[Release] WinRAR v3.62 Addon Maker v3.0

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

[Release] WinRAR v3.62 Addon Maker v3.0

Post by Xable » Wed Dec 28, 2005 11:14 am

This is an app that will build a winrar addon for you, after running it and choosing your option it`ll create an addon that installs winrar v3.62 and the Crystal_Clear_32x32 theme which is set as default.

If you choose to create a registered addon the repacker will try and copy your rarreg.key file from 2 locations, first it looks in the same dir that you run the repacker from, if it doesn`t find it there it`ll look in the default winrar install directory (X:\Program Files\WinRAR) if it isn`t there either it will ask you to manually copy it into the repackers temp directory (winraraddonrepacker) which is created in the same folder that you run it from

Update History
06/02/2007 - Updated winrar to v3.62 and added a theme which is set as default.
19/02/2006 - Minor improvements to the repacker.
URL = DISCONTINUED
SIZE = -
MD5 = -
Last edited by Xable on Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:18 pm, edited 23 times in total.

phamine

Post by phamine » Wed Dec 28, 2005 12:52 pm

Been waiting for this....slipstreaming now=]

User avatar
maniaq
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by maniaq » Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:29 pm

wow!!! :shock: i have never seen anything like that... thank yu :P :twisted:

phamine

Post by phamine » Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:35 pm

Works as intended. Great option to have a registered version of the install and a trial version. Thanks. My only gripe is that it doesn't create a program folder.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:43 am

maniaq, Thanks!

phamine good to hear it`s workig! i presume your talking about the start menu shortcut.

Does anyone else not like this? Currently it`s in the top of the start menu next to Windows Update link. Would a new folder in Programs\WinRAR be prefered?

User avatar
glent
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:32 pm
Location: UK

Post by glent » Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:19 pm

Nice work :D

yeah I would prefer a seperate folder in tthe startmenu (it looks cleaner)

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:54 pm

I think that all addons should try to follow the default way it would be installed (as much as possible) unless noted by the addon maker.

Winrar puts a directory called WinRAR in the programs folder of the start menu... with the icons "Console RAR Manual" (RAR.txt), "WinRAR (WinRAR.exe)" and "WinRAR Help (WinRAR.hlp)".

Thanks for all of the work you put into this Xable! :D It looks awsome!
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:26 pm

I agree siginet, that`s the way it was done originally but, i changed it because there`s an option in winrar setings to put it at the top of the start menu and i thought it looked cleaner.

Personaly i have it in Programs\Stand Alone

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:24 pm

Ok Repacker v1 up
Now shortcuts are in Programs\WinRAR

I may add options to choose your own location but not promising anything :)

User avatar
dgelwin
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:33 am
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Post by dgelwin » Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:34 am

thank you xable, been waiting for this its a nice christmas gift :D. too bad i have to wait till i get home to use it.
Don't sweat petty things....or pet sweaty things

iam8up
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Post by iam8up » Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:21 pm

Everytime I try and pop this into my installation, it hangs for a long while (several minutes) meanwhile not utilizing the CPU or memory, and then it crashes.

I've used the following packs without problem, though:

Accessories_Ad-awareSE_Personal_SiginetAddons.cab
Kels_WGA_addon_1.4.389.0.CAB
RVMUpdatePack2.0.1.cab
Xable_Foxit-v1.9_addon.cab

File giving me problems (downloaded minutes ago from the first post in this thread:

WinRAR_Addon_Repacker_v1.exe

Anyone able to replicate this problem? Solution for it?
Image

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:46 pm

Your not integrating WinRAR_Addon_Repacker_v1.exe are you? You have to run that to build the type of winrar install you want.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Jan 09, 2006 7:17 pm

Hey Xable it didn't do my theme is this normal?

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:32 pm

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:Hey Xable it didn't do my theme is this normal?
I don't think it automatically sets the theme. You have to select the theme in the winrar settings. :(

Maybe we can find the registry entries needed to have the skins auto set. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:44 pm

I looked in the cab file and none of the needed theme files are in there...

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:46 pm

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\WinRAR\Interface\Themes]

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:59 pm

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:I looked in the cab file and none of the needed theme files are in there...
Yep, me too!! No theme directory???

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:48 pm

When I use it I integrate the generated Winrar.cab plus the Winrar theme .cab. This integrates winrar and the theme... but like I said... the theme is not set as default.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Tue Jan 10, 2006 7:00 am

Theme`s are in seperate cab`s, and trust me, i spent a LOT of time trying to get a theme to apply as default. There are a few reg entries but even when adding them, the theme doesn`t fully apply.
People at msfn also had no luck, but, if anyone finds a way i`m all ears.

These are the reg entries that get changed, the Band0, Band1 ect values deal with the toolbar layout and only realy need changing if you are changing icon size but it`s a good idea to include those anyway.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\WinRAR\General\Toolbar\Layout]
"Band0"=hex:38,00,00,00,73,01,00,00,04,02,00,00,00,00,00,00,d4,d0,c8,00,00,00,\
  00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,d8,02,4b,00,00,00,00,00,27,00,00,00,d7,03,00,\
  00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00
"Band1"=hex:38,00,00,00,73,01,00,00,05,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,d4,d0,c8,00,00,00,\
  00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,08,03,2c,00,00,00,00,00,16,00,00,00,23,00,00,\
  00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00
"Band2"=hex:38,00,00,00,73,01,00,00,04,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,d4,d0,c8,00,00,00,\
  00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,c8,03,5c,00,00,00,00,00,16,00,00,00,76,01,00,\
  00,00,00,00,00,03,00,00,00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\WinRAR\Interface\Themes]
"ShellExtBMP"="D:\\Program Files\\WinRar\\Themes\\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\\RarSmall.bmp"
"ActivePath"="D:\\Program Files\\WinRar\\Themes\\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\WinRAR\DefaultIcon]
@="D:\\Program Files\\WinRar\\Themes\\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\\RAR.ico"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\WinRAR.REV\DefaultIcon]
@="D:\\Program Files\\WinRar\\Themes\\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\\REV.ico"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\WinRAR.ZIP\DefaultIcon]
@="D:\\Program Files\\WinRar\\Themes\\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\\RAR.ico"

HKCU,"Software\WinRAR\General\Toolbar\Layout","Band0",1,38,00,00,00,73,01,00,00,04,02,00,00,00,00,00,00,d4,d0,c8,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,d8,02,4b,00,00,00,00,00,27,00,00,00,d7,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00
HKCU,"Software\WinRAR\General\Toolbar\Layout","Band1",1,38,00,00,00,73,01,00,00,05,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,d4,d0,c8,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,08,03,2c,00,00,00,00,00,16,00,00,00,23,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00
HKCU,"Software\WinRAR\General\Toolbar\Layout","Band2",1,38,00,00,00,73,01,00,00,04,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,d4,d0,c8,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,c8,03,5c,00,00,00,00,00,16,00,00,00,76,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,03,00,00,00
HKCU,"Software\WinRAR\Interface\Themes","ShellExtBMP",,"D:\Program Files\WinRar\Themes\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\RarSmall.bmp"
HKCU,"Software\WinRAR\Interface\Themes","ActivePath",,"D:\Program Files\WinRar\Themes\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32"
HKCR,"WinRAR\DefaultIcon",,,"D:\Program Files\WinRar\Themes\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\RAR.ico"
HKCR,"WinRAR.REV\DefaultIcon",,,"D:\Program Files\WinRar\Themes\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\REV.ico"
HKCR,"WinRAR.ZIP\DefaultIcon",,,"D:\Program Files\WinRar\Themes\WinRAR_Crystal_Clear_32x32\RAR.ico"

Shark007
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:25 pm

Post by Shark007 » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:15 am

Theme`s are in seperate cab`s, and trust me, i spent a LOT of time trying to get a theme to apply as default. There are a few reg entries but even when adding them, the theme doesn`t fully apply.
People at msfn also had no luck, but, if anyone finds a way i`m all ears.
I never really paid attention to the winrar theme thread because i've never had a problem having a theme work from default. Out of curiosity, i downloaded your 32x32 addon to see whats different. My themes each have thier own folder, C:\Program Files\WinRAR\Themes\WinRAR_XP_32x32 , this folder contains a single theme with a text file named winrar_theme_description.txt contents:
title=WinRAR XP 32x32
about=© 2005 XPero.\nOriginal icons by Microsoft Corp.
PNG conversion by WereWolf

Once you have your chosen theme in place and winrar configured the way you like it, go to the heading Options and choose import/export and 'export settings to file' It defaults to writing settings.reg in the winrar folder. I install winrar unattendedly along with several other apps simply using a self extract exe to the program files folder. Also this installs a shortcut dir where i have a shortcut to winrar. Upon executing winrar for the 1st time, it reads settings.reg from the winrar dir, and everythings works, Themes n all.

shark

iam8up
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Post by iam8up » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:22 am

Xable wrote:Your not integrating WinRAR_Addon_Repacker_v1.exe are you? You have to run that to build the type of winrar install you want.
Can you explain to me how to do this?
Image

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:31 am

Shark007, yes the theme applies then because it`s winrar.exe that`s importing the reg, it sees that a theme is used in the settings.reg and applies it. Problem is getting the theme to apply without using winrar.exe.

iam8up, just click on it.... am i missing somthing here? is it hard?

iam8up
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Post by iam8up » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:46 am

So I simply run it and have it installed to the root directory of the Windows installation files?
Image

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:57 am

You run it and it will create a new cab file in the directory that you run the exe from. You use that new cab file and one of the cab themes to integrate it to your install disk. ;)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

iam8up
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Post by iam8up » Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:26 pm

Can you tell me where the cab themes are located?

This works out well, does it use the default theme if no additional theme is selected?

How can I make a rarkey.reg including my WinRAR key?
Image

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:04 pm

iam8up wrote:Can you tell me where the cab themes are located?
From the link in the first post
iam8up wrote:does it use the default theme if no additional theme is selected?
viewtopic.php?p=13891#13891
iam8up wrote:How can I make a rarkey.reg including my WinRAR key?
You get given a rarreg.key when you buy the software. You can`t make one.

Rekoil
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:42 am

Post by Rekoil » Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:08 am

um either the file is down or you have banned my ip, i get a forbidden error
LOL

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:15 am

Works fine here.

Rekoil
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:42 am

Post by Rekoil » Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:46 am

this is what i get

Image
LOL

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:44 am

Same, it's not just you Rekoil. :wink:

Rekoil
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:42 am

Post by Rekoil » Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:15 am

grr... this doesnt float my boat at all
LOL

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:57 am

Sorry, i was messing with the permissions on the domain yesterday.. left the wrong one`s on. should be ok now.

Rekoil
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:42 am

Post by Rekoil » Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:25 am

Thanks Xable it worked now
LOL

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:53 am

Enjoy.

User avatar
maniaq
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by maniaq » Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:32 pm

did anyone find out how to fully set theme as default?

stillwitt
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:14 am
Location: Thailand

Post by stillwitt » Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:28 am

I first want to say thanks for all your efforts in making life easier for others.

You all seem to know something I don't. It would be nice if this thing came with some instructions.

I put "WinRAR_Addon_Repacker_v1.exe" in the WinRAR installation folder and ran it as I was guessing this as what I had to do. When that didn't work I then put it in a folder with the WinRAR installer and the "rarreg.key" file. I press "2" and get:

"Done, grab Xable_WinRAR-v3.51-RSA_addon.cab and
integrate with either RVM Integrator or nLite."

I can't find any such file anywhere. Where would it be or why isn't it being created?

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:46 am

Click on WinRAR_Addon_Repacker_v1.exe, it will build the winrar addon for you, it will create the addon in the same directory you run it from and if your selecting to build a registered winrar addon make sure you have rarreg.key in the same directory that you run it from and it`ll integrate that into the addon for you.

I`ll be updating this later and may add a help file though i think the directions when you run it are pretty clear.

If your still having problems let me know and i`l try to help.

stillwitt
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:14 am
Location: Thailand

Post by stillwitt » Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:20 am

Did that. No file created. And yes, I do have attrib.exe, expand.exe and makecab.exe on my system. Seems a fusterating problem. Thanks for your help. Would be really nice to have this work.
Last edited by stillwitt on Sat Feb 18, 2006 11:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:38 am

Ok, do you have attrib.exe, expand.exe and makecab.exe on your system?

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:15 pm

Repacker has been updated to v2.0, basicly just changed expand and makecab to expand.exe and makecab.exe in the script. This will prevent the repacker failing if you have a file named expand.cmd or makecab.cmd in the same directory as the repacker.

r3nagad3

Post by r3nagad3 » Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:57 am

Xable,

I really like the addon, keep up the good work. I had one small problem however, I used repacker 2.0, with the #2 option (reg and associate). I made sure that the rarkey file was in the same directory, no problems creating the cab file. Integrated it with nlite. When I install XP it can't find the rarkey file. I looked in the cab file, to see if it was in there and it wasn't.
If I add the rarkey file into the cab, will that fix the problem?

Again excellent work.

Ren

Vista
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:02 pm

Post by Vista » Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:47 am

Xable, can you make winrar right click menus "Cascaded Context Menus" & all items selected.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:33 am

r3nagad3, Hmm are you sure? I mean if it can`t copy rarreg.key then it will give you this error.

Image

If your sure it`s not being copied and you don`t get that error then we need to investigate.. let me know and i`ll pm you a debug build.

Vista, nope not unless a lot of other ppl want it.

User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Post by n7Epsilon » Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:26 am

@Xable, I've been noticing that you're releasing addons as repackers...

Can you please tell me what program are you using to compile that batch file ?
2nd, Are all the different AddOns in the RePacker or does it create them on-demand ?
3rd, Have you seen 0.30 of FGCBA..?

Sorry for being off topic...

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:46 am

n7Epsilon,
1. I use Quick Batch File Compiler. You can decompile the exe with it to see the batch or just run it and look in your temp folder.
2. It`s half and half, the sub-cab and inf`s are already compiled but it re-compiles the sub cab if you add your rerreg.key and always compiles the final addon.
3. Seen it but not got round to playing with it yet, should do l8r hopefully.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:22 pm

r3nagad3, Replying to your pm, manualy putting rarreg.key in the cab will work but i want to find out why it`s not put in there manualy.. 2000+ downloads and this is the first reported problem so i am currious and want to get to the bottom on it if it`s a genuine problem.

Give me a bit and i`ll send you a debug build if your intrested in helping.

User avatar
Stellvia12
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:38 pm
Location: Japan

Post by Stellvia12 » Sat May 13, 2006 11:53 pm

I have the same problem, I haven't said anything because I have no problem just manually reging it, but it would be nice to have a look at this bug. Oh, it does reg because the 40day thing will not run out, but it will prompt you always, as strang as it sound... Xable thx for the great addons :)
FYI GUNDAM SEED Destiny DVD 3-4 ARE COMING OUT SOON!!! Scratch that its out....

ORiON

Post by ORiON » Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:53 am

here i get

Image


and hi to all!

User avatar
ton80
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 3:10 am

Post by ton80 » Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:10 am

To Xable and ORiON:

MD5 Sum C0D61FB81404316F0B8965E87C1E18E8 It's from what I just downloaded from Xable's site.
Last edited by ton80 on Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Ton80

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:52 am

No need to worry, it`s a false positive probably due to that exe being a compiled batch file.

I`ve a huge update planned for this addon which does involve switching to winrar for the Repacker, that should get rid of the false positive`s. Just need to find the time..

Yep that MD5 is correct, there is a text file on the download page with the MD5`s for all file`s available there ;)


Thanks for reporting.

P.S. I recomend NOD32 I and everyone i`ve recomended it too has been more than impressed by it.

Post Reply