Welcome to Windows XP Service Pack 4

Forum to discuss Update Packs created by community members for the various Windows operating systems.
Post Reply
User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:38 am

harkaz wrote:@fear jigsaw Try with and without the driverpack and tell me what happens.
Update: An ISO created with SP4, the new patch + drivers now gives a different problem whereby the install hangs at the "windows is starting" screen just before the "F8 EULA" screen ... no matter how long I leave it, it doesn't go further. - made 3x different ISO's but no-go :(

I will do another ISO without the drivers soon :wink:

cuzinbob02
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:57 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Post by cuzinbob02 » Wed Feb 17, 2016 7:11 am

Have you ran mem check fear jigsaw? You might have a bad memory module(stick). :rolleyes:

User avatar
Stormit
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:21 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Hi harkaz

Post by Stormit » Wed Feb 17, 2016 12:55 pm

Hi harkaz and All. That KernelEx Project sounds very interesting looking forward to it. Thanks Again harkas for everything. :)

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Thu Feb 18, 2016 7:36 am

cuzinbob02 wrote:Have you ran mem check fear jigsaw? You might have a bad memory module(stick). :rolleyes:
Will definitely not be memory as Im testing on 3x independent hardware chassis ;) ....

ALL 3 these chassis works 100% perfectly fine when I omit the ram patch ... only reason I would like to get said patch working is because the one chassis has 8GB RAM which I would like to run on XP once I can get it working, otherwise I have to go back to Win7 x64 ;)

cuzinbob02
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:57 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Post by cuzinbob02 » Thu Feb 18, 2016 9:17 am

=[FEAR]=JIGSAW wrote:
cuzinbob02 wrote:Have you ran mem check fear jigsaw? You might have a bad memory module(stick). :rolleyes:
Will definitely not be memory as Im testing on 3x independent hardware chassis ;) ....

ALL 3 these chassis works 100% perfectly fine when I omit the ram patch ... only reason I would like to get said patch working is because the one chassis has 8GB RAM which I would like to run on XP once I can get it working, otherwise I have to go back to Win7 x64 ;)
I know nothing of what you said you have. You have computers that don't have any RAM modules(sticks) in them? One however has 8 gigs of memory?

Anthony21
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:23 am

Post by Anthony21 » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:25 am

He means the one pc that has 8gb of ram he would likes to use as Windows xp on

cuzinbob02
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:57 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Post by cuzinbob02 » Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:07 pm

I see now 3x independent chassis means 3 different pc's. All of which works perfectly fine, but the one with 8gig ram is not cooperating with the ram patch applied. Man I am slow. lol :lol:

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:19 pm

cuzinbob02 wrote:I see now 3x independent chassis means 3 different pc's. All of which works perfectly fine, but the one with 8gig ram is not cooperating with the ram patch applied. Man I am slow. lol :lol:
:D

You got it!

User avatar
tipoole
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:43 pm
Location: bucharest,romania,3rd world

Post by tipoole » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:28 am

same situation here 8 gb ram,hangs at windows is starting,alternative patch applied ,but unlike fear jigsaw no driverpacks.so its got to be the patch

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Fri Feb 19, 2016 4:21 am

OK, so fear jigsaw there is only option #2 with the original patch: Try to force Server 2k3 installation for your driver.

cuzinbob02
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:57 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Post by cuzinbob02 » Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:26 am

Fear zigsaw; I went back and thought about what you wrote on your post on 04-02-16 explaining in detail the different ways you made your XPSP4 ISO setups, and whether you included chipset driverpacks in the build with the ram patch or left the driverpack out of the ISO, and then installed your chipset drivers after the system booted to the desktop it would break the ram patch. I believe that's why harkaz is suggesting option #2. If that doesn't fix your problem, I'm sorry I don't have any other solution for you.

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:08 am

@EveryBody
Without Chipset driver pc should work properly

User avatar
tipoole
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:43 pm
Location: bucharest,romania,3rd world

Post by tipoole » Sat Feb 20, 2016 12:46 am

Dibya wrote: Without Chipset driver pc should work properly
you mean ram patch should work properly.how is a pc going to work properly without the chipset drivers?duh

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:30 am

intel chipset is nothing a inf file full of hwid inf no .sys driver files.
see THIS:: https://2.bp.blogspot.com/-c5h7t-rb4_w/ ... 0/SCER.JPG

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sun Feb 21, 2016 4:31 am

The MSE Windows Defender in Windows 10 detects a simple resource edit (updated version number) in i386\root\ic\setup.exe as Trojan!

So many false positives from Redmond...

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:47 am

I will create a newer, more compact video about SP4 slipstreaming and will upload it on Youtube.
This will answer many questions, including how to slipstream/create ISO or split into 2 CD-ROMs.

cuzinbob02
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:57 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Post by cuzinbob02 » Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:41 am

I would love the mass storage/Raid drivers included in SP for XP. Then I wouldn't have to even use the driverpacks or any other method or integrating the proper drivers to even get XP setup to run. I don't have a problem but, if it were possible to make things simpler. Microsoft included them in later OSx86 setup DVD's, and if I knew how to back port them into XPSP I would.

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:09 am

That would be rather difficult even for kernel-mode experts.

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:10 am

@harkaz
If you want , Can you please patch new kerenal to unlock ram which are updated by posready updates.Now version is 7001

Mirza
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Malaysia

Post by Mirza » Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:18 am

If it possible...could you recheck the latest service pack? (v3.1a)? I found that some games unplayabel after update.

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:16 am

@Mirza Did this happen with previous service pack versions as well?

Most problems in the SP4 have come from the xpfixit.inf (SP4 security enhancements).

I will not release a new version for the moment myself, but if a team of other users helps identify the issue you encounter, I may consider a 3.1b release. I don't support the project actively anymore, i.e. won't be resolving such specialized issues alone.

@Dibya I see you've already published the new patches. It's good for you to practice on the stuff, especially if you want to extend Windows functionality by 2019 :)

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:11 am

Mirza wrote:If it possible...could you recheck the latest service pack? (v3.1a)? I found that some games unplayabel after update.
After update? Does this mean, you had a operating system already installed, then ran the uSP4_3.1a over top of it (dirty install)? If so what version was present prior?

If you already had a previouse uSP4 installed, and updated through WU (Windows Update) then there would be no need to install 3.1a over top. This could be the cause of problems.

uSP4 is best deployed by Slipstreaming/Integrating into a new ISO, then doing a fresh install. It is really rather impressive this way!

User avatar
mockingbird
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:28 pm

Post by mockingbird » Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:15 pm

I haven't gotten an answer regarding Harkaz' comment about it being designed to be split amongst two CDs.

Can someone please enlightenment me further regarding this?

Thanks

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:16 pm

The CMPNENTS directory and the WIN51CD2 file should be in the second ISO.

I intend to prepare a video about it (again) as the 2014 ones are too long.

User avatar
mockingbird
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:28 pm

Post by mockingbird » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:49 pm

Thanks...

How would I do that with command-line slipstream with an SP0 image?

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:32 pm

mockingbird wrote:How would I do that with command-line slipstream with an SP0 image?
I have no idea, but Im sure someone will share this,

But ....

Do you have a USB/Thumb Drive? Just use the RUFUS tool to install your ISO on the thumb drive

User avatar
mockingbird
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:28 pm

Post by mockingbird » Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:25 pm

Yes, but I prefer to use physical media to install it, it is more convenient for me.

cuzinbob02
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:57 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Post by cuzinbob02 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:22 am

C:\XPSP3.EXE /integrate:C:\XPSETUP Change 3>4
mockingbird wrote:Thanks...

How would I do that with command-line slipstream with an SP0 image?

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:27 am

That command line will work for SP4??? And that will do what, exactly?

Cheers and Regards

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:16 am

harkaz wrote:OK, so fear jigsaw there is only option #2 with the original patch: Try to force Server 2k3 installation for your driver.
Im not 100% sure how to do this ... the manufacturer's site list the same driver for both ... how do I omit the XP stuff so during install only 2k3 gets used ?? :?

Mirza
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Malaysia

Post by Mirza » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:39 am

For better and best method..how should I install it?

1.Install original WinXp and run 3.1a installer?

2.Instal WinXp then install SP3 then 3.1a?

3.Slipstreaming.

I dont use Windows Update since my pc is not connected with web.

Mirza
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Malaysia

Post by Mirza » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:42 am

And also...how to slipstream? What files are needed from the Cloud? Can I use my USB?

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:39 am

=[FEAR]=JIGSAW wrote:
harkaz wrote:OK, so fear jigsaw there is only option #2 with the original patch: Try to force Server 2k3 installation for your driver.
Im not 100% sure how to do this ... the manufacturer's site list the same driver for both ... how do I omit the XP stuff so during install only 2k3 gets used ?? :?
Oh my friend in matter of driver XP ANd 2k3 are almost same.
PLease sent me your chipset driver see what black magic I can do.

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:22 am

Dibya wrote: Oh my friend in matter of driver XP ANd 2k3 are almost same.
PLease sent me your chipset driver see what black magic I can do.
This is the direct download link from their site:

Code: Select all

http://download.gigabyte.ru/driver/motherboard_driver_chipset_intel.exe
this is the board:

Code: Select all

http://www.gigabyte.co.za/products/product-page.aspx?pid=2295

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:26 pm

First, integrate the main EXE file (WindowsXP-USP4-v3.1a-x86-ENU.exe) using the /integrate switch (or nLite) to a folder (e.g C:\XPPRO) containing the original CD-ROM directory structure.

Then MOVE the CMPNENTS dir, WIN51CD2 file to a different folder. Burn these 2 items to a not bootable CD-ROM using your favorite software. Label the disk as "Windows XP SP4 CD2".

Use nLite to burn the remnants of the working directory to a bootable 650 MB CD-ROM. This is the first disk.

You will prompted to insert Windows XP SP4 CD2 during Component installation at GUI-mode setup.

harkaz
Posts: 693
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:23 am
Location: GR
Contact:

Post by harkaz » Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:36 pm

Best installation method depends on your installation media.
Some newer PCs don't have full installation CD-ROMs, just recovery disks.
In addition, XP Mode VMs don't provide installation media.

In such cases, it is best to install SP4 from its EXE installer immediately after a recovery/XP Mode first setup.
In all other cases, best option is to slipstream to an untouched, complete (not Upgrade-only) installation disk.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:57 pm

Mirza wrote:For better and best method..how should I install it?

1.Install original WinXp and run 3.1a installer?

2.Instal WinXp then install SP3 then 3.1a?

3.Slipstreaming.

I dont use Windows Update since my pc is not connected with web.
Option #3 ... is the best. Looks intimidating to do, but its not that hard at all. Use the Slipstream/Integration options in RVMi tool. Then make an ISO, burn ISO to USB Thumb Drive with RUFUS. There are GUIDES to show you how this is done.

PROBLEMCHYLD
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois USA
Contact:

Post by PROBLEMCHYLD » Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:40 pm

I always install SP4 right after a clean install and everything works great.

Dibya
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Post by Dibya » Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:46 pm

@=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
You have to install this through devicemanager okay.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/ftf7f ... forfear.7z

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Feb 25, 2016 3:00 am

PROBLEMCHYLD wrote:I always install SP4 right after a clean install and everything works great.
This is one way of doing it, but you will not get full benefit from it. Best to make an new ISO, with the uSP4 slipstreamed into it. With nLite and RUFUS, its too easy and offers best way to implement the SP

Mirza
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Malaysia

Post by Mirza » Thu Feb 25, 2016 4:59 am

Can someone give a complete integrated iso? Afraid to do it...scary

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:23 am

Mirza wrote:Can someone give a complete integrated iso? Afraid to do it...scary
I might consider doing this, not sure if its breaking any rules. I only have XP Pro (sp0), slip it to uSP4. So you will have to have a license during install, which I will not provide!

Edit #1: To add, that I wont provide the key needed during install

Edit #2: Been advised that sharing in this way is against forum policy. So I will not be sharing such, or linking to them.

@Mirza: There are a lot of sights with GUIDES, that show you how to do this, step by step. Not as hard as it sounds. The easiest is the Ryan Integration tool, just chose the slipstream/integration option, then make the ISO, either burn ISO to Thumb drive or DVD+-R/RW.
Last edited by GH0st on Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
bphlpt
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:11 am

Post by bphlpt » Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:53 am

AFAIK, an integrated ISO would be stepping over the line for what you are allowed to do and post links to such on RyanVM. Providing links to modified MS files, such the SP4, are as far as you can go here.

Cheers and Regards
Last edited by bphlpt on Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:53 am

GH0st wrote:I might consider doing this, not sure if its breaking any rules. I only have XP Pro (sp0), slip it to uSP4. So you will have to have a license during install
That would be breaking the rules on this site yes :rolleyes:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:54 am

Don't share XP ISOs on this forum. We can't advocate such activity.

LOL, ninja'd twice. :)
Last edited by 5eraph on Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Post by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW » Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:55 am

Dibya wrote:@=[FEAR]=JIGSAW
You have to install this through devicemanager okay.
So, which section do I update under DeviceManager with these files?

EDIT: Is there no way to keep the chipset install "intact" but strip it of ALL usb references ...
That way it installs all the neccessary root ports & bus controllers, but leaves the usb stuff on default ???

EDIT2: This machine is a monster on steroids running on XPuSP4 & 8GB of ram without the chipset drivers ... it's a pitty I have this chipset/usb problem that messes up the whole install :(
Last edited by =[FEAR]=JIGSAW on Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:23 am

5eraph wrote:Don't share XP ISOs on this forum. We can't advocate such activity.

LOL, ninja'd twice. :)
Gotcha!!!!

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:44 am

=[FEAR]=JIGSAW wrote:EDIT2: This machine is a monster on steroids running on XPuSP4 & 8GB of ram without the chipset drivers ... it's a pitty I have this chipset/usb problem that messes up the whole install :(
I have not been able to follow your problem, but why cant you just download the "Intel Inf 9.4.4.1006" and force an install/OverWrite using the overall FLAG ( -OVERALL)?

You could also use 7zip to decompress the Intel Inf file, inside of the driver folder is another folder called "ALL", in this is ALL the inf files, you can put this ALL file in nLite as a PnP driver folder, forcing the next install to look in that folder for drivers prior to the Drivers.cab. This is what I do, giving me the latest WHQL'ed cert drivers installed during OS install.

PROBLEMCHYLD
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:35 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois USA
Contact:

Post by PROBLEMCHYLD » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:32 am

GH0st wrote:
PROBLEMCHYLD wrote:I always install SP4 right after a clean install and everything works great.
This is one way of doing it, but you will not get full benefit from it. Best to make an new ISO, with the uSP4 slipstreamed into it. With nLite and RUFUS, its too easy and offers best way to implement the SP
What do you mean by full benefit?

User avatar
GH0st
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:31 am
Location: Virginia, USA

Post by GH0st » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:51 am

PROBLEMCHYLD wrote:
GH0st wrote:
PROBLEMCHYLD wrote:I always install SP4 right after a clean install and everything works great.
This is one way of doing it, but you will not get full benefit from it. Best to make an new ISO, with the uSP4 slipstreamed into it. With nLite and RUFUS, its too easy and offers best way to implement the SP
What do you mean by full benefit?
Somewhere in this thread, Harkaz spoke of the differences, let me let him speak on that for best detail. But their is a difference!
Last edited by GH0st on Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply