disable & remove shortcut to Windows Update

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

disable & remove shortcut to Windows Update

Post by Kiki Burgh » Sun Apr 15, 2007 7:44 am

hi! is there an addon that could allow for Automatic Update (accessed from Control Panel) to be already set to: Turn off Automatic Update (instead of being set to Automatic) and already grayed out so it couldn't be changed anymore? likewise, that Start Menu shortcut for Windows Update would not show itslef anymore ... i know it's possible via reg tweak (or even via winnnt.sif) but i hope it would be thru some addon ... i remember getting it done via addon before but i haven't been able to repeat the task ... i'll try to search & try 1 by 1 which removal addon it was or which specific addon really ... but any help would be appreciated ... thanks in advance! ;)
-KIKI-

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Re: disable & remove shortcut to Windows Update

Post by roirraWedorehT » Sun Apr 15, 2007 2:31 pm

Kiki Burgh wrote:hi! is there an addon that could allow for Automatic Update (accessed from Control Panel) to be already set to: Turn off Automatic Update (instead of being set to Automatic) and already grayed out so it couldn't be changed anymore? likewise, that Start Menu shortcut for Windows Update would not show itslef anymore ... i know it's possible via reg tweak (or even via winnnt.sif) but i hope it would be thru some addon ... i remember getting it done via addon before but i haven't been able to repeat the task ... i'll try to search & try 1 by 1 which removal addon it was or which specific addon really ... but any help would be appreciated ... thanks in advance! ;)
I use nLite to set Automatic Updates to off by default, although it won't "gray out" the options to turn it back on, and I doubt if you'll find any way to do so other than some kind of group policy thing that would completely disable access to the Automatic Updates tab.

I don't know if changing a user account from "Computer Administrator" to "Limited" will do what you want since I've never used a Limited account except at work where it's completely customized anyway, but it's worth a try, or I'm sure someone else on here knows if this will disable access to the Automatic Updates tab. Of course, if you still want the accounts to have Administrator access then that's not a solution.

You can just delete the Windows or Microsoft Update shortcut, although I understand if you want an add-on if you install XP a lot and don't want to have to remember to manually do that every time.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Apr 16, 2007 2:32 am

This tweak will disable the automatic update checking in control panel/automatic updates. But it wont make it grey.

Code: Select all

HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\Auto Update","AUOptions",0x10001,1

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:41 am

MrNxDmX wrote:This tweak will disable the automatic update checking in control panel/automatic updates. But it wont make it grey.
How 'bout gold? Can I have it in gold??? ;)
Last edited by roirraWedorehT on Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:40 am

What ya mean with gold? Do you mean regedit format?

User avatar
roirraWedorehT
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by roirraWedorehT » Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:27 am

MrNxDmX wrote:What ya mean with gold? Do you mean regedit format?
It was just a joke...can't gray it out, how about gold it out? Guess I could've left your registry code out of the quote. :)

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:22 pm

Lol, ok. I got it now. :wink:

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:35 am

ey thanks guys! i do remember though this was possible ... i'm not 100% certain though if it was KTT's Automatic Update removal addon that did the trick ... i wanted try it out once again but download links are down already: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... sc&start=0 ... again, any help would be greatly appreciated :)
-KIKI-

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:24 am

ok kiki im using for this a modified - RVM_MU_DisablerAddon.rar made previously BY MrNxDmX as a tamp-let

test to check if this works for you
http://www.rogepost.com/n/
Last edited by ENU_user on Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:44 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:45 am

thanks ENU_user! i'll be trying it out and report back ... would you be including this in your pack too? ;)
-KIKI-

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:48 am

There's no reason what you want to do can't be accomplished through gpedit.msc (followed by a registry snapshot comparison to see what changed).
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:03 am

hey ryan! thanks for the feedback ... i suppose this caught your eye :) ... i wish to have it done though as preset so when i finish the install i wouldn't have to do so ...
-KIKI-

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:08 am

Hence the registry snapshot stuff I was talking about...
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:11 am

From this link (ain't it amazing what a little googling can find you?):
The policies are accessed in the Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Windows Update node of Group Policy Object Editor.
I think you'll find all the options you need there.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:38 am

thanks sir! i'm reading it now ...
-KIKI-

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:51 am

as i understand the Registry.pol file is the one that collect the current data you feed into GPO
found in C:\WINDOWS\system32\GroupPolicy\Machine\
so is this the file i should back up for once and reload it in copy rename
or
what would be the best method for deploying GPO anyhow s ?

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:55 am

are you guys familiar with the concept of a registry snapshot? You take one before you make the change. You take one after you make the change. You compare the two. You see the registry entries & values which correspond to the changes you just made. It's as simple as that. All GPO stuff lives in the registry.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:01 am

This is what you're going for, right?
Image
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:18 am

lol
i haven't used GPO since sp1
as most are covered under reg tweaks
with new hot fixes coming out, i suppose some produce some new policy's
and so maybe some new reg tweaks can be produced as well ..

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:21 am

yup ... that's it ryan! i'm getting lost in what i've just read .... he! he!
-KIKI-

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:35 am

Everything you need to know I've already told you in this thread. I told you how to open the group policy manager. I told you where to go once you have it open. I told you how to determine the registry entry responsible via snapshots. What more do you need?
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
orcoxp
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by orcoxp » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:58 pm

You could potentially create a Component removal Addon that would just remove the files from the windows CD and remove references to it.
Chris Thomson
AKA OrcoXP

PHP/MySQL/phpMyAdmin 2 & 3 successfully running simultaneously on XP SP3 IIS.

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:24 pm

Except that he doesn't want to remove Automatic Updates. He just doesn't want users to be able to change the settings.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:26 am

I dont like removing windows components, i dont like getting errors about them.
This key is what Ryan was talking about. Credits belong him with direction. I just did a snapshot:

Code: Select all

HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AU","NoAutoUpdate",0x10001,1
And this was previous one, that makes it never check:

Code: Select all

HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\Auto Update","AUOptions",0x10001,1

User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Post by ENU_user » Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:51 am

kiki is talking about the mu and wu shortcuts that are too manipulated in ryans file as an update to the new update engine
so he possibly need to edit it if he wants that bad to get it removed and to conclude i can suggest these:

Code: Select all

[ExtraFileEdits]
RVMUpPck.inf|ProfileItems	=MU.Shortcut<NEXT>||1

[WINNTsif]
Components\RootAutoUpdate = off
Data\AutomaticUpdates=No
there now you got all the options to play with to find what works best for you ;)

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:14 am

thanks guys! cheers! :)
-KIKI-

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:02 am

Kiki, I really hope that you're learning how to find these answers for yourself instead of relying on others to just give them to you. I would have given you the registry entry yesterday, but I felt you would be better served figuring it out for yourself so you wouldn't have to be so dependent on others in the future.
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:24 am

certainly ... i'll dig deeper ... thanks ryan! ;) it's just that i'm only starting to learn how to create addons so just like what you've said i wouldn't have to bother others moving forward for stuff i wish to personalize ... incidentally, would there be an excellent addon-maker tool that you could recommend? i tried a couple but these didn't do what i wished to be done ... likewise, no further updates were made to both ...
-KIKI-

User avatar
RyanVM
Site Admin
Posts: 5189
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by RyanVM » Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:45 pm

I have no experience with addon creator programs. I make my own from scratch ;)
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357

User avatar
Kiki Burgh
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:40 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Post by Kiki Burgh » Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:51 am

then by hand it is! :) thanks sir!
-KIKI-

Post Reply