[Tool] PEChecksum v1.4 - modifype replacement

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

[Tool] PEChecksum v1.4 - modifype replacement

Postby n7Epsilon » Mon Sep 03, 2007 10:52 am

ModifyPE doesn't seem to work on Vista, so I made one that does. It also supports fixing checksums on x64 executables (don't know if modifype supported that or not).

Source + Binary (in "release" folder):
Download from SkyDrive
MD5: 4A0DFAD754F21466038C4C7BBD25D41B

Exit Code (errorlevel):
2 - Usage error
1 - Failed due to an error (error message written to console)
0 - Success

* Changelog:
v1.4
- Small bug fix, now returns a proper error message instead of "[6] handle is invalid."

v1.3
- Recompiled application as unicode.

v1.2:
- File modified time is now no longer changed when fixing its checksum (but last access time is not preserved).
- Fixed a compiler warning.

v1.1:
- Checksum printed on screen in hexadecimal instead of decimal
- Improved check for non-PE files.

v1.0:
- Initial release
Last edited by n7Epsilon on Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:33 am, edited 12 times in total.
OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

[Tool] PEChecksum v1.2 - modifype replacement

Postby OuTman » Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:02 pm

n7Epsilon, just tried your new tool PEChecksum.exe, sounds interesting (you might want to create a new discussion thread about it)

the major problem with modifyPE is that you can't specify input file path, you have to run modifype from folder where input file is.

however, using these 2 tools, the displayed checksum isn't the same... can you explain me why? ex:

modifype notepad.exe -c -v reports me "checksum is 000147F7"
pechecksum -p notepad.exe reports me "checksum is 85887"
User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Postby n7Epsilon » Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:06 pm

000147F7 is 85887 written as a hexadecimal number :-)
OuTman
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 6:40 pm

Postby OuTman » Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:20 pm

(slap myself :oops:) just checked, that's right, thanks for the quick reply... it was too easy to find... re-slap myself... :lol:

however, as this tool intends to be a modifyPE replacement/successor, you might display checksum by default in hex format (as modifyPE does), and add a command-line option (for example "-d") to display checksum in decimal format :wink:
User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Postby ENU_user » Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:43 pm

in the aspect of speed concern will you consider making a version of PEChecksum that will run without any reports or console or using switches will do
so it can run fluently and for many files in a time .. then everyone can start using it as from now .etc
any more switches to this ?
well done!
User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Postby n7Epsilon » Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:46 pm

you can just add >NUL in your batch file. It cannot be optimized more than this.
User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Postby n7Epsilon » Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:59 pm

Released version 1.2
User avatar
ENU_user
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:42 pm

Postby ENU_user » Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:11 pm

was 100% sure that the (last access time is not preserved) feature was already in with the previous.

i should have checked this before updating some tools ..
anyhow 's thanks for the updates

cheers
User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Postby n7Epsilon » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:29 pm

Released v1.3
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:36 pm

Hey can this handle multiply selected files? Can I add this into my uberpack?
User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Postby n7Epsilon » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:43 pm

Multiple selected files, no, since this is a cmd application. You are free to write a batch file with a for loop however. Sure, you can include this application in your pack but keep up with the updates :-).
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Postby Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:56 pm

heeheheh
User avatar
n7Epsilon
Moderator
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Postby n7Epsilon » Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:35 am

Released v1.4, fixes [6] Handle is invalid and shows a proper error message instead.
Dibya
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:34 am
Location: India

Postby Dibya » Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:35 am

VOILA WORKING

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest