[Release] Remove LANG & WINNTUPG Directories Addons

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

[Release] Remove LANG & WINNTUPG Directories Addons

Postby Siginet » Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:53 pm

Here is a new addon that I made. It allows you to save some space on your disk by deleteing all of the files within your LANG folder and delete all of the files contained in WIN9XUPG, WINNTUPG and WIN9XMIG directories.

I split it into 2 addons so you have the option to remove your LANG folder or not.

I have only tested this on my copy of windows... so please let me know if there are any files that do not get deleted and I will add them to the addonpacks. ;)

Removal_LANG_DirDeleteAddon.cab deletes: 95,664,128 Bytes *Updated*
MD5Hash: 15BD55C4305AD242A082FAAA7FED6B0E
Removal_WINNTUPG_DirDeleteAddon_v1.1.cab deletes: 39,796,736 Bytes *Updated*
MD5Hash: 9FC036971E287C5A0675328443A0A65D
Last edited by Siginet on Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:10 pm, edited 10 times in total.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software
User avatar
buletov
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:30 am

Postby buletov » Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:59 pm

Hm, why the plugin? Isn't it easier to delete those folders manualy?
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.
Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Postby Xable » Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:08 pm

Yeah these folders are already removed from the archived source i keep on my HD.. gives me an idea for another ini section though.

[obsolete_folders]
This will eradicate the possibility of left over files and an empty folder been left behind ;)
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:02 pm

buletov wrote:Hm, why the plugin? Isn't it easier to delete those folders manualy?


Isn't it easier to not have to delete them? My goal is to have everything automated. I shouldn't have to do anything (Except hit the Integrate button on the integrator). Geuss you can call me lazy. ;)

I want to be able to use the integrator to integrate everything for me even remove certain things... then compile an iso all unattended. Which is all possible when v1.1 of the integrator gets released. ;)
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:05 pm

Xable wrote:Yeah these folders are already removed from the archived source i keep on my HD.. gives me an idea for another ini section though.

[obsolete_folders]
This will eradicate the possibility of left over files and an empty folder been left behind ;)


I thought about that when I created these addons. I may add it to a later release. ;)
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
Aussie
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Aussie » Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:55 pm

Siginet wrote:My goal is to have everything automated. I shouldn't have to do anything (Except hit the Integrate button on the integrator). Geuss you can call me lazy.


OK....A.K.A Lazy..... :wink:
User avatar
dragonfixed
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:04 pm

Re: [Release] Remove LANG & WINNTUPG Directories Addons

Postby dragonfixed » Mon Feb 13, 2006 9:42 pm

Removal_WINNTUPG_DirDeleteAddon.cab pack complains about netmap.inf not being in dir and netupgrd.dll also

addon pack dose not work correctly
"Why, little one, I do believe you said something wise."
-saphira
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:30 pm

Actually you only get that error when you try to do an install within windows. It doesn't stop you from installing windows at all. But I will change the addon to not delete those files. ;) I forgot to leave them in.

Thx

Edit: Fixed. ;)
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
User avatar
dragonfixed
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:04 pm

Re: [Release] Remove LANG & WINNTUPG Directories Addons

Postby dragonfixed » Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:56 pm

still dose not work the Removal_WINNTUPG_DirDeleteAddon_v1.1.cab

dose not remove any files


Siginet wrote:Here is a new addon that I made. It allows you to save some space on your disk by deleteing all of the files within your LANG folder and delete all of the files contained in WIN9XUPG, WINNTUPG and WIN9XMIG directories.

I split it into 2 addons so you have the option to remove your LANG folder or not.

I have only tested this on my copy of windows... so please let me know if there are any files that do not get deleted and I will add them to the addonpacks. ;)

Removal_LANG_DirDeleteAddon.cab deletes: 95,664,128 Bytes
MD5Hash: 15BD55C4305AD242A082FAAA7FED6B0E
Removal_WINNTUPG_DirDeleteAddon_v1.1.cab deletes: 39,796,736 Bytes
MD5Hash: 9FC036971E287C5A0675328443A0A65D
"Why, little one, I do believe you said something wise."

-saphira
User avatar
dragonfixed
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:04 pm

Re: [Release] Remove LANG & WINNTUPG Directories Addons

Postby dragonfixed » Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:58 pm

here is the updated cab file

LINK
"Why, little one, I do believe you said something wise."

-saphira
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Thu Feb 23, 2006 6:17 pm

You may want to check your md5hash cause it does work. In your earlier post is proof. If those 2 files were missing... How would it not be deleting any files?
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:44 pm

I stand corrected. I just tried it and for some reason the Winntdir one isn't working. I have no idea why. I will look into it some more.
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
cybpsych
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Postby cybpsych » Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:53 pm

Siginet, the packs *totally remove* the two folders, LANG & WINNTUPG, correct?

Aside from laziness ;), is it *safe* to manually remove the LANG folder?

I've always keeping this folder fearing that it may be needed somehow.


*UPDATE* Thx Siginet, for the explanation. Now I can save ~99MB from that folder! :wink:
Last edited by cybpsych on Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:07 pm

As long as you are using a copy of windows that is of your language by default you do not need the lang folder. I allways remove it.

One pack removes LANG and the other pack removes WINNTUPG, WIN9XMIG, and WIN9XUPG... only leaving 2 files inside WINNTUPG. ;)
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:00 am

Updated both addons. I found a better way to have it do the same thing. ;)

Especially in the Lang removal addon. I feel stupid for not doing it this way to begin with. :eek:
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:01 pm

Hey siginet, what about adding an option to integrator, and make it able to delete those things in i386.
ops, that sounds like sth like Nlite :D
User avatar
dragonfixed
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:04 pm

Re: [Release] Remove LANG & WINNTUPG Directories Addons

Postby dragonfixed » Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:13 pm

still dose not work Removal_WINNTUPG_DirDeleteAddon_v1.2.cab
"Why, little one, I do believe you said something wise."

-saphira
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:10 pm

@dragonfixed It does work perfectly fine.

Please read this link Warning...

Your problems are due to too many addons. There is a limitation in windows that causes a problem if you use too many addons at one time. I will be working on a workaround for the next version of the integrator. But this limitation is the answer to all of the troubles you have been having.
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
Yuki
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:44 am

Postby Yuki » Tue Feb 28, 2006 4:16 am

winntupg catalog is needed for install recovery console...
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Sun Mar 05, 2006 2:48 am

Yuki wrote:winntupg catalog is needed for install recovery console...


Where exactly is the winntupg catalog? I can remove those files from the Entry file of this Removal Addon... but I do not know which files you are talking about.

EDIT:
I just installed the recovery console with this Removal Addon used and it installed the recovery console fine.

I think you have posted in this thread without actually trying the Removal Addon first. :rolleyes:

The 2 files that this removal addon does not delete are NETMAP.INF & NETUPGRD.DLL. Which I think is all you need.
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
Yuki
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:44 am

Postby Yuki » Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:02 am

2Siginet
Sorry, I deleted winntupg catalog manually after Addon's...
Thank for note!
User avatar
muiz
Moderator
Posts: 1254
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postby muiz » Sun Apr 30, 2006 7:19 pm

The 2 files that this removal addon does not delete are NETMAP.INF & NETUPGRD.DLL. Which I think is all you need.

i always remove them all ,why should i keep those?
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:49 pm

It isn't a big deal to delete those. But basically if you delete them you would get an error message when you try to start a windows install from within windows (not booting to the disk).
Also I think they are needed if you want to be able to install the recovery concle from your slimmed down disk. ;)
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Postby newsposter » Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:56 pm

Sig, does removing the LANG directories from an ISO have any impact on keyboard or code page/locale support?
User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Postby Aserone » Thu Jul 20, 2006 12:42 am

newsposter wrote:Sig, does removing the LANG directories from an ISO have any impact on keyboard or code page/locale support?


It depends which language I guess, for example I can change layout with removed LANG dir. I think it has to do with if it's installed by default or not. If your locale is listed as default I think you can safely remove it. Look at this list from ref.chm:

  1. Western Europe and United States Installed by Default
  2. Central Europe Installed by Default
  3. Baltic Installed by Default
  4. Greek Installed by Default
  5. Cyrillic Installed by Default
  6. Turkic Installed by Default
  7. Japanese East Asian Language
  8. Korean East Asian Language
  9. Traditional Chinese East Asian Language
  10. Simplified Chinese East Asian Language
  11. Thai Complex Script
  12. Hebrew Complex Script
  13. Arabic Complex Script
  14. Vietnamese Complex Script
  15. Indic Complex Script
  16. Georgian Complex Script
  17. Armenian Complex Script


I might be wrong here but hope it helps.. :wink:
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.
User avatar
choman
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 1:32 pm

Postby choman » Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:43 pm

Siginet

On my copy of XP SP2 PRO, the LANG directory remains, all files are removed, but the directory remains.

Same with the WIN9XMIG directory

The WIN9XUPG and WINNTUPG directories have lots-o-stuff, too much to type anyways. how would you like me to get the list to ya.

Also, Have I yet to check my copies of XP Home
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:14 pm

Actually it doesn't remove the lang directory... but it deletes all files within it.

As for your winntupg directories all files should be deleted... but not directories. The only files not deleted should be NETMAP.INF and NETUPGRD.DLL

If there are more files let me know and I will have to fix the issue.
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
User avatar
choman
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 1:32 pm

Postby choman » Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:40 pm

siginet

my bad, I guess I didn't realize you where leaving empty sub-directories. alll looks good
User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Postby ahmerkhan » Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:43 pm

Aserone wrote:[

It depends which language I guess, for example I can change layout with removed LANG dir. I think it has to do with if it's installed by default or not. If your locale is listed as default I think you can safely remove it. Look at this list from ref.chm:

  1. Western Europe and United States Installed by Default
  2. Central Europe Installed by Default
  3. Baltic Installed by Default
  4. Greek Installed by Default
  5. Cyrillic Installed by Default
  6. Turkic Installed by Default
  7. Japanese East Asian Language
  8. Korean East Asian Language
  9. Traditional Chinese East Asian Language
  10. Simplified Chinese East Asian Language
  11. Thai Complex Script
  12. Hebrew Complex Script
  13. Arabic Complex Script
  14. Vietnamese Complex Script
  15. Indic Complex Script
  16. Georgian Complex Script
  17. Armenian Complex Script


I might be wrong here but hope it helps.. :wink:


Can I used NLite To Delete Extra Language Support...?

I Only Need these ...

*] Central Europe Installed by Default
[*] Thai Complex Script
[*] Arabic Complex Script
RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Postby RickSteele » Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:41 am

Siginet

Neither pack worked for me, none of the language or Windows update files/folders deleted; had to use nlite for this to automate. This was a fresh WinXP SP2 folder using Ryan's 2.1.2. US English is default for all.
User avatar
Nightwolf81
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:10 am

Postby Nightwolf81 » Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:41 am

Just so people are aware. . . I have done a simular thing with the nLite 1.0.1 (with removal of lang files) the only problem I had was that ATI Graphics Drivers would never install. . I haven't tried this method yet BUT I WILL. . . 100meg is good to take out (will report any findings back if I remember too).

Just thought I could save some searching for people if a simular problems occurs in the mean time!! (I might be a few days testing this out) :)
User avatar
eryen
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:58 pm

Postby eryen » Mon Oct 30, 2006 6:14 am

If i del LANG dır. Localization settings broken in Turkish windows.

For example this is the date line in turkish.
30.10.2006
If i del lang dir setup sets to.
10/30/2006

I can change it from contol panel but some programs force to use old settings.
User avatar
Bhishmar
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Postby Bhishmar » Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:56 am

Hi everybody.
None of the download links for the Removal Addon Packs works Now.:x

Can anybody point me to any alternate links.
Or is it that all the Removal packs are removed from distribution :?:
Can any one help?

Can the contents of the entries.ini can be posted here for this addon.
I assume only this single file will be there in the addon cab

Thanks :)
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:19 am

I am sure that siginet will put them online again soon :wink:
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:11 pm

fixed... allthough I'm not sure if these are the latest versions or not.
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
User avatar
Bhishmar
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Postby Bhishmar » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:40 pm

Many Thanks Siginet
for your quick response even with Christmas & Newyear Eve.
Incidentally merry Xmas (belated :wink:) & Happy New year. :lol:

The files are correct. I checked the MD5 hash.

Can u also fix the links for the keytime removal addons ?
Remove Unneeded Windows Components
All of them are down. I believe you are hosting for him!

Again Thanks & keep up the good work.
TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Postby TechnoHunter » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:37 pm

what in the world is firefox asking me for a password to access protected content at msfn.org in this thread for????

did someone post a link incorrectly?

TechnoHunter
User avatar
Bhishmar
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Postby Bhishmar » Wed Dec 27, 2006 2:46 am

One Quick question to Siginet or other experts here.

These removal addons (WINNTUPG & LANG). Can they be integrated (simultaneously) along with the UpdatePack? Or this addons must be applied in a separate session after completing the UpgradePack first.(Two Step process)?
Thanks
Speeddymon
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:19 am
Location: TX

Postby Speeddymon » Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:15 pm

For some reason these 2 addons are not working in nlite. I get a message about the addon being incompatible.
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:08 pm

Not sure why they would be incompatable with nlite. I used obsolete_files section in the entries file. as far as I know this is a feature in nlite and the integrator. But nLite has built in features to do this task for you.
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
Speeddymon
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:19 am
Location: TX

Postby Speeddymon » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:30 pm

Siginet wrote:Not sure why they would be incompatable with nlite. I used obsolete_files section in the entries file. as far as I know this is a feature in nlite and the integrator. But nLite has built in features to do this task for you.

From what I have seen I can remove all of the files in the LANG directory with nlite's component removal, but I havent seen anything to remove the migration and upgrade stuff..

As for this being a feature in nlite, yes you are right, perhaps it is expecting there to be a file added as well. I'll double check with nuhi.

P.S. I am using 1.3RC so it may be a problem with that that doesnt exist in prior versions...
j4gg3r
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:28 am

Postby j4gg3r » Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:08 am

Speeddymon wrote:From what I have seen I can remove all of the files in the LANG directory with nlite's component removal, but I havent seen anything to remove the migration and upgrade stuff..


nLite 1.3 RC2
[Components]
[Operating System Options]
Manual Install and Upgrade

Removes all 3 folders and 44.8MB in total.
creative4rce
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:55 pm

Postby creative4rce » Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:34 am

Signet .. any chance of a mirror to download these two files ..

as u know i cant seem to download many of the addons

cheers
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Sun Apr 06, 2008 2:20 pm

Those are direct links to the files. I don't understand why you have trouble with them?
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
creative4rce
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:55 pm

Postby creative4rce » Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:24 am

Reason i couldn't download since upgrading my net speed was because of having ActiveX filter ticked in my router firewall

strange as i used to be able to download previously on lower net speed with the filter enabled ...

not sure what that is all about but works now ... something others can look at if experiencing download problems

cheers
User avatar
moataz
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:03 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Postby moataz » Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:16 am

I need to know if deleting the LANG folder contents by nLite or your addon... affects the ability to add a some languages or keyboards later.

Cause I removed ALL the languages in my XPCD by nLite except Arabic.

But, Some users complain they can't add french keyboard, other complain about sweden.

Is there any WAY to save this 102 MB in my XPCD, but also support adding other languages and keyboard successfully.

Any info are welcome.
XP Light, 8.1 Right Developer
User avatar
SymSpaceT
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby SymSpaceT » Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:53 am

Hello folks,

Was this designed for the Integrator only? nLite does not seem to recognize it.

Thanks:

SST
User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby beats » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:02 am

Yes. Besides, nLite doesn't need this addon, because nLite has build-in functionality to do so.
User avatar
SymSpaceT
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby SymSpaceT » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:05 am

beats wrote:Yes. Besides, nLite doesn't need this addon, because nLite has build-in functionality to do so.


nLite does not have the option to remove these specific directories; it does have the option to remove the Docs, Valueadd, Support, DotNetfx and components in the root of the CD.

SST
User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby beats » Wed Jul 29, 2009 2:02 pm

In nLite go to Remove > Components > Directories.
It even lists a custom folder that I use in the root of the cd. ;)

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests