[Release] SP3 WBEM Fix AddOn v1.1

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

[Release] SP3 WBEM Fix AddOn v1.1

Post by MrNxDmX » Sun May 04, 2008 7:31 pm

This addon will fix the file copy error of napclientprov.mof & napclientschema.mof in windows Xp Sp3 setup. This errors occurs when you dont use sfc_os patch and use an/multiple addons in your XPCD.
Image

Please test and report feedback.
The fix is worked ok on English and Turkish Windows XP SP3 disc. Need confirmation for other languages.
I hope this fix help others for perfecting the sp3 release :)

Download: http://mrnxdmx.ryanvm.net/NR_WBEM_Fix_AddOn_v1.1.7z
Size: 0,5KB / MD5: 87C6DEC40BADAF59CDDDABDCBB2CDE0C

NOTES:
boooggy has posted a workaround here.
And Chironz suggested putting napclientprov.mof and napclientschema.mof (extracted) on the root directory of XPCD here.
And boooggy posted that disabling sfc fixes this error at same time.

Changelog:
08/05/10 v1.1: Updated addon with suggestion of ENU_user.

PS: The naming of the addon maybe silly for you, but i couldnt find a better one :P
Last edited by MrNxDmX on Mon May 12, 2008 8:58 pm, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sun May 04, 2008 7:45 pm

Awfully nice of you, MrNxDmX! Thanks.

User avatar
project51
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:38 pm

Post by project51 » Sun May 04, 2008 8:26 pm

Entries_NR_WBEM_Fix.ini:

Code: Select all

[general]
builddate=[color=yellow]15/July/2007[/color]
description=NR's WBEM Fix AddOn for Windows XP SP3
Will test... :wink:

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Sun May 04, 2008 11:36 pm

project51 wrote:Entries_NR_WBEM_Fix.ini:

Code: Select all

[general]
builddate=[color=yellow]15/July/2007[/color]
description=NR's WBEM Fix AddOn for Windows XP SP3
Will test... :wink:
LOL
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

User avatar
crashfly
Posts: 789
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Arkansas, USA

Post by crashfly » Mon May 05, 2008 9:46 pm

Further investigation of this addon seems to indicate exclusive compatibility with only RyanVM's Integrator. Any chance of making this work with nlite also?
Last edited by crashfly on Tue May 06, 2008 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
A mind is like a parachute, it only functions when it is open.
--Anonymous

How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Mon May 05, 2008 10:19 pm

If this fix works, it will help a lot of users making their own ISO.
Since, the missing of these files can easily break all the installation of every addons.
Image

User avatar
Chironz
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:18 pm

Post by Chironz » Tue May 06, 2008 2:07 am

Thanks for this workaround addon.


@ To All Nlite users
sfc_os patching seems to be not applied correctly on latest nlite build.
just use sfc_os posted by boooggy

http://rapidshare.com/files/110972282/sfc_os.dll.html

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Tue May 06, 2008 2:37 am

chironz....hehehe that sfc_os posted by me is patched using nlite..... :P :P :P

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue May 06, 2008 9:05 am

this is the right fix!

some prefer sfc_os default!

just tested this & it also takes care of all the delay wile booting

this is excellent initiative MrNxDmX, made a big difference to the setup BTW ;)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed May 07, 2008 9:19 pm

project51 wrote:Entries_NR_WBEM_Fix.ini:

Code: Select all

[general]
builddate=[color=yellow]15/July/2007[/color]
description=NR's WBEM Fix AddOn for Windows XP SP3
Will test... :wink:
LOL, fixed it :)

I added an alternate addon that contains the fixed file.

@ Siginet: If I use the addon a second time with RVMi after first integration completes, will it be editing the file again? Will the file look like this?
napclientprov.mof,napprov.mof,napprov.mof
napclientschema.mof,napschem.mof,napschem.mof
If yes, its better to use replacer one. Right? :)

@ All: You're welcome as always :wink:

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed May 07, 2008 9:36 pm

yes on re-runs that what will happen

this should take care of that:

Code: Select all

wbemoc.inf|napclientprov.mof,napprov.mof|napclientprov.mof|0
wbemoc.inf|napclientprov.mof|napclientprov.mof,napprov.mof|1
wbemoc.inf|napclientschema.mof,napschem.mof|napclientschema.mof|0
wbemoc.inf|napclientschema.mof|napclientschema.mof,napschem.mof|1
btw is siginets site down ? because i cannot reach it for some reason...

ace_neo
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 1:51 am

Post by ace_neo » Thu May 08, 2008 2:29 am

MrNxDmX which addon to use?
1. http://mrnxdmx.ryanvm.net/NR_WBEM_Fix_AddOn.7z

OR

2. http://mrnxdmx.ryanvm.net/NR_WBEM_Fix_Replacer_AddOn.7z

In nlte we can disable sfc_os by using nlite software. Then why to use this addon?

elrico
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by elrico » Thu May 08, 2008 8:58 am

Thanks very much.

I'had some errors on my French post SP3 UpdatePack (i use a cab file on it), and looked at XP install log file and see somes bad things about napclientprov.mof (no errors during GUI setup, only silently logged).

Hopfully the guy of RyanVm forums already found the issue :P . I edited the wbemoc.inf of the French SP3 and inclued it in my pack.

Now all work like a charm.

Thanks very much :D

Elrico

PS i put a link in my changelog to your thread.

User avatar
galileo
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:11 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA

Post by galileo » Thu May 08, 2008 10:23 am

...some further observations:

I did a couple of builds XPHome SP1>SP2>SP3 (Dell XPH OEM disk) including several addons (about a dozen or so) which did include OnePiece's IE7 2.1.1_ENU.7z addon. The builds were done within an XPH "SP3" environment with nlite 1.4.5 b2.

There were "no" install glitches at all and the system auto-activated on first boot - this was a totally unattended install that ran through completely and cleanly. I will check the setup logs again this evening after work - but - if I remember correctly they were all 0k files thus clean.

If anyone else has done builds on an XP SP3 system it would be worth validating whether or not that environment will solve the installation issues that have been seen here.....

...just another 2¢...

benjamminzIS
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:07 am

Post by benjamminzIS » Thu May 08, 2008 2:34 pm

ENU_user wrote:this is the right fix!

some prefer sfc_os default!

just tested this & it also takes care of all the delay wile booting

this is excellent initiative MrNxDmX, made a big difference to the setup BTW ;)
what is this delay you speak of? does sp3 take longer to setup without this addon? I disable sfc_os by default so I've never had the issue mentioned in this thread... but if this addon will speed up the setup a little I'm all for it!!!
_coming soon, don't hold your breath

benjamminzIS
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:07 am

Post by benjamminzIS » Thu May 08, 2008 5:58 pm

I slipped (manually copied the inf to i386 folder) this after I had already nLite'd my SP3 source and received this error: cannot copy wscenter.mof, missing or corrupted... file doesn't seem to be in the source? is this a SP3 only file? can I just edit out that line in the wbem.inf???
_coming soon, don't hold your breath

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu May 08, 2008 6:51 pm

staying loyal to the source you shouldnt edit out anything
this fix is intended for fixing an actual issue with sp3. unrelated to sfc_os in & when adding stuff with addons especially!,you can notice that everything works as expected (with out errors)

benjamminzIS
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:07 am

Post by benjamminzIS » Fri May 09, 2008 2:45 am

well, what I'm saying is wscenter.mof is NOT in the source... so when this INF is ran it errors the installation because wscenter.mof is not on the source so it can't copy it to anywhere... what is wscenter.mof? could it be related to a component I removed with nLite? should I maybe copy this inf to the source BEFORE running nLite? Maybe then it will edit this INF to reflect the removal of wscenter.mof?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
_coming soon, don't hold your breath

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri May 09, 2008 4:17 am

benjamminzIS wrote:well, what I'm saying is wscenter.mof is NOT in the source... so when this INF is ran it errors the installation because wscenter.mof is not on the source so it can't copy it to anywhere... what is wscenter.mof? could it be related to a component I removed with nLite? should I maybe copy this inf to the source BEFORE running nLite? Maybe then it will edit this INF to reflect the removal of wscenter.mof?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
the files are resident on the source but apparently not registered properly on this new SP3
nlite applies this very same workaround fix. btw

if its related to security center as wscenter.mof nlite will probably remove it but here other files are issued :

napprov.mof & napschem.mof
Last edited by ENU_user on Fri May 09, 2008 4:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Fri May 09, 2008 4:23 am

benjamminzIS wrote:well, what I'm saying is wscenter.mof is NOT in the source... so when this INF is ran it errors the installation because wscenter.mof is not on the source so it can't copy it to anywhere... what is wscenter.mof? could it be related to a component I removed with nLite? should I maybe copy this inf to the source BEFORE running nLite? Maybe then it will edit this INF to reflect the removal of wscenter.mof?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
Sounds like its something to do with the Security Center, have you removed any security related stuff with nLite?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri May 09, 2008 5:15 am

MrNxDmX, its missing edits for the other instances of the mentioned
this will take care of the other instances plus solve the re-runs issue.

Code: Select all

wbemoc.inf|napclientprov.mof,napprov.mof|napclientprov.mof|0
wbemoc.inf|napclientprov.mof|napclientprov.mof,napprov.mof|0
wbemoc.inf|napclientschema.mof,napschem.mof|napclientschema.mof|0
wbemoc.inf|napclientschema.mof|napclientschema.mof,napschem.mof|0
@benjamminzIS offtopic
you can try removing the reference like this ... security center removal

Code: Select all

wbemoc.inf|wscenter.mof||0
i think there is an issue with this removal check nlite forums

anonim1979
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:33 pm

Post by anonim1979 » Fri May 09, 2008 8:17 am

I dont think that second instance of:
napclientprov.mof
napclientschema.mof
should be modified like the first

I think that this part should stay as it is:
[WBEM.SYSTEMMOFS]
....
CmdEvTgProv.mof
dgnet.mof
whqlprov.mof ; wmi provider for whql to get driver signing info. a-kjaw
ieinfo5.mof
rsop.mof
rsop.mfl
wscenter.mof
napclientprov.mof
napclientschema.mof
The first is in COPY files section and is indeed missing 8.3 filename. So the instaler dont know from what 8.3 file copy that long filename files.

But second is in section that doesn't copy files and there are other not 8.3 names:
CmdEvTgProv.mof
there is no need to add references for source files in this section.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri May 09, 2008 8:58 am

I guess there is no need to get the second instance as this works the same, how ever thats how nlite spots this.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri May 09, 2008 8:49 pm

Updated the addon with ENU_user's sugestion. Thanks a bunch mate :)

IMO, this addon is a must for a sp3 source. After ENU_user's suggestion there is no need for replacer addon anymore. Addon works with nlite too :)

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 10, 2008 12:17 am

It would make me feel better if I knew what the real cause of this is. With the addons I used on my one real install so far (in the near future to be many more), I didn't have this issue.

Done with nLite:

Code: Select all

[Hotfixes]
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\RED_XP_SP3_UpdatePack_1.8.2.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\IE7-WindowsXP-x86-enu - v7.0 dated 20071004.exe
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\DirectX_9.0c_End-User_Runtime_AddOn_0.3.4_-_redxii.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\5er_KB893056_SP3_Addon.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\xable_WGAN-v1.2_addon.cab
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\NR_VGamesAIO_Addon_v1.3.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\2.  Ricks_WindowsSidebar_AlkyXP1.1_AddOn.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\Ricks_CCleaner2.06.567_AS_AddOn.rar

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sat May 10, 2008 1:55 am

Am I correct in guessing that this addon will have a short life; as soon as the Integrator, Booggy, and Nuhi get the concept and code right their slipstreamers will do this work, yes?

Currently, I integrate in this order

SP xx (2, 3, whatever) via command-line (/integrate)
WMP11 (via Boooggy)
Addons & custom-settings, 40 addons & a pile of customizations (via Nlite)
ISO (also via Nlite)

And I've not seen the file copy/sfc problems some have.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat May 10, 2008 5:54 am

newsposter....
nlite already does it since version 1.4.5 beta
wmp11 slipstreamer will do it in next version.

ps
if u slipstream sp3 into a gold (rtm) disk sp2 is not needed.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat May 10, 2008 7:44 am

nlite does that only when it comes across to edit the file when its removing security center, firewall etc

wile this should be applied in general, as soon as SP3 is detected.


maybe a mod can sticky something on a locked thread,like Topic: "SP3 FIX"
explaining:
"it should be a built in fix, but for now you can use this addon .


as soon as this fix goes built in RVIntegrator as a workaround for SP3, the topic can then be removed.

Sereby
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by Sereby » Sat May 10, 2008 4:28 pm

this addon should not be needed anymore because nuhi added this fix into nlite 1.4.5 final!
He silently updated it!

http://www.msfn.org/board/nLite-145-Fin ... ntry762147

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat May 10, 2008 5:44 pm

yes, it is now default with the latest nlite.

note: for those working their way with RVMI ..you will still need this addon for SP3 (integrated!)

benjamminzIS
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:07 am

Post by benjamminzIS » Sat May 10, 2008 7:47 pm

boooggy wrote:newsposter....
nlite already does it since version 1.4.5 beta
wmp11 slipstreamer will do it in next version.

ps
if u slipstream sp3 into a gold (rtm) disk sp2 is not needed.
it states on sp3 site though that it is recommended that sp3 is installed on sp2 but no less than sp1... are you sure that you can slip sp0-->sp3 and have zero issues?
_coming soon, don't hold your breath

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 10, 2008 8:10 pm

http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/Sho ... &SiteID=17:
Jannie Roelofse wrote:23 Apr 2008, 9:49 AM UTC

Posts 4
To Chris Keroack [MSFT] - Slipstreaming

Hi Chris

What would be the end result or difference when I slipstream SP3 RTM into either

1. XP Pro RTM

2. XP Pro with SP1

3. XPPro with SP2

Best Regards

Jannie
Shashank Bansal [MSFT] wrote:23 Apr 2008, 9:57 AM UTC

Posts 596 Re: To Chris Keroack [MSFT] - Slipstreaming

Hi Jannie,

There would practically be no difference between the OS image obtained from any of these.

They would all be the same (XP SP3 OS images).

Thanks

Shashank

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We build XP SP3!
Plus the evidence of my comparisons between SP0->SP3 and SP2->SP3; both installation sources and destination install partitions.

I'm not happy with the vagueness of the statement "practically be no difference", but I'm reasonably satisfied that any of the methods are officially sanctioned by Microsoft. Either that or they just don't care. :)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat May 10, 2008 11:07 pm

benjamminzIS wrote:are you sure that you can slip sp0-->sp3 and have zero issues?
My own testing confirms zero issues on Home Retail and Pro Corporate sources.
MrNxDmX wrote:IMO, this addon is a must for a sp3 source.
ENU_user wrote:as soon as this fix goes built in RVIntegrator as a workaround for SP3, the topic can then be removed.
I am hopeful that Siginet will include the functionality of this addon by default in the next version of the Integrator.

elrico
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by elrico » Sun May 11, 2008 9:43 am

The file is not the same for XP pro and XP home.

And i don't know why, but if i make two folders in my UpdatePack (one home, one pro) and i put the good file in the good dir, this is always the pro who is integrated.

I tryed with an addon too, but the result is not good, the integrator add only the two folder in i386.

I use RVMi 1.5.3 and i put the name of the file in i386_compress section like this :

Code: Select all

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\WBEMOC.INF
I'm lost...

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun May 11, 2008 10:10 am

the same happened to benjamminzIS but on a different occasion here
where he had nlite edit\remove out stuff from the file and then he had integrated the modified vanilla "webmoc.inf"from MrNxDmX's replacer addon

1) use only the first addon ( edit version)

btw, including the edited file in the update pack cant be the best way of getting this done ,as you can simply add the edits to entries.ini ...

the first addon linked for download @the topic will work both on home & pro ...

elrico
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by elrico » Sun May 11, 2008 11:04 am

Thanks for the fast reply.

I test the extraedit that modify once the entrie, this work fine, even with re-run.

:D

All is good now!

(but what about home/pro dir, i think i must ask in siginet forum how this work)

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon May 12, 2008 6:20 pm

so do i integrate either addon b4 or after slipping wmp ?b4 is more convenient but logic says after...sooo
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon May 12, 2008 9:00 pm

Ok, it seems first addon does the job perfect with itself. I removed the edited wbemoc.inf file, it just mixes up minds.

bober101, it doesnt matter if u integrate the addon before of after. AFAIK, wmp11 doesnt touch that file.
In case you run wmp11 slipstreamer al last, you'll use this addon b4 wmp11 :)

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Tue May 13, 2008 12:13 am

ok thx,will do.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

yadzil
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:18 am

Post by yadzil » Fri May 16, 2008 11:08 am

Hi MrNxDmX. I used patch sfc_os by Zacam for my XP SP3 but other addon integrated won't install. Then I tried your addon (SP3 WBEM Fix AddOn v1.1) ...other addon install correctly.

Do I need the sfc_os patch if I use this addon?

What the different between this addon and sfc_os patch?

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Fri May 16, 2008 11:21 am

yadzil wrote:Hi MrNxDmX. I used patch sfc_os by Zacam for my XP SP3 but other addon integrated won't install. Then I tried your addon (SP3 WBEM Fix AddOn v1.1) ...other addon install correctly.

Do I need the sfc_os patch if I use this addon?

What the different between this addon and sfc_os patch?
Patching SFC will cause Windows XP to stop replacing system files automatically when they are patched/hacked/whatever.

This addon fixes the file copy error of napclientprov.mof & napclientschema.mof only. As I understand it, if you patch SFC then this addon isn't necessary.

No offense to MrNxDmX but I don't intend to use this addon until I actually have the problem because on the one real computer I installed fresh with SP3 slipstreamed and SFC not patched, I didn't have this problem so it's evidently only when some addons are used, but none of the ones I used.

yadzil
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:18 am

Post by yadzil » Fri May 16, 2008 12:32 pm

[quote="roirraW "edor""] This addon fixes the file copy error of napclientprov.mof & napclientschema.mof only. As I understand it, if you patch SFC then this addon isn't necessary. [/quote]

But my addon won't install correctly when I use sfc_patch alone. Now I use this fix alone with other addon but without sfc_os patch...all my addon installed correctly.

since this patch only fix the file copy error of napclientprov.mof & napclientschema.mof only, do we really need sfc_os patch together with this patch?

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Fri May 16, 2008 4:09 pm

[quote="roirraW "edor""]
This addon fixes the file copy error of napclientprov.mof & napclientschema.mof only. As I understand it, if you patch SFC then this addon isn't necessary.[/quote]

This addon fixes a bad registering of the files napclientprov.mof & napclientschema.mof inside their dedicated inf file as found and as shipped on sp3!

yadzil, you are correct addons wont work correctly @ most without this fix
so for the 100-1000 time sfc_os patch cant and wont help :!:

besides the fact that it disables the system file protection. and change somewhat the setup routine as a result of applying it, "by passing the issue" where it wont and cant directly fix the issue, no matter what ...

a good place to start ;)

Skylon
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 10:44 pm

Post by Skylon » Fri May 16, 2008 10:50 pm

[quote="roirraW "edor""]It would make me feel better if I knew what the real cause of this is. With the addons I used on my one real install so far (in the near future to be many more), I didn't have this issue.

Done with nLite:

Code: Select all

[Hotfixes]
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\RED_XP_SP3_UpdatePack_1.8.2.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\IE7-WindowsXP-x86-enu - v7.0 dated 20071004.exe
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\DirectX_9.0c_End-User_Runtime_AddOn_0.3.4_-_redxii.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\5er_KB893056_SP3_Addon.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\xable_WGAN-v1.2_addon.cab
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\NR_VGamesAIO_Addon_v1.3.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\2.  Ricks_WindowsSidebar_AlkyXP1.1_AddOn.7z
E:\WinXPUpdate\RVM\Ricks_CCleaner2.06.567_AS_AddOn.rar
[/quote]

Hmm... XP SP3 already has DirectX 9.0c and the Hibernate button fix (KB893056), you just need to modify the registry to get that Hibernate button. I think these 2 hotfixes are unnecessary for XP SP3.

User avatar
roirraW "edor"
Posts: 761
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraW "edor" » Sat May 17, 2008 1:41 am

That addon doesn't actually include the hotfix, just the registry change to enable it, which is why it's named specifically for SP3.

Also yes, SP3 includes 9.0c, but 9.0c has been out for many years and has several revisions that you can only find by looking at build numbers. I haven't had time to test lately to conclude for myself whether the latest addon for DirectX is newer than the builds included with SP3, but no matter what by the time a couple more months pass by, the newest DirectX addon by that point will be superceding SP3's.

That and I know it still works fine so not much harm done.

Jondar
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:06 am
Location: Maitland NSW AU
Contact:

Post by Jondar » Sat May 17, 2008 3:41 am

Skylon wrote:Hmm... XP SP3 already has DirectX 9.0c...
It may have, but it doesn't have the files that are included in redxii's DirectX addon (like all the d3dx9_*.dll and xactengine*.dll files). redxii's addon specifically adds those files, and from my tests does absolutely no harm to include them on a SP3 disc.

-- Jondar

anonim1979
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:33 pm

Post by anonim1979 » Tue May 20, 2008 12:13 am

anonim1979 wrote:I dont think that second instance of:
napclientprov.mof
napclientschema.mof
should be modified like the first

I think that this part should stay as it is:
[WBEM.SYSTEMMOFS]
....
CmdEvTgProv.mof
dgnet.mof
whqlprov.mof ; wmi provider for whql to get driver signing info. a-kjaw
ieinfo5.mof
rsop.mof
rsop.mfl
wscenter.mof
napclientprov.mof
napclientschema.mof
The first is in COPY files section and is indeed missing 8.3 filename. So the instaler dont know from what 8.3 file copy that long filename files.

But second is in section that doesn't copy files and there are other not 8.3 names:
CmdEvTgProv.mof
there is no need to add references for source files in this section.
checked:
c:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\Logs\setup.log
c:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\Logs\mofcomp.log

Modified 2 instances (like 1.2 slipstreamer do)
(Tue May 20 05:34:31 2008): Beginning Wbemupgd.dll Registration
(Tue May 20 05:34:31 2008): Current build of wbemupgd.dll is 5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2108)
(Tue May 20 05:34:31 2008): Beginning Core Upgrade
(Tue May 20 05:34:31 2008): ERROR: GetStandardMofs failed to locate file C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\napclientprov.mof,napprov.mof.
(Tue May 20 05:34:31 2008): ERROR: GetStandardMofs failed to locate file C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\napclientschema.mof,napschem.mof.
(Tue May 20 05:34:31 2008): Beginning MOF load
(Tue May 20 05:34:31 2008): Processing C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\cimwin32.mof


One (like I recomended)
(Tue May 20 03:48:43 2008): Beginning Wbemupgd.dll Registration
(Tue May 20 03:48:43 2008): Current build of wbemupgd.dll is 5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2108)
(Tue May 20 03:48:43 2008): Beginning Core Upgrade
(Tue May 20 03:48:43 2008): Beginning MOF load
(Tue May 20 03:48:43 2008): Processing C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\cimwin32.mof
And they show properly in
c:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\Logs\mofcomp.log
C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\napclientprov.mof
(Tue May 20 03:49:25 2008.1242797) : Finished compiling file:C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\napclientprov.mof
(Tue May 20 03:49:25 2008.1242807) : Przetwarzanie pliku MOF: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\napclientschema.mof
(Tue May 20 03:49:25 2008.1242857) : Finished compiling file:C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\napclientschema.mof

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue May 20, 2008 5:05 pm

anonim1979, can you tell me how can i use your way? I cant see a reference for it in your post :wink:

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue May 20, 2008 5:27 pm

anonim1979, nlite or slipstreamer wil get both instances

use this addon after nlite or slipstreamer and it will remove the second instance

leaving you with the first instance edited only! & like you sujested! ;)

& thanks for checking it out ...

anonim1979
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:33 pm

Post by anonim1979 » Tue May 20, 2008 5:34 pm

@ENU_user
Risky risky ;) forget about one, use nlite odd number of times? and.... ;)

EDIT:
ENU_user you are right if you use integrator with this fix AFTER silpstreamer 1.2 it will fix that problem.
Checked and confirmed.

---------------------
Anyway soon WMPslipstreamer will be fixed.


@MrNxDmx
The modifications made by WMP11Splipstreamer 1.2/ (nLite too? - I didn't have time to check) to wbemoc.inf in [WBEM.SYSTEMMOFS] section are unnesesarty and you can see this in log files;
ERROR: GetStandardMofs failed to locate file C:\WINDOWS\system32\WBEM\napclientprov.mof,napprov.mof.
problematic

Read here how to do it manualy/download proper wbemoc.in_ file:
http://www.msfn.org/board/RELEASE-Booog ... ntry761670

Developer of WMP11 Slipstreamer - n7epsilon - will implement fix in next version of WMP11 slipstreamer
http://www.msfn.org/board/RELEASE-Booog ... ntry766018
I have seen and confirmed this issue, thanks for reporting it. It will make a point release later today if no other issues arise to fix this problem.

EDIT:
Ver 1.1 of NR_WBEM_Fix_AddOn_v1.1.7z on top of this page AFTER WMP11slipstreamer will properly add entries and FIX any issues with 1.2

All OK :)
Last edited by anonim1979 on Tue May 20, 2008 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply