after install the last pack : my list of "bugs" +

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

after install the last pack : my list of "bugs" +

Post by bestofcomputer » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:24 am

Hi.

I am sorry to open a new thread, but it is because I have a list of "bugs" about the last pack + a list a features requests.

Could u be kind enough to go through those lists, and tell me what will hapen next about a future pack, if i am not requesting too much work, i hope ?

lists of "bugs" + features requests (sorry if it is mixed) :

- my motherboard sound card has been detected automatically, but only after rebooting 2 times, and not during the original setup. why ?
- 2 times, windows has hanged on, during iddle time, after setup fisnished, on the next day. anything wrong in the softwares ?
- I would like a WinME desktop organization instead of the original WinXP one : icons present on the desktop : "My Documents" + "My Computer" + "My Network Places" + "IE 6.0" + arrange by name + align to grid + auto-arrange.
- when I click on "about" menu from the notepad, I get 2 different things, on my regular pc, and on my RVM pc, what does it mean ? :
"2006.xpsp_sp2_gdr_050301-1519 : SP2" : regular pc.
"2006.xpsp.060411-1541 : SP2" : RVM pc.
- could u remove the "low disk space" notification from the task bar for all drives ?
- could u set by default new folders options, for drives and folders, as follow, in the View tab :
6 first options checked.
7th option unchecked.
show hiden files and folders.
uncheck hide extension for known file types.
uncheck hide protected OS files.
6 next options checked.
uncheck use simple file sharing.
- more new default options about folders :
view by tiles.
arrange by name.
align to grid.
auto-arrange.
- exceptions for folders options :
my computer : same as above but view by type + show in groups.
my documents : same as above but arrange by type.
my pictures + its sub-folders : same as above but view by thumbnails.
- in my startup registry HKLM/run, i have some IME entries, what are these, should they be cancelled ? :
imjpmig8.1 + phime2002A + phime2002ASync.
- in the list of windows installed components :
could u remove MSN Explorer, and not install it at all ?
are u installing the latest windows messenger for xp sp2 ?
- i have installed addon hosts secure CPL : it is present but launch nothing, why ?
- i have installed addon CMD CPL : it is there and works, but opens in a default folder that is not very good. could it be changed into :
%HOMEDRIVE%\
- i have the same changing request about the shortcut present in the accessories start menu "Command Promt" : it should open in : %HOMEDRIVE%\
- shortcuts icons that are missing from the start menu, either on its top, or in all programs, or in accessories, or sub-menus (and quick launch) :
IE 6.0 + OE 6.0 + Media Player
wordpad + paint + tour windows xp + windows explorer + windows media connect + program compatibility wizard + synchronize.
move movie maker into accessories.
move remote assistant into accessories.
entertainment menu is empty : missing : sound recorder + volume control + media player.
games menu does not exist and should contain : hearts + freecell + net backgamon + net checkers + net hearts + net reversi + spider solitaire + net spades + minesweeper + pinball + solitaire.
administrative tools should be in all programs.
microsoft update should be present.
windows catalog is absent from the top.
in the top, strange icons are there for internet + mail : clicking on them just opens Internet Properties. Put back there original icons of IE 6.0 + OE 6.0.
in start menu, missing : my network places + favorites menus + network connexion (as connect to menu).
dont list most recent openned docuements.
increase visible items upto 10 instead of 6.
communications menu is missing : hyper terminal + netmeeting (install them !) + remote desktop connection.
accessibility menu is missing : accessibility wizard.
system tools is missing important shortcuts pointing to existing windows tools, but that MS has always forgotten to put in their main menu, so could u add these new shortcuts : from system information\tools menu : "Net Diagnostics" + "File Signature Verification Utility" + "DirectX Diagnostic Tool" + "Dr Watson". Others new shortcuts to add : "Automatic Skip Driver Agent" + "Management Console" + Objects Packager" + "Patch Level" (qfecheck with gui) + "Registry Checker" + "Registry Editor" + "System Configuration Utility" + "System Editor" + "System File Checker" + "Task Manager" + "Telnet" + "Update Wizard Uninstall" + "Version Conflict Manager" + "Win IP Config" + " Win Pop Up" + "Windows Report Tools" + "Windows Version" + "WMI Control" + "WMI Management".
- i would appreciate if by default, the IE 6.0 internet options could be changed to :
home page : about:blank
days keeping history : 0.
- security tab : all 4 zones set to default level.
auto complete : 2 first options checked + 2 last options unchecked.
html editor : notepad.
IE must not check if it is the default browser at startup.
- advanced tab :
uncheck install on demand for others.
check personalized favorites menus.
check offscreen compositing...
uncheck notify of download completes.
check friendly URLs.
check use inline auto-complete.
check show image download placeholders.
check print background.
search options : check : do not search.
uncheck publisher's certificate revocation.
check empty temporary folder on exit.
check TSL 1.0.
uncheck warn if changing from secure to not secure page.
- i would appreciate if by default, the OE 6.0 options could be changed to :
no mail account to create.
welcome message completely deleted.
go to inbox at startup.
maintenance tab : empty messages from "Deleted" on exit.

Thanks a lot for your reading, and your feedbacks, and any possible "bugs" corrections, and any possible new features requests future integration.

By the way I have a list of new addons that I would like to see existing in the soon future, where could I post this list (maybe 4 or 5 of my list may already exist, but i am sure that all the others are not, because I would see them on the Main DVM page list anyway, if this page maintains a current full list regurlaly, which i dont know...).

If my thread must be moved from here to another place, tell me, but dont delete it, please...

Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:43 am

only the first 2 things could be bugs the other things are unattended tweaks you want! look into msfn forum for more information!

and this:
"2006.xpsp_sp2_gdr_050301-1519 : SP2" : regular pc.
"2006.xpsp.060411-1541 : SP2" : RVM pc.

is normal because there are 2 types of patched files in the hotfixes and ryan and all others use the !QFE" files (quick fix ..) and the normal hotfix installs the "GDR" files

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:48 am

Many of the preferences and "tweaks" you want can be set through nLite. I don't normally use it so I can't give you anything more specific, but you'll find more information about it in the nLite forum at MSFN.

Regarding kernel versions, your RVM PC is more up to date. Here's a quick breakdown of your version numbers:
xpsp.060411-1541 : SP2

Year = 06 or 2006
Month = 04 or April
Day = 11
Time = 1541 or 3:41pm
Last edited by 5eraph on Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

Post by bestofcomputer » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:55 am

Thanks.
I understand that some of my requests may be done separatly by tools for "tweaks", and I will look into that...
But what about all the missing regular shortcuts that are on a regular xp sp2 pc : i thing this is a bug during setup. And maybe the tools where those regular shortcuts points are not at all installed, which is another bug, no ?
Thanks again.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:07 am

I don't have a problem with missing shortcuts. I can't really advise you about that without knowing how you're building your ISO. Please describe all of the steps you take from the time you copy your source files from the CD to the creation of your ISO.

bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

Post by bestofcomputer » Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:18 am

I forgot :
I have a little list of addons that I have put in my install, but they neither install anything in the program files folder, neither they put their shortcuts menus in the start menu !!
Some other bugs ?
List of this "problematic" addons :
- Boooggy_CCleanerAddon.cab
- Boooggy_SpywareBlaster_Addon.cab
- Kels_CMDHere_addon_v1.4.cab : no context-menu for drives or folders.
- MrsP_TaskSwitchXP_Addon_v2.0.9.cab : I have the regular task switch not the power toy one still.
- RVMAddons_1.7.1.7z : i dont know what it does : nothing is visible !
- Xable_StartupMonitor-v1.03_addon.cab
Any help ?
Thanks.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:40 am

Ok. I realize you're adding a lot to your source, but we'll never find the cause for each one of your problems without going through it step-by-step.
  1. Test the Update Pack.
    1. Copy all files from your XP CD to your hard drive.
    2. Slipstream Service Pack 2 (if it's not already included on your source CD).
    3. Integrate only the RyanVM Update Pack.
    4. Create an ISO and test.
    5. If the Update Pack is not working as you expect then post problems here in this thread.
  2. Test some of your Addons.
    1. Integrate two or three addons.
    2. Create an ISO and test.
    3. If an addon is not working as you expect then:
      • Report problems in the thread for that addon.
      • Repeat step 1.
      • Integrate only the addons you've tested that work so far.
  3. Repeat step 2 as necessary.
Last edited by 5eraph on Tue Sep 26, 2006 3:18 am, edited 2 times in total.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:52 am

Personal feature requests are NOT bugs..............

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:12 pm

If you are missing shortcuts and you have the classic windows theme when you log in, (I bet some of the addons were not integrated properly as well?), It sounds like a bad addon. If you have a bad addon it can cause a domino effect and cause the issues I just mentioned.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

Post by bestofcomputer » Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:00 am

Ok Thanks.
I will do more testings then, but wait, coz my pc is actually testing vista also...
And if I find out the guilty addon, I hope that all this will get back just fine !
Otherwise, if it is a real bug, I hope ur help will solve that...
I will also describe all my steps done here.

I know features requests are not bugs, but anyway I had to ask about that also...
But are you sure I can do all my requests just with nLite, or what else ?...

But my MS CD already contains SP2, so what do you mean by :

Slipstream Service Pack 2.

???

Thanks.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Sep 26, 2006 3:16 am

bestofcomputer wrote:But my MS CD already contains SP2, so what do you mean by : Slipstream Service Pack 2.
I didn't know your CD already included it. You can ignore that part. :)

pxa270

Post by pxa270 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 7:30 am

bestofcomputer, you seem to have misunderstood the purpose of the Update Pack. It is meant to integrate official MS hotfixes into the installation CD, not to customize or tweak default settings. If you want that, go for nLite as others suggested, or something like X-Setup. Requests for these are really inappropriate here.

Of course, real bug reports are always welcome. To verify that it's caused by the Update Pack, please compare only installs with a plain SP2 installation with a SP2+RVM Update install. If you change a lot of things at one in two installations, nobody can really help you.

bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

Post by bestofcomputer » Wed Sep 27, 2006 8:26 am

Thanks, and message received 5 over 5 !
I will discuss about tweaks on nLite forum only !
I will stop my actual Vista testing, to do more RVM testings, and it means, in my case :
- using a CD-RW to save costs.
- integrate 8 different versions.
- build 8 different ISO.
- burn 8 times.
- install 8 times and check everything.
I will post all my results after that only !
But you may have to wait 1 week, cause it is a lot of testing jobs !
But I dont complain, because I guess, that we, users of yours great tools, cannot be only users and publish "bugs", we also have to contribute by simply do some testing by our own...
Amically yours.
Thanks.
Bye.,

bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

Post by bestofcomputer » Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:39 am

Hi everyone !
I make a break after 4 full testings...
I am disapointed by the results, and dont know about why doing more testings now...
Do you have any suggestions about what to test next ?...
Here are my test results :
I have an MS Corporate XP Pro SP2 CD.
1/ Original Windows + RVM pack latest alone :
all the bugs have gone !
but : still my PCI sound card is not installed at setup, and if I force the hardware scan, only 1 time it found it, but there was a yellow mark in front of the driver, and all the rest of the times, it was never detected again !...
my card is certainly included in XP SP2 drivers, so why this "bug" ?
it is a : yamaha native DS1 WDM driver microsoft 01/07/2001 V 5.1.2535.0.
2/ Win + RVM pack + CCleaner addon only.
exactly the same results.
the only detail was : there are no shortcuts for this app installed in the start menu : "bug" or decision from the addon maker ? if not bug then I think accessing the app from the start menu is important, and not only from desktop, but I may discuss that in the thread of this addon...
3/ Win + RVM pack + SpyBlaster addon only.
exactly the same results.
the only detail was : there are no shortcuts for this app installed in the start menu : "bug" or decision from the addon maker ? if not bug then I think accessing the app from the start menu is important, and not only from desktop, but I may discuss that in the thread of this addon...
4/ Win + RVM pack +RVMAddons_1.7.1.7z addon only.
exactly the same results.
I then understood that this addon adds : more drivers (even if not signed !), intel chipset infs, 3 powertoys, microsoft update, unlocker, usb drivers, graphics drivers, some IE tweaks, and I dont know what else...
But, I encountered the following pbs :
my PCI sound card is still not installed.
4 or 6 files related to some video and other drivers were not found by the setup in I:\Windows\Drivers Cache\I386, so the result is that these drivers (video, or some others...) were not functioning after setup.
So, I think there might be some "bugs" there !?...
But it might be also that my CD-RW got corrupted files after 4 burning with quick-erase.
Maybe I should do another burning and install again before acusing of any bugs in this addon, but until then, it may be worth have another look at it here...
OK.
That's all !
And the conclusion is :
I have no idea about what was the faulty addon that caused such a mess in my first install !
Because all these tested addons seem to work fine separatly and alone !
Does it mean that the problem is not in a single addon, but rather in the association of 2 or 3 or more of them ?
But to determine a new protocol of tests to find out which combination is causing the bugs, it will be difficult and time consuming...
Any help guys ?
Thanks.
Bye.

Jay
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:38 pm

Post by Jay » Thu Sep 28, 2006 3:40 pm

Hes a bit cheeky dont you think.

What do you have to do to please some people.

bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

Post by bestofcomputer » Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:14 am

I am sorry for troubling some of you, but "cheeky" ??? Really ??? No !?...
Or, is it maybe because I am a 100% born and educated from France, and everyone see French a little bit that way ?...
Bah !...
Anyway, I am just trying to participate here, whatever my style could be perceived, and I prefer to not care about personal remarks/"attacks"...
Have a nice day !
Thanks.
Bye.

bestofcomputer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:38 am

Post by bestofcomputer » Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:20 am

So ? Silencing ?... Well...
Now, I prefer to place a warning (for you, friends), before talking more : the following content may again irritate some of you. In that case, please, do not continue.
I have another hypothesis to formulate about the origin of my bugs :
What if it is not from any addon ?
What if it is not is assciociating some addons together ?
What if the problem was arround that ?
What if there was a kind of buffer-underrun-like "bug" somewhere ?
What if it was a kind of flaw in the Integrator itself, that could not manage well the integration of many addons, beyond a certain number of them, WHATEVER would be these addons ?..........
I'm sorry ! I'v "cheeked" again ?........
Myself, I cannot check such a thing, but maybe you ?......
A bientot !
BTW :
I apologize for having been suspicious about any "bugs" during the detection of my PCI sound card, coz I have found out that my card had a hardware failure the same day I started to test the packs, so it is not my fault if I did say so, coz it was just unfortunate... But, sorry, and thanks.
Bye.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Sep 30, 2006 7:42 am

Works for me
Last edited by MrNxDmX on Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:18 pm

bestofcomputer: Have you hash-checked the Update Pack and add-ons that you have in your possession? I'd check them first, because I've heard some people have download stuff and that stuff is "received" corrupted. This could be the source of your problems.....

User avatar
Hunterx6886
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 9:47 pm

Post by Hunterx6886 » Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:03 am

bestofcomputer - I'd have to agree with dougiefresh about making sure the hashes are good on the files. Also, something you might consider is making a virtual machine and mounting your iso files as cdrom and doing your testing that way. It will save you time and money in not having to burn discs. Granted, it won't show you an exact indication of how your hardware will be treated, but it will definitely show you any problems with shortcuts, etc. not being where they ought to be.

Post Reply