU_Addon, the necessary reg entry does not get created. Sometimes it's created and sometimes not. On my last install the reg entry was missing. I checked the qfeUpPck.in_ and it contains the following, but it doesn't look like it's always being applied:

Code: Select all

[POS.AddReg]
; will allow MU to offer POSReady2009/Embedded updates
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\WindowsEmbedded\ProductVersion","FeaturePackVersion",0x00000000,"SP3"
HKLM,"SYSTEM\WPA\PosReady","Installed",0x10001,01,00,00,00
; will allow installation of Microsoft Security Essentials on POSReady 2009
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Microsoft Security Client",,0x10 
Anyone have any ideas why enabling sometimes fails?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:35 pm

What version of "EnablePOSReadyMU_Addon" do you have, adric?

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:35 pm

5eraph wrote:What version of "EnablePOSReadyMU_Addon" do you have, adric?
XPSP3_QFE_EnablePOSReadyMU_Addon_20141111.7z
I'm just wondering why the [POS.AddReg] section in the qfeUpPck.inf isn't always applied during install.
Last edited by adric on Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Stormit
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:21 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Update Packs

Post by Stormit » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:19 pm

Many thanks to you user_hindden for your pack and 5eraph for the POS Ready addon. :D

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:17 pm

adric wrote:
5eraph wrote:What version of "EnablePOSReadyMU_Addon" do you have, adric?
XPSP3_QFE_EnablePOSReadyMU_Addon_20141111.7z
I'm just wondering why the [POS.AddReg] section in the qfeUpPck.inf isn't always applied during install.

replace:

Code: Select all

qfeUpPck.inf|,SA3009008|,SA3009008,POS.AddReg|1
with:

Code: Select all

qfeUpPck.inf|,MU.Addreg|,MU.Addreg,POS.AddReg|1

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Thu Sep 17, 2015 10:19 am

Do you mean the entries_POSReady.ini in your Addon?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Sep 17, 2015 7:28 pm

Yes, adric, that's what he means: replace the original line in the INII file with the new line given.

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Thanks, guys. Did I miss an update to that addon? I don't remember seeing one. Looks like the SA3009008 entry was removed starting with XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack_20150210.7z. It was still there for January.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:06 am

You did not miss an update, adric. The original addon still works.

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:53 am

Well, actually I did miss something :shock:, because the addon you refer to is different than the one u_h posted which is what I was using. Anyway, it's all sorted now and thanks.

Adrian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:02 am

Post by Adrian » Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:13 am

this addon won't work with nlite i tried integrating just this addon and it throws this error http://postimg.org/image/vtkupqj47/ , this did not happen with earlier versions of this addon

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:31 am

Adrian wrote:this addon won't work with nlite i tried integrating just this addon and it throws this error http://postimg.org/image/vtkupqj47/ , this did not happen with earlier versions of this addon
must be one of YOUR addons creating the error.
the update pack is not generating the msg

Adrian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:02 am

Post by Adrian » Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:38 am

was nlite i just had to replace a file in it

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:30 am

sorry for delay just had some health issues in the family.
will post update in next 24 hours

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:39 am

No rush, user_hidden. Flash will need updating again within a week. There should be a time zone update at around the same time.

Take whatever time you need. :)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:17 pm

Flash Player has been updated and released early.

Still no rush. I'm no stranger to family issues.

User avatar
Bhishmar
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Post by Bhishmar » Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:36 am

I am getting file-copy error/s during the txt-mode-setup phase, when using 5eraph's "Remove Nasty Net Locater protocol addon:
"5er_KB922120-v6_user_hidden_Removal_Addon_v20120814.7z".
The errors are
file missing reports for rspndr.adm, exe, inf, & sys files.
My limited investigation shows that TXTSETUP.SIF still has entries for the above 4 files, even though
the "entries_KB922120_Removal.ini" file inside the above addon has following section.
[obsolete_files] ;RVMi and nLite code
rspndr.adm
rspndr.exe
rspndr.inf
rspndr.sys
This section is supposed to remove these files from TXTSETUP.SIF, is it not?
Can some one throw light on what is the problem I am having?
Is it due to the incorrect order (sequence) of the addons?

My order of addons as below:-
UpdatePack=C:\C_SAVE\SAVE\RyanVM\XPSP3_QFE_UpdatePack_20150908.7z

[AddonPacks]
RVMAddons_2.0.1_UH.7z
Ricks-YumeYao_MicrosoftVC7891012RuntimeLibraries_MixedAddon_2_2_3.7z
CmdOpenInstallSilent-2.1.0.exe
Addon_DirectX32_9.0c_Runtimes_201006.7z
Addon_Java_Runtime_7_update_72.7z
np2-mod_4225_954_addon.7z
5er_KB893056_Hibernate_SP3_Addon.7z
5er_KB922120-v6_user_hidden_Removal_Addon_v20120814.7z
5er_Win7CMDToolsForNT5x_Addon_v2012-01_3_x86.7z
XPSP3_QFE_POSReady_Addon_20150908_5er.7z
Ricks-YumeYao_WMP11_Addon_ENU_V3_4_7.7z
YumeYao_IE8_Addon_Nosetuperr_ENU_1.5.12.7z
RogueSpearAddonsM2-XPSP3-NoKtD_8.09.7z
MassStorageAddons_IaStor_8.9.0.1023.7z
Can somebody also suggest a better order?
rgds bhishmar

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:54 am

BLUF: Integrate the update pack and all of your other addons first. Then, when that has been completed, integrate your removal addon. Running the removal addon a second time will not remove the entries that cause the copy errors, as described in 2.a. below.

Sadly, Bhishmar, it has nothing to do with your order. It has to do with how RVMi seems to work: (v1.6 and 1.6.1beta2.1)
  1. Files in update pack, then addons, are compressed and added to the source. Addon files will always overwrite update pack files with the same name.
  2. Files are removed per [Obsolete_Files] directive:
    1. If entries for those files exist in DOSNet.inf and TxtSetup.sif then those entries are removed with the files. But if the files don't exist in the source then no entries are removed from DOSNet.inf or TxtSetup.sif.
  3. Entries are added to DOSNet.inf and TxtSetup.sif per [Dosnet_Files] and [Txtsetup_Files] directives.
As you can see, steps 2 and 3 should be reversed but they are not. The only way removal addons will work properly is when they are integrated after the session that adds the update pack or addon files.

As a workaround for your existing modified source you can add 0 byte text files with the following names to I386, then run the removal addon again on the source. It should then work.
  • rspndr.ad_, rspndr.ex_, rspndr.in_ and rspndr.sy_
Alternatively as a workaround, you can manually edit DOSNet.inf and TxtSetup.sif to remove the following lines:

DOSNet.inf

Code: Select all

d1,rspndr.adm
d1,rspndr.exe
d1,rspndr.inf
d1,rspndr.sys
TxtSetup.sif

Code: Select all

rspndr.adm= 100,,,,,,,20,0,0
rspndr.exe= 100,,,,,,,2,0,0
rspndr.inf= 100,,,,,,,20,0,0
rspndr.sys= 100,,,,,,,4,0,0

User avatar
Bhishmar
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Post by Bhishmar » Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:01 am

"5eraph",
Many thanks for your detailed explanation & reasoning, and especially taking time for a quick response.

I was other wise engaged, so could not see ur reply earlier.

I prefer your last suggested method (alternate workaround), of editing & removing the respective file entries from TXTSETUP.sif & DOSNET.sif, before running the final ISO creation, for convenience, & lesser number of intervening steps.

Only I have a question : After editing these two files (TXTSETUP.sif & DOSNET.sif), any file digital-signature setting tool has to be run on them, before the ISO creation ? I have a faint memory this was required in earlier days, May be I am wrong!

Also a final suggestion, for the purpose of clarity & full correctness in your excellent post for others benefit.
I think your 2nd line in the post should be changed: (i.e. if I understood it correctly.)

from:
Running the removal addon a second time will not remove the entries that cause the copy errors, as described in 2.a. below.
to:
Running the removal addon first time (along with other addons) will not remove the entries that cause the copy errors, as described in 2.a. below.
i.e either "not" should be deleted from first line, OR use the changed line.

Thanks & rgds Bhishmar

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:36 am

sorry guys/gals have had some health issues in the family.
i'll post an update this evening.

latest flash and TZupdate already in beta pack

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:36 am

thanks ,awesome update pack ,my favourit

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:14 pm

change log:
20151110
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool v5.30
updated Adobe Flash Player 19.0.0.245 ActiveX Control
added KB3093503v3 replaced KB3077715

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:35 pm

TY

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Mon Nov 16, 2015 5:41 am

thanks

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:32 am

Thank you USER_HIDDEN

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:20 pm

change log:
20151208
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool v5.31
updated Adobe Flash Player 20.0.0.235 ActiveX Control
added KB3093503v3 replaced KB3077715
added SA3119884 replaced KB3050995

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:27 pm

Sent you a PM. :)

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:52 pm

I'll update the TZ and SA3123040 in the morning

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Dec 08, 2015 7:38 pm

change log:
20151208
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool v5.31
updated Adobe Flash Player 20.0.0.235 ActiveX Control
added KB3112148 replaced KB3093503v3
added SA3123040 replaced SA3119884 & KB3050995

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:38 pm

What's the difference between SA and KB numbers?

I know one is a Security Advisory, but doesn't that also provide you with an update like a KB?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:05 pm

Microsoft seems to have stopped writing Knowledge Base articles for certificate updates and other updates that don't involve files end-users can choose to download from the Microsoft Update or Microsoft Download sites. Some examples:
  • SA3009008 (KB3009008) - Instructions on disabling SSL 3.0. The Knowledge Base article didn't exist until the Fixit solution was available, but the Security Advisory was up 15 days before then.

    SA3119884 (KB3119884) - November 30th certificate revocations. Still no Knowledge Base article.

    SA3123040 (KB3123040) - December 8th certificate revocation. No KB article here either.
Certificate updates are automatically downloaded by Windows Vista and above entirely without user intervention. Since Windows XP is officially without support, RootsUpd.exe and RvkRoots.exe won't be updated by Microsoft again; therefore, KB articles with download locations are unnecessary for Microsoft.

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:11 am

Thanks

I take it the "9" leading the title was a slip of the finger ??

adric
Posts: 581
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Post by adric » Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:11 am

Thanks for the info 5eraph. Also a big thanks to u_h for the pack.

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:13 am

THank you 5eraph and U_H

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:00 pm

change log:
20160112
updated Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool v5.32
updated Adobe Flash Player 20.0.0.270 ActiveX Control

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Thu Jan 14, 2016 9:52 am

Dang man, still goin strong. Keepin dat XP dream alive!! lol

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Thu Jan 14, 2016 5:37 pm

dumpydooby wrote:Dang man, still goin strong. Keepin dat XP dream alive!! lol
Yaman :)

Glad to see YOU are still going as well

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:47 am

Thx

User avatar
Stormit
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:21 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Post by Stormit » Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:29 pm

Hi I would just like to Thank everyone for all of there hard work and time. Thanks Again :D

User avatar
user_hidden
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Canada eh!

Post by user_hidden » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:13 pm

update will be posted this evening

Post Reply