[Updated] Windows XP Post SP3, UpdatePack v1.0.5

Windows XP Professional Update Pack discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

[Updated] Windows XP Post SP3, UpdatePack v1.0.5

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:40 pm

Windows XP Post Service Pack 3 UpdatePack
Image November 24-2007 v1.0.5
MD5: 92A80253D96591775852D6674F507DD8
Size: 10.6 MB

Credit: UpdatePack is based on the work of the RyanVM UpdatePack, XUDPack by Xable and code65536 UpdatePack AddOn.

Includes:
Adobe Flash Player 9.0.47.0
qfecheck 6.2.29.0
Malicious Software Removal
Microsoft Update 7.0.6000.381
Office Genuine Advantage 1.6.21.0
Office Update Engine 12.0.5525.1000
Windows Genuine Advantage 1.7.59.0
WSUS 3.0
Changelog:
November 24-2007
v1.0.5
- Updated MRT
October 10-2007
v1.0.4
- Un-Stubbed MRT (resulting in a bigger filesize)
October 10-2007
v1.0.3
- Updated WGA 1.7.59.0
- Updated MRT October
October 8-2007
v1.0.2
- Updated Microsoft Update 7.0.6000.381
- Stubbed the Malicious Software Removal Tool (version: 1.32 by code65536)
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Sat Nov 24, 2007 7:02 pm, edited 9 times in total.

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:15 pm

Where's mucltui.dll? And you may also need to install Windows Update Agent 3.
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Aug 11, 2007 6:40 pm

Check the differences in my addons here: http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3617
It will help you for mu.

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:03 pm

Umm, just an idea. Do not edit syssetup.inf. Just use a delete command to delete that link.

SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: Help w/ Post SP3 beta UpdatePack

Post by SHO_GuN » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:04 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:Problem is MU is not detected as installed. (its not the DLL, it registered successfully) I think theres a file I'm missing?
Not sure if this is what ye seek or not .... but to go to MU site and have the next click be choosing express or custom as opposed to having to authorize activeX first, I need to add this registry entry:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Stats\{6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3}\iexplore]
"Flags"=dword:00000004
This isn't my discovery, read it at MSFN originally and again here since, I don't know who to give credit.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:07 pm

code65536 your suggestion did the trick, my SP3 updatepack is functioning

I want to thank MrNxDmX and SHO_GuN also

User avatar
boooggy
Posts: 1297
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Post by boooggy » Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:31 am

page cant be found........

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:26 am

Link and UpdatePack updated...

Not much to show for :oops: so I need you guy's help to tell me what updates I need to add to it. I tested with nLite, not sure how the integrator will handle SP3 because usually it un/re compresses SP2.cab.

Next UpdatePack I'm not gonna edit syssetup.inf to remove the Windows Update shortcut, messes up the signature of the file.
#E360 An unsigned or incorrectly signed file "c:\windows\inf\syssetup.inf" for driver "Battery" will be installed (Policy=Ignore).
What do you guys think, should I edit syssetup.inf? I tried UpdateInis in my INF but this did not work

Code: Select all

UpdateInis=MU.DelShortcut

[MU.DelShortcut]
%17%\syssetup.inf,StartMenuCommon,%windowsupdate% =*

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:09 pm

You can delete with RunOnce (IIRC, this is what Ryan uses...)
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:41 pm

Yea but does not work 100% of the time :P

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:52 pm

I didn't know that the RunOnce thing didn't always work. It's always worked on my installs w/ the RVM Pack... How is it failing?

(BTW, If deleting it from the INF doesn't work, it may be because the INF is run before the menu item is set up. I'm not sure; just guessing.)
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:17 pm

The RunOnce method always works for me.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:33 pm

Deleting it from syssetup.inf works 100% of the time ;), I just don't want to mess with it because its digitally signed

I will move to runonce :)

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:35 pm

ok, so where in a pre-install/unattended setup would this pack be placed??

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:02 pm

newsposter wrote:ok, so where in a pre-install/unattended setup would this pack be placed??
For integration ONLY

Its like Ryans UpdatePack you cant install it on a live machine

newsposter
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:31 am

Post by newsposter » Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:04 pm

to clairfy the question does this pack get integrated after ryans 2.11, after code65536s 2.22.8 update, after dx9 updates, after ???

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:05 pm

No this pack is used on a slipstreamed windows XP SP3 (no RVM Updatepack or code65536s AddOn)

EDIT: Also add Dx9 (not sure about Dx) IE7 and WMP11

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:17 pm

no rick it contains 3180 dx files so the dx is prolly not needed.

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:12 am

I notice you're already at v1.0.1, ricktendo64. You seem to have made good progress already, but please keep us informed by providing a Changelog. ;)

User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by Siginet » Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:01 am

The integrator should work fine with this. It does not only expand sp2. It reads the layout.inf file to determine the service pack. So it should know to expand sp3.cab.
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software

User avatar
runningfool87
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:43 pm

Post by runningfool87 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:05 pm

ok im still a little confused...wont SP3 beta eventually "time out" and stop working? would it be better to use rvm update pack with code65536's addon, or use SP3 beta with rick's addon? or does it even matter...?

ronmanp
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:19 pm

Post by ronmanp » Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:32 pm

to be safe use sp2+rvm pack + code65536 pack

using beta's has always some risk

f0rbez
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:02 pm

Post by f0rbez » Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:34 pm

After doing an install with SP3 + RyanVM + code65536's pack, theres a few updates that are still newer.

KB933360: August 2007 cumulative time zone update for Microsoft Windows operating systems
Windows Script 5.7

These updates will NOT install on SP3. SP3 is detected and the update is stopped. However, file versions are newer.

You'll probably want to include these, since it won't be an option under SP3.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:53 pm

Dude why would you use RVM updatepack and Codes on SP3?

And thanks for the links, I think tyer ARE needed

EDIT: No they are already included.
Last edited by ricktendo64 on Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
code65536
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:58 pm
Location: .us
Contact:

Post by code65536 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:00 pm

Erm... both KB933360 and WS5.7 are already in SP3-3180. The only reason f0rbez needs them is because he overwrote huge swaths of SP3-3180 w/ old pre-3180 code. :lol:
My addons: CmdOpen - HashCheck - Notepad2 - MS Runtimes - DirectX

Into the breach, meatbags!

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:10 am

Yep I can just confirm that

f0rbez
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:02 pm

Post by f0rbez » Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:33 pm

You obviously didn't even bother to check the file versions. Here.. I'll explain for you.

wscript.exe in SP3 = 5.7.0.16533
wscript.exe in WS 5.7 = 5.7.0.16535

Not a large build change, but they are different. KB933360 actually is build 3180 so disregard that.

Still, I was only pointing out that these updates are newer. If you don't want to include them, I don't care. I don't need them included because I already put them in myself.

And no I did not overwrite SP3 files. I clearly explained what I did and that I was doing it for my own testing purposes. I don't see the problem in using the latest available file versions.

Last time I try to help out. :)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:53 am

Yea thanks... Updated v1.0.2

ocp1000
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:55 pm

Download link isn't working

Post by ocp1000 » Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:33 am

Hello,
It seems that the sokoolz link isn't working :(.
Any chance of fixing the download link ?

Thanks,
John

User avatar
JurgenD
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:20 am

Post by JurgenD » Sun Sep 02, 2007 5:20 pm

Thanks Rick going to grab me this SP3 Update pack :)
Image
ıllılı.ıl.lıılı -=Deviantart=- ıllılı.ıl.lıılı

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:18 am

TextSetup complains:

Unable to find opuc.dll

Near as I can tell, it's there in the update and opuc.dl_ exists in the i386 folder, but nadda.
(verified MD5 hash, naturally and even redownloaded just to make sure.)

The only INF that contains it is SP3UpPck.inf. Nothing in dosnet though txtsetup has it. But it's listed in the entries.ini to be in dosnet_files. But it's not making it in. I don't know why, but no opuc.dll in dosnet.inf.

Also, bit of a nitpick. But Signature=$Windows NT$ should be Signature="$Windows NT$".

Should also say, that the installation doesn't seem to care that it cannot find this file. System works and is stable, once I changed my media from the cdrw I was using originally.

*edit*
Just discovered, NONE of the files that do not already exist in dosnet are being added to it from this update pack. Going to check on the Integrator forum to see if this is a problem with beta23.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:19 pm

Code: Select all

[dosnet_files]
d1,opuc.dll

[txtsetup_files]
opuc.dll     = 100,,,,,,,1,0,0

[i386_compress]
rvmtemp\extracted\opuc.dll
Also, bit of a nitpick. But Signature=$Windows NT$ should be Signature="$Windows NT$".
I use the INF file thats generated by Reg2Inf (it had it like that without quotes) Windows never complained, but I see why you prefer it it ;)

BTW MS update in this is still outdated in the updatepack... I'm waiting for the official SP3 beta to be released. I hear good things about it, like IE7 and WMP11 might be included :D

SHO_GuN
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Post by SHO_GuN » Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:54 pm

ricktendo64 wrote:I'm waiting for the official SP3 beta to be released. I hear good things about it, like IE7 and WMP11 might be included :D
No such luck, IE6 SP3 and WMP9.

I extracted this update pack, updated the MRT version, overwrote the MU files with the files from Code's RVM Update Pack, and added the 3 dll's from KB941202 and KB933729, integrated the newly released IE7 without any updates and Booogey's WMP 11 via nLite and all was clear at Microsoft Update.


EDIT: FYI, the new IE7 does require KB938127 and KB939653 when installed with SP2. I didn't try with these hotfixes slipstreamed, but if I try to manually install them I get an error message saying "Setup has detected that the Service Pack version of this system is newer than the update your are applying. There is no need to install this update."

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:15 am

If you are going to modify syssetup.inf in the addon, add the following:

Code: Select all

[HexEdit]
;SP3
I386\SYSSETUP.DLL|5.1.2600.3180|211753|73|72
To the entries.ini file to remove the signature verification.

Once SP3 goes live, I'll update my patch addons accordingly. Though if anyone seriously needs beta's for the 3180 files, I can accomodate.

User avatar
Zacam
Moderator
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by Zacam » Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:40 am

Scratch the above. I've created some patch addons for SP3 builds 3180 and 3205.

SP3PatchFiles.7z
MD5: 28B5CB9D6E343A40BF7BA80F4F42D1D6

TCP/IP: 100
UxTheme: Use Unsigned Themes
SysSetup: Inf Verification Skip
SFC_OS: Disable SFC.

Disposing of USBPort Patching and Disable OOBE. Once SP3 goes final, it will all be in my regular patch files.

SubCon
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:01 pm

Is the project abandoned?

Post by SubCon » Sat Nov 24, 2007 10:18 am

The link doesn't work..

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sat Nov 24, 2007 7:02 pm

Try now

User avatar
DizzyDen
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:47 am

Post by DizzyDen » Wed Nov 28, 2007 5:06 am

Rick, if you update this for build 3244 note that the files in WSUS 3.0 are older than in that build, so they will need to be removed or a check added to prevent overwriting older files.
You Can't Get, If You Won't Give
YCGIYWG

User avatar
redxii
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:50 pm

Post by redxii » Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:20 pm

The files downloaded by visiting WU/MU are newer and will be downloaded anyway. All the 5.*.3790.3244 versions are chucked for the 7.0.6000.381 versions (7 is greater than 5).

flawd
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 10:06 am

Post by flawd » Tue Jun 03, 2008 3:54 pm

Is this still being updated? The link in the first post is dead.

Edit: Nevermind, I found the other post about it.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Wed Jul 09, 2008 7:26 pm

Can somebody delete or at least unpin this?

Post Reply