[Release] Recycle Bin Start Menu AddOn v0.4 *01-24-07*

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

[Release] Recycle Bin Start Menu AddOn v0.4 *01-24-07*

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm

Image

Recycle Bin Start Menu v0.4
Adds The Recycle Bin to your start menu, also adds check box in Start Menu Properties and Folder Options to show/hide the Recycle Bin Icon in both Start Menu and Desktop
Image
MD5: 7F081E72DAAA2316B8DCA21510CD9861
Size: 2.24 KB
Website: http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=552

Very special thanks: Cygnus, Tom, VA(s)T, oxcoxp, Arnab and Sanjay for all your smarts

CCleaner Users:
; ### CCleaner Users Edit/Remove the SemiColon from the begining of the RegEntries
;HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Shell\Open CCleaner...\command",,0,"%16422%\CCleaner\ccleaner.exe"
;HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Shell\Run CCleaner\command",,0,"%16422%\CCleaner\ccleaner.exe /AUTO"
Changelog:
01-24-07 v0.4
Removed Rename From Context Menu
Added Optional Lines for CCleaner users Right Click Context Menu
01-20-07 v0.3
Added Empty Recycle Bin to Context Menu (thanks to Arnab)
Slimed down RegEntries (thanks to Sanjay)
01-12-07 v0.2
Added Right Click: Properties, Rename, Open and Explorer entries to Recycle Bin shortcut (thanks to oxcoxp, only Empty Recycle Bin left :P)
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:15 pm, edited 19 times in total.

ScOOt3r
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Vancouver 2010 Olympics!

Post by ScOOt3r » Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:26 am

Hey this one is neat.. thanks rick


ScOOt3r!
Go Canada Go!

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:41 am

schweeeet! Now all I need is a "show desktop" for the start ment.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:02 am

Thats another cool addon for my dvd :)
Thanks for sharing.

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:12 am

Very cool. I like the show desktop idea too. :D
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Jan 04, 2007 2:38 am

do we really need to register at wincert.com to d/l these addons.....

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:23 am

@newsposter : ... in short you dont have to do anything you dont want to.. but if you want these addons.. yup.. (at least till rick mirrors em.. if he wants to that is)

have fun

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:29 am

rick,
Sweet addon, man! Should've been included with XP from the beginning. I mean, they moved everything else to the Start Menu, didn't they?

(And I second that motion. Rick, plz mirror these!!) :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:36 am

TechnoHunter wrote:@newsposter : ... in short you dont have to do anything you dont want to.. but if you want these addons.. yup.. (at least till rick mirrors em.. if he wants to that is)

have fun
Fack Im sorry for that I didnt know you had to register... Im adding a mirror, very sorry I really didn't mean it.

See its only 1.77 KB and Ryan does not allow atachments so i simply attached it to a post at wincert and didn't realize it guys, 1000 apologies

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5186
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:39 am

(I do mirror addons for anyone who PMs me with a link and asks nicely ;))
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:43 am

RyanVM wrote:(I do mirror addons for anyone who PMs me with a link and asks nicely ;))
The thing is, i have addon hosting thats kindly provided by SoKoOLz... I was just too lazy to open Filezilla and upload it

User avatar
Mandarin
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:59 pm

Post by Mandarin » Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:16 pm

Works perfectly but when it shows up in the start menu it takes the place of the BootSafe utility that was there previously. Looks like only one entry is allowed in that space perhaps?
BootSafe can still be run from control panel so not a big issue and the recycle bin on the start menu is a better place for it anyway.

mc134
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Post by mc134 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:51 pm

Ricktendo64,

Thank you for figuring this out. I found two minor errors in your .inf and just wanted to share...

Code: Select all

HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx\Ricycle",,,"Custom Recycle Bin Options"
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnceEx\Ricycle",1,,"rundll32 setupapi,InstallHinfSection RecycleInstall 128 %17%\Recycle.inf"
Notice the miss-spelling after the RunOnceEX? (Ricycle instead of Recycle)

Also, How difficult would it be to figure out the context menus for the recycle bin so they work the same on the start menu as they do on the desktop?
i.e. Right-Click --> Empty Recycle Bin

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:00 pm

LOOOOL thats intentional it does not matter what it says, it will only run once during t12 and it will be deleted... Ric-cycle (my names Rick :P)

As far as the Right click ive been trying by looking at how the my computer short cut does it but i cannot seem to figure it out

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:18 pm

.....and the Show Desktop hack

mc134
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Post by mc134 » Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:21 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. I was trying to figure it out myself but I had no luck...you know i think i remember seeing something about it in a registry book I have. I will look it up and report back.

User avatar
Spiritus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:59 am
Location: Planet Earth

Post by Spiritus » Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:44 am

One problem, anybody noticed: It always show full on starmenu :(

User avatar
greenonx
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: SurKentli

Post by greenonx » Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:08 am

so cool, small but funny addons, thanks

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:19 am

Spiritus wrote:One problem, anybody noticed: It always show full on starmenu :(
hmmm are you sure? Check the MD5 hash its probably an earlier addon, if the hashes don't match re download and try it again. I got the same addon with the same hash and it shows it as empty.

This is the line in the addon that tells which recycle bin icon to use, 31 is empty and 32 is full

Code: Select all

HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\DefaultIcon",,0,"%11%\shell32.dll,[color=yellow]31[/color]"
newsposter wrote:.....and the Show Desktop hack
Whats the Command to show the desktop???

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:51 pm

This might help (or not)

[Shell]
Command=2
IconFile=explorer.exe,3
[Taskbar]
Command=ToggleDesktop

-or-

regsvr32 /n /i:U shell32

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:52 pm

I think it will be and easy hack newsposter... But the Recycle Bin and show desktop you wont be able to integrate both

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Jan 11, 2007 2:22 pm

that's what I figured, it will be an either-or decision but one that most of us would be happy to make.. I'd prefer Show Desktop, others will go after Recycle Bin. YMMV and all that.......

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:16 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:
Spiritus wrote:One problem, anybody noticed: It always show full on starmenu :(
hmmm are you sure? Check the MD5 hash its probably an earlier addon, if the hashes don't match re download and try it again. I got the same addon with the same hash and it shows it as empty.

This is the line in the addon that tells which recycle bin icon to use, 31 is empty and 32 is full

Code: Select all

HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\DefaultIcon",,0,"%11%\shell32.dll,[color=yellow]31[/color]"
As long as the 'Recycle Bin' Icon in the Start Menu works only as a static shortcut to the 'Recycle Bin' folder, the state of the Icon 'Empty or Full is sort of immaterial, since it does not actually reflect the true state of the 'Recycle Bin'. Whatever state you choose to have in the addon it will always remain the same irrespective of the actual state of the 'Recycle Bin'.

What would be really cool is if the 'Recycle Bin' Icon in the Start Menu could work like the 'Recycle Bin' Icon on the Desktop, including all the 'right click' functionalities,
i.e. Right-Click
--> Open
--> Explore
--> Empty Recycle Bin
--> Create Shortcut
--> Properties

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:35 pm

newsposter wrote:schweeeet! Now all I need is a "show desktop" for the start ment.
Siginet wrote:Very cool. I like the show desktop idea too. :D
Was just wondering what's wrong with the 'Show Desktop' in the 'Quick Launch' bar. Wouldn't it take longer and be more cumbersome to access it from the Start Menu compared to a simple click from the 'Quick Launch' bar? Ofcourse I do understand that everyone has their own preferences, but I was just wondering, that's all.

Personally, I think a fully functional Icon and/or even the 'shortcut' to the 'Recycle Bin' on the Start Menu is a much better option than 'Show Desktop' on the Start Menu.

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:58 pm

It's just an option.

I'm in the process of getting rid of the default windoze taskbar/quick launch for a combo of Desktop Sidebar and RocketDock. Lots more capable and less obtrusive than the stock windows 'tools', expec if you have a newer 'widescreen' monitor.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:02 pm

OK I got er done now im gonna test the addon

EDIT: Better yet, you test it http://www.mytempdir.com/1161621

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:41 pm

It will be Friday sometime but I will test it and get back ASAP.....

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:12 am

Ok, I've been messing around with this a bit and I have been able to get the context menu working...mostly. hehe

The only problem is the weird way that the Explore function works.
Maybe I am headed in the wrong direction with this.

Code: Select all

; ### [color=yellow]Command Lines for RecycleBin[/color]
; explorer /root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}
; explorer /e,/root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}

; ### [color=yellow]Add Context Menu to SMRB (REG_BINARY) This Breaks the links[/color]
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder","Attributes",0x00000001,40,01,00,20

; ### [color=yellow]Renamable RecycleBin on Start Menu (REG_BINARY)[/color]
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder","Attributes",0x00000001,50,01,00,20

; ### [color=yellow]Include Shell extentions [/color]
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder","CallForAttributes",0x00010001,1

; ### [color=yellow]Fix Properties Option in Context Menu[/color]
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\PropertySheetHandlers\{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}",,0

; ### [color=yellow]Fix Broken Links (Explore seems to open Explore view but nothing else is listed in the folder list[/color]
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Shell\Open\Command",,0,"explorer /root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}"
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Shell\Explore\Command",,0,"explorer /e,/root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}"
Try it out and let me know what you think.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:24 am

Thanx oxco I willl.

OK the show desktop works but the icon sucks, I would not recomend that tweak addon unless you are using VTP or XPize

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:59 am

orcoxp wrote:Ok, I've been messing around with this a bit and I have been able to get the context menu working...mostly. hehe


[Try it out and let me know what you think.
How does one use these in a '.reg' file? I'd like to try this by simply adding these to the registry but based on my limited knowledge of the subject it does nto look like you can simply copy these into a '.reg' file and run it.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:03 pm

U use an INF file and defaultinstall... Simply copy and save this as whatever.inf then right click on it and select install

Code: Select all

[Version]
Signature=$Windows NT$

[DefaultInstall]
OptionDesc ="Registry Entries"
Tip        ="Registry Entries"
Modes      =0,1,2,3
AddReg     =REGEntries.AddReg

[REGEntries.AddReg]
; Reg2Inf v0.37 - http://tinyurl.com/fgqyf
; ### Command Lines for RecycleBin
; explorer /root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}
; explorer /e,/root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}

; ### Add Context Menu to SMRB (REG_BINARY) This Breaks the links
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder","Attributes",0x00000001,40,01,00,20

; ### Renamable RecycleBin on Start Menu (REG_BINARY)
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder","Attributes",0x00000001,50,01,00,20

; ### Include Shell extentions
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder","CallForAttributes",0x00010001,1

; ### Fix Properties Option in Context Menu
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\PropertySheetHandlers\{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}",,0

; ### Fix Broken Links (Explore seems to open Explore view but nothing else is listed in the folder list
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Shell\Open\Command",,0,"explorer ::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}"
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Shell\Explore\Command",,0,"explorer /e,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}"
EDIT: I notice it works better without the /root,
Very nice work oxcpxp... You Rock

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:29 pm

Ok, I'm testing the Show Desktop addon now.

Will the reg entries that oxcpxp dug up be incorporated into the Recycle Bin addon??

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:04 pm

newsposter wrote:Will the reg entries that oxcpxp dug up be incorporated into the Recycle Bin addon??
Yep Updated

Off Topic: You do know newsposter that you cant use both show destop and recycle bin addons together? They use the same reg entries

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:30 pm

Yup, I know.....

And thanks for the quick work on this! As always, much appreciated!

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:38 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:U use an INF file and defaultinstall... Simply copy and save this as whatever.inf then right click on it and select install
Thanks for the reply. Not to sound ungrateful, but is it possible to have these entries in the form that I could use in a '.reg' file to add to the registry. I would like to simply add this to my 'regtweaks.reg' file that I apply via 'cmdlines.txt'. By the way instead of the addon I am currently using the registry settings for this, worked out By 'Cygnus, Tom, VA(s)T & ricktendo64' and posted by 'prx984' at WinCert. Thanks once again.

Thanks also too 'orcoxp' for getting "context menu working...mostly". :)
So now we have:
Right-Click
--> Open <-- Working
--> Explore <-- Working
--> Empty Recycle Bin <-- Most Important
--> Create Shortcut <-- Not Important nor Needed
--> Properties <-- Working
--> Show On Desktop <-- Would be nice to have but not important.

Ofcourse the big one is still to be cracked. Getting the Icon to show Empty/Full depending on the actual state of the 'Recycle Bin'. Although, even in it's current form this thing rocks.
Last edited by Sanjay on Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:49 pm

do the same thing for this icon (in the start menu) that the script for vista drive indicator does (hackish i know)

make an autoIT script that periodically checks if folder (recycle bin) has any content.. if so show full icon.. if not show emtpy..


shouldn't be all that hard to modify the script from that addon as the base (Vista Drive Indicator that is)

not as clean as the way windows does it on its own but it will work


TechnoHunter

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:32 pm

I'm sorry but I don't like the idea of having a script running all the time.

I did mess with some other ways of resolving this...

One RegKey had a folder called "IconHandler" and tried to duplicate it.
But it seems like any reference to the icon is not even needed.
Nothing I did ever seemed to change the icon.

Almost like the command justifies the Icon.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
RaGhul
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by RaGhul » Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:20 am

This is quickly becoming one of my favorites!!

I love the extra space on my desktop. It just makes it feel a tiny bit roomier! :) Microsoft should have put it in the Start menu from the get-go. With this, now you can!!

(I should add that I also use the reg tweak on WinCert for 'already-installed' PC's. Works beautifully!)

[EDIT]
Just read the changelog. Right-click properties!! Nice job, buddy. :D

User avatar
Spiritus
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:59 am
Location: Planet Earth

Post by Spiritus » Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:44 am

ricktendo64 wrote:
Spiritus wrote:One problem, anybody noticed: It always show full on starmenu :(
hmmm are you sure? Check the MD5 hash its probably an earlier addon, if the hashes don't match re download and try it again. I got the same addon with the same hash and it shows it as empty.

This is the line in the addon that tells which recycle bin icon to use, 31 is empty and 32 is full

Code: Select all

HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\DefaultIcon",,0,"%11%\shell32.dll,[color=yellow]31[/color]"
Now the issue get inverse, It always show empty :wink: Let me check newer one...............

Could not download

{EDIT}
PM Ryan He is ready to host this this cute addon
RyanVM wrote:(I do mirror addons for anyone who PMs me with a link and asks nicely ;))

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:30 pm

Links fixed thank you SoKoOLz

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:59 pm

tried the Show Desktop twice today. Both times get the same error when trying to click on the icon in the Start Menu.

Error box pops up complaining about a missing showdesktop.scf in an Explorer directory.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:27 pm

This is for those who might be interested in doing this via a reg tweak either for an already installed Windows or would like to simply add these to the regtweaks.reg which is run via cmdlines.txt in an unattended install. The following works for me perfectly.
I have posted the new and improved registry settings further down this thread. The Regfile settings now include the 'Empty Recycle Bin' in the right click context menu.
PS: The credit for the above tweaks primarily go to: Cygnus, Tom, VA(s)T from WinCert.com and ricktendo64 & oxcoxp.

Code: Select all

;-----  Recycle Bin in Start Menu
; Adds 'Recycle Bin' to Start Menu
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder]
"Attributes"=dword:00000000
;-----


[REGEntries.AddReg] 
; Reg2Inf v0.37 - http://tinyurl.com/fgqyf 
; ### Command Lines for RecycleBin 
; explorer /root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E} 
; explorer /e,/root,::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E} 

; ### Add Context Menu to SMRB (REG_BINARY) This Breaks the links 
HKCR,"CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder","Attributes",0x00000001,40,01,00,20 
I did not use the above as part of my regtweak file and everything still seems to work perfectly fine.
Last edited by Sanjay on Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:17 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:37 pm

Thanks Sanjay for the regfile and attributes info im gonna test it without it and see

EDIT: Sanjay change your bbcode for the regfile from [/quote] to [/code] it should make the box smaller

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:47 pm

@Rick....I also use QUOTE instead because CODE will wrap the text.

@Sanjay...the Attributes line was one or the other...as I noticed the "Rename" part was missing when using 40,01,00,20 rather than 50,01,00,20 and @="" is not required.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
Sanjay
I can't read
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Post by Sanjay » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:11 pm

ricktendo64 wrote: EDIT: Sanjay change your bbcode for the regfile from [ /quote] to [ /code] it should make the box smaller
orcoxp wrote:@Rick....I also use QUOTE instead because CODE will wrap the text.
I also used QUOTE because CODE was wrapping the text due to the smaller box.
orcoxp wrote:@Sanjay... @="" is not required.
I presume you are referring to the following:

Code: Select all

; Adds 'Recycle Bin' to Start Menu 
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}] 
@="" [color=red]<-- DELETE/NOT NEEDED[/color]
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\MayChangeDefaultMenu] 
@="" [color=red]<-- DELETE/NOT NEEDED[/color]

;----- Fix Properties Option in Context Menu 
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\PropertySheetHandlers\{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}] 
@="" [color=red]<-- DELETE/NOT NEEDED[/color]
Thus I am deleting them from my prior post above and ofcourse my own regtweaks file. :)

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Sun Jan 14, 2007 4:30 am

@Sanjay...That's exactly it,

Cheers
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:16 pm

Hey, this works on my Turkish XP. I can open, rename and explore :P
Thanks for your efforts guys. Thats really awesome find.

And I want to report one thing. When I rename it, it appears on desktop with the new name I gave. With an empty recycle bin icon. But when I refresh the desktop, it goes away.
I have the recycle bin icon on my desktop too, but its different.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:16 am

LMFAO... Some MoFo on Winmatrix Edited our names out of the regfile posted on Wincert and claims this regtweak as his own Link

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:51 am

Raise your hand if you think he deserve a good old ping flood!
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:19 am

Not sure if anyone noticed this but just opening the recycle bin gives the address bar showing this:
::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}

I tried it on a fresh install to (because I've done a lot of mucking with my registry) and the same thing was showing.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

Post Reply