[Request] Jetico Personal Firewall v2.x.x.x

Questions or comments on the switchless installers? Want to create a new one? Talk about it here.
Post Reply
mrmr
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:42 am

[Request] Jetico Personal Firewall v2.x.x.x

Post by mrmr » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:23 am

hello
I'm interested in slipstreaming this firewall directly on the ISO, so I can have it installed from first boot.

http://www.jetico.com/jpf2setup.exe

here's the installer
I cannot understand very well how to do such an addon, as it install various components and require a reboot even.

Also, i would be interested in adding directly a licence and a rulesconfig file.

Any help would be appreciated

Thank you

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:02 am

This should do the trick, although I'm not 100% sure about the license... (I don't have one, so I can't verify).

Part 1:
Run jfsetup.exe, but don't click on anything yet. You'll find a directory named "~jpf2setup.TMP" in %TEMP%. Copy this directory to a safe place and cancel setup.

- Copy your rules template over the default one in "~jpf2setup.TMP\config\jpfConfig.tmpl"
- Rename your license file to "DemoLicense.txt" and replace "DemoLicense.txt" in the root of the "~jpf2setup.TMP" directory

Part 2:
Now we create a switchless installer. The easiest way to accomplish this, is to create a WinRAR SFX. If you don't have it, download it here; you may use it freely for 40 days.

- Inside the "~jpf2setup.TMP" directory, select all files
- Right-click and select "Add to archive"
- Select the General tab, and check "Create SFX archive"
- Select the Comment tab, and paste the code below in the "Enter a command manually" field

Code: Select all

Title=Jetico Personal Firewall v2.x.x.x
Text
{
Installing Jetico Personal Firewall
}
Overwrite=1
Silent=1
TempMode
Setup=setup.exe -S
- Click OK

WinRAR will now build your switchless, pre-configured and registered SFX.

mrmr
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:42 am

Post by mrmr » Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:14 am

woot...very fast reply.

Instructions seem easy enough
I'll try this asap

thank you again

Question:
Why should I add that "code"? I mean, those commands are "standard"?

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:19 am

It's called "code" because the UBB tag is named that way. ;)

mrmr
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:42 am

Post by mrmr » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:02 pm

oook
as i've not winrar installed, but 7zip...made some reserch and found this:
http://www.7zsfx.info/en/
seems about the same thing

adding in:
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=67
and i should be done.

Still, i've some doubt about

Code: Select all

Setup=setup.exe -S
there's a way to know which switches this setup.exe will accept?

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:06 pm

If Beats says thats the switch to use then thats the switch...

User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by beats » Wed Sep 16, 2009 4:59 am

Their custom installer uses -S (case sensitive!) for silent installations. Got to love strings and grep. ;)

Code: Select all

D:\Download\jpf2setup>strings Setup.exe|grep SETUP

> SETUP [-S] [[-Switch <Switch Value>] ...]
   -S -  Silent setup with default values...
   -F -  Force reboot in silent mode...
   -A -  Skip checking of Administrator Privileges...
   -Z -  Treat zero exit code as success...
           If so exit code 1 - error, 0 - success.
           Otherwise exit code 0 - error, 1 - success.
           In both case exit code 3 means - reboot is required.
Use next switches to change default values...
  Switch        Switch value           Example Value
   -P         "Program folder"      "C:\Program Files\Vendor\"
   -G         "Group folder"        "Product name"

Post Reply