[Release] Vista Icon Pack Ultimate - System Patch

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

[Release] Vista Icon Pack Ultimate - System Patch

Post by rytukz » Mon May 01, 2006 5:25 pm

Based on Vista Icons Pack v2.1 Ultimate
Icon Pack Author: Kudesnick
Script Author: Aero (from www.aeroxp.net)

[2006-05-30]
Now you can:
*Patch icon to VISTA
*Repair patched icon
*Restore to original icon
*Uninstall

Screenshot:
Image Image Image

Download:
http://addons.ryanvm.net/rytukz/rytukz_ ... on_1.1.cab
Mirror: http://rapidshare.de/files/21711363/ryt ... 1.cab.html
Size: 6486 KB
MD5: 373A9DB2B4BF6300237DD92DCD501F78
Last edited by rytukz on Wed Jul 05, 2006 3:08 pm, edited 11 times in total.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon May 01, 2006 5:58 pm

nice job. thanks for sharing

User avatar
xpmaniac4ever
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:37 am

Post by xpmaniac4ever » Wed May 03, 2006 8:30 am

Nice ! :D Didn`t test it yet though, but .. nice ! :)
An idiot tries 2 maintain order..A genius can control chaos

earl
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:17 pm

Post by earl » Thu May 04, 2006 2:28 am

I just tried it with xp with sp2 only and bts driver pack and it worked, except for the wmp, but that`s my fault you have informed that it work with wmp 10 .

I love you`r work this is total new windows xp, you`v done a great jub,


thanks

User avatar
OtherworldBob
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:51 pm
Location: Pompey

Post by OtherworldBob » Thu May 04, 2006 5:28 am

Looks good - now if only RapidShare would make their site compatible with NTL, all would be good.
Any chance of alternate hosting please?

earl
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:17 pm

Post by earl » Thu May 04, 2006 7:42 am

I have checked the patched files and find tow of them are old, and they are: :shock:


1- netshell.dll newer virsion came with "RVMUpdatePack2.0.5.cab" as part of the KB915428 the virsion is 5.1.2600.2858

2- mstsc.exe newer virsion came with "Kels_Uber_Addon_v7.3.CAB" the virsion is 5.2.3790.1830

I would love to do do this patch thing but i think better leave it to the master. :cry:

User avatar
av8tor_64D
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:57 pm

Post by av8tor_64D » Thu May 04, 2006 7:54 am

I tried it......I found a wierd icon superimposed over my desktop icons. I tried it three times with the same result.

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Thu May 04, 2006 10:27 am

earl wrote:I have checked the patched files and find tow of them are old, and they are: :shock:


1- netshell.dll newer virsion came with "RVMUpdatePack2.0.5.cab" as part of the KB915428 the virsion is 5.1.2600.2858

2- mstsc.exe newer virsion came with "Kels_Uber_Addon_v7.3.CAB" the virsion is 5.2.3790.1830

I would love to do do this patch thing but i think better leave it to the master. :cry:
I replace these files in the weekend.

earl wrote:I just tried it with xp with sp2 only and bts driver pack and it worked, except for the wmp, but that`s my fault you have informed that it work with wmp 10 .

I love you`r work this is total new windows xp, you`v done a great jub,


thanks
ok. thanks for the testing. I make addon for WMP9 and WMP10

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Thu May 04, 2006 10:42 am

av8tor_64D wrote:I tried it......I found a wierd icon superimposed over my desktop icons. I tried it three times with the same result.
I can’t grasp your meaning.

User avatar
av8tor_64D
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:57 pm

Post by av8tor_64D » Thu May 04, 2006 12:47 pm

well........I can see the pograms icon (Firefox for example) under or behind what looks like a open folder icon.

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Thu May 04, 2006 1:21 pm

av8tor_64D wrote:well........I can see the pograms icon (Firefox for example) under or behind what looks like a open folder icon.
interestingly

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Fri May 05, 2006 4:46 pm

Thankt this works great :D

User avatar
DarkNiteS11
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:18 pm
Location: Purgatory

Post by DarkNiteS11 » Fri May 05, 2006 8:57 pm

Works great here. Thank you.
Image

User avatar
Spiritus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:59 am
Location: Planet Earth

Only Error in Shell32.dll

Post by Spiritus » Mon May 08, 2006 4:05 am

Desktop icons get overlaped with folder icon, Acrobat Reader, Firefox etc.. Otherwise great work! ..... Thanks.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon May 08, 2006 11:52 am

I really hate to point this out (great effort here!!!), but y'all do realize that anytime MS releases patches that overwrite these files, all of your efforts will be obsoleted?

At the core, this is MS' fault for inserting icons, etc into DLLs and not using resource forks and/or reference files a'la MacOS, but still............

User avatar
ginger
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 9:03 am

language

Post by ginger » Tue May 09, 2006 9:08 am

It looks quite ok, but did you make effort to include all this in a dutch pack also?

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Re: language

Post by rytukz » Tue May 09, 2006 12:07 pm

ginger wrote:It looks quite ok, but did you make effort to include all this in a dutch pack also?
maybe not. you can make it self - it's easy.

benners
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:29 pm

Post by benners » Tue May 09, 2006 5:36 pm

Thanks rytukz for this addon, loving all the icons except the network icon in the system tray, just not as obvious as the original. Which File\icon do I change to use the old one?.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Tue May 09, 2006 6:23 pm

this is a great pack, as pointed out previously, the icons are stored in dlls, so if they are replaced, good bye to icons? how about a program that could repatch the icons when needed?

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Tue May 09, 2006 6:43 pm

biatche wrote:this is a great pack, as pointed out previously, the icons are stored in dlls, so if they are replaced, good bye to icons? how about a program that could repatch the icons when needed?
One must remember that with an update the icons stored might also change. So a patcher will not do very well if resources change.

That's the problem, one must keep up with the patcher aswell (probably).

Thanks for releasing!
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Wed May 10, 2006 2:06 am

any other alternate solutions? i remember there was this vista transformation pack that had this icon rebuilder or something.

User avatar
owikh84
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Post by owikh84 » Mon May 22, 2006 1:49 am

tested working fine flawless. cool vista alike icons!
Image

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Thu May 25, 2006 11:33 am

Updated:

Renamed - now name is "Vista Icon Pack Ultimate - System Patch"
Added icon patcher :wink:

User avatar
Fede
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 6:52 am

Post by Fede » Thu May 25, 2006 11:54 am

Hello, I am a newbie here.. it is not so clear to me the difference between the first 2 link (approx 6MB vs 12MB).
Could anyone explain to me?

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Thu May 25, 2006 12:15 pm

Fede wrote:Hello, I am a newbie here.. it is not so clear to me the difference between the first 2 link (approx 6MB vs 12MB).
Could anyone explain to me?
First link - it's script for patching files.
After sames windows updates, patched files (with vista icons) can be replaced (with originals files) - you need this. This script splited in:
file patcher
file icon Repairer


Other files
(rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_MAIN_addon_1.1.cab and
rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_WMP10_addon_1.0.cab)
- only patched files, if you want have them after windows install at one.

User avatar
Fede
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 6:52 am

Post by Fede » Thu May 25, 2006 12:31 pm

Ok, thanks a lot, man.. so i download the 12 Mb pack to integrate in my custom Windows iso :)
Thanks again.

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Thu May 25, 2006 12:49 pm

I recomend integrate and rytukz_Vista_Icons_Pack_Ultimate_System_Patch_addon_1.0.cab - it's system files patcher and after replacement files will be useful.

Other addons only as additional.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Thu May 25, 2006 12:56 pm

Thanx rytukz,I always like to change only icons in xp,without change the vista style and now i can!;)

User avatar
owikh84
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Post by owikh84 » Thu May 25, 2006 10:33 pm

it works flawless in nLite 1.0 RC8. btw, is it possible to make it automatically applied during windows setup? (as the previous version but with rebuild icon cache, repair icon patchiing, etc..)
Image

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Fri May 26, 2006 2:26 am

owikh84 wrote:it works flawless in nLite 1.0 RC8. btw, is it possible to make it automatically applied during windows setup? (as the previous version but with rebuild icon cache, repair icon patchiing, etc..)
what for?
Use *removed*
this addon and after install you have that.

Yes, maybe it can add that in RunOnceEx.
Last edited by rytukz on Mon May 29, 2006 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Release] Vista Icon Pack Ultimate - System Patch

Post by rytukz » Fri May 26, 2006 2:35 am

Only in RunOnceEx :rolleyes:

User avatar
owikh84
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Post by owikh84 » Fri May 26, 2006 12:05 pm

if i used this without the patcher (repatcher) can i repair or uninstall the patched icons?
Image

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Fri May 26, 2006 12:13 pm

owikh84 wrote:
if i used this without the patcher (repatcher) can i repair or uninstall the patched icons?
no

User avatar
owikh84
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:13 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Post by owikh84 » Fri May 26, 2006 12:29 pm

rytukz wrote:
owikh84 wrote:
if i used this without the patcher (repatcher) can i repair or uninstall the patched icons?
no
ok. thanks. that means i need 6.3MB + 12.7MB = 19.0MB
Image

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Fri May 26, 2006 12:45 pm

yes

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Mon May 29, 2006 3:10 pm

updated

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Mon May 29, 2006 4:18 pm

Thx for update :lol: Does is this addon now automatically applied during windows setup ?

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Mon May 29, 2006 5:13 pm

No, it's not automatically. But now you can return to original icons after patch. This patch based only on ResHacker!
For automatically, I now only one way - replace original files in your install cd with patched files. But, after that you can restore original files in yours windows.

You can use these addon (after all addon):
http://addons.ryanvm.net/rytukz/rytukz_ ... on_1.1.cab
http://addons.ryanvm.net/rytukz/rytukz_ ... on_1.0.cab (only if you intergrated WMP10)
USE ONLY FOR YOUR RISK – YOU CAN HAVE SAME ISSUES – THOSE ADDON MAYBE HAVE OLDER FILES THAN IN YOUR CD SOURCE.
Last edited by rytukz on Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EaglePC
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:28 pm

Post by EaglePC » Mon May 29, 2006 5:50 pm

Time Module Object Name Threat Action User Information
5/29/2006 17:46:08 PM IMON archive http://dl44l3.rapidshare.de/files/21711 ... on_1.1.cab Win32/PrcView application Connection terminated :shock:

jumz
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:32 am
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada

Post by jumz » Tue May 30, 2006 6:23 pm

What vista theme are you using in the last screenshot up there?
JuMz

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Wed May 31, 2006 4:00 am

jumz wrote:What vista theme are you using in the last screenshot up there?
viewtopic.php?t=1963

Art of Silence
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 4:39 pm

Become member just to told u...

Post by Art of Silence » Fri Aug 11, 2006 5:14 pm

First of all, wanna say sorry for my bad english. I've submit my membership just to told u... That u make f**** great job. Dont stop to do your great job, because of some stupid comments. It work great and look really nice. Thanks a lot!!!
Art of Silence from Art of Silence Team

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Fri Aug 11, 2006 7:08 pm

:D

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:19 am

hi rytukz! i'd just like to ask if this pack has issues with XPize (http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=80327) as i noticed that when both are slipstreamed .. either 1 causes some apps (& their shortcuts) not be installed correctly ... some apps affected are boooggy's wmp11, lclock ... i can't recall the others as of this writing :) ...
next question is when all these (rytukz_Vista_Icons_Pack_Ultimate_System_Patch_addon_1.1.cab, rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_MAIN_addon_1.1.cab, rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_WMP10_addon_1.0.cab, Themes_rytukz_VistaCG_addon_v1.1.cab) are present, wouldn't there be any conflict ... because i think there is ... i figured i'd only use the 1st one :)
lastly, would it be possible to slipstream rytukz_Vista_Icons_Pack_Ultimate_System_Patch_addon_1.1.cab in such a way that it permanently replaces all replaceable system files ... something like /S ... where no shortcuts would be created anymore?
please know that you're work is appreciated!
thanks!
-KIKI-

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:10 pm

Kiki Burgh wrote:hi rytukz! i'd just like to ask if this pack has issues with XPize (http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=80327) as i noticed that when both are slipstreamed .. either 1 causes some apps (& their shortcuts) not be installed correctly ... some apps affected are boooggy's wmp11, lclock ... i can't recall the others as of this writing :) ...
next question is when all these (rytukz_Vista_Icons_Pack_Ultimate_System_Patch_addon_1.1.cab, rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_MAIN_addon_1.1.cab, rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_WMP10_addon_1.0.cab, Themes_rytukz_VistaCG_addon_v1.1.cab) are present, wouldn't there be any conflict ... because i think there is ... i figured i'd only use the 1st one :)
lastly, would it be possible to slipstream rytukz_Vista_Icons_Pack_Ultimate_System_Patch_addon_1.1.cab in such a way that it permanently replaces all replaceable system files ... something like /S ... where no shortcuts would be created anymore?
please know that you're work is appreciated!
thanks!
Now I recommended use only this:
http://addons.ryanvm.net/rytukz/rytukz_ ... on_1.1.cab

Other addons (rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_MAIN_addon_1.1.cab, rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_WMP10_addon_1.0.cab) that replace file in your cd, never will be updated. You can get same issues as file version be different.

Maybe after XPize can't use this addon - I don't test. I only tested with WMP11 - all work perfectly.
lastly, would it be possible to slipstream rytukz_Vista_Icons_Pack_Ultimate_System_Patch_addon_1.1.cab in such a way that it permanently replaces all replaceable system files ... something like /S ... where no shortcuts would be created anymore?
please know that you're work is appreciated!
Not ease make that. This patch very simple - use only ResHacher, but not ease make that automatically. Maybe I can't make. Yes, old addon (rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_MAIN_addon_1.1.cab, rytukz_patched_files_with_VISTA_icons_WMP10_addon_1.0.cab) be as you want, but I say - in this addon can be have old version file.

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:35 am

thanks for clarifying this rytukz! :P
-KIKI-

User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by ahmerkhan » Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:05 pm

Oh Yeah!

rytukz,That is what i was searching for.....Great Work Man....You Rocks....:)

Can I also Integrate XPIZE with this Pack....Or Does it really means after this Pack?

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:55 pm

@mindcurd
This does not slipstream the icons into XP CD it integrates a patcher proggie that you run after you finished install

and yes you can integrate XPize and then run this patch after you reinstall, its also uninstallable

User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by ahmerkhan » Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:49 pm

[quote=ricktendo64]@mindcurd
This does not slipstream the icons into XP CD it integrates a patcher proggie that you run after you finished install

and yes you can integrate XPize and then run this patch after you reinstall, its also uninstallable[/quote]

Oh No........!!! :?

This is Not the one i was really exited for... :(
As an Addon Pack this ICON pack should automatically Integrated in windowsXP CD....
This should be automatic by default , Every one knows what the hell he is doing...

Now on the Other side Xpide...
I just Download and Installed XPIDE Manually and I am not much Impressed with it.....Even it does not Change the Default "My Computer" Crapy Icon...

:?

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:44 pm

Automatically... it's not useful. How I can make this? Need make same as program - patcher your source windows cd. It's not ease. Not for me... maybe :)

Yes, first version this addon (old - my experimental) replace files in your source windows cd. But it's must have same version files. But after update windows can replace these files. I say - it's not useful!

Post Reply