windows battery installer intergrated install issue

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
viinno
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:29 am

windows battery installer intergrated install issue

Post by viinno » Wed May 30, 2007 4:11 pm

xp pro sp2 intergrated with:
RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.9
MrDNx`s IE7
Boooogys WMP11
RyanVM DirectX 9.0c Addon 1.3 (April 2007)
MJVM
RyanVM WGA Notifications Addon 1.7.18.5a
RyanVM .NET Framework All-In-One Package BETA2

think thats it, but anyway, installing on a Dell Insipiron E1505 when windows finally did boot it gave me the error

"Device Installer Error"
"windows could not load the installer for Battery, Contact you hardware vendor for assistance. "

The battery would remain an unknown device untill I took my original xp pro disc (without sp2) and re installed from scratch.
Any ideas?
It would appear to me that the update pack is failing to load the battery installer, prehaps someone with much grater windows knowledge will know what part of windows handles this.

Also while im posting, same install as earlier, noticing a lot of "windows needs to close" "sorry but everything thing youve just been working on has now been deleted, have a nice day :lol: " errors all of a sudden. This is on a desktop tho,

viinno
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:29 am

Post by viinno » Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:58 pm

I see.......
So no one has idea what part of windows handles installing batteries(battery driver) for laptops, or what might be missing/failing to install from Ryans intergrator.
Guess I`ll go download the 80+ updates post SP2 and intergrate them using /integrate: :cry: and have to live without including .net 3.0 and ie 7 my install for laptop :(

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Mon Jun 11, 2007 1:30 pm

maybe related to some weird config: Wireless card,ware
maybe try disconnecting (or from bios) hooked stuff wile setup is running ....
good luck.

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:43 am

i have the same problem.
not installed on a laptop, but VMware.
i use chinese os so i integrated the updatepack i'v made(the latest one, which is not open).
i've checked those patches, without finding any intergrating mistakes.
however,thank you for your post, so i'll look on patches added in Ryan's Pack 2.1.9. And i'll search for other posts related on this issue.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:14 am

http://www.msfn.org/board/lofiversion/i ... 69669.html

i've found this post. it shows a way to solve this problem, but does not conclude the reason.

this is the first time i occured this issue, so i'm very puzzled. :?
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

ilu4life
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:43 am

Post by ilu4life » Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:26 pm

I use HP nx 6120 ad used to have the same problem.I found out I didnt have a problem if i just integrated the Updates with the OEM cd I got.But when i slipstream other softwares,it was a problem.

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:11 am

i think i may have found the reason, it's kb923293.
and now i'm going to see how to integrate this hotfix without messing it up.

BTW, now kb923293 is updated to KB934428, but it does nothing to this bug. so i think the reason is in entries.ini.

if i get any progress, i'll report it here.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

ilu4life
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:43 am

Post by ilu4life » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:30 am

Wow....thanks yumeyao bro.Really appreciate your work :)

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:37 am

yumeyao - the error the OP is reporting has been around for WAAAAAAAAY longer than 923293. Hell, I'm 99% sure it's been around longer than my pack :lol:
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:05 pm

yeah, but...do you know why i think the reason be KB923293?
first time, i recieved this error message in a VMware test.
Then i rebuilded the updateback using my last good version and adding hotfixes ten by ten to check which hotfix made it.
but when all hotfixes were finished, the error message still didn't come.
then i used beyond compare, finding that i forgot to add entries of files of KB934428 in my later work(means, i added KB934428 to [svcpack_catalogs], but forgot files to other sections). and when I added these entries, it turned bad.

well, i'll go testing today, to see how to integrate it without this bug.

---------------------AND ALSO-------------------------
i remember that an error could be made by replacing notepad.exe. we all don't know what a install CD really thinks. :shock:
Last edited by yumeyao on Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:11 am

i checked it again.
[dosnet_files]
d1,sffp_mmc.sys

[txtsetup_files]
sffp_mmc.sys = 100,,,,,,,4,0,0

[drivercab_copy]
sdbus.sys
sffdisk.sys
sffp_mmc.sys
sffp_sd.sys

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\sdbus.inf
rvmtemp\extracted\sdbus.sys
rvmtemp\extracted\sffdisk.inf
rvmtemp\extracted\sffdisk.sys
rvmtemp\extracted\sffp_mmc.sys
rvmtemp\extracted\sffp_sd.sys
if they are added, the error msg appears after integration.

i'll check on earth which file caused this issue ----->check one by one :wink:
that will be of a lot of time, wait for me :wink:

Belows don't affects!
[dosnet_files]
d1,sffp_mmc.sys

[txtsetup_files]
sffp_mmc.sys = 100,,,,,,,4,0,0

[drivercab_copy]
sdbus.sys
sffdisk.sys
sffp_mmc.sys
sffp_sd.sys
Last edited by yumeyao on Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:20 am

now i believe it's one or two of these two files:
sdbus.inf sdbus.sys

---------edited------------
now it's midnight in china, i'm gonna sleeping.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:34 pm

it's sdbus.inf
new sdbus.inf adds this line,
[SDBUSLocationReg]
HKR,,CardPresenceCheckDelay,0x00010001,500000

so i decided to copy this line into maininf file, then delete sdbus.inf, then repack and do test.
i'll report whether this solution works soon.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

viinno
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:29 am

Post by viinno » Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:49 pm

Well it is definatly an error caused by an intergration, an original install and then a full set of updates worked with zero porblems, prehaps its not the update pack, maybe its IE7, didnt mrdnx say something about battery installer error when he was experimenting with removing the need to reboot? ( I did look again on that but im thinking the post was edited) if I still had that laptop here I'd try an install without IE7 intergrated, alas it has allready been collected.

Ryan prehaps a little more input on ur behalf would help here (though I get the impression you really dont care) assuming the error has been around a while, why is it I only had a problem with the intergrated install? I will also add I had done an install on another laptop recently and the same intergrated install worked fine. Dell sucks I guess.......

Good luck yumeyao and great job on working on it

ilu4life
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:43 am

Post by ilu4life » Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:18 am

from my experience,it doesnt happen if u integrate XPSP2 with just the latest update pack.It happens when I decide to add extra addons from this site....maybe some other program is breaking it.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:08 pm

this error doesn't do anything if you cannot reproduce it for yourself.
and i can give you plenty examples as to why you are getting the error. then when i put them all together
each one is a good to bring you the error so again, if you don't know for sure whats causing it
at least you know its broken ..

* bad hardware
* bad file (CRC miss-match) (recommended )
* poorly written inf file (recommended)
* bad integration
* etc

these can bring this error and its like the other famous errors that you get if you don't have order on the image/cd

emob
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:56 pm

Post by emob » Fri Aug 31, 2007 4:08 pm

Any news on this?

elrico
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by elrico » Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:57 pm

Hi

this solved for me issu with battery :

Replace the version section of svcpack.inf by this :

Code: Select all

[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
BuildNumber=2600
MinorVersion=1
MajorVersion=5
Don't know if that can help for you, but i spend two day to find that on some XP CD svcpack.inf start with only this
[Version]
Signature="$WINDOWS NT$"
MajorVersion=5

And replacing give me no more battery errors.

ELrico

PS : svcpack.inf is compressed on i386 directory (svcpack.in_)

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:03 pm

your information is quite useful, elrico, i'll check it as soon as i return home... (23days later?(T_T))
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

cool_recep
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:50 am

Post by cool_recep » Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:56 am

I had the same problem.

In addition to this problem, Windows does not even install any unsigned driver.

The solution is so simple that you can not even imagine; Just two lines of codes:

Inside WINNT.SIF put these codes under the [Unattended] section:

DriverSigningPolicy=Ignore
NonDriverSigningPolicy=Ignore

and thats it...

User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Post by yumeyao » Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:49 pm

to cool_recep:
yeah, your method sounds reasonable whereas elrico's sounds a little strange.
yet , there should be a solution to let ryanvm integrator do the file modifying(whether it's svcpack.inf or winnt.sif) for you. however, i think svcpack.inf is more acceptable, because winnt.sif contains information of unattended installing that shouldn't be modified.(though i'd love to change there items to ignore)
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

Ben.Hahlen

Post by Ben.Hahlen » Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:27 pm

I am currently receiving the error in VMWare as well. Never experienced it before.
Will try the solution provided by cool_recep, but it looks more like a "work-around" than a proper solution to me. (Could be wrong of course).

Will update when tested.

elrico
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by elrico » Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:55 pm

Ok for me i'd got this probleme only with some CD of XP. All my XP CD are from safe source (original). And it's on french XP.

It's easy to verify if the probleme came or not from svcpack.inf, unpack it (after integration ;) ) and see if only two lines are under [version]. IF yes put the full information (4 lines).

And i make CD without winnt.sif (repar CD) and i think driversignpolicy workaround is not a good thing. Because for me the drivers non signed are only visible part of iceberg. (personnaly i always put this line on winnt.sif exept when i test an new CD, because i want it clean as possible).

If the probleme come for other people and can be resolved with editing svcpack.inf, please report it and the version of XP CD you use. For me (and some other user of my pack) : with XP home french - SP2 integrated by MS itself.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Thu Jan 17, 2008 11:17 pm

OEM Version of XP Pro SP2 English. Updated with 2.2.1-b3. During install (since I was testing WITHOUT an unattended setup), I got prompted for installing the battery because the driver was not digitally signed.

So, there _was_ no winnt.sif. I did how ever use my own patch addons for the install, specifically SFC and SysSetup (Inf Skip).

User avatar
bartgrefte
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:43 pm

Post by bartgrefte » Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:01 am

Sorry for the kick, but have the same problem as Zacam with a Dutch XP Home OEM and another version too, although I don't remember being that Dutch XP Pro x86 or XP Pro x64 or both.
The last two are unattended, so have the driversigningpolicy thingy in the winnt.sif set to ignore, however, the XP Home must NOT be unattended.

Unfortunatly, elrico's sollution isn't gonna work here, for the XP Home, all those 4 lines are already present.

The setupapi.log says this:

Code: Select all

#E366 Een niet-ondertekend of een onjuist ondertekend bestand c:\windows\inf\syssetup.inf voor het stuurprogramma Battery wordt geïnstalleerd (beleid=waarschuwen,gebruiker is akkoord). Fout 1168: Kan element niet vinden.
Means something like: #E366 A not (correctly) signed file c:\windows\inf\syssetup.inf couldn't be installed for the device-driver Battery. (policy=warning, user acknowledges). Error 1168: cannot find element.

Only thing I did with the XP Home was this:
Integrate SP3 with the integrate switch, after that I used RVMI to integrate the post sp3 update pack + IE8 pack + AIO Framework pack.

Post Reply