[Obsolete] IE Flash v9.0.45.0 Update

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

[Obsolete] IE Flash v9.0.45.0 Update

Post by 5eraph » Wed Mar 15, 2006 2:41 pm

Internet Explorer Flash v9.0.45.0 Update Addon for Windows XP SP2

Description:
  • This addon updated Microsoft's built-in Internet Explorer Flash plugin to v9.0.45.0.
Details:
  • Info link: Adobe.
  • Intended for Windows XP SP2 with RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.9 only.
  • Tested in Microsoft Virtual PC 2007.
  • Integrated with RyanVM Integrator v1.4.3 and nLite 1.3 Final (or later versions of either).
Credits:File Information:
  • Name: 5er_IEFlash9R45_Addon.7z
    Size: 972 KB
    MD5: 30E8B617EED3F6C10C3A8074BA545A8B
Changelog:
  • [2007/05/13 19:45 GMT] - Addon obsoleted.
  • [2007/04/13 11:45 GMT] - Updated to v9.0.45.0.
  • [2006/11/28 19:20 GMT] - Fixed a typo in the entries file.
  • [2006/11/28 05:05 GMT] - Updated to v9.0.28.0 by request. New integration method based on RyanVM's.
  • [2006/11/25 03:10 GMT] - Addon obsoleted.
  • [2006/07/04 22:05 GMT] - Updated to v9.0.16.0.
  • [2006/03/15 23:15 GMT] - Silent Update: Changed entries filename from TXT to INI for addon compliance. The previous version still works, but inadvertently added the text file to I386 and wasn't properly displayed in nLite.
  • [2006/03/15 19:40 GMT] - Initial Release. (v8.0.24.0)
Last edited by 5eraph on Wed May 30, 2007 10:17 pm, edited 41 times in total.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Fri Mar 17, 2006 1:15 am

hey :P
tested it today, and its working, good job and thanx very much

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:00 am

Thank you, MrNxDmx, for pointing me to Body's post. I couldn't have made this addon otherwise. :)

User avatar
mgadallah
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:35 pm
Location: Egypt - Cairo

Post by mgadallah » Thu May 11, 2006 2:16 pm

Thanks
Thanks :)
Mohamed

User avatar
T D
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: ::1 (127.0.0.1)

Post by T D » Tue Jul 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Hi.
Can you update to 9? It's not beta in case you were wondering,
Thanks.
Image

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:20 pm

Updated. :)

I'll be updating this addon in the future by request only. For me, it has already served its purpose.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:31 am

than you for update. and yes it has already served its purpose.

User avatar
T D
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: ::1 (127.0.0.1)

Post by T D » Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:12 pm

One more qustion, is this compatible w/server 2003?
Thanks.
Image

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jul 05, 2006 2:00 pm

windows server 2003 doesnt have flash player built in. only xp does.
but boooggy's and codejunkie's update packs have it installed. you can dig into them.
or edit w2k3 sysoc.inf file for installing it. but i cant provide infor for it.
but maybe i can make an addon for it :twisted:

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:22 pm

I don't have a copy of Windows 2003 to look at or test with so I can't officially support it, but it wouldn't be too hard to adapt the addon for use with it.

You'd need to add a line to SYSOC.INF to get Flash 9 installed. You'd also need to add a couple lines to DOSNET.INF and TXTSETUP.SIF to get Windows to copy the needed files. All of this can be done by adding the correct lines to my existing ENTRIES_FLASH.INI.

Unpack my addon, open my INI, then add this code to the end:

Code: Select all

[filenames]
maininf=swflash.inf

[sysoc]
Flash9=ocgen.dll,OcEntry,%maininf%,,7

[dosnet_files]
d1,%maininf%
d1,Flash.ocx

[txtsetup_dirs]
460 = system32\Macromed\Flash

[txtsetup_files]
%maininf%    = 100,,,,,,,20,0,0
Flash.ocx   = 100,,,,,,,460,0,0
After saving the file, repack the addon with Cab Tool, and integrate with nLite.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:29 pm

How is this different from 'Macromedia Flash Player 9.0.16.0 ActiveX Control' which is already there in RyanVM's UPdate Pack 2.0.7a?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:47 pm

No difference, Sanjay. My addon is not currently needed with newer versions of the RyanVM Update Pack, as I allude to in the first post. :)

I use Ryan's method, but not his added registry entries. Flash will work without them.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Wed Jul 05, 2006 8:40 pm

made a test, i got ocx copied to right place but didnt get it registered correctly.
will try again later...
thanx for info 5eraph.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu Jul 06, 2006 5:46 am

If using boooggy's 2k3 Update Pack, you may have to unregister his version first. This can be done within my INF, or by removing the necessary section from the INF in his Update Pack.

Alex
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:18 pm

Post by Alex » Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:09 pm

Dear Seraph,

Your previous flash version works flawlessly on my DellX1. Actually I am using it right now.

I was trying to update Your version to r28 by changing version number to 28 and one registry entry to binary value (I noticed that it changed to binary with r28 after some testing). So Dell disc does not matter at all!!!

Just pls do new version, it's all I beg for. I managed to install flash.ocx, as I wrote on Ryan' thread, and it works, but I have this mistake in event log and in setuperr.log after fresh install, that it was not registered properly. Just try updating Your pack and make fresh install, You will see!
But why?

Will be waiting for Your new release,

Thank You in advance,
Alex

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:15 am

Your new release is ready, Alex.

I've tested it without problems, but I'm curious about what logs you check to verify an error-free installation. I ran a text search through the files in %SystemRoot% and its subdirectories for any instances of flash.ocx and found no matches except in LAYOUT.INF which just lists the file.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:22 am

5eraph, that error is recorded in C:\WINDOWS\setuperr.log. I get it too.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:36 am

Well, after checking I can say that it's solved. No errors relating to FLASH.OCX.

Alex
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:18 pm

Post by Alex » Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:59 am

Dear Seraph,

Thank you very much for the update. It's not that easy to update as I can see, I would not manage to do it on my own.

@MrNxDmX
Thank You for reporting the error. I had this error in mind.

I believe it's not necessary even to report if it works. If I stumble on something I will post here.

I hope it was not too much of trouble, Seraph, thank You!!!

Waited for one hour to download! Too many people trying to download!!!

Seraph, would You consider making separate windows and office updates addons? Ryan prefers microsoft update addon but it shows all integrated office hotfixes as not installed. And though it is known bug as Ryan says it does not inspire to use MS update.

Thank You very much for what You' done!!!

Good wind,
Alex

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:34 am

You're welcome, Alex.

It was a learning experience. Hopefully one of many to come. ;)

I'm afraid I can't help you with Office updates. I've stopped using it completely for the past six months or more, and I'm simply not motivated enough to find a pirate copy or shell out the hundreds of dollars for the most recent version.

There are free viewers available for browsing documents in Microsoft's proprietary formats and plenty of freeware to create documents in more "open" formats.

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:04 pm

found a little error in entries
in dosnet it is like this:
d1,flashutil.exe
and it should be
d1,flashutl.exe

Alex
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:18 pm

Post by Alex » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:09 pm

Hi Seraph,

Thank You once more!!!

I have legit copy of XP Office Xp. I needed windows and office updates addon, meaning integration of files needed to get to the page (update engine etc.)
Did You undersatnd me correctly?

Anyway, thank You very much for Flash addon, that was real pain in one place! Hope You learned this lesson quickly. So instead of flash.ocx now we have flash9b.ocx, not so smart as I thought on Ryan's side.

Good luck,
Alex

Alex
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:18 pm

Post by Alex » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:15 pm

Not topic related and deleted by author...
Last edited by Alex on Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:20 pm

I made a booboo. Too long without sleep, I think.

Problem corrected. File and first post updated.

Nice catch, boooggy. :)

EDIT: Now I understand you, Alex. Did I mention I haven't slept yet? I'm a little sluggish at the moment. ;)

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:52 pm

Ok, Alex, I believe you're looking for these:

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:01 pm

Alex wrote:I have legit copy of XP Office Xp. I needed windows and office updates addon, meaning integration of files needed to get to the page (update engine etc.)
Did You undersatnd me correctly?
Integration of files to go to update pages :idea:
If I understand correctly, you just need xable's: [Release] Office Update Engine, and also [Release] Disable Microsoft Update in RyanVM Update Pack. Is it ok now? :wink:

Edit: Sorry 5eraph, you posted while i was typing. And i have misunderstood Alex's request.
Edit: I will make an addon for both WU and MU for guys who dont use Ryans Update Pack. That one has some redundants in it.

Alex
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:18 pm

Post by Alex » Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:49 pm

Not topic related and deleted by author...
Last edited by Alex on Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alex
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:18 pm

Post by Alex » Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:02 pm

Not topic related and deleted by author...
Last edited by Alex on Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:08 pm

Alex, I made 2 addons for ya, one for just windows update, and the other one for microsoft update. (here)

Alex
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:18 pm

Post by Alex » Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:28 pm

Big thanks to MrNxDmX.

All the best,
Alex

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:01 am

Updated for use with RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.9. :)

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:23 am

download link kinda dead.......


edit
works now......

dkrus
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by dkrus » Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:44 pm

Thanks

SoKoOLz
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 am

Post by SoKoOLz » Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:26 pm

thx u
Image

OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Post by OuTman » Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:48 pm

thanks !

I noticed the trick of renaming to flash9c.ocx at "runonce" step, is it mandatory and due to Flash 9.0.45 ?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:18 pm

I'm honestly not sure, OuTman, but if previous methods of integrating Flash are any indication then keeping the original file names prevents problems for the end-user later when the inevitable need to update Flash occurs. :)
RyanVM wrote:What's New:
Version 2.1.4
  • ..
  • Changed the way Flash is installed to better handle future updates.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Apr 16, 2007 4:01 am

Thanks for the addon 5eraph.
Just FYI, overwriting old files with newer ones works perfect. I did a test now with replacing files, and changing only the version number in RVMUpPck.inf file.
There is no errors in setuperr.log and when i go here, http://www.adobe.com/products/flash/about/ , it says i have version 9,0,45,0 installed.
I tried regsvr32 on the dll but it couldnt register the file, though.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Apr 16, 2007 4:54 am

I remove the [Flash.Register] section because it executes before my files are renamed, making regsvr32 necessary for my implementation when preserving file names.

User avatar
runningfool87
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by runningfool87 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:47 am

...getting a 403 error when i try to download. happens in IE and firefox, and on different IP's. am i doing something wrong??

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:23 am

If you use a software firewall or download accelerator, make certain that they are configured to allow sending referrer information with the download URL. This is necessary to prevent 3rd party sites from stealing Ryan's bandwidth by direct linking files from this site (like this addon, which Ryan was gracious enough to host for me).

Kakaru
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:26 pm

Post by Kakaru » Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:36 am

Thanks, I'll test a cd this week-end.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Fri May 04, 2007 8:22 am

While working on my own switchless installer for Flash and Shockwave I noticed that the latest Flash version for IE has files with a modified date of March 30, rather than the March 23 ones included in your pack. Also I noticed the .ocx file is called 'Flash9c.ocx' now. Dunno when RyanVM's Update Pack 2.20 is coming but you may want to update this addon.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri May 04, 2007 2:03 pm

I intentionally named the OCX using "b" to replace the existing file in Ryan's Update Pack. If you look within [ExtraFileEdits] then you'll see how I work around that. :P

I don't plan on updating this addon anytime soon. Ryan's next Update Pack should include the latest Flash (and integrate it a bit differently than he has previously). Patch Tuesday is only four days away.

Mitsuko Aninikkou
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands (But running US WinXP, in case it comes up)

Post by Mitsuko Aninikkou » Fri May 04, 2007 2:38 pm

Cool, I thought you might be renaming it (only after I posted though :P)

User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Post by kelaniz » Thu May 10, 2007 2:38 am

5eraph: Possibly a stupid question, but will Ryan's next pack obsolete this addon?
-KZ

Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Thu May 10, 2007 3:47 am

That's the plan, kelaniz. This addon is just a stopgap measure until Ryan includes it in his Update Pack. The thread tag will be changed from [Release] to [Obsolete] when it happens.

User avatar
kelaniz
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Land of Broken Dreams

Post by kelaniz » Thu May 10, 2007 10:05 pm

K. thought so. Thanks for the info.

Anyway, It's served its purpose quite well for me on 10+ builds. :)
-KZ

Professional writer/musician/lunatic on closed course. Do not attempt.

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 8:34 pm

In case people are curious, there's a beta of an upcoming release (.60). Found out about it via Mozilla's bug tracking system. Supposedly fixes some high CPU usage issues, though dunno if those issues were specific only to the non-IE incarnation of Flash.
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer9.html

Post Reply