[BETA] Update Pack 2.2.1b3 + Integrator 1.5RC1

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Locked
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

[BETA] Update Pack 2.2.1b3 + Integrator 1.5RC1

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:07 pm

For all you impatient folks out there, I'm making available a bundle containing the latest beta of both Update Pack 2.2.1 (b3) and Integrator 1.5 (RC1). As this is a beta release, I'm only making this available via the tracker. Obviously, the usual caveats apply when using beta software. Don't come complaining to me if it kills your computer, crashes your car, or kills your firstborn child.

The beta3 release should resolve the WMI issues that caused many antivirus apps to not register properly with Windows Security Center. It also hopefully resolves the timezone issues people have been having. For the sake of good testing, do NOT use any timezone-related addons with b3.

Known Issue:
  • Yes, there's an Advanced INF popup at T13 that shouldn't be there. Unfortunately, due to time restrictions (aka, I'm about to leave for a week-long business trip and it was either this or nothing), I'm putting it up as-is for now. It'll be fixed for the final release. Take it or leave it.

    That said, if anybody figures out a solution to the problem, feel free to post it in this thread. Otherwise, I'm pretty sure I know which hotfix caused it, and I'll just take it out if no other solution appears.
Changelog here.
Download here.


Please use both parts of the bundle and report your feedback here. Let's make sure the final 2.2.1 and 1.5 releases are the best releases yet!
Last edited by RyanVM on Sun Feb 10, 2008 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:30 pm

I'm getting no seeders and no one has anything other than 0%....
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

LilSpann601
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Jackson MS

Post by LilSpann601 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:44 pm

Thanks..is this still a december pack?

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:57 pm

dougiefresh wrote:I'm getting no seeders and no one has anything other than 0%....
I downloaded the pack pretty stable - about 20 KB/s. Curently I'm seeding and also there are about 10+ seeders ;)
LilSpann601 wrote:Thanks..is this still a december pack?
Nope - look at the changelog - b3 includes KB941644 and KB943485

PS: Ryan thank you for the update and I'm going to test it ASAP :)

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:41 pm

Thanks VM now testing.

Cheers
MC
The Man from Aus

User avatar
keloo05
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:04 pm
Location: Romania

Post by keloo05 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:08 pm

Can someone who downloaded the pack via torrent upload it to a free sharing service and post the download link here? I can't use torrents because they are restricted in my university's campus. Thanks a lot.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 3:39 pm

This UpdatePack burned my house down (j/k) :twisted:

Thank you Ryan and thank you Seeders

LilSpann601
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Jackson MS

Post by LilSpann601 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:02 pm

Thanks ryan b3 worked without any problems

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:33 pm

keloo05 wrote:Can someone who downloaded the pack via torrent upload it to a free sharing service and post the download link here? I can't use torrents because they are restricted in my university's campus. Thanks a lot.
I'm afraid we can't do that, keloo05. YGPM.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:37 pm

DOwnloading right now. After than I'll start seeding
Gracias for the update Ryan. I'll test it in vmware. Cant format my machine now.

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Never mind, update bundle got downloaded... It just took forever.
Visit me at home: http://xptsp.filetap.com

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:31 pm

rats i just installed the b2 on my pc and got the timezone bug... already building a new iso! :P

[edit] using the RyanVM Integrator v1.5 RC1 with the following:
RVMUpdatePack2.2.1b3.7z
DirectX9.0cNovember2007AddOn0.3.4CNC.7z
IE7-WindowsXP-x86-enu.exe
Kels_BackGroundCMD_addon.cab
Kels_NotePad++_v4.7.3_addon_replacer_Build2.cab
Ricks_Anti-Aliased1.5CursorsAddOn_b2.rar
RVMAddonsWMP10_3.1.7z
no time zone bug and...

Image
Image
Last edited by DigeratiPrime on Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Post by DigeratiPrime » Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:43 pm

Round 2 using nLite 1.4.1 with the following:
RVMUpdatePack2.2.1b3.7z
RVMAddonsWMP10_3.1.7z
onepiece_ie7addon_1.9.2_enu.7z
DirectX9.0cNovember2007AddOn0.3.4CNC.7z
Kels_NotePad++_v4.7.3_addon_replacer_Build2.cab
Ricks_Anti-Aliased1.5CursorsAddOn_b2.rar
Kels_BackGroundCMD_addon.cab
This time I got the reboot prompt during setup. Before the setup hanged and i reset the vm guest after which it installed quietly.

No time zone bug.

Image
Image

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:41 pm

Glad to hear the timezone bug seems to have gone away with the hive work. I also forgot to say in the first post, I'm going to add the WMP9 security updates to 2.2.1 still as well since I've long since stopped work on my WMP10 pack.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:46 pm

i don't like either wmp9 or 11, leave it out to let users choose it themselves. well, i got confused how many new wmp10 hotfixes available there... is there any unpublic one? or just go thru WU?
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:13 pm

im getting an oobe error 'application error'.b2 didnt have this.im using xp mce.


yumeyao:keeping integrated apps like wmp updated is good if u ask me.dont have to completely replace to a newer version,just keep the one thats shipped on the disc up to date.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:47 am

bober, unless you've updated your XP source with WMP11 (boooggys stuff) before hitting it with Ryans stuff.

Also, at T13 [blah blah blah I'm an idiot, sorry!]
Last edited by newsposter on Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Aussie
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Aussie » Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:22 am

newsposter wrote:Also, at T13 I got a popup window telling me that for advanced INF integration, I should reboot the computer (a VM actually). Never saw that before.
Take a looksy at Ryan's first post above.

User avatar
nonno fabio
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Northern Italy
Contact:

Post by nonno fabio » Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:20 am

new changelog still lists KB925528.

but isn't it superseded by KB908673v2?

KB925528: usb*.sys - 5.1.2600.3081 - 2007-02-09

KB908673v2: usb*.sys - 5.1.2600.3182 - 2007-07-20
Don't ask for a different configuration of Onepiece's XP AIO Update Pack: use one of the existing vanilla XP UpdatePack with your preferred addons instead

User avatar
kontini
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:00 am

Re: [BETA] Update Pack 2.2.1b3 + Integrator 1.5RC1

Post by kontini » Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:27 am

RyanVM wrote: Known Issue:
  • Yes, there's an Advanced INF popup at T13 that shouldn't be there. Unfortunately, due to time restrictions (aka, I'm about to leave for a week-long business trip and it was either this or nothing), I'm putting it up as-is for now. It'll be fixed for the final release. Take it or leave it.

    That said, if anybody figures out a solution to the problem, feel free to post it in this thread. Otherwise, I'm pretty sure I know which hotfix caused it, and I'll just take it out if no other solution appears.
Hi Ryan, OnePiece solved this issue in his UpdatePack. He suggests to change your [T13] section from...

Code: Select all

[T13]
AddReg         =T13.KB932716.AddReg,T13.KB942615.AddReg
RunPostSetupCommands   =T13.KB922120.RunCommand:1,T13.KB931125.RunCommand:1,T13.MSXML.RunCommand:1,T13.ResetWMI.RunCommand:1
... to:

Code: Select all

[T13]
AddReg         =T13.KB932716.AddReg,T13.KB942615.AddReg
RunPostSetupCommands   =T13.KB922120.RunCommand:1,T13.KB931125.RunCommand:1,T13.MSXML.RunCommand:1,T13.ResetWMI.RunCommand:1
SmartReboot  =N
Reboot       =0

[Options]
RebootMode=N
Last edited by kontini on Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:39 am, edited 5 times in total.
Image

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:27 am

im using wmp11 addon after integration.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:09 am

I think boooggys recommendation is to run his WMP11 integrator in this kind of sequence:

a) SP2 integration
b) Boooggy WMP11
c) RyanVM (or nlite or ???) for addons and removals
d) driverpacks.net stuff
e) create ISO
f) test test test (on a VM)
Last edited by newsposter on Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Update Pack 2.2.1b3 + Integrator 1.5RC1

Post by RyanVM » Mon Jan 14, 2008 6:38 am

kontini wrote:Hi Ryan, OnePiece solved this issue in his UpdatePack. He suggests to change your [T13] section from...
<snip>
Thanks. I got a similar suggestion from rick, so I'll try it out when I get home at the end of the week :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:24 am

kontini's looks like it would work best, it adds the switches to the launched section instead of the rundll32 switch... nice job ;)
Overview

SmartReboot lets you choose whether or not to ask a user to reboot his system. The install engine determines if a reboot is needed for you.


Syntax

[InstallSection]
SmartReboot=&ltparameter>


Parameter
Parameter Meaning
N Never reboot
AS Always reboot without asking
IS Reboot without prompting if needed
A Always ask user to reboot
I Ask user to reboot if needed


Note

SmartReboot is ignored unless the INF is excuted via LaunchINFSection.

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:47 am

ricktendo64 wrote:kontini's looks like it would work best, it adds the switches to the launched section instead of the rundll32 switch... nice job ;)
Overview

SmartReboot lets you choose whether or not to ask a user to reboot his system. The install engine determines if a reboot is needed for you.


Syntax

[InstallSection]
SmartReboot=&ltparameter>


Parameter
Parameter Meaning
N Never reboot
AS Always reboot without asking
IS Reboot without prompting if needed
A Always ask user to reboot
I Ask user to reboot if needed


Note

SmartReboot is ignored unless the INF is excuted via LaunchINFSection.

I tested just now with those suggested edits and everything tested out perfectly for me in a vm with integration by nlite. Among my addons was onepiece IE7 and Booogy's MP11 was pre-integrated into the source. It all looks good to me.

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:43 am

I manuall made those edits and used the latest intergrator. Also working

biatche
I can't read
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:49 am

Post by biatche » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:45 am

is the changelog from b2 to b3 or from 2.1.11 to 2.2.1b3

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Jan 14, 2008 12:16 pm

biatche wrote:is the changelog from b2 to b3 or from 2.1.11 to 2.2.1b3
2.1.11 to 2.2.1b3

There were only a few changes between b2 and b3: the addition of a few updates and fixing the timezone and WMI antivirus bugs.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm

thanks for this =) downloading and will keep seed .....

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:31 pm

newsposter wrote:bober, unless you've updated your XP source with WMP11 (boooggys stuff) before hitting it with Ryans stuff.

Also, at T13 [blah blah blah I'm an idiot, sorry!]
newsposter wrote: I think boooggys recommendation is to run his WMP11 integrator in this kind of sequence:

a) SP2 integration
b) Boooggy WMP11
c) RyanVM (or nlite or ???) for addons and removals
d) driverpacks.net stuff
e) create ISO
f) test test test (on a VM)
lol thats quite contradicting info newsposter.ive always done it the way i do and it always worked.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:59 pm

I made 2 install today with Update Pack 2.2.1b3.One normal and second one with nLite(becouse EnuUser is made the update version yet of his remove addon ;) ) and all is going without any problems,exept the info window,also nlited version is working good.

User avatar
fortunato
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:01 pm

Post by fortunato » Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:32 pm

Dear Ryan !
When final version's coming ???
I

User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Post by mr_smartepants » Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:25 pm

fortunato wrote: When final version's coming ???
Well, SOMEONE was bound to ask. :rolleyes:
Ryan's said over & over again. It'll be done when it's done.

VCC
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:02 pm
Location: Ventura County, CA
Contact:

Post by VCC » Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:47 pm

newsposter wrote:I think boooggys recommendation is to run his WMP11 integrator in this kind of sequence:

a) SP2 integration
b) Boooggy WMP11
c) RyanVM (or nlite or ???) for addons and removals
d) driverpacks.net stuff
e) create ISO
f) test test test (on a VM)
This is the same as what I do. Works well.
Got Computer?
RyanVM and all that support and help with the RVM Integrator and the Update Packs and Addons. Much appreciation to you! You're Awesome!

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5187
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:49 pm

Why do you guys integrate WMP11 before my pack? I would think that's completely backwards...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:54 pm

i think that line a) there is SP2 updatepack.. not just SP2 :)

at least.. that would make sense.. -evil grin- but then again.. who said we had to make sense!

TechnoHunter

User avatar
AntinousK
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:13 am

Post by AntinousK » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:40 pm

RyanVM wrote:Why do you guys integrate WMP11 before my pack? I would think that's completely backwards...
RyanVM wrote:I'm going to add the WMP9 security updates to 2.2.1 still as well since I've long since stopped work on my WMP10 pack.
IMHO it is completely backwards. I've always integrated WMP11 and it's fixes dead last. This becomes a little more important with WMP9 fixes in your pack, doesn't it? I know nLite does some timestamp/version checking, but who knows how reliable that is.

My ordering looks like:

RVMUpdatePack2.2.X
DirectX9.0cNovember2007AddOn0.3.4CNC
Ricks_GenuineAdvantage_AddOn_71211
onepiece_ie7addon_1.9.2_enu
WScript57-1.0.0-Addon
RogueSpearAddonsDotNET11SP1
RogueSpearAddonsDotNET20SP1
wmp11-windowsxp-x86-enu
windowsmedia11-kb929399-v2-x86-intl
WindowsMedia11-KB936782-x86-ENU
WindowsMedia11-KB939683-x86-ENU
WindowsXP-KB941569-x86-ENU

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:41 pm

RyanVM wrote:Why do you guys integrate WMP11 before my pack? I would think that's completely backwards...
Two reasons:

1. That's how Booogy recommends
2. It works

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:57 pm

RyanVM wrote:Why do you guys integrate WMP11 before my pack? I would think that's completely backwards...
Ya', no kidding; using nlite I have been able to do all in one operation-ie: RyanVM's pack, Boooggy's WMP11 plus all 11 hotfixes, IE7 and hotfixes (no addon-let nlite slipstream), various shell extension addons-Mrs Peel etc., tweaks, removals and so forth with no errors or problems-typing this on such an install, and MU reports absolutely no hotfixes/updates pending.
When using Integrator to test B2 I slipsteamed Boooggy's WMP11 right after the update pack, before all else-no errors.

User avatar
cyberloner
Posts: 315
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:13 am
Location: http://www.cybermania.ws
Contact:

Post by cyberloner » Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:45 pm

no timezone problem...
fully recreat i386
tested boogy slipstreamer 1st before pack... tested fine..
screen shot of windows update
Image
:D

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:59 pm

I just release RVM Integrator v1.5 RC2. ;)

It has some cool new additions since RC1 and it looks much better and bigger too!

Thanks for the new SiginetSoftware Wrench Wolfx2 and thanks for designing the new Banner that is in the integrator now HJW! These guys are amazing with graphics!

http://integrator.siginetsoftware.com/i ... ons&id=144
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:05 am

good news! siginet, i'll help test unicode compatibility.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

LilSpann601
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Jackson MS

Post by LilSpann601 » Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:39 am

Cool I love the new design

User avatar
quest221
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:23 pm
Location: Shanghai China

Post by quest221 » Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:23 am

Hi,Ryan,
a problem for copy file
nlite delete systeminfo.exe, even if we keep it in [keepfiles].
so I put systeminfo.exe in $OEM$\$$\system32\ folder
but in the the new version b3,it can't copy it to system32 folder after install XP.
You can't say!!!

User avatar
electrogen
Moderator
Posts: 173
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: England

Re: [BETA] Update Pack 2.2.1b3 + Integrator 1.5RC1

Post by electrogen » Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:51 am

RyanVM wrote: Known Issue:
  • Yes, there's an Advanced INF popup at T13 that shouldn't be there. Unfortunately, due to time restrictions (aka, I'm about to leave for a week-long business trip and it was either this or nothing), I'm putting it up as-is for now. It'll be fixed for the final release. Take it or leave it.

    That said, if anybody figures out a solution to the problem, feel free to post it in this thread. Otherwise, I'm pretty sure I know which hotfix caused it, and I'll just take it out if no other solution appears
I had his problem when i used autopatcher, i think it is to do with messenger.

VCC
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:02 pm
Location: Ventura County, CA
Contact:

Post by VCC » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:00 am

RyanVM wrote:Why do you guys integrate WMP11 before my pack? I would think that's completely backwards...
Backwards? What would make you think that?

Think of it this way instead...

1st step=SP2 - Not something I have actually done, it is the Pre Integrated Service Pack 2 release, I just went off the other guy's list because I start with a Pre Integrated SOURCE.

2nd step makes it like the the first step, once it is done, then I don't have to worry about it again and I can use the same source to Integrate other updates into it. - Why do it more than once? It becomes my source is all.
Got Computer?
RyanVM and all that support and help with the RVM Integrator and the Update Packs and Addons. Much appreciation to you! You're Awesome!

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:54 am

VCC wrote:
RyanVM wrote:Why do you guys integrate WMP11 before my pack? I would think that's completely backwards...
Backwards? What would make you think that?

Think of it this way instead...

1st step=SP2 - Not something I have actually done, it is the Pre Integrated Service Pack 2 release, I just went off the other guy's list because I start with a Pre Integrated SOURCE.

2nd step makes it like the the first step, once it is done, then I don't have to worry about it again and I can use the same source to Integrate other updates into it. - Why do it more than once? It becomes my source is all.
I think Booogy has made his WMP11 slipstreamer in a way that it does not interfere with any files that Ryans UpdatePack integrates. I think it would be a much better habit to integrate it after the updatepack though. It just logically makes no since to integrate something that is much newer to your source... then integrate an UpdatePack on top of it. One day the updatepack more than likely may overwrite a file that is needed by wmp11. All addons should be integrated after an updatepack. I'm not saying that it doesn't work the other way... but it does make more since.

Remember... Booogy's slipstreamer also slipstreams any WMP11 updates as well. So if you keep using the same source then eventually you will have a source that is missing wmp11 updates.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:40 pm

even if there will be any files in the update pack that will interfere with wmp 11 it wont matter. wmp11 slipstreamer is checking file version and will add only the newer files.
so the moment when u use wmp11 slipstreamer doesnt matter.
though considering that integrator doesnt check file version, it is recomended that when u integrate update pack using integrator to integrate update pack first.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:42 pm

quest221 wrote:Hi,Ryan,
a problem for copy file
nlite delete systeminfo.exe, even if we keep it in [keepfiles].
so I put systeminfo.exe in $OEM$\$$\system32\ folder
but in the the new version b3,it can't copy it to system32 folder after install XP.
Do you have the following code in your WINNT.SIF, quest221?

Code: Select all

[Unattended]
    OemPreinstall="Yes"
It is necessary to use the $OEM$ Distribution Folders.

User avatar
Mavericks choice
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 3:39 am
Location: Downunder

Post by Mavericks choice » Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:44 pm

All solid here & nothing got burnt.

Cheers
MC
The Man from Aus

Locked