[Release] Internet Explorer 7 English w/Updates (v2.0.4a)

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

[Release] Internet Explorer 7 English w/Updates (v2.0.4a)

Postby MrNxDmX » Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:16 am

Here are my Internet Explorer 7 Addons (for Windows Xp SP3 English) with following IE7 updates integrated: KB928090, KB938127-v2, KB956391, KB958215, KB960714.
Addons are compatible with RVMi 1.5.3 and nlite 1.4.9. (No backwards compatibility)

IE7 Addon:
Totally safe. However, this addon replaces a few IE7 files at OOBE. (imgutil.dll, inetcpl.cpl, inseng.dll, mshtml.dll, msrating.dll, pngfilt.dll, webcheck.dll)
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/jryjmwnvna1/NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.4a.7z
Rapidshare Mirror: http://rapidshare.com/files/174406940/NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.4a.7z.html
MD5: 8929DDE401D80A573E952FADCA987CE0 / File size: 9,71 MB

IE7 Alternative Addon:
This addon will integrate all IE7 files directly to your Windows source w/o OOBE.
Download Alternative: http://www.mediafire.com/file/kqo2rmu4yw2/NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.4a_alt.7z (alternative)
Rapidshare Mirror: http://rapidshare.com/files/174408177/NR_IE7en_Addon_2.0.4a_alt.7z.html (alternative)
MD5: 2553965B0C04F5E416E69EC740B6CE57 /File size: 9,34 MB

Changelog:
2008-12-18 v2.0.4a: Added KB960714.
2008-12-15 v2.0.4: Added KB958215 (obsoletes KB956390)
2008-11-08 v2.0.3: Added KB956390 (obsoletes KB953838) & Added KB956391 & Updated KB938127 to KB938127-v2.
2008-09-08 v2.0.2: Added KB953838 (obsoletes KB950759). & Added IE Desktop Icon setting in Folder Options menu in Control Panel. & Removed IE Desktop Restore icon fro start menu.
2008-06-19 v2.0.1: Added KB950759 (obsoletes KB947864). & Added "SP3 WBEM Fix AddOn v1.1" (readding the addon will not create a problem) & Removed some files for more sp3 compatibility (browseui.dll, jscript.dll, shdocvw.dll, shlwapi.dll, vbscript.dll)
2008-05-31 v2.0.0: Full XP SP3 compatibility. No more compatible with XP SP2. & Removed xmllite.dll and custsat.dll from the addon. They exist in sp3 release. & Added IE Desktop Icon, also added a shorcut, Internet Explorer Desktop Icon, to "Start/All Programs/Accessories/System Tools" that will add IE icon to desktop again.
2008-03-06 v110: Full RVMi 1.5.1 compatibility. Removed backwards compatibility. Not compatible with older versions of RVMi 1.5 and RVM Update Pack 2.2.1. & Removed modified IE.inf and IEACCESS.INF files from addons. Now using ExtraFileEdits in order to modify them.


Important Notes:
  • These addons will integrate IE7 into your windows source. Can NOT be uninstalled.
  • Not for use on a running windows installation.
  • Contains "SP3 WBEM Fix AddOn v1.1" in order to prevent possible errors. Re-Adding the Fix addon will not create a problem.
  • Both addon don't contain these files from original IE7 installer: browseui.dll, jscript.dll, shdocvw.dll, shlwapi.dll, vbscript.dll, xmllite.dll. XP SP3 release contains newer version of these files.
  • The alternative addon should be fine, particularly if you prefer to overwrite files and disable SFC with nlite. This addon produces 'setuperr.log' messages about these files (imgutil.dll, inetcpl.cpl, inseng.dll, mshtml.dll, msrating.dll, pngfilt.dll, webcheck.dll). So far, they seem negligible. We're working on it!
  • If you're adventurous, go with the Alternative Addon. Otherwise, play it safe and go with the normal Addon.
Comments, bugs, reports are all welcome. Thanks for your co-operation.

=====
About IE7 tweaks: No tweaks are included in the inf file. You can see this thread for some.
Copy the codes you want, and paste them under "[UserTweaks.AddReg]" in NR_IE7en.inf file. (Its at the end of the inf file.)
For adding IE7 tweaks for ALL users in your system:
  • Add your tweaks normally in NR_IE7en.inf file. (This is for first user.)
  • Open xIE7en.inf file. Add your tweaks in that file too. At bottom of the file, under
    ;Copy & Paste your IE7 tweaks here below.
    [UserTweaks.AddReg]
  • Then search for
    ;AddReg=UserTweaks.AddReg
    and change it to
    AddReg=UserTweaks.AddReg
  • Save and close xIE7en.inf file.
After re-building and using that addon, you will have your tweaks aplied to all users created in your new system.
=====
About IE Desktop Icon:
If you don't want/disable IE Desktop Icon creation, you need to modify these lines in NR_IE7en.inf file only:
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\ClassicStartMenu","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,0
HKCU,"Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,0
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\ClassicStartMenu","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,0
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,0
to
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\ClassicStartMenu","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,1
HKCU,"Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,1
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\ClassicStartMenu","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,1
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel","{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}",0x10001,1
If you don't want the icon for later created users after first user, modify same strings in xIE7en.inf file too.
=====
PS: Do not modify the entries in NR_IE7en.inf file without knowledge of what they do.
Last edited by MrNxDmX on Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:55 pm, edited 65 times in total.
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Postby bober101 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:45 am

did you test this in vm ware by adding it to an win unattended install or did you test it on an alredy installed os in vm ware?
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:50 am

I dont think it will work on an already installed system. This is an addon for adding in i386, not install on a working xp You can try someone elses switchless installer to setup on working xp.

I tested this in vmware, by integrating in xp disc.
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Postby bober101 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:57 am

i ment for testing purpouses,ive found that alot of addons can be run under an exsisting os, but in this case id would have ran ure install .inf file and made it run at runonce to see if it would work.illt ry it in vm ware just for kicks.

edit : oh and i forgot to ask,when u tested it, did it kill the msoobe ? cuz of the iexxx.dll or whats its name file that replaces the old one and skips the oobe part and maybe the runoncex .(sorry i realy cant remember the name of the dll file,it was source of problems in the past as people reported setups being skiped afterward when installing ie7 in t13 .)
XP theme source patcher

patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:08 pm

No, it didnt kill OOBE or runonce. Quick launch works, oobe works, themes works. There is no problem in windows (as i see till now, in vmwre).

You can install normal addons on a working windows, but this one will overwrite existing files in windows, and windows file protection wont allow that. Also, addon is not designed for it. I had wrote in inf file, that it doesnt support DefaultInstall. You should use an exe file for it.

I am not sure about runonce, as i didnt integrate any other files or addons.
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Postby bober101 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:24 pm

ok i understand,my file prrotection is completely disabled,but still it didnt work under an exsisting os, now i will try to integrate it with along with alot of addons,i will post back later to say if it worked or not after the win has installed.(in vm ware) if this works,i may consider trying it on a real install,im due for a format anyways so might as well make it productive!
XP theme source patcher

patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources
the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Postby the_guy » Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:00 pm

A couple of quick suggestions:

1) Move the non .mui files out of your .cab file (I think some of them might be included on the actual xp sp2 cd)
2) Add updates form the hotfix share to your addon (there is only one there currently)

Other than that, this Addon is looking great.

the_guy
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Postby bober101 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:18 pm

ok ive finished testing and all is fine except it disable runonce,but toher than that it work upon first boot to desktop.
XP theme source patcher

patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:38 pm

The IERNONCE.DLL from SP2 can be used in I386 to fix RunOnceEx without any noticeable problems except when checking installed updates with QFECHECK. Replacing the SP2 file with the IE7 version after first logon should restore proper install status afterward, but will break the use of RunOnceEx from that point on.

This change may also make the addon compatible with Ryan's Update Pack. IE7 seems to work well regardless of the IERNONCE.DLL version used.

I have yet to try your addon, NR, but it will be soon. :)
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Postby bober101 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 7:24 pm

but i dotn undertsand why M$ released a file wicth removes the runonceex ability,they must know that this is happening,its not just a fluke.and would it be posible to edit the dll file so it keeps the fonctionality? ive opened it with reshack and im prety sure i could edit it an keep the best of both worlds so the file would pass the QFECHEK and run on its normal dependancies instead of an older version.if im able to do so ill reply back and say its possible.or maybe im just crazy an dit wont work.
XP theme source patcher

patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sat Feb 10, 2007 4:35 am

QFECHECK checks protected files against their CATs. Unless you can successfully forge a Microsoft digital signature, it's not possible. ;)
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:48 am

Thanks for all your replies my friends. I am sorry to say that, it disables the runonce now, i will remove the iernonce.dll file to cab file. Also, in user accounts panel in control panel, icons on the left does not work.
Thats the second bug i know of.

the_guy, i want to use as less dosnet&txtsetup entries as possible. But i will try your suggestion.
I am downloading KB929726 from hotfix share, i will add it too.
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Postby bober101 » Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:36 pm

@5eraph:so i guess qfecheck can be disabled then,and all would work.?
XP theme source patcher

patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:51 pm

QFECHECK.EXE is a DOS program that verifies installed hotfixes. There is no enabling or disabling it. It works from a command prompt. :)

IE7 will work fine either way, as long as you're aware that you'll receive this message when you run QFECHECK:

Windows XP Hotfix Validation Report for \\COMPUTERNAME
Report Date: 2/10/2007 1:52pm

Current Service Pack Level: Service Pack 2

Hotfixes Identified:
ie7: This hotfix should be reinstalled.
User avatar
ahmerkhan
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Postby ahmerkhan » Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:06 pm

MrNxDmX,,,,Great Work....!!

Is This IE7 Addon is WGA FREE or Not?

Did you rename most of the long (Not 8.3 Complaint)Dll files inside IE7 archieve...?
I have to confirm this issue before downloading because mostly i installed windowsXP by using Winnt.Exe from DOS boot...
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:26 pm

Thanks mindcurd, but be careful, its still beta. I am working on improving it, but goin very slowly.
There are some files that are not 8,3compatible in the cab file, also the cat files are not 8,3compatible.

There is no wga validation in this addon, just ie setup checks for it.
And please dont forget the "Beta" title. Working on it.
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:28 pm

You beat me to it, MrNxDmX. :)
User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Postby bober101 » Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:34 pm

ok ,thx for the info on qfe 5eraph.
XP theme source patcher

patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources
LilSpann601
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Jackson MS

Postby LilSpann601 » Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:07 am

cool I installed it using vmware install with no errors just couldn't get the runonce to work
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:46 am

MrNxDmX wrote:...[beta 1] disables the runonce now, i will remove the iernonce.dll file to cab file.

That may not be enough to get RunOnceEx working. If you're determined to use the IE7 version of the DLL then you'll have to replace the SP2 version after RunOnceEx completes at first logon, otherwise it will still be broken. Using a "stock" switchless IE7 installer at T-13 also breaks RunOnceEx.
the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Postby the_guy » Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:57 am

Why not just make a separate installer for the IE7 version of iernonce.dll, and make it the user's responsibility to install the updated file after they have completed their setup?

the_guy
User avatar
MEULC
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:58 am

Postby MEULC » Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:19 am

Put this code in to fix the user account pics.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.ico]
@="icofile"
"Content Type"="image/x-icon"
User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby boooggy » Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:09 am

tried and works ...nice done meulc
User avatar
5eraph
Moderator
Posts: 4441
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Postby 5eraph » Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:59 am

the_guy wrote:Why not just make a separate installer for the IE7 version of iernonce.dll...?

It may be possible to include the functionality in the INF, but it will probably involve using nested RunOnce code to have the file copy from a safe location at second logon.
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:08 am

New addon released. Please test and share your opinions. But dont restart your computer when its prompted while setup. (Dont remember correctly but it was at t13)

Thanks you MEULC for sharing that with us.

the_guy wrote:Why not just make a separate installer for the IE7 version of iernonce.dll...?

5eraph wrote:That may not be enough to get RunOnceEx working. If you're determined to use the IE7 version of the DLL then you'll have to replace the SP2 version after RunOnceEx completes at first logon, otherwise it will still be broken. Using a "stock" switchless IE7 installer at T-13 also breaks RunOnceEx.
I think the runonce is OK now. I tried Rick&Kels vmware tools with the new addon, and it got installed.
The new files (IE7 versions) will be copied after the setup finishes and computer restarts.
User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby boooggy » Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:40 am

MrNxDmX
i invite u for a talk on im.....i have great news
i fixed those errors in setuperr.log
User avatar
MEULC
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:58 am

Postby MEULC » Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:09 am

MrNxDmX, boooggy, it would be great if you are willing to share that solution.

The only problem i'm currently having with my Dutch IE7 Addon, are those entries in setuperr.log
the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Postby the_guy » Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:33 pm

Looks good!

Bug report: In strings section of NR_IE7en.inf, the fourth line in the strings section has the following text
IE7DESC="Windows Internet Explorer 7 Güncelleþtirmesi"
Shouldn't the last word be translated to English?

the_guy
Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Postby Protagonist. » Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:02 pm

Thanks for doing this but it doesn't work so well.

Every time I open up IE it freezes up my computer, 100% cpu usage. I don't know any way to get it to work, I'm having to use firefox now.
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:39 pm

MEULC, please check your pm.

the_guy, thanks for the info. You are right.
Actually its not used in anywhere. I will remove that line with next release.

Protagonist., how can I reproduce that error. I dont see a freezing in Vmware, maybe its because of sth else. Please give more details.
User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Postby DigeratiPrime » Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:51 pm

really looking forward to this addon :)

tested in vmware and I got the following error I think everyone else has.

Image

[edit] the other problem i had was from winnt.sif entry "IEAccess=off".
Last edited by DigeratiPrime on Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Postby Protagonist. » Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:45 pm

I did it on a real install. Didn't tweak/remove anything.

Only addons I put in were update pack 2.1.6, wmp11, calcplus, DX9, and your IE7 addon.

I open up IE7 and the url is http://runonce.msn.com/runonce2.aspx
It says "Customize Your Settings" on the tab, down in the status bar it says 1 item remaining. The screen is blue and it is completely stuck at 100% cpu usage I can't click anything. Have to end the process via task manager.

Also noticed it says "Google" in the search box top-right.
Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Postby Protagonist. » Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:51 pm

Screenshot here:

Image
LilSpann601
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:14 am
Location: Jackson MS

Postby LilSpann601 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:16 am

is there anyway to get the runoonce to work again?
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:01 pm

Dear DigeratiPrime, as written in first post, windows setup asks for restart. Thats required for my addon. But dont restart your computer at t13.

I moved that request to desktop loading with new addon. I mean windows will ask for restart after you first logged in. I'm using such kind of thing for Not Hacking any files in windows cd. That was my goal with this addon, and its reached now. Great thanks to boooggy, MEULC and Nightwolf81 for their kind help.

LilSpann601, it works in beta7, also will work with new addon. You must replace the iernonce.dll file with the one comes with xp disc. Version: 6.0.2900.2180

Protagonist., the addon isn't compatible with ryans pack yet. I havent tried but if I remember correctly, it will cause custsat.dll file to be replaced with wrong one. I am going to work on compatibility. But let me take some breath. (Did lots of tests yesterday and today, more than 13 vmware installs, and I will shoot my computer soon :?)
That google search is a tweak coming with inf file. You can change the search provider.

Now questions for all, do you want any entries in Add/Remove Programs? For showing that ie7 is installed. Or is it cool with nothing in it?
Do you want me to add KB914440 in the addon for good reasons (it will add network diagnostics)?

I didnt remove the mui files out of the cab file, and they are working this way. As I dont want to use lots of dosnet.inf&txtsetup.sif entries, i dont want to remove them out. Any against ideas are welcome :wink:

I will disable all tweaks in it, including the google search. You can enable them easily.
Beta addons are removed. Please be patient, microsoft will release new hotfixes tomorrow. Expect the addon after the release of new fixes tomorrow.
And I am sorry if my addon caused errors on your computer, but you know, they were beta.
Cheers to all.
Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Postby Protagonist. » Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:52 pm

BIG WARNING if doesn't work with addon pack would be nice. :D

But I probably jumped the gun without reading because I've been waiting for an IE7 addon for a long time, so I thank you for doing it.

As far as add/remove programs I would prefer it to be just like ryan's update pack is, so nothing is listed there.

For KB914440 if that is in ryan's update pack then I would say leave it alone or do it so that it is compatible with the update, if not then include it.
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Tue Feb 13, 2007 6:40 am

Thanks for your reply Protagonist. I did an install on a real machine yesterday, with just the pack, and everything was OK.
Then today i did an install with ryans update pack 2.1.6, and no problems occured.
After that, I added boooggy's mp11 vanilla addon, and tested it on vmware too, and everything was perfect.
Microsoft update was listing only dot net packages and KB931125 (RootUpdate).
This was the good news :P

I will open a new topic with some IE7 registry tweaks I found. You can easily add them in the addon's inf file.

Also do you know some sites to test the IE7? I want to know if my addon works with all sites.
Tried Ggoogle, Gmail, Yahoo, Msn, Microsoft Update, Msfn.org, News.com, Infoworld.com, Digg.com, del.icio.us, Ryanvm.net.

PS: Can you remove that pic Protagonist., its too big.
User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Postby DigeratiPrime » Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:00 pm

Just want to say I used the beta version with the following addons and had no issues other than the T13 Restart prompt:

Code: Select all

RVMAddonsDX9_1.1.7z
RVMUpdatePack2.1.6.7z
Kels_NotePad++_v4.0_addon_replacer_Build2.cab
Ricks_Anti-Aliased1.5CursorsAddOn_b2.rar
Ricks_VMwareToolsAddOn1.1.rar
Ricks_VAIOXP-b2r3.4_AddOn.rar
Ricks_VistaRTMSidebar_AddOn_v2.2.rar
Ricks_WinRAR_AddOn_v3.70betaX.cab
Ricks_RecycleBin_SMD_AddOn_v0.4.rar
NR_IE7en_Addon_b7.7z
Kels_BackGroundCMD_addon.cab
RVMAddonsWMP10_3.1.7z
the_guy
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:22 am
Location: PEI, Canada

Postby the_guy » Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:04 pm

@MrNxDmx: Can you revert to the style of the beta 1 addon just for a test to see if the new files from todays patch are better than the ones from the original IE7 update?

the_guy
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Wed Feb 14, 2007 2:08 am

Its good to hear that DigeratiPrime.

Check your pm the_guy.

KB928090 overwrites KB928089. I will work on the addon today.
And it seems some files in ryans update pack must not be overwrited. I will release a different compatible addon for ryans update pack.
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:39 am

New iernonce.dll (v 7.0.6000.16414) works without problems. Will add it directly.
murat184
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:08 am

Postby murat184 » Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:58 am

ooow My friend You are best :D
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5168
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Postby RyanVM » Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:41 am

MrNxDmX wrote:New iernonce.dll (v 7.0.6000.16414) works without problems. Will add it directly.
Heh, I just came into this thread to ask that exact question.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:48 pm

You are always welcome Ryan :)

First version is online. Its tested on Vmware and on a real machine. Runonce working again, no issues till now.
RyanVM update pack compatible version is not ready yet. Maybe I can wait for Ryan release the new pack.
User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Postby DigeratiPrime » Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:26 pm

Thanks MrNxDmX :) Testing...
User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5168
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Postby RyanVM » Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:30 pm

So if MS fixed the iernonce.dll issues with the latest cumulative update, is it possible they fixed the other DLL registration errors as well?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:59 pm

I dont think so Ryan. These 3 are updated by KB928090-IE7, but they give errors again: mshtml.dll, msrating.dll, webcheck.dll
User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Postby DigeratiPrime » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:19 pm

IE7 works fine with ryans update pack for me, cant register those 3 dll's you mentioned though just fyi :)

RVMAddonsDX9_1.1.7z
RVMUpdatePack2.1.6.7z
Kels_NotePad++_v4.0_addon_replacer_Build2.cab
Ricks_Anti-Aliased1.5CursorsAddOn_b2.rar
Ricks_VMwareToolsAddOn1.1.rar
NR_IE7en_Addon_1.0.0.7z
Ricks_VistaRTMFonts_AddOn_v1.1.7z
Ricks_WinRAR_AddOn_v3.70betaX.cab
Ricks_VistaRTMSidebar_AddOn_v2.2.rar
Ricks_VAIOXP-b2r3.4_AddOn.rar
Ricks_RecycleBin_SMD_AddOn_v0.4.rar
User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Postby MrNxDmX » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:25 pm

Thanks for informing DigeratiPrime.
The only issue you will notice is in qfecheck report, it will say that KB925454 need to be reinstalled. Thats not a big deal, though.
I will release a modified addon later for that issue.
User avatar
DigeratiPrime
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:31 pm

Postby DigeratiPrime » Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:37 pm

hmm I just ran QFECHECK and it says "current on system" for me?
Image

[edit] Seems fine in 'WinUpdatesList' too.

ah one other piece of info I forgot to mention was I ignored nLite's IE7 compatibility and removed the "Automatic Updates" service, and all seems normal.

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests