[WIP] FreeDVD Codecs addons

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
m-p{3}
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:50 pm
Location: Montreal QC, Canada
Contact:

[WIP] FreeDVD Codecs addons

Post by m-p{3} » Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:47 pm

I am currently working on integrating the FreeDVD codecs.

I am close to final, but I have a small problem. When I integrate it, I have the file DVDAudio.ax_ and DVDVideo.ax_ created in the i386 folder, but I also get the file DVDAudio.ax and DVDVideo.ax created, which are the original (uncompressed) codecs files.

Maybe somebody with more experience will be able to help me on this detail.

I have the following 4 files inside my cab
- DVDAudio.ax
- DVDVideo.ax
- FreeDVD.inf
- entries_FreeDVD.ini
entries_FreeDVD.ini wrote:;By: m-p{3}
;FreeDVD Codecs Addons

[general]
builddate=2006/11/16
description=FreeDVD Codecs Addons
language=English
title=FreeDVD Codecs Addons
version=1.0
website=http://ryanvm.msfn.org

[sysoc]
FreeDVD=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,FreeDVD.inf,HIDE,7

[dosnet_files]
d1,FreeDVD.inf
d1,DVDAudio.ax
d1,DVDVideo.ax

[txtsetup_files]
FreeDVD.inf = 1,,,,,,,20,0,0
DVDAudio.ax = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0
DVDVideo.ax = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\FreeDVD.inf
rvmtemp\extracted\DVDAudio.ax
rvmtemp\extracted\DVDVideo.ax
FreeDVD.inf wrote:[Version]
signature = $CHICAGO$

[DefaultInstall]
OptionDesc = "FreeDVD"
Tip = "FreeDVD"
Modes = 0,1,2,3
RegisterDlls = FreeDVD.Register

[Optional Components]
FreeDVD

[FreeDVD]
OptionDesc = "FreeDVD"
Tip = "FreeDVD"
Modes = 0,1,2,3
RegisterDlls = FreeDVD.Register

[FreeDVD.Register]
11,,DVDAudio.ax,1
11,,DVDVideo.ax,1
I also have one question: Will my codecs be correctly registered at install, so WMP will support DVD playback out-of-the-box ?

Thanks in advance, any help is appreciated :)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Re: [WIP] FreeDVD Codecs addons

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:51 pm

m-p{3} wrote:I am close to final, but I have a small problem. When I integrate it, I have the file DVDAudio.ax_ and DVDAudio.ax_ created in the i386 folder, but I also get the file DVDAudio.ax and DVDVideo.ax created, which are the original (uncompressed) codecs files.
Thats an interesting situation. I never experienced this. Try to compress that 2 files manually, i cant think another solution. You can use this command with makecab.exe:

Code: Select all

makecab /D CompressionType=LZX /D CompressionMemory=21 *.*
*.* -->> stands for file name

m-p{3}
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:50 pm
Location: Montreal QC, Canada
Contact:

Post by m-p{3} » Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:46 pm

I followed your idea, and the problem doesn't occur anymore. Thanks for your help ;)

I will test it deeper to make sure everything works fine (ie: to see if DVDAudio.ax and DVDVideo.ax are correctly registered and functionnal), and I will post it here if someone want it. I guess this is a good solution for those who want DVD playback out of the box with a very small footprint.
FreeDVD_Addons_1.1.cab wrote:entries_freedvd.ini
FreeDVD.in_
DVDAudio.ax_
DVDVideo.ax_
entries_freedvd.ini wrote:;By: m-p{3}
;FreeDVD Codecs Addons

[general]
builddate=2006/11/18
description=FreeDVD Codecs Addons
language=English
title=FreeDVD Codecs Addons
version=1.1
website=http://ryanvm.msfn.org

[sysoc]
FreeDVD=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,FreeDVD.inf,HIDE,7

[dosnet_files]
d1,FreeDVD.inf
d1,DVDAudio.ax
d1,DVDVideo.ax

[txtsetup_files]
FreeDVD.inf = 100,,,,,,,20,0,0
DVDAudio.ax = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0
DVDVideo.ax = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0
FreeDVD.in_ wrote:[Version]
signature = $CHICAGO$

[DefaultInstall]
OptionDesc = "FreeDVD"
Tip = "FreeDVD"
Modes = 0,1,2,3
RegisterDlls = FreeDVD.Register

[Optional Components]
FreeDVD

[FreeDVD]
OptionDesc = "FreeDVD"
Tip = "FreeDVD"
Modes = 0,1,2,3
RegisterDlls = FreeDVD.Register

[FreeDVD.Register]
11,,DVDAudio.ax,1
11,,DVDVideo.ax,1
Last edited by m-p{3} on Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

adminpat
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:27 am
Location: Belgium

Post by adminpat » Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:46 pm

sounds like an intresting add on indeed , please also make sure to test with media player classic
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning."

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:59 pm

Yeah, I'm waiting to see how this comes out, too.

Question:
When do you think it'll be ready? And about how large will it be (MBs)?

m-p{3}
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:50 pm
Location: Montreal QC, Canada
Contact:

Post by m-p{3} » Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:34 am

The cab file is now about 148KB, and shouldn't be any larger than that. I tested the codecs on another system and they can play DVDs without problems.

I just need to test the addon if the codecs are properly registered at install. As soon as they are registered correctly, I'll post it, alongside the MD5 hash.
adminpat wrote:sounds like an intresting add on indeed , please also make sure to test with media player classic
If it works in WMP10, it will works with MPC because the codecs are DirectShow Filters.

m-p{3}
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:50 pm
Location: Montreal QC, Canada
Contact:

Post by m-p{3} » Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:48 pm

I tested my addon, but unfortunately the FreeDVD codecs are NOT registered at install. Does someone has experience on how-to register those .ax file directly, without using command-line at install but register them properly into the source ?

Any help is appreciated.

m-p{3}
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:50 pm
Location: Montreal QC, Canada
Contact:

Post by m-p{3} » Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:06 pm

Now the registered .ax file seems correct, but I must still verify if a complete Windows install works flawlessly. I will post the addon in the first post as soon as possible, I'm just kinda busy at university right now.
Image

User avatar
UtCollector
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:31 pm
Contact:

Post by UtCollector » Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:45 pm

m-p{3} wrote:Now the registered .ax file seems correct, but I must still verify if a complete Windows install works flawlessly. I will post the addon in the first post as soon as possible, I'm just kinda busy at university right now.
You could try a xp install in vmware. Do you know that program? It will save you a lot of time testing xp installation. Well i be looking forward for you addon :D Making the first addon is always the hardest. A second one we be more easy :D Good luck on you're university :!:

m-p{3}
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:50 pm
Location: Montreal QC, Canada
Contact:

Post by m-p{3} » Sun Nov 26, 2006 2:28 am

Sure I know VMWare ;). Any network administrators should know this jewel.
Image

Post Reply