[Release] TweakUI Control Panel Extension

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

[Release] TweakUI Control Panel Extension

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:07 am

Here is one with just the TweakUI CPL.

Image

Size - 77 kb Hash = EC26573E2CAA394FC80F560F4C6FDEA8
Last edited by Kelsenellenelvian on Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:00 am, edited 8 times in total.

Jondar
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:06 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by Jondar » Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:02 am

@Kel:

I had the opportunity to test a fresh install of XP, with this addon integrated. It installed fine, but there was a minor problem with the Control Panel applet component of this pack.

When opening Control Panel, there was a "Missing File" icon. When you double click on it, you get an "Error opening file for reading: C:\Windows\System32\Tweakui.cpi" error.

Running a search for the missing file revealed the problem, a misspelt filename, the *.CPI file was installed as "TWEAUKUI.CPI" (note the extra "U"). I renamed the file to what it should be, and the problem was solved.

After a little bit of investigating with TXTSETUP.SIF, I found a typo in the line that references TWEAKUI.CPI. There's an extra "U" in the entry (making it TWEAUKUI.CPI

Hope this information is helpful in fixing the (admittedly minor) bug.

BTW, can you reveal how you've been creating these additional Control Panel applets from existing programs? I'd love to see one for REGEDIT if at all possible. At the moment, I put a shortcut to the program in my "Administrative Tools" folder, it works but an icon in the proper Control Panel would be brilliant...! :-)

--Jondar

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:11 pm

LOL ok thanks I will fix it...

Vista
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:02 pm

Post by Vista » Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:37 am

Kelsenellenelvian, have you fixed the problem. and the MD5 Hash is wroing

cybpsych
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:33 am

Post by cybpsych » Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:19 am

control panel extension should be .CPL not .CPI ??

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:25 am

Trust me it works and there is both a cpl and cpi file in there.

Vista
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:02 pm

Post by Vista » Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:16 am

the MD5 Hash is wroing

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:22 am

Man I keep forgeting to update those when I make a change. THANKS!!

unreal
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:48 am

Post by unreal » Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:47 pm

so you install this aswell as the app or?

Im confused!

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:17 pm

This is the whole app it adds an entry in your control panel for tweakui.

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:39 pm

Uh-oh, I am getting an error installing this on Win2000 using this version 1.1. Hash for the cab file checks out OK, any idea what this error message means:

Image

:(

This is lines 6797-6799 from my txtsetup.sif file, if that helps:

Code: Select all

TweakUIx.cpi = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0,Tweakui.cpi
TweakUI.cpl = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0
TweakUI.EXE = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0
Oh I forgot to add, that I used this exact same addon in my last 2003 server build and it installed and runs AOK.

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:54 pm

Uhmmmm just wondering? It seems like you are trying to rename this file during install, so should that top line be:

Code: Select all

Tweakui.cpi = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0,TweakUIx.cpi
Last edited by Mrs Peel on Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:37 am

The .cpi file that's being used is not using an 8.3 naming convention is why you're getting that error...
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:43 am

Who the hell taught you how to count? TweakUIx.cpi <--- EIGHT LETTERS!!! and THREE Extension letters!

That make 8.3...

User avatar
DisabledTrucker
Posts: 822
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.
Contact:

Post by DisabledTrucker » Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:59 am

Sorry it was the upxshell I was thinking of...
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

[url=mms://wmc1.liquidviewer.net/WNOR]WNOR FM-99[/url] The best station in the world!

User avatar
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:02 am
Location: Aotearoa
Contact:

Post by Mrs Peel » Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:46 pm

U ... P ... X ... S ... H ... E ... L ... L


1 ... 2 ... 3 ... 4 ... 5 ... 6 ... 7 ... 8


:shock:

MarcJ
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:42 am

Post by MarcJ » Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:36 am

I've ran into a problem that I can't figure out with this update. I can't get the it to appear in my control panel. The exe is getting installed just fine but no link in CP. I looked in the registry and there are no references in HKCR to CLSID D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17. I used nLite to integrate and all of your other updates work fine like ClearType and DirectX CPL. Not sure what the deal is with this one. It's probably something on my end but I just can't track it down.

TiMiN8R
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 9:41 am

Post by TiMiN8R » Mon Mar 20, 2006 9:47 am

I'm having the same problem, tweakui doesn't show up in control panel. I am able to access it through the Run dialog though, so it's there and installed, just not in control panel. Am using Dutch XP Pro with dutch update pack 1.2, integrated with RVM Integrator 1.22. It's not a big deal, just not how it's supposed to be I guess.

User avatar
OtherworldBob
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:51 pm
Location: Pompey

Post by OtherworldBob » Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:42 pm

Thanks for the add-on, TweakUI functions just the way it should.

But like the others there isn't a link in the Control Panel, I'm using RVM Integrator 1.22 on a XP Home source.

Keep up the good work Kel. :)

vultron
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:07 pm

Post by vultron » Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:07 pm

And for my second post...

Ok I think I have tracked down the problem. It looks like the entries in the TweakUI.inf are incorrect. I have manually added the right entries to my registry and TweakUI appears in my Conrol Panel. However, I'm not sure or the syntax of the .inf file to correcly add the registry entries :?:
Question

These are the correct entries. Cut and paste that into a file (ex. tweakui.reg) and run it and your're all set. Kelsenellenelvian I hope this helps you and you can update the .inf file. Thnx again for the great addons



--------------------------------------------


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}]
@="TweakUI"
"InfoTip"="Starts the TweakUI program which customizes advanced options in Windows"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\DefaultIcon]
@="%SystemRoot%\\\\System32\\\\tweakui.exe,0"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\Shell]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\Shell\Open]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\Shell\Open\Command]
@="C:\\windows\\system32\\tweakui.exe"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\ShellFolder]
"Attributes"=dword:00010001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ControlPanel\NameSpace\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}]
@="Add TweakUI to Control Panel"

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:17 am

Updated with the fixed reg entries. Thanks vultron.

vultron
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:07 pm

Post by vultron » Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:14 pm

np. i will test the updated pack when i get a chance.

User avatar
rytukz
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:43 am
Location: Lithuania

Post by rytukz » Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:43 pm

For me don't work - no icon in control panel

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:53 pm

rytukz wrote:For me don't work - no icon in control panel
Well the only potential problem I can see is this.

Code: Select all

[Optional Components]
TweakUI

[TweakUI]
OptionDesc
bla bla
AddReg  = TweakUI

[TweakUI]
REG HERE
As anyone can see there could very well be a problem with two sections with exactely the same name, haven't tried thou.

Hope it helps. Thanks for release!


Edit: It doesn't installs using [DefaultIntsall] anyway. It's a section problem. Easy to fix, just rename one of 'em.
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

Post by zzzz » Tue May 09, 2006 5:37 pm

How do you fix it? What did you rename?

User avatar
Aserone
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Opioid dependent head.

Post by Aserone » Tue May 09, 2006 6:13 pm

zzzz wrote:How do you fix it? What did you rename?
It might be what I posted before, or that the .inf file is copied with "_x" by txtsetup.sif but it's actually compressed.

Will fix both these and upload in a moment.

Edit: hehe, when I downloaded now I see kel already updated silently with the "fix". ;)

Will edit the ini in a bit and upload. Use if the current version kel released won't work for you either. If it does, use it!

Temp download: DELETED
MD5: EC26573E2CAA394FC80F560F4C6FDEA8
SIZE: 77 KB

All credits to Kel. Changed to copy inf to "%windir%\inf", installs reg entries using "sysoc.inf".

Should work nearly guaranteed, i'm a little sleepy. ;)
Last edited by Aserone on Wed May 10, 2006 3:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Tue May 09, 2006 6:56 pm

Thanks asorone it is now uploaded.

zzzz
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 3:44 am

Post by zzzz » Tue May 09, 2006 8:30 pm

Thanks. It works now :-).

User avatar
Wesmosis
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:53 pm

Post by Wesmosis » Fri May 12, 2006 9:41 am

thanx

spinik

TweakUI.exe missing after installation...

Post by spinik » Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:51 am

Hi!

I made myself a new WinXP ISO using RyanVM integrator. I streamlined SP2, added RyanVM Pack 2.1.3, DirectX 9.0c, WMP 10 and... TweakUI CPL 2.1.10. I thought that it should add TweakUI to Windows but there was a problem: right after the installation, I found a Control Panel item "TweakUI" but when run it asked me to choose a program to run it with... I tried searching the Windows directory and "TweakUI.exe" was nowhere to be found. So I've installed TweakUI manually.

I just want to inform you of this problem. I am a big fan of this TweakUI addon but it seems that something went wrong here, but what...? Who knows...

J.

krash56
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:19 pm

Post by krash56 » Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:22 pm

I'm having a problem as well. It makes the .exe file and the .inf file but I'm not getting any cpl or cpi file when I integrate this addon.

User avatar
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator
Posts: 4380
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: Pocatello, ID
Contact:

Post by Kelsenellenelvian » Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:38 pm

it is all done through registry entries m8. No .cpl or .cpi files in this one...

krash56
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:19 pm

Post by krash56 » Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:33 pm

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:it is all done through registry entries m8. No .cpl or .cpi files in this one...
But it doesn't show up in my control panel, what am I doing wrong?

mrmr
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:42 am

Post by mrmr » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:03 am

download link is gone

zilan
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:49 am

Post by zilan » Tue Sep 15, 2009 2:20 am

you can use Kels CPL Mega Pack v9.6

Code: Select all

http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6871

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests