[Release] Remove Unneeded Windows Components

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

[Release] Remove Unneeded Windows Components

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:48 pm

I started a new thread, so that I could manage it. The point of these addon's is to remove the parts of Window's that are not needed or used. It's not to remove key parts of Windows. If you have an idea for a removal addon, post a description below. These addon's are to used with the integrator. So without further ado, the list:

Accessibility
MD5Hash: A138DAE57FEF9EDD084EA82738D2E10C
Automatic Updates
MD5Hash: 10931DC1B0F8A95829B5AE3A7A688531
Clipboard Service
MD5Hash: EC74662EB9A83906E3ECDF707ABEE476
Communication Tools
MD5Hash: 71A432FCEBAE981810AB0C15FDCE6391
Disk Cleanup
MD5Hash: 7B81EDB5E46134698C6429EBF8C61BC5
Frontpage Extentions
MD5Hash: 49AA869CC67900A5FC088CCE631730B2
Internet Connection Wizard
MD5Hash: 0CF469225FA92B6155FE067300A950F5
File and Transfer Wizard
MD5Hash: 3C63FC1834721D51E8A56F4AE4F2701A
Help Center, System Information This does not remove the ability to use help or any help files. Also there are link's created in Start Menu\Programs\Accessories to the help files.
MD5Hash: A0C4D839549E2B19948309A7D3B59DEE
Internet Information Services
MD5Hash: 8D47FC51CA53A1BAD3DC128E34B6E330
Indexing Service
MD5Hash: 8650CC7134815CDC3193CE1063AFC6AD
Internet Explorer
MD5Hash: 9B29F05410247CE47D0F17C8C289AF72
Msn Explorer
MD5Hash: F2196A2B3D6C7D544AA580C79D871D1B
Messenger Service
MD5Hash: E7A19473CC5A6531F310AED23E9BF55D
Movie Maker
MD5Hash: E8D8B056B35A44D9D06EB1DCFFB374E0
Net Meeting
MD5Hash: 307242D9814A8531BAA8421FA8F0C1A2
Out of Box (Windows Activation) You must use a patched sysetup.dll.
MD5Hash: C9B95275CA7FBCFAEE3875BC1E464ACD
Outlook Express
MD5Hash: dbde044c84a6c85bf0afce99d19a7cf7
Microsoft Peer to Peer
MD5Hash: 4F0797876FB6E1D448FE291F9C61C972
Remote Registry Service
MD5Hash: FEC17E67A74FB463BCD6FDB8366A7103
Screen Saver's
MD5Hash: 14E2D755DF5971079620F6D172547BE3
Search Assistant
MD5Hash: 7E92AE79179DA87C84E5526E6152A138
Speech
MD5Hash: 13DB6DA2A79DDB1EC8106D3DB860AEA6
System Restore
MD5Hash: AC96211EA0525ADEF99BE5794FC03B62
Windows Agent
MD5Hash: 5641C6C2D87D9234D7F685F970236ED9
Windows Defragmentor
MD5Hash: ABEC247114E275D234C7187BADDB5C9E
Windows Fax
MD5Hash: A6AD4654D3F50F66A4ADD5B159FDE836
Link Dead -> Windows Firewall
MD5Hash: C3043080F6EF6FBE434DEF0E31F926A8
Windows Games
MD5Hash: 83BBAD21000188A56F2137B0A76C0BE7
Windows Media Player and Portable Media Devices
You can still play .wma and .wmv files. The Browser Plugin work's, you can play window's media files in your browser. All file's are updated to the v10 of WMP. For Firefox and other non IE browser's you need to download this file and put it in your browser plugin folder.
MD5Hash: A55BFC71DDC9B4C70297A3E4C2747106
Windows Messenger
MD5Hash: F6A617B77EDCE73CBD8343DB63B7E73C
Windows Security Center
MD5Hash: 2557745A0178E82FD51355E9E6B139FB
Windows Sound's
MD5Hash: 515E7CCD9625053CBE44F51BEC2A8CE4
Windows Tour
MD5Hash: CAC9177D94A65869FBC06ECD143C07DD
Wordpad
MD5Hash: 68F9C3DCC8B2E73F266710667CE9E734
Zip Folders
MD5Hash: 990C71E1C6D5C3606FA7040A16BBF7F2

If you want to make your own addon, test it on a live install first.
Last edited by keytotime on Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:11 am, edited 27 times in total.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:42 pm

Added Clipboard Service.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Mar 12, 2006 11:47 am

Updated Internet Explorer removal.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:46 pm

:arrow:
Last edited by ENU_user on Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:12 pm

Added to the top thread, I also added 1 reg entry to be deleted.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:24 pm

:arrow:
Last edited by ENU_user on Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:27 pm, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:36 pm

Updated Windows Media Player.
http://siginet.earlymorninghours.net/Ad ... n_v1.1.cab

You can now play .wma and .wmv files. Also updated the codec's to 10. This was such a pain to do. It took me over 5 hour's. Also ENU_User your Screensaver's addon is fine.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:41 pm

keytotime wrote:Updated Windows Media Player.
This one`s got me very intrested now keytotime, does streaming media also play still?

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:41 pm

No idea. Give me a link.

Xable
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:38 pm
Contact:

Post by Xable » Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:56 pm

Not got one handy.. will test it myself when i find one and let you know.

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue Mar 14, 2006 6:45 am

:arrow:
Last edited by ENU_user on Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:19 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:34 pm

Updated Index Service addon

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:10 pm

Today I install Ryan 2.0.4 update pack with this remove addons and have some troubles with configure network connections,but now I don't know which one addons does this isue,so maybae can keytotime know what is about.
The first problem is that I can't create quick launch bar and the second is with network services,becouse when the windows first time start the network services is disabled by defoult and even when I anabled it to automatic when windows restart I must connect network services manual again.I think I have use this addons:
KTT_DiskCleanup_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_FAX_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_FIREWALL_DELETEADDON.CAB
KTT_FRONTPAGEEXTENTIONS_DELETEADDON.CAB
KTT_MessengerService_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_Migration_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_OOBE_DeleteAddon_V1.1.CAB
KTT_P2P_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_RemoteRegistry_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_SECURITYCENTER_DELETEADDON.CAB
KTT_wordpad_DeleteAddon.CAB
KTT_ZipFolder_RemovalAddon_v1.1.CAB
Removal_Accessibility_DeleteAddon_v1.4.CAB
Removal_AutomaticUpdates_DeleteAddon_v1.5.cab
Removal_ConnectionWizard_DeleteAddon.CAB
Removal_Defragmentor_DeleteAddon_v1.3.CAB
Removal_Games_DeleteAddon_v1.2.cab
Removal_InternetExplorer_DeleteAddon_v1.7.cab
Removal_MSNExplorer_DeleteAddon_v1.7.cab
Removal_MsSpeech_DeleteAddon.CAB
Removal_NetMeeting_DeleteAddon.CAB
Removal_OutlookExpress_DeleteAddon_v1.5.CAB
Removal_SystemRestore_DeleteAddon_v1.4.cab
Removal_WindowsAgent_DeleteAddon_v1.0.cab
Removal_WindowsMessanger_DeleteAddon_v1.5.cab
Removal_WindowsTour_DeleteAddon_v1.6.CAB
RVMAddonsSFC_1.0.cab
RVMAddonsTCPIP_1.1.cab
RVMAddonsUxtheme_1.0.cab

The problem is also to install Net Framework 2.0 and I must tell this important things when you try iso with vmware.If you use winnt.sif file
in vmware will allways ask you which one partition you like to install the os,even if you have options for autopartition=1,like this:
;SetupMgrTag
[Data]
AutoPartition=1
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"

so,only in clean install some you see how modified os work.
Last edited by Rudi1 on Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

techtype
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:46 pm

Post by techtype » Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:57 pm

This one: KTT_OOBE_DeleteAddon_V1.1.CAB gave me trouble with network connections.

Vid0
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:24 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by Vid0 » Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:30 pm

Removal_SystemRestore_DeleteAddon_v1.4.cab BUG:

When removing System Restore you must keep srclient.dll file to avoid "AddPrinterDriver Failed" error on installation of printer drivers like FinePrint, pdfFactory, etc.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:49 pm

Removal_InternetExplorer_DeleteAddon_v1.7.cab probably causes the quicklaunch bug.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:31 am

Updated Windows Media Player and Portable Media Devices Removal to 1.3, now you can play embedded Window's media content in your browser
Windows Media Player and Portable Media Devices Removal
You can still play .wma and .wmv files. The Browser Plugin work's, you can play window's media files in your browser. All file's are updated to the v10 of WMP. For Firefox and other non IE browser's you need to download this file and put it in your browser plugin folder.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:41 am

link not working for windows media player.....

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:46 am

fixed sorry.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:06 pm

Keytotime,can you look at this addon's with trouble and repair it? :oops:

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:08 pm

Which addon, can you tell me how to reproduce the error. Then I can fix it. Try it without the IE removal and see if that fix's the problems.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:42 pm

I go test it now :lol:

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:18 pm

Removal_InternetExplorer_DeleteAddon_v1.7.cab,I'am testing with only this addon and the same error appear with quick lauch bar:

Image

Cheers!

I forgot to tell that this error appear when I try to enable quick launch bar with right mouse click in taskbar.
Last edited by Rudi1 on Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FlyingGleek
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by FlyingGleek » Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:51 pm

keytotime, what a fabulous collection of removal addons - thank you!

Is it still required to do each removal addon one at a time in the newest v1.22 RVM Integrator and... are all these removal addons listed considered 'working'?

BTW, the remove Help addon hash is reported as:
93B6DD56A1EAFD8E13216ACDBC70574C

I have downloaded it twice today and I get:
89F6C33F6D2DFDEBFE1BC0E1EAD049C6

Is the MD5 hash wrong or should I re-download again later?

I do have one request for you: Is it possible to list how much savings in MB each removal addon will give?

Thanx in advance for all your help, keep up the great work slimming the bloat in windows.

Cheers.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 18, 2006 3:12 pm

Yah, I'll fix the Help Removal md5 hash. I'll add a size reduction for each addon later.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sat Mar 18, 2006 4:11 pm

techtype wrote:This one: KTT_OOBE_DeleteAddon_V1.1.CAB gave me trouble with network connections.
Techtype is right!I try to add only this addon and no network connections,only empty network connections folder and network connection service is disabled.When I try to add connection nothing change,still without connection:

Image

Image

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 18, 2006 5:34 pm

What version of XP are you using. I don't have the same problem on my pc XP SP2 VLK. Network connection's is controlled by netman.dll and the service is added through hivesys.inf. So it might be your version of XP.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sat Mar 18, 2006 6:11 pm

I use XP SP2 Pro N version,but this verion is the same,only windows media player and movie maker is removed or I'am wrong.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:46 pm

It's different because it has windows Activation which is oobe. Can you post your winnt.sif.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sun Mar 19, 2006 4:33 am

Here it is:
;SetupMgrTag
[Data]
AutoPartition=0
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=FullUnattended
OemSkipEula=Yes
OemPreinstall=No
TargetPath=\WINDOWS

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword=*
EncryptedAdminPassword=NO
OEMSkipRegional=1
TimeZone=95
OemSkipWelcome=1

[UserData]
ProductKey=Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
FullName="-"
OrgName="Invisible"
ComputerName=*

[RegionalSettings]
LanguageGroup=2
SystemLocale=00000424
UserLocale=00000424
InputLocale=0424:00000424

[Identification]
JoinWorkgroup=WORKGROUP

[Networking]
InstallDefaultComponents=Yes


I'am try with XP SP2 VLK too and is the same :oops:

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:11 am

At first bootup do you run the oobe wizard? Can you try it with my winnt.sif

[Data]
AutoPartition=1
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=FullUnattended
OemSkipEula=Yes
ExtendOemPartition = 1
Repartition = Yes
OemPreinstall=Yes
TargetPath=\WINDOWS
Hibernation = No
UnattendSwitch="yes"
DriverSigningPolicy = Ignore

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword=*
EncryptedAdminPassword=No
OEMSkipRegional=1
TimeZone=35
OemSkipWelcome=1
[UserData]
ProductKey=*
FullName="*"
OrgName="*"
ComputerName="*"

[RegionalSettings]
LanguageGroup = 1
SystemLocale=00000409
UserLocale=00000409
InputLocale=0409:00000409,0419:00000419

[Identification]
JoinWorkgroup="Workgroup"

[Networking]
InstallDefaultComponents=No

[NetProtocols]
MS_TCPIP = params.TCPIP

[NetServices]

[NetClients]
MS_MSClient = params.MS_MSClient

[Branding]
BrandIEUsingUnattended=Yes

[Shell]
DefaultStartPanelOff = Yes
CustomDefaultThemeFile = "%WinDir%\Resources\Themes\LE4.theme"

[URL]
Home_Page=http://www.google.com

[IEPopupBlocker]
BlockPopups=No
FilterLevel=Low
ShowInformationBar=Yes

[Display]
BitsPerPel = 32
XResolution = 1024
YResolution = 768
VRefresh = 75
AutoConfirm = 1

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:46 am

At first bootup do you run the oobe wizard?
No.I not and I will try your winnt.sif,Thank you!

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sun Mar 19, 2006 10:24 am

Sorry to say that,but I try your sif and have almost 40 errors
during setup and looks like all network inf files cannot copy during setup.Here is some files which one setup cannot copy:

Code: Select all

netevent.dll;netbrdgm.inf;netbrdgs.inf;netcfghlp;netcis.inf;netclass.inf;netdav.inf;netdefxa.inf;netdgdxs.inf;netbr2w.inf;netcicap;netcb325.inf;netcbe.inf;netcb102.inf;netce2.inf;netce3.inf;netcem28.inf;netcem33.inf;netcem56.inf;netcpqc.inf;netcpqg.inf;netcpgi.inf;netcpgmt.inf;netdlh5x.inf;
nete1000.inf;nete100i.inf;netjxmp.inf;nete1515.inf;nete1574.inf;nete15x9.inf.................................................
Image

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Mar 19, 2006 10:35 am

Did you chnage the regional setting's to your region?

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:10 am

yes
(if you need any files to see it I can send it)

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:50 pm

I doubt you can use a VLK key with XP N. Wasn't there something Ryan discovered that's different about XP N ?

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:07 pm

RogueSpear wrote:I doubt you can use a VLK key with XP N. Wasn't there something Ryan discovered that's different about XP N ?
The Corporate version of Windows Xp Sp2 N is also release and we have it in my work company,so you not right.I have try with nlite to remove only OOBE and no problems.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:10 pm

Rudi1 wrote:The Corporate version of Windows Xp Sp2 N is also release and we have it in my work company,so you not right.
Ya learn something new everyday :) I've been poking around trying to find the information about N. I just know I saw something in here that indicated something different about XP N.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:51 pm

One last thing can you open up your setupp.ini and post you PID.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:23 pm

[Pid]
ExtraData=786F687170637175716954806365EF
Pid=76487270

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:50 am

Can you try with a patched sysetup.dll. Nlite remove's the same files that I do.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:41 pm

Hey,I try your suggestion with patched sysetup.dll and your winnt.sif and works like a sharm,really strange,but you are right about this.Now we know that with xp N version when we remove OOBE,we must use patched sysetup.dll. :lol:
Sorry for this fals post about not working remove addon!For now all your addon works like a sharm for me,only still left quick launch issue.
When I look at your winnt.sif I learn something new too,now I know how I can install only TCP/IP ;)

Thank you!

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:58 pm

Yeah, It kindof make's sense because the patched sysetup.dll prevent's the oobe from running.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:33 pm

Updated:
Communication tools 2 files
Help Removal added about 150 files
Index Service added 2 Files
OOBE added 1 file
System Restore added 1 file
Windows Media Player added 1 file.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:26 pm

Hi!

I just finnish test with your update files and some others.No problem so far,only one strange things is happend.In this test I don't use IE remove addons,becouse you write:not use it and I'am wait for your update,but when the xp install is finnished the IE is also gone.Empty programs files folder(just 2 empty folders) and I can't find any ie files with search.Here is a log from integrator,so you can see which addons I have use in this run.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/inkpqb

:oops:

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:36 pm

..
Last edited by ENU_user on Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:44 pm

Can't reproduce the problem and sendspace is down.

Rudi1
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:49 am

Post by Rudi1 » Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:00 pm

Yes, I know you will say,this trouble maker again,but I only post what is happend in my system,so maybae it's only me.Another link:
http://www.mytempdir.com/533560

User avatar
twig123
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:19 am

Post by twig123 » Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:30 pm

... Um, I have a question because it wasn't really clear to me...
Do these just remove the files associated with their respective addons so that the CD is smaller... or does it totally remove the capability and access to the addons in the since that they can't be used/reinstalled after windows is loaded?

...essentially what I wanna know is, If I use an addon, Will I be able to goto add/remove programs and reinstall the component if I decide that I want it down the road?

User avatar
keytotime
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:44 pm

Post by keytotime » Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:37 am

No you will not be able to.

Post Reply