[Tool] iepid v0.1.0 : for IE7 Addon makers

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
Post Reply
User avatar
kal
Moderator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:23 pm
Location: Paris/FRANCE

[Tool] iepid v0.1.0 : for IE7 Addon makers

Post by kal » Sun Aug 24, 2008 2:03 pm

iepid v0.1.0

Requested by ricktendo64 to dynamically add windows productid to ie7 (funcion that was missing), I coded this little tool that will do the job. You can launch it at T13 and it will copy ProductID value contained in
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion
to
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Registration
Licence : GPL

iepid v0.1.0
MD5: A797E876CA93C6B5F053F99673E54BB6
Size: 36KB

iepid Delphi Sources v0.1.0
MD5: D58C9DB3DF71ECE2393EFC41B4E04C9B
Size: 3KB

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Sun Aug 24, 2008 2:22 pm

SWEET!!! In case any non IE7 addon makers are wondering this is what it adds/fixes

Image

Edit: 100% tested and working during t13

User avatar
MrNxDmX
Moderator
Posts: 3112
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:33 am

Post by MrNxDmX » Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:48 pm

Nice one buddies.Will add it to my ie7 addons.

User avatar
kal
Moderator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:23 pm
Location: Paris/FRANCE

Post by kal » Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:34 am

I just found that this utility is, in fact, totally useless :lol:
Indeed, Windows Setup copy the registry key around T-30. We just need to be sure to not override it with our AddOn, and all wil be fine :)

Cheers,
Kal

User avatar
Stimpy
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Stimpy » Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:34 am

Please forgive my possible stupidity, but what does this actually achieve? Is this a cosmetic fix, or something else?

User avatar
kal
Moderator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:23 pm
Location: Paris/FRANCE

Post by kal » Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:15 am

See the screenshort ricktendo64 posted : that's what it fix. But I found it's not necessary as Windows Setup program copy the needed registry key around T30.

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:32 pm

Here is the low down:
If you extract the IE7 installer and look at update.inf you will see the addreg entries use a special variable

Code: Select all

HKLM, "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Registration","ProductId",0x00000000,%ProductIDCode%
During install it runs a process that sets the ProductIDCode variable

Code: Select all

[DynamicStrings]
...
ProductIDCode = CustomFunction,iecustom.dll,GetProductIDCode
iepid.exe simply reads the pid from your registry and adds it to another location in the registry for the IE7 about dialog box

If you have an old OnePiece IE7 addon you will see a PID in your about dialog but notice it does not match your PID in the WMP11 about or Windows My Computer Properties

User avatar
5eraph
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Riverview, MI USA

Post by 5eraph » Fri Aug 29, 2008 4:04 pm

Does it harm anything if the numbers do not match?

User avatar
kal
Moderator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:23 pm
Location: Paris/FRANCE

Post by kal » Fri Aug 29, 2008 4:35 pm

No idea... Maybe it's needed for WGA things... But it's better to have it, it doesn't hurt ;)

User avatar
ricktendo64
Posts: 3213
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:27 am
Location: Honduras

Post by ricktendo64 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:23 pm

No it does no harm at all...I used to use <not available> instead of a pid

Post Reply