[Solved] Problem installing MS Framework .NET 3.0

Questions about Update Pack making? Ask here.
MFelix
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:53 am

[Solved] Problem installing MS Framework .NET 3.0

Post by MFelix » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:00 am

Hi

I have a problem with installing .NET 3.0 after integrating RVMUpdatePack2.1.8.7z

If I use Update Pack 2.1.7 it workes.

Anyone else having problem with this ?
I have only integrated RVM Upate pack and nothing else !!

First I have verified that it workes to install with an untouched XP media.
Then I have integrated the Update Pack with RVM Integrator 1.4.3. After this the installation of .NET 3.0 stops working.

I have downloaded the installation package of .NET 3.0 from Microsoft.

Anyone got any ideas ?

Thanks

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:11 am

Could be related to KB927891. Do me a favor and do an install with 2.1.7 and install that patch after the fact (it's publicly available from MS), then after rebooting try to install .NET 3.0 and see what happens. If it turns out to be a regression from that fix, I'm sure MS would like to know :)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

DavidKyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: DFW, Texas

Post by DavidKyle » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:20 am

I'm having the same issue with the .Net 3 with the latest integration as well.

the 2.1.7 pack worked great with .Net 3.
the only error log report I have has this one line on it..

filename: dd_dotnetfx3error.txt
[03/21/07,14:03:27] setup.exe: [2] ISetupComponent::Pre/Post/Install() failed in ISetupManager::InternalInstallManager() with HRESULT -2147023293.
I didn't realize this till later in the day.. I have an install CD that install all 3 frameworks after 1st bootup and gives me control on the 4th boot.. that and my account was just activated to post this..

I'm new here so it may be my issue and not a package issue..

DK

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:22 am

Like I said, I'd be very interested in seeing your results with 2.1.7+KB927891

(lol, and for those of you following this whole situation, now you know why I don't like updating msi.dll :P)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

DavidKyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: DFW, Texas

Post by DavidKyle » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:30 am

that knocks me out..

I install .Net 3 before that patch is applied..

It applies fine if .Net 3 is there before.. give me a bit.. I'll try to break the script before it installs .Net 3 and try KB927891 first..

be back in an hour..


DK

MFelix
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:53 am

Post by MFelix » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:12 pm

Ok... I have tried to install WindowsXP-KB927891-v2-x86-ENU.exe before installing .NET 3 and the installation still workes. So it is not that update that mess up the .NET installation

DavidKyle
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: DFW, Texas

Post by DavidKyle » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:24 pm

I got the same results..

I stoppped my script right after it installed the .Net 2 framework..

So I could installed the KB927891 patch, then let the batch files fire back up on next boot up.. The .Net 3 installed fine..

I guess something else is making it quit.. I thought I caught something about XMSML6 on yesterday's trial runs.. but I didnt save that log and reloaded over it now..


DK

BrianAmira
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:00 pm

.NET 3.0 Will Not Install

Post by BrianAmira » Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:39 pm

Add me to the list as well. I was racking my brain over this one all day yesterday. .NET 3 will not install on any system built from the 2.1.8 update pack, but does work correctly with 2.1.7.

I have been unable to generate any useful debug data but wanted to chime in anyways.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:13 pm

1.) So don't use a script. Yeesh, it's not that hard to install something after the fact :rolleyes:.
2.) There's a public changelog on my site. Feel free to install the updates listed one by one until the problem update is found.
3.) MSXML6 actually makes a LOT of sense, and I bet there's a really easy fix. .NET 3.0 installs MSXML6. I'm betting it doesn't like that the version present on the system is newer than the version it's trying to install. Like I said, there's an easy solution if that's the case, though. If you unpack the .NET 3.0 installer, you'll find the MSXML6 installer inside the WCU directory. You can replace the msi file there with the msi for SP1 and I bet you'll be good to go. I've already tested replacing 6.0 with 6.0 SP1 and confirmed that the .NET 3.0 installer doesn't mind one bit. So, try that replacement and see how things work.

BTW, I'm also planning on releasing a .NET 3.0 installer myself soon which will be incorporating MSXML 6.0 SP1 like I talked about here, along with an up to date version of .NET 2.0.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

DotNet 3 install Failure

Post by RickSteele » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:36 pm

Hi RyanVM,

Tried to replace the MSXML 6 with 6SP1 and still no go; but I have the error logs in a cab file if you want them.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:56 pm

Just confirming the issue here as well. Unfortunately the event log is virtually useless as usual. I'm going to give a shot at replacing the msi.dll file in my source.

EDIT: Well that made no difference.

Protagonist.
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:02 am

Post by Protagonist. » Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:45 pm

Same problem here.

Replaced msi.dll file = no joy.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:57 pm

OK guys, I'll see what I can figure out about it.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:13 pm

I figured it out. I added some extra registry entries for MSXML6 in this version to try and get Windows to see it as installed, but they were conflicting with the .NET 3.0 installer. I just confirmed that removing those entries allows it to install just fine.

I probably won't bother posting an entirely new pack for it, but I'll put up an addon shortly which removes those entries.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:19 pm

OK, see if this addon fixes it for you.
http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/files/dotnet3fix_addon.7z (27.7KB)
MD5: 5E7E36984A9D8398E39FD6939B9FBC9F
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
dumpydooby
Posts: 530
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:09 am

Post by dumpydooby » Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:28 pm

Wow, how's that for support?! :shock:

Good man, Ryan. Good man.




I'll test it right now.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:42 am

BTW, I'm making really good progress on the .NET 3.0 installer. I've already got MSXML6 SP1 integrated and I've got .NET 2.0 fully up to date :D
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

elrico
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by elrico » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:04 am

I test a french update pack actually and i got this error too!

If i don't forget something the only new update i integrated (between working or not .net 3 install) is 932590.
(Tesded before with xml6 sp1 and msi update and no problem)

But this can be another issu. I'll test on a fresh XP with only this update and give you news.

Elrico

PS: i forgot a change i made, i take your xml6sp1 reg in the inf, in previous pack i just registered the dll.

EDIT1:
tested on a fressh install of XPsp2 + windows installer +KB932590: all is ok

EDIT2:
tested now with my french update pack and all ok
I just reverted the XML section of inf to (removed all other things):

Code: Select all

HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MSXML 6.0 Parser and SDK\CurrentVersion","PatchLevel",0,"6.10.1129.0"
HKLM,"%RUNONCE%","msxml4",,"REG ADD ""HKLM\%RUNONCE%"" /v ""msxml4"" /t REG_SZ /d ""regsvr32 /s msxml4.dll"""
HKLM,"%RUNONCE%","msxml6",,"REG ADD ""HKLM\%RUNONCE%"" /v ""msxml6"" /t REG_SZ /d ""regsvr32 /s msxml6.dll"""
But don't know if i've got the error of this thread, but anyway if that can help i don't have this kb integrated :
KB925922 , KB929624 , KB932597 and KB932823

Thanks Ryan for your hard work.

User avatar
RogueSpear
Posts: 1155
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:50 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post by RogueSpear » Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:58 pm

RyanVM wrote:OK, see if this addon fixes it for you.
That did it. It's all sorted now.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:07 pm

Great, I'll post a link to it in the main thread then too.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Z3R0-CooL
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 6:03 pm

Post by Z3R0-CooL » Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:32 pm

can someone make a .reg so i can use it on my already installed machine?... i tried inf to reg converter and didnt work........

any ideas?

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:05 pm

yeah just get the reg keys from the inf and manualy put them in using the good old fasion reg edit.

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:24 pm

remove
HKCR,"Installer\Features\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","MSXML",0,""
HKCR,"Installer\Features\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","MSXMLSUPP2",0,"MSXML"
HKCR,"Installer\Features\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","MSXMLSXS",0,"MSXML"
HKCR,"Installer\Features\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","MSXMLSYS",0,"MSXML"
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","AdvertiseFlags",0x10001,0x184
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","Assignment",0x10001,1
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","AuthorizedLUAApp",0x10001,0
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","Clients",1,3a,00,00,00,00,00
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","InstanceType",0x10001,0
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","Language",0x10001,0x409
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","PackageCode",0,"9DCD72B2AF3558846BDC96683218F9C4"
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","ProductName",0,"MSXML 4.0 SP2 (KB927978)"
HKCR,"Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9","Version",0x10001,0x4142671
HKCR,"Installer\UpgradeCodes\3E327EC7B65EC234F942870C0606545A","568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9",0,""
HKCR,"Installer\Features\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","MSXMLSYS",0,""
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","AdvertiseFlags",0x10001,0x184
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","Assignment",0x10001,1
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","AuthorizedLUAApp",0x10001,0
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","Clients",1,3a,00,00,00,00,00
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","InstanceType",0x10001,0
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","Language",0x10001,0x409
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","PackageCode",0,"DE7407CFE6F395A47B7DFAD7A9682916"
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","ProductName",0,"MSXML 6.0 Parser"
HKCR,"Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44","Version",0x10001,0x60a0469
HKCR,"Installer\UpgradeCodes\7AB711B11CB5E91428E0D7F4F314C2B7","5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44",0,""

remove using regedit not sure i justcompared the inf files

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Manually removing in regedit

Post by RickSteele » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:09 pm

jpunit

Tried deleting the values in regedit as you list here=no go, DotNet 3 still won't install; as I've stated before I have the error logs if you want them.

OK, just tried this to try something;

ran msxml6.msi for MSXML 6.0 after deleting the values as above, then ran 030_dotNET30.exe packed by RougeSpear for runonce and DotNet 3 installed without error, but, the Msxml6.dll installed on my system remains 6.10.1129.0 or 6.0 SP1.
Last edited by RickSteele on Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:14 pm

i have rogues spears dotnet 3 sielnt installer and all works fine ,even with the new update pack.but i install it at runoncex.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:48 pm

RickSteele
Go ahead send them I will see what i can find

some one send to me RVMUpPck.inf from pack 2.1.7



Email- johnhuymaier@msn.com

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:55 pm

Try Instaling MSXML

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:00 pm

not to be an ass or anythign but could you resize ure pic in the signature...its quite awfly big,lol i think we can see the zune keyboard in white no need to see it in black aswell. :)
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:01 pm

OKay

User avatar
bober101
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: canadia!

Post by bober101 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:05 pm

56k users thankyou.
XP theme source patcher
patches/overwrites ure default xp visual resources

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:09 pm

jpunit wrote:Try Instaling MSXML
Refer to the edit in my post.

Thanks for the help.

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:12 pm

6.10.1129.0 is the latest if Im not mistaken

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Fri Mar 23, 2007 9:23 pm

jpunit wrote:6.10.1129.0 is the latest if Im not mistaken
jpunit

Tried deleting the values in regedit as you list here=no go, DotNet 3 still won't install; as I've stated before I have the error logs if you want them.

OK, just tried this to try something;

ran msxml6.msi for MSXML 6.0 after deleting the values as above, then ran 030_dotNET30.exe packed by RougeSpear for runonce and DotNet 3 installed without error, but, the Msxml6.dll installed on my system remains 6.10.1129.0 or 6.0 SP1.

I just pasted my post so you would not have to look for it. Yes it is. Also, I emailed the logs as you requested to johnhuymaier@msn.com in cab files along with a brief explanation/summary in the message body. Thanks so much and I hope all helps.

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Fri Mar 23, 2007 10:06 pm

Got it two cabs one error one success

RickSteele
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Post by RickSteele » Fri Mar 23, 2007 11:07 pm

jpunit wrote:Got it two cabs one error one success
This only works if you run the 6.0 msi after the regedit. But 6.0SP1 stays installed-wierd.

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

patch for installed machine

Post by zzzz » Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:57 am

Please Ryan, could you post a patch for an already installed machine?
I've read a few posts above and it seems jpunit's way doesn't work quite well.
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
jpunit
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC

Post by jpunit » Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:20 pm

Delete values then run msxml version 6.0 installer then .net 3.0 it worked for RickSteele

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

Post by zzzz » Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:57 pm

jpunit wrote:Delete values then run msxml version 6.0 installer then .net 3.0 it worked for RickSteele
So I just need to copy your code above (from remove... to HKCR...) and save it as *.reg, and it will remove efficiently?

pc_doctor
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:30 am

Post by pc_doctor » Tue Apr 03, 2007 5:17 am

Did it work, as i am having the same problem, and i have put all the software on. I don't really want to have to rebuild the system.

Thanks

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 04, 2007 12:04 am

It should work. That's exactly what I did to verify that those were the problem entries in the first place. Worked for me ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

Skram
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:14 am

Post by Skram » Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:39 am

I still seem to have problems installing .NET 3.0. I made a new install and didn't integrate any .NET packages, but did include the fix, and after install all the windows updates work correctly except for .NET 3.0. It fails to install with WU. But a manual install still works.

My addons are below:
RVMUpdatePack2.1.8.7z
RVMAddonsWGAN_1.7.18.1.7z
RVMAddonsWMP10_3.1a.7z
dotnet3fix_addon.7z
OEMSCAN_ADDON_Dell_1.3.7z
RVMAddonsDX9_1.2.7z

Any idea what went wrong? I started with OEM Pro SP2.

guru777
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:09 pm
Contact:

.Net 3.0 fails to install

Post by guru777 » Wed Apr 04, 2007 12:31 pm

I always wait to use the latest update packs until after threads like this come out :)


Anyways...... At my company (1000+ computers) I see event logs of .NET 3.0 failing to install all over the place. We use WSUS to push MS updates. I think the silent WU install method of .NET 3.0 just has issues and doesn't always work. A manual install may be the only reliable way to install it!

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

reg file

Post by zzzz » Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:11 am

OK, for those who don't want to remove these registry entries manually (like me :D), copy the following and paste it in a document editor (notepad, word...), and save it as a *.reg file. Then double click on it to run.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Features\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9]
"MSXML"=-
"MSXMLSUPP2"=-
"MSXMLSXS"=-
"MSXMLSYS"=-

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9]
"AdvertiseFlags"=-
"Assignment"=-
"AuthorizedLUAApp"=-
"Clients"=-
"InstanceType"=-
"Language"=-
"PackageCode"=-
"ProductName"=-
"Version"=-

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\UpgradeCodes\3E327EC7B65EC234F942870C0606545A]
"568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9"=-

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Features\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44]
"MSXMLSYS"=-

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44]
"AdvertiseFlags"=-
"Assignment"=-
"AuthorizedLUAApp"=-
"Clients"=-
"InstanceType"=-
"Language"=-
"PackageCode"=-
"ProductName"=-
"Version"=-

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\UpgradeCodes\7AB711B11CB5E91428E0D7F4F314C2B7]
"5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44"=-

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:46 am

Or you can use the greatly simplified version of that ;)

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Features\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\568774731F3A2774DA34AACFB6FC9FF9]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\UpgradeCodes\3E327EC7B65EC234F942870C0606545A]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Features\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\5A6FB34A0F5DAAA4FB1456990536CE44]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\UpgradeCodes\7AB711B11CB5E91428E0D7F4F314C2B7]
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

Post by zzzz » Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:49 am

oh, I didn't know I could remove the whole key. the other guy showed us removing the values only :D.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Sun Apr 08, 2007 9:19 am

Leaving the keys behind (though empty) may have been why some were reporting that it didn't work.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:50 pm

Had to reinstall XP Pro. Used new CD with RyanVM 1.43 and update pack 2.18.

Everything went fine but .NET Framework 3.0 would not install; neither would 3.5 beta. Also got an error message saying MSXML 6sp1 could not be installed - admin policy said so. (News to me - I am the admin)

Reviewed these postings and then I followed the above from zzzz about making a .reg file and merging same. Merge OK and problem solved - .NET 3.0 and .NET 3.5 beta installed.

Now, is MSXML6 and MSXML6sp1 required?

TechnoHunter
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:13 am

Post by TechnoHunter » Tue May 01, 2007 1:22 am

ChiefZeke wrote:Had to reinstall XP Pro. Used new CD with RyanVM 1.43 and update pack 2.18. <snipped>
Reviewed these postings and then I followed the above from zzzz about making a .reg file and merging same. Merge OK and problem solved - .NET 3.0 and .NET 3.5 beta installed.

Now, is MSXML6 and MSXML6sp1 required?
stupid question... why are you using an old update pack.. the fix for that was mentioned/merged/tested with 2.1.9 already..

(slight problems with the mui site and .net 3, but the downloaded version (redist) installs fine with 2.1.9

good luck,

TechnoHunter

ChiefZeke
Posts: 767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Post by ChiefZeke » Tue May 01, 2007 6:51 pm

stupid answer - the fact I used an older update pack has nothing to do with anything.

I was commenting that the fix mentioned in an earlier posting worked.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue May 01, 2007 7:56 pm

ChiefZeke wrote:Had to reinstall XP Pro. Used new CD with RyanVM 1.43 and update pack 2.18.

Everything went fine but .NET Framework 3.0 would not install; neither would 3.5 beta. Also got an error message saying MSXML 6sp1 could not be installed - admin policy said so. (News to me - I am the admin)

Reviewed these postings and then I followed the above from zzzz about making a .reg file and merging same. Merge OK and problem solved - .NET 3.0 and .NET 3.5 beta installed.

Now, is MSXML6 and MSXML6sp1 required?
MsXml 6.0 sp1 is included in Ryan's latest packs (218&219), and if you use it, no need to install msxml again. In 218, there was a fix for msxml issue, and it seems you used the fix, and the problem is solved.

In my tests with ryans or mine turkish update pack (thats based on Ryans update pack) I had no problems with installing .net 3. I tested Ryans DotNet AIO pack and that installed successfully, too.

After installing dot net3, MsXml 60sp1 appeared in Add-Remove Programs, then that makes me think that its reinstalled by .net3. You dont need it but it gets installed. Thats what i think.

Post Reply