Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
Post Reply
barry.ein

Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting

Post by barry.ein » Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:32 am

Hi all

First i want to thank Ryan for the great work.

I downloaded the latest pack and addon pack.

i started the intergrator and entered the information.

After it finishes copying the XP files to the dorectory, i get the following message: Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting

when i used the prior packs it worked ok with all my aother addons.

Please help
Barry

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:59 am

if you would want to make sure ur pack is good download the torrent form http://tracker.ryanvm.net/
once you got the torrent file configured put the pack inside download dir for the bit/torrent client app used
and again run the force download /check .it will fix the pack if found corrupted
this tip is good for thoes using dialup connection

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Sep 30, 2006 9:11 am

2.1.2 isn't available by BitTorrent...(and 2.1.2a isn't available on my website)

But ENU_user touched on the most important point. Verify the MD5 sum of the file you downloaded (the correct one is given on my website) because that error is 99% of the time caused by a corrupt download.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

DLS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by DLS » Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:00 pm

I am having the same probelem. I have re-downloaded from the website and downloaded from the bittorrent site. Both fail with the same error message as the original poster. The failure occurs just after the "Moving Stuff Around" log entry appears while processing the SP2 files.

Regards, Dan

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:54 pm

do not use oddcharacters in your paths. post your failed log files.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
Hatefulsorrow
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:00 pm
Location: South Lake Tahoe, CA

Post by Hatefulsorrow » Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:42 pm

I had this problem as well but found a fix. I was running the Integrator on one of my external HD's. It would give me this error on any drive letter other then C: When I moved the integrator into a new folder on the C: everthing went without a hitch. I am not to sure why this is but I think it has something to when the intregrator extracts files and assigns a variable to this path. Anyways, If you move the integrator into a folder on your C: where the folder name contains no spaces it should work no problem.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:35 pm

odd, given that I do all my integrations from the d: drive :P
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:41 pm

I do my integrations from:
F:\Working\XP POWPACKER\PLUGINS\INTEGRATOR
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:02 am

yeah but we all know yer special Sig ;) so of course it works for you -grin-

TechnoHunter

Nightowl
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post by Nightowl » Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:17 pm

I'm having the same problem. Downloaded from d/l link and utorrent but the result is the same. Checksum works out.
Here's my [short] !! log:
11-10-2006 19¦02¦04
Log Startup @ 19:02:04 On 11-10-2006

19:02:04 - RVMIntegrator v1.4.1
19:02:15 - Windows XP Home Edition - Retail SP2 Found
19:02:32 -
19:02:32 - Source Drive = C:\xpcd
19:02:32 - Destination Drive = C:\xpcd
19:02:32 - Destination Size = 53774.625
19:02:32 - Working Directory = C:\xpcd\I386
19:02:32 - Temp Directory = C:\xpcd\I386\rvmtemp
19:02:32 -
19:02:32 - Starting Integration
19:02:33 -
19:02:33 - Checking Destination For OS Type.
19:02:33 - Windows XP Home Edition - Retail SP2 Found
19:02:33 - Clearing any Read Only Attributes.
19:02:33 -
19:02:34 - Extracting RVMUpdatePack2.1.2a.7z
19:02:34 - MD5 Hash = DA75AE5B6BADED4B0C8B723C65538B0B
19:02:34 -
19:02:34 - Gathering temp files
19:02:34 - Expanding driver.cab
19:02:34 - Expanding SP2.cab
19:02:35 - Compressing Files
19:02:35 - Shifting Stuff Around
19:02:35 -

Log Shutdown @ 19:09:10 On 11-10-2006
I'm attempting to integrate into a slipstreamed WinXP Home folder.
Thanks :?

ViVa

Post by ViVa » Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:33 pm

Your MD5 Hash is ok for sure.

Have you tried using the latest integrator (1.4.2) instead of 1.4.1? ;)

ccuappz
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 7:13 am

Post by ccuappz » Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:18 am

I think this happens because of insufficient disk space

Nightowl
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post by Nightowl » Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:05 pm

Viva - thanks for the suggestion to upgrade to 1.4.2 - but results are still the same. As for space - I have approx 54 GB free so that's not an issue. I'm going to start over completely and see if that makes a difference. Only thing I can think of right now is that the SP2 update might be corrupt. :?

DLS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by DLS » Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:11 pm

I finally got back to trying the various things mentioned earlier in the thread. My log looks almost exactly like Nighowl's except that I am using 1.4.2 and XP Professional. I originally had the problem on my D: drive, but moving everything to the C: drive didn't make a difference. Nor did taking out the space in one of the folders. I have 39GB of free space on C:.
I have the same problem with version 2.1.2 of the post SP2 file.


14-10-2006 16¦18¦48
Log Startup @ 16:18:48 On 14-10-2006

16:18:48 - RVMIntegrator v1.4.2
16:18:48 - C:\RVM\RVM_Integrator_1.4.2.exe
16:21:05 -
16:21:05 - Source Drive = C:\XP
16:21:05 - Destination Drive = C:\XPCD
16:21:05 - Destination Size = 41188.25
16:21:05 - Working Directory = C:\XPCD\I386
16:21:05 - Temp Directory = C:\XPCD\I386\rvmtemp
16:21:05 -
16:21:05 - Starting Integration
16:21:05 -
16:21:05 - Copying Files To The Destination Directory.
16:21:05 - Copying Working Directory...
16:25:13 - 6771 Files Copied in 244 Seconds
16:25:14 -
16:25:14 - Checking Destination For OS Type.
16:25:14 - Windows XP Professional - Retail SP2 Found
16:25:14 - Clearing any Read Only Attributes.
16:25:19 -
16:25:28 - Extracting RVMUpdatePack2.1.2a.7z
16:25:28 - MD5 Hash = DA75AE5B6BADED4B0C8B723C65538B0B
16:26:00 -
16:26:00 - Gathering temp files
16:26:05 - Expanding driver.cab
16:27:06 - Expanding SP2.cab
16:27:27 - Copying files for driver.cab repackaging.
16:27:30 - Moving files for driver.cab repackaging.
16:27:30 - Compressing Files
16:32:51 - Shifting Stuff Around
16:32:51 -


Any other ideas?

Regards, Dan

woolly
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:16 am

Post by woolly » Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:30 pm

I had the same issue with the Integrator 1.42 crapping out after announcing that is was "Shifting Stuff Around". After reading some of the other posts I got things working by.

1. Moving the RyanVM integrator and related .CAB files to a new directory -- C:\ryanvm. I had been unsuccessfuly attempting integration running the Integrator from R:\ryanvm (no, I don't have that many drives, I just assign drive letters to partitions that help me remember their contents).
2. Inserting a CD previously slipstreamed with Windows XP and SP2, and pointing to the CD as the source for the I386 folder. Perhaps I could have copied the CD's contents to a folder on the hard drive, but I didn' try that. (The I386 folder on C:\ contained previously integrated files.)
3. Creating a new XPCD destination directory at the root of the C: drive for the output files.
4. Run RyanVM Integrator and let it do it thing.

This worked for me. Your mileage may vary.

DLS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by DLS » Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:22 pm

OK. I tried using an original SP1 CD as the source rather than the copied files from a previously slipstreamed (Autostreamer) directory. I specified that SP2 needed to be slipstreamed. The Integrator program and update files are in C:\RVM. The Destination Directory is C:\XPCD. The Make ISO file is set to SP2Plus.iso in the C:\XPCD Directory (could this be the problem?). And I still get the same error message. The log from the latest attempt is:

16-10-2006 20¦26¦31
Log Startup @ 20:26:31 On 16-10-2006

20:26:31 - RVMIntegrator v1.4.2
20:26:31 - C:\RVM\RVM_Integrator_1.4.2.exe
20:26:47 - Windows XP Professional - Retail SP1 Found
20:30:01 -
20:30:01 - Source Drive = E:
20:30:01 - Destination Drive = C:\XPCD
20:30:01 - Destination Size = 42872.7578125
20:30:01 - Working Directory = C:\XPCD\I386
20:30:01 - Temp Directory = C:\XPCD\I386\rvmtemp
20:30:01 -
20:30:02 - Starting Integration
20:30:02 -
20:30:02 - Copying Files To The Destination Directory.
20:30:07 - Copying Working Directory...
20:38:14 - 6511 Files Copied in 480 Seconds
20:38:14 -
20:38:14 - Checking Destination For OS Type.
20:38:14 - Windows XP Professional - Retail SP1 Found
20:38:15 - Clearing any Read Only Attributes.
20:38:19 -
20:38:21 - Extracting RVMUpdatePack2.1.2a.7z
20:38:21 - MD5 Hash = DA75AE5B6BADED4B0C8B723C65538B0B
20:38:47 -
20:38:47 - XP SP2 Needs To Be Slipstreamed...
20:38:47 - SlipStreaming SP2
20:40:35 - Windows XP Professional - Retail SP2 Found
20:40:36 -
20:40:36 - Gathering temp files
20:40:39 - Expanding driver.cab
20:41:50 - Expanding SP2.cab
20:42:11 - Copying files for driver.cab repackaging.
20:42:12 - Moving files for driver.cab repackaging.
20:42:12 - Compressing Files
20:47:27 - Shifting Stuff Around
20:47:27 -

This is driving me to drink because I have just built a new Core 2 Duo system and I want to load an operating system on it. Any ideas?

Regards, Dan

P.S. Barry and Nightowl haven't posted anything back so I don't know if they have found a solution.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:57 am

question for you.. are you using the builtin version of the mkisofs or the external cdimage to make your iso with?

i personally use the external cdimage.exe prog and have never ONCE had issues like have been described in this thread.. might try that and see if it works

just my .02 cents worth

TechnoHunter

EDIT :: that is if it even gets that far.. i might be reading the thread wrong.. -sigh- if so just forget i said anything :oops:

TecDiver

Post by TecDiver » Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:02 pm

I tried integrating from the same drive first off and got exactly the same error. I think maybe the problem is to do with the settings.ini not containing the correct links, especially when moving files around to get it to work. Got it working first re-try by:

- creating new directory integrator files (C:\RVM)
- copying and pasting into this folder ONLY

RVM_Integrator_1.4.2.exe
RVMUpdatePack2.1.1.7z
RVMAddonsDX9_1.0.7z

- start the integrator, (it will make a new integrator.ini file)
- fill in your settings
- go to file and save settings
- close integrator
- open the new intergrator.ini file and check the settings manually
- re-open integrator application and try again.

It's a shot in the dark and no harm in trying, but worked for me! HTH

pjandrokovic

Post by pjandrokovic » Tue Oct 17, 2006 6:13 pm

I was having trouble getting past the "Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting" problem before I tried TecDiver's solution. It worked without a hitch. I'd say try this if you're having a problem

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:54 pm

Very weird you have to go to those lengths. :(
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

darkradx
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:48 pm

Post by darkradx » Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:56 pm

The path in which you put RVM pack and integrator is too long.

DLS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by DLS » Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:00 pm

I finally did what I should have done much earlier. I turned on the Advanced debug functions and observed what was happening. At the end of the Compressing Files step and the transition to the Moving Stuff Around step in the log I get the error message: 'xcopy.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

I tried copying this file from the Sys32 folder to the Windows folder, the RVM folder (where I have integrator), and to the root of C:. Despite it being present in all of these locations, I still get the "Error: No entries*.ini Found, Exiting" message.

Obviously something is whacky here. Hopefully, this additional information will help someone identify what I need to do to get the program to run to completion.

Regards, Dan

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:27 pm

Very odd, because we bundle a copy of xcopy with the Integrator in order to prevent people having problems like that.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

DLS
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by DLS » Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:41 pm

Duh, senior moment. I checked my Environment Variables and there was no Path statement. I entered one and everything worked just fine.

Now I can stop drinking...well maybe not entirely.

Regards, Dan

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:17 am

That's very good information to have, because we can remedy that in the future on our end too :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Post Reply