[Rel] System File Patches >09/23/08<

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:41 pm

i think sfc got updated.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:38 am

We might be waiting a while :wink:

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:41 am

Just until this weekend. Work has been, to put it bluntly, hell.

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:45 am

oh, no rush, i just noticed and wasint sure.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:45 am

Nice one Zacam! And sorry to hear that work is crap at the moment, I really know how you feel. Take it easy.

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:17 am

bober101 do you know what updated updated the ofc_os.dll let me know and I will look in to the patch.

Thanks,
dolivas

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:09 am

ill try to investigate, i havint had time to chek it out.

edit:
lol no updates were made my bad.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:14 am

Hi everyone,
tcpip.sys patch needs to be updated again for RyanVM's post-SP3 UpdatePack 1.0.0 support here is the code to add to the end of the current tcpip patch file. This code is for tcpip_100 if you are going to use a different version just change the 64 to the correct value if you use 150=96, 200=C8 or 250=FA

Code: Select all

;KB951163 - RVM 1.0.0
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5649|326470|0A|64
Tested and verified the location did not change this time only the version.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:46 am

Many thanks Dolivas! It's a great service to people here, when people post info like yours.

shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Post by shon3i » Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:10 am

Is there patch for OnePiece Post SP3 Update pack for TCPIP.SYS because is not same as in Ryan pack?

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm

shon3i what version is it and what update did it come from? Once I have this information I will look at it and give you the patch information.

dolivas

shon3i
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:16 pm

Post by shon3i » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:07 pm

The version is 5.1.2600.5625, and comes with Onepiece Post SP3 Update Pack, i rely don't know what hotfix is.

dolivas, many thanks :) I hope you have informations you need to make patch :)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:34 pm

KB951748 contains TCPIP.SYS v5.1.2600.5625. RyanVM's Update Pack uses TCPIP.SYS v5.1.2600.5649 from KB951163.

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:25 pm

5eraph is correct and here is the code for version 5625 if you look back a bit you will see I posted this awhile ago and Zacam confirmed the code.

Code: Select all

;KB951748 - RVM 0.9.2
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5625|326470|0A|64
This is for TCPIP100 change the 64 for the version you would like to use.

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:33 am

Zacam hope you are well I have a request please if you get time could you make a 1400x1050 HIVESYS.INF LCD

Thanks,
dolivas

User avatar
Nameless Mofo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:18 pm

Post by Nameless Mofo » Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:13 am

I asked this in another thread but probably should have asked it here: does the syssetup.dll edit allow customized layout.inf files? According to Ryan, it does.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:22 pm

Nameless Mofo wrote:I asked this in another thread but probably should have asked it here: does the syssetup.dll edit allow customized layout.inf files? According to Ryan, it does.
As far as I know... yes it does. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Nameless Mofo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:18 pm

Post by Nameless Mofo » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:54 pm

Thanks all for your patience with my questions. :)

cometoluc
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by cometoluc » Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:09 pm

Hello, a while ago there was this post and i did not see any real answer. I have the same problem. Can anyone help please?
electrogen wrote:
Siginet wrote:
electrogen wrote:Hi i get this error when i use the uxtheme patch,

The application or DLL C:\windows\system32\UxTheme.dll is not a valid windows image. Please check this against your installation diskette.

any ideas why i get this message?
When do you get this error? Is it from your settuperr.log? If so that is actually normal since the file has been patched. Because the PE code in the registry for uxtheme.dll no longer matches the new uxtheme.dll.
Hi mate, no it does it when i install, bout the same time it installs the cat files at the start.

canuckerfan
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:50 pm

Post by canuckerfan » Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:55 pm

is there a patched tcpip.sys for version 5.1.2600.5625?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:24 pm


User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:50 am

Updated TCPIP addons for RVM 2.2.3 for SP2 as well as RVM 1.0.1 for SP3.

5.1.2600.3394
5.1.2600.5625
5.1.2600.5649

There will be more work coming through (including the requested custom resolution HIVESYS) by this weekend. And since I don't have work, health or education strains getting in the way, so say we all.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:47 pm

Thanks for the updates Zacam!

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:13 pm

Also a BIG THANKS!!!!

burna
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:31 pm

Post by burna » Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:41 pm

I am having problems integrating the tcpip patch.

I have an XP Pro cd on my hdd into which I have slipstreamed SP1, 2 & 3.
In Integrator, I have added the latest post-sp3 update (1.0.1).

I want to add this patch too.
The tcpip.sys included with 1.0.1 is 5.1.2600.5649
On my slipstreamed disc is version 5.1.2600.3311

I have the 1.4b version of the 250 connection tcpip patch but I get the following error when it gets to the ExtraFileEdits section of integrating:

---------------------------
AutoIt Error
---------------------------
Line -1:


Error: Array variable has incorrect number of subscripts or subscript dimension range exceeded.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Can someone point me to the solution?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:03 pm

5649 should be replacing 3311, which is not a version I am familiar with. (3311 that is)

Additionally, I have no idea what other items you may be integrating. (Addons, XPize, nLite, etc.)

Further, you ONLY need SP3. If at all possible, make a new source that is XP and slipstream SP3 by itself, then try again.

Also, which Beta version of integrator are you using, and does the same problem occur with 1.5.3? And lastly, what OS are you in while doing this integration?

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:37 pm

rvmi beta problem. been experiencing the same.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Fri Sep 26, 2008 12:36 am

Ok guys I am not sure about the 5649 version not replacing the 3311 version but the AutoIt Error is not a RVMI problem it is because of several errors in the recently released patch files if you look at the code below that is the current TCPIP_250 file you will noticed several : colons that should be ; semicolons and even after those are corrected the [ExtraFileEdits] are still causing the AutoIt errors if you fix the colon problems and rem out the ExtraFileEdits everything woks as it should. Zacam what are you doing with the ExtraFileEdits? Also this colon where semicolon should be problem is not new........ :rolleyes: :wink:


Code: Select all

[General]
Author = Zacam
Builddate = 09/23/2008
Title = Multi-Patch: TCPIP.SYS
Description = Addon which sets 250 Concurrent Connection Ports
Version = 1.4b
Website = http://ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2274

[ExtraFileEdits]
;SP2 UpdatePack 2.2.3
I386\rvmtemp\extracted\RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"644ed"|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"645dd"
RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"644ed"|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"645dd"

;SP3 Update Pack 1.0.1
I386\rvmtemp\extracted\RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6152e"|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6161e"
RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6152e"|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6161e"

[HexEdit]
;SP2
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2180|324386|0A|FA

;KB913446 SP2GDR
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2827|325026|0A|FA

;KB913446 SP2QFE - RVM 2.0.3 - 2.0.6
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2827|325446|0A|FA

;KB917953 SP2GDR
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2892|325026|0A|FA

;KB917953 SP2QFE - RVM 2.0.7 - 2.1.5
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2892|325574|0A|FA

;KB916852 SP2QFE - RVM 2.1.6 - 2.1.7
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2956|325574|0A|FA

;KB925922 SP2QFE - RVM 2.1.8 - 2.1.11
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3002|325576|0A|FA

;KB941644 - RVM 2.2.1 - 2.2.2
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3244|325830|0A|FA

:KB951163 - RVM 2.2.3
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3394|325958|0A|FA

:SP3
;KB936929 - SP3
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5512|326214|0A|FA

:KB951748 - RVM 0.9.2
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5625|326470|0A|FA

:KB951163 - RVM 1.0.0 - 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5649|326470|0A|FA

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:00 pm

hi,

dolivas is right, still that semicolon typos (use NP++ :wink:), not big deal easy to rectify on someone's own

but the problem should be related to the ExtraFileEdits section (had been suppressed and now re-added, yeah nicer but way boring to make :P)
personally I won't worry, grab the .inf delete that section and go on :rolleyes:

cheers

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:58 am

Just want to make sure I'm correct before testing today.... is this correct:

Code: Select all

[General] 
Author = Zacam 
Builddate = 09/23/2008 
Title = Multi-Patch: TCPIP.SYS 
Description = Addon which sets 250 Concurrent Connection Ports 
Version = 1.4b 
Website = http://ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2274 

[HexEdit] 
;SP2 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2180|324386|0A|FA 

;KB913446 SP2GDR 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2827|325026|0A|FA 

;KB913446 SP2QFE - RVM 2.0.3 - 2.0.6 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2827|325446|0A|FA 

;KB917953 SP2GDR 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2892|325026|0A|FA 

;KB917953 SP2QFE - RVM 2.0.7 - 2.1.5 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2892|325574|0A|FA 

;KB916852 SP2QFE - RVM 2.1.6 - 2.1.7 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2956|325574|0A|FA 

;KB925922 SP2QFE - RVM 2.1.8 - 2.1.11 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3002|325576|0A|FA 

;KB941644 - RVM 2.2.1 - 2.2.2 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3244|325830|0A|FA 

;KB951163 - RVM 2.2.3 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3394|325958|0A|FA 

;SP3 
;KB936929 - SP3 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5512|326214|0A|FA 

;KB951748 - RVM 0.9.2 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5625|326470|0A|FA 

;KB951163 - RVM 1.0.0 - 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5649|326470|0A|FA 

Happy-Dude
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:13 pm

Post by Happy-Dude » Sat Sep 27, 2008 7:21 pm

Question concerning TCPIP.SYS patches (by the way, how do I check if it worked?)::

Let's say I wanted to have the 250 max connections uncap. Can I got and switch it back to 100 connections, or is it 250 max connections indefinitely? What happens if I also enable nLite's max connections settings (say, 50), will that add to/ eliminate the patches effects?

EDIT--
Just did some reading, and it told that some server have a max connections per server limit cap (to stop possible malicious attacks).

So which patch would be optimal for speedy browsing and fairly quick downloads? (In other words, which patch will be safe/ acceptable but also giving my good use of my bandwidth?)

So far, I'm perhaps leaning to the 100 or 150 patch. Or, even lower, the 50 connections option on nLite.

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:03 pm

this addon and nLite edit the same file, with same method, so latest edit will simply superseed the previous

the patch is reversible at any time, even on running Windows (in this case use LvlLord tool)

... and personally, I set to 16777214 :lol:

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Sat Sep 27, 2008 11:17 pm

OuTman wrote:hi,

dolivas is right, still that semicolon typos (use NP++ :wink:), not big deal easy to rectify on someone's own

but the problem should be related to the ExtraFileEdits section (had been suppressed and now re-added, yeah nicer but way boring to make :P)
personally I won't worry, grab the .inf delete that section and go on :rolleyes:

cheers
OuTman the colons are a big deal and will cause the AutoIt error if not corrected just so you know. I also just delete the ExtraFileEdits section

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:15 am

I have no idea why there were : instead of ;. This has been corrected for version 14c. I'll pay more attention to it in the future. Since I have to grab PSPad for other reasons, I'll probably start using that. I suspect it was simply a problem of being way too tired and still managing to forget that I am using a Dvorak layout now.

As for the extra file edits, I put them back in to make modifications to the RVMUpdatePack entries that register the files to reduce the "this is not a valid windows file" messages. I can not control the use of other update packs or methods of integration, so I only include the information for the integrator to use on RVM's packs.

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:22 am

Zacam wrote:I have no idea why there were : instead of ;. This has been corrected for version 14c. I'll pay more attention to it in the future. Since I have to grab PSPad for other reasons, I'll probably start using that. I suspect it was simply a problem of being way too tired and still managing to forget that I am using a Dvorak layout now.

As for the extra file edits, I put them back in to make modifications to the RVMUpdatePack entries that register the files to reduce the "this is not a valid windows file" messages. I can not control the use of other update packs or methods of integration, so I only include the information for the integrator to use on RVM's packs.
Zacam thanks for updating again but it still does not work I get the AutoIt error. I am testing it on a clean OEM SP3 source with RVM 1.0.1 applied then I tried TCP_250 patch and if fails? :?

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:31 am

Zacam ok I have figured it out there are errors with the ExtraFileEdits you are not putting the last pole to tell it how many instances you wish to change. Code updates listed below and tested are you testing these before posting them? I do not see how this would have ran with out causing the AutoIt error :?

Code: Select all

[ExtraFileEdits]
;SP2 UpdatePack 2.2.3
I386\rvmtemp\extracted\RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"644ed"|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"645dd"|1
RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"644ed"|KB951163\Filelist\2","BuildCheckSum",0,"645dd"|1

;SP3 Update Pack 1.0.1
I386\rvmtemp\extracted\RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6152e"|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6161e"|1
RVMUpPck.inf|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6152e"|KB951163\Filelist\1","BuildCheckSum",0,"6161e"|1

dolivas
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:29 am
Location: Livonia, MI

Post by dolivas » Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:46 am

compstuff wrote:Just want to make sure I'm correct before testing today.... is this correct:

Code: Select all

[General] 
Author = Zacam 
Builddate = 09/23/2008 
Title = Multi-Patch: TCPIP.SYS 
Description = Addon which sets 250 Concurrent Connection Ports 
Version = 1.4b 
Website = http://ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2274 

[HexEdit] 
;SP2 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2180|324386|0A|FA 

;KB913446 SP2GDR 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2827|325026|0A|FA 

;KB913446 SP2QFE - RVM 2.0.3 - 2.0.6 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2827|325446|0A|FA 

;KB917953 SP2GDR 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2892|325026|0A|FA 

;KB917953 SP2QFE - RVM 2.0.7 - 2.1.5 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2892|325574|0A|FA 

;KB916852 SP2QFE - RVM 2.1.6 - 2.1.7 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.2956|325574|0A|FA 

;KB925922 SP2QFE - RVM 2.1.8 - 2.1.11 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3002|325576|0A|FA 

;KB941644 - RVM 2.2.1 - 2.2.2 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3244|325830|0A|FA 

;KB951163 - RVM 2.2.3 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.3394|325958|0A|FA 

;SP3 
;KB936929 - SP3 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5512|326214|0A|FA 

;KB951748 - RVM 0.9.2 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5625|326470|0A|FA 

;KB951163 - RVM 1.0.0 - 
I386\TCPIP.SYS|5.1.2600.5649|326470|0A|FA 
Yes this will work or you can download the latest version 14c and make the changes I listed to the ExtraFileEdits and it will work the way Zacam wants it to.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:59 am

You are right, there should have been testing before posting. There is no excuse for that, not even that I have often had to do these on the run.

It would be nice if we had a sandbox or Test Addon mode for integrator to run things through first. But nothing replaces due diligence. Future releases will not have any of the previous problems.

I finally have the code I need and the permission for what I need to make my USB interface patch. And I have a few other ideas for some future addons. As well as making a schedule for re-visiting these patch addons to make sure they stay up to speed.

And with SP3 fairly solid now, I am going to take another stab at the OOBE issue. I also want to find some new areas to patch.

Thank you for the patience and assistance, I should not be letting you down with anything less than my best.

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:00 am

Don't worry Zacam, its just great that you found and fixed the problems in a short time.

I am really excited about your new ideas. I'm especially excited at the thought of a working patch for the USB speed. I have tried to find a patch for this ever since SP3 came out, and had no success in finding one that actually works!

I'm looking forward to having a mouse that works nice and smooth again!

I'm also curious as to what other goodies you have in store for us?!?

Happy-Dude
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:13 pm

Post by Happy-Dude » Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:29 am

Happy-Dude wrote:Question concerning TCPIP.SYS patches (by the way, how do I check if it worked?)::

Let's say I wanted to have the 250 max connections uncap. Can I got and switch it back to 100 connections, or is it 250 max connections indefinitely? What happens if I also enable nLite's max connections settings (say, 50), will that add to/ eliminate the patches effects?

EDIT--
Just did some reading, and it told that some server have a max connections per server limit cap (to stop possible malicious attacks).

So which patch would be optimal for speedy browsing and fairly quick downloads? (In other words, which patch will be safe/ acceptable but also giving my good use of my bandwidth?)

So far, I'm perhaps leaning to the 100 or 150 patch. Or, even lower, the 50 connections option on nLite.
Any second opinion on this? I really want to make sure that I do this right.

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Sun Sep 28, 2008 12:10 pm

10 half-open connections limit won't slow down internet browsing, only p2p apps (and only at startup, when gathering sources)

however, that limit had been set by microsoft in sp2 (didn't exist before) only because some viruses which affected a lot of non-protected computers caused serious DoS attacks

for me, this isn't a fix at all, but only some kind of workaround to partially "solve" problems the wrong way

I don't want my computer to be restrainted by non-sense measures like that, so I pull to 16777214, nevertheless :)

finally, anything equal or above 50 should be fine and give you full network exploitation. just to be safe, I suggest you to set to, at least, 100. just patch the higher, or grab the "250" addon... you won't have any side-effect.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:13 pm

Stimpy wrote: I'm looking forward to having a mouse that works nice and smooth again!
Once I get a bon-a-fide CPL created, it should done. Naturally, I'll be doing a lot of testing before I release. It's largely OS independent (even works in Vista). The idea is that it is a dynamic low level filter. It will allow you to choose devices based on the USB enumeration and choose to apply the patched speed at your defined setting to that device.

I would much rather kick it into the actual Mouse Properties screen as an additional Tab with a rate checker, but that involves so much more work than I care to think about. And the maintenance for it would be a headache as well. Add to that the fact that it can potentially have a use outside of mice means that it will be as generic an interface as possible. (Though by default it will be set to only display Mice, you can un-check this option to over ride other devices.)
Stimpy wrote: I'm also curious as to what other goodies you have in store for us?!?
Not sure if it is possible to achieve yet, but a non-malicious way to open Terminal Services so that more active login/connections can be had. A return of OOBE disablement and some application addons. (Ex: MBSA, iColorFolder, etc). I also plan to finally break out of just XP and jump into 2K/2K3/2K8 and Vista patching.

I am also more than open for suggestions. Preferably within the realm of OS file patching, but at this point, anything will do. My realm of what I find useful is different, so I like to get more ideas.

User avatar
compstuff
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Florida

Post by compstuff » Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:32 am

dolivas... thanks for the response and work on this
Zacam... thanks for the whole dam thing :)

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:33 am

Hi Zacam, I hope you had a great Christmas?

Did you have any luck with your plans for new addons?

User avatar
Passion
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:00 pm
Location: Meow Bay

Post by Passion » Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:45 pm

@Zacam;

Any idea if your addons work for XP64 ?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:14 pm

I don't believe they will, Passion.

chaox2007
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:01 pm

Post by chaox2007 » Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:17 pm

all download link is dead.

:cry: :cry:

@zacam, can you make mirror link for each file?

vostrikov
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:45 am

Post by vostrikov » Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:00 am

hello,

can anyone put new links because the links are down.

And i need the Multi-Patch: UXTHEME.DLL addon.

Can anyone help me??

thx

moebius
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:53 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Post by moebius » Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:08 pm

I have kept a merge addon with UXtheme, tcpip250 and SFC_OS all-in-one for myself.....but I can share it if it could help :

Multipatch addon All-in-one : Here : This is for latest version of updates packs.
You can edit the entries file to keep only what you want....

vostrikov
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:45 am

Post by vostrikov » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:38 pm

moebius wrote:I have kept a merge addon with UXtheme, tcpip250 and SFC_OS all-in-one for myself.....but I can share it if it could help :

Multipatch addon All-in-one : Here : This is for latest version of updates packs.
You can edit the entries file to keep only what you want....
Hello,
your pack is only for french windows, i needed for windows in portuguese and english.

THX.

Post Reply