[Release] European Union Expansion Font Update Addon v1.1

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

[Release] European Union Expansion Font Update Addon v1.1

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:32 pm

This is the addon which will overwrite your existing "Arial.ttf, Arialbd.ttf, Arialbi.ttf, Ariali.ttf, Times.ttf, Timesbd.ttf, Timesbi.ttf, Timesi.ttf, trebuc.ttf, trebucbd.ttf, trebucit.ttf, trebucbi.ttf, verdana.ttf, verdanab.ttf, verdanai.ttf, verdanaz.ttf" fonts with newer ones that come from version 1.02 of European Union Expansion Font Update.
This addon works without any registering informations, as windows will normally register them.
These font files were same in english xp sp2 disc and also turkish xp sp2 disc. Dont know if it works with other languages.

RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.9 doesnt have this yet.

For more info please refer to: European Union Expansion Font Update

Download here: NR_EUEfontUpdate_Addon_1.1.7z
Size: 1,38 MB / Md5: 426962119E9EEBA258F0BF31B4B5D532

Changelog:
2007-May-04: Updated to v1.02 version of fonts.

RyanVM hosting. Thanks Ryan.
Last edited by MrNxDmX on Thu May 03, 2007 7:41 pm, edited 10 times in total.

User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by ahmerkhan » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:41 pm

MrNxDmX, great job man...

As these are from Microsoft,All of us should check these fonts with our Native languages.
If there is no any Problem with these one i think RyanVm should pulled these fonts in the Next release of Post SP2 Updatepack...

Please Upload this Addon at another server,I have a shared IP network connection...:(

Thanks...:)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:29 pm

Added new link for ya mindcurd :)
Ryan said that he is going to include these in his next pack.
Last edited by MrNxDmX on Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Post by ahmerkhan » Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:12 am

I am glad to hear the good news. :)

Thanks again...

marzsyndrome
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 6:01 am

Post by marzsyndrome » Fri Dec 01, 2006 8:38 am

So, can someone confirm to me that these new fonts are only of use to certain foreign language XP users, and not needed at all for English XPs?

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Dec 01, 2006 8:55 am

I suppose it has to do with how often your websurfing takes you to foreign sites. ;)

I wouldn't say that it's not needed at all, but it's certainly of minimal use to those who can't read Romanian or Bulgarian.

For those who don't know, or have been living in the dark ages the past couple years, this song is Romanian.

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Fri Dec 01, 2006 4:52 pm

There are only a few (total 6 new characters - 3 capital, 3 small), but the intresting is that i'am bulgarian and i don't know what is the purpose of the new character (only 1 bulgarian, 2 romanian)... There is no such letter in our alphabet...

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:48 pm

Maybe they're creating new letters?

I'll save you some reading and cut right to the chase. Microsoft has recently made a version of Windows for a language that technically has no written component (Mapudungun, and yes, I'm aware my spelling doesn't match what's on the site ;)). It's a tribal language based phonetically on Central American Spanish. Apparently they asked the wrong people to help them put together the alphabet.

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:29 am

Well, Microsoft loves to "innovate".

And because this post speaks about Romanian - Microsoft has create in XP and continues with Vista an Romanian Layout for keyboards. An variation of the German (qwertz) layout. Well I have nothing to say about that, except the official and registered standard in Romania is US (qwerty). You will never find in a shop an keyboard with Microsoft's Romanian Layout.

Also on MSN Live Maps - an Microsoft division - The Geography of Romania has names wich remember more the Bram Stocker "Dracula" than the reality...

Sorry to be offtopic, but that's the American (in)culture...

colornokia
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post by colornokia » Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:34 am

Yeap you're right... they changed the bulgarian phonetic keyboard layout too... also for many version of Windows Bulgaria was in a wrong timezone (GMT +1, instead of GMT +2... May be the situation will change when we (bulgarians and romanians) are official members of the EU (27 day to go ;))

Eiffel
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 am

Post by Eiffel » Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:19 am

Hmm. Microsoft has release 3 days ago an new update pack, this time includes also Verdana... And it could update also Vista ( with verdana ) not only XP

Checked - and the letters are ok, they are from Romanian alphabet...

User avatar
keloo05
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:04 pm
Location: Romania

Post by keloo05 » Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:05 am

I'm a Romanian, and I would be happy to find out that Ryan will include this in the Update Pack :D
Last edited by keloo05 on Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:29 am

Be happy, keloo05. :)
MrNxDmX wrote:I talked [to Ryan] on msn, and he said he will include this one in next update pack.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu May 03, 2007 7:41 pm

Updated to v1.02 version of fonts.

Addon is not tested, should work ok though. Will be glad if someone can confirm it as working.

RyanVM Update Pack 2.1.9 doesnt have this. I'm sure 2.2.0 will do.

User avatar
dougiefresh
Posts: 948
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by dougiefresh » Wed May 16, 2007 4:45 am

Does UpdatePack v2.1.10 have this? Thanx in advance!

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed May 16, 2007 4:54 am

Yes it does.

Post Reply