[Addon] Windows Media Player 11 for XP/MCE/2k3 3.4.5

Discuss & post Update Pack addons here.
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

[Addon] Windows Media Player 11 for XP/MCE/2k3 3.4.5

Postby yumeyao » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:43 am

Windows Media Player 11
For Windows XP/MCE/2k3, Last Updated 2011/6/29

Description:
    This addon will replace your Windows Media Player Component in your windows installation CD with its contents.

    Why your first release is V3? Check this post.

    Why do you release another WMP11 Addon as boooggy and onepiece both do good job?
    I have workd on an addon including Windows Media Player 10 and Windows Media 11 Runtimes, therefore i only need to modify a few to create this addon.
    This addon has all the features listed below:
    1. Compatibility with XP/MCE/2k3 in one Addon. for 2k3, M$ does not install skins but this addon does.
    2. Obsolete files are removed. They are either utility to migrate DRM stuffs or a file with several KiloBytes which is used to overwrite the old file.
    3. Addon structure: File Copy and Registry handling are system-like.
    4. A working MTP on Windows 2003, both their WMP Integration solution can't offer this.
Contents:
Credits:
Download:
Notes:
  • On a Windows XP SP2/MCE2005 source, KB908536 and KB894871 or any hotfixes that supersede them are required. Make sure you have proper UpdatePack/Hotfixes integrated.
  • Integrate this addon on a source without any other people's WMP addon.
  • Known Issues:
    • On Windows 2003, MTP driver is not signed, so that you should follow the wizard and click on "next" to install driver for your MTP devices.
Changelog:
  • Version 3.4.5 - 2011/06/29
    Added KB970159.
  • Version 3.4.4 - 2010/10/12
    Added KB2378111.
  • Version 3.4.3 - 2010/09/14
    Added KB975558.
  • Version 3.4.2 - 2010/09/02
    Fixed an issue created in V3.4.1 that MP3 files could't get played.
  • Version 3.4.1 - 2010/08/12
    Preserved l3codecx.ax, for it is needed in some very rare situations.
  • Version 3.4.0 - 2010/07/16
    Updated WMP11 to 11.0.5721.5262, replaces KB928788, KB929399, KB929773, KB932390, KB933547, KB935551, KB935552, KB939209, KB939683, KB941569, KB944882, KB952069, KB954069, KB954154.
    Re-worked WUDF component(which installs MTP drivers).
    Minor other fixes, including an removing entry for Windows 2003, and several dummy file fixing for smaller final size.
    If you also use my IE8 addon, please update it to latest too.
  • Version 3.3.3 - 2010/06/09
    Added KB978695, replaces KB968816.
    Minor fix on shipped MP3 encoder/decoder.(l3codecp.acm)
  • Version 3.3.2 - 2010/01/16
    Added KB974905.
  • Version 3.3.1 - 2009/12/10
    Fixed an issue that Media Sharing Service is not registered properly.
    Fixed an issue which prevents Taskbar Mini-Player from being registered.
  • Version 3.3.0 - 2009/10/17
    Tweaks updated.
    Fixed an issue when a non-admin user initializes first logon, error message "INF error" pops.
    Added KB954155.
    Excluded strmdll.dll from this addon because it causes digital signature issue.
    Fixed winnt(32).exe based install issue on windows server 2003.
  • Version 3.2.1 - 2009/09/10
    Added KB968816.
  • Version 3.2.0 - 2009/08/21
    Added KB954069.
    Added KB973442, replaces KB954067.
    Added KB973540, replaces KB959772.

    Fixed the issue of integration by nlite. Now this addon can work as expected no matter it is integrated on XP or 2003, by nlite or RVMi.
    setuperr.log issue fixed by adding dll files with empty DllRegister Function.
    Fixed MTP related WUDF service's installation again, to avoid conflicts.
    Adding some files to [FileFlags] of txtsetup.sif to avoid failure of copying file on winnt.exe(or winnt32.exe) based install.
    Removed an useless registry entry which is intended to overwrite old WMP 10 service(wudf01000).
  • Version 3.1.1 - 2009/03/25
    Added KB943604, which contains updated files of KB911564, KB925398 and KB954600.
    Fixed an error I created during maintenance that 2k3 complains about missing files, leading to installation failure.
    Fixed an issue that KB959772 was not accepted by Microsoft Update.
  • Version 3.1.0 - 2009/03/15
    Added KB959772, supersedes KB959199.
    MTP issue fixed.
    Fixed an issue if integrated upon my wmp10 addon, catalogs for wmp10 not removed as expected.
  • Version 3.0 - 2009/02/08
    Initial release.
Last edited by yumeyao on Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:22 pm, edited 44 times in total.
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sun Feb 08, 2009 12:14 pm

out. post #2 reserved.
Image
My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
mr_smartepants
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Postby mr_smartepants » Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:12 pm

Wow, thanks yumeyao.
Image
Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:21 pm

Nice! Thanks a lot. :)
Image
--Siginet--

Techware
Your Virtual Technician
Computer Management Software
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:02 am

i'll put an updated version later today.......
dammmmmmmnnnnn i always make mistakes in inputting with my laptop keyboard.........
a typo causes MTP devices installation issue(due to Windows User-mode Driver Framework not registered properly)......

---------edit-------
there should be something other than typo.....
only fixing the typo won't fix the whole thing....
will keep working on it........
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
trippinferret
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Lakewood, N.S.W. Australia

Postby trippinferret » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:27 pm

Thanks for the hard work.
kaitsevaim
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:30 am
Location: Estonia

Postby kaitsevaim » Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:28 am

problem with the addon using nlite (if thats allowed)

Image

wpd.inf is missing
Most important question is why and everything begins of your choice
haklav
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:36 am
Location: Netherlands

Subsequent problem with the addon using nlite

Postby haklav » Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:18 pm

I also get the error message with nLite posted by kaitsevaim. Subsequently, I get 3 other related error messages:
- Error while extracting file wpd.inf!
- Missing file: wpd.inf. Fatal error.
- wpd.inf not saved!
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sun Feb 15, 2009 10:56 am

sorry for any inconviences to you. I should have explained it.
As I talked, 2k3 doesn't have wmp skins installed, therefore 2k3 doesn't have skins.inf and doesn't execute this inf file. Samely, xp doesn't have wpd.inf but 2k3 have this file because 2k3 sp2 includes wmp10(and wpd is a new component for wmp 10). As a result, in order to make this pack xp/2000/2k3 compatible, I can use NEITHER of these two infs to install its component, and i must DISABLE them. nLite will report wpd.inf issue on xp and skins.inf issue on 2k3.
The issue is not a fatal error and is by design.

This issue can be simply solved if i just use a dummy skins.inf and a dummy wpd.inf in this pack, rather than disable them by editing. but this will introduce a new issue, we put wpd.inf to xp source, or we put skins.inf to 2k3 source, resulting unnecessary files...
However i'll consider this solution in next release.

Now this issue (may) only affects if you use an unattend integration process(i.e. AutoImage, PowerPacker, etc.). for human-attended process, you can just click on "OK" and omit it.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
Siginet
Site Admin
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby Siginet » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:40 pm

in the integrator you are able to specify files which are supposed to be specific to XP Home, XP Pro or 2003.

At least... that was my plan. As you may know you can place files in an updatepack/addon inside of a "HOME" folder to specify files for XP Home. Or a "PRO" folder for XP Pro. But I think I also implemented a "2003" folder as well. This is useful if you have addons like this which need to be specific depending on what Windows OS it is integrated to. Remember you can place any info in these specific folders. Even extra Entries files. ;)

i plan on expanding into this idea much more in future releases of the integrator as well... which I have spoken about in the past in the RVM Integrator developers forum.
Image
--Siginet--


Techware

Your Virtual Technician

Computer Management Software
kaitsevaim
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:30 am
Location: Estonia

Postby kaitsevaim » Sat Mar 14, 2009 2:55 am

One question if u please...will this addon work with MCE2005? If not..could you make it compatible or maybe another verstion? :wink:
Most important question is why and everything begins of your choice
User avatar
DaRk MaDnEsS
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 4:15 pm
Location: Port Said,Egypt

Postby DaRk MaDnEsS » Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:05 am

well as i can see

it`s already for mce (For Windows XP/MCE/2k3)
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:33 am

yeah, it's compatible for MCE 2005.
i'll release an updated version later today, with MTP devices issue fixed, and a new hotfix.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:43 pm

updated. i encountered an issue which turned to be all my fool....
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
ChiefZeke
Posts: 766
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Victorville, California

Postby ChiefZeke » Sun Mar 15, 2009 7:13 pm

Good job - thanks for the hard work.

Should be checking it pretty soon. :D
kaitsevaim
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:30 am
Location: Estonia

Postby kaitsevaim » Mon Mar 16, 2009 1:16 pm

oh sry i didn´t notice that...i need glasses :P This must be a silly question, but why does microsoft update say...Windows Media Player (for Windows Media Center Edition) . In my opinion it should mean that XP Pro or Home and MCE 2005 Media Player 10/11 are not entirely the same or how must i understand it? :?
Most important question is why and everything begins of your choice
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Mon Mar 16, 2009 7:37 pm

they are same, in any degree.

The only reason why M$ release a version of WMP(for MCE) is because Media Center is intended to be updated to support new features introduced by WMP11. Once you download the full pack through catalog.update.microsoft.com, you'll get to see two installers. One of them is just same as legency WMP 11 installer, and another is an update for MCE.(i don't remember what KB number it is)
However, if you apply roll-up 2 for MCE, you won't receive this specific update. So you only need my WMP 11 Addon + MCE Roll-Up 2 to keep your MCE up-to-date.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
kaitsevaim
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:30 am
Location: Estonia

Postby kaitsevaim » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:18 am

yeah understood...the problem is that i cant find the MCE Roll-Up 2 addon anywhere, only MCE component addon for XP Pro which is a huge file. The hotfix (KB900325) wont integrate that MS offers. OK! There should be another thread for it, so...let it be.

PS! You could send me a link to that kind of addon if u find any... :)
Most important question is why and everything begins of your choice
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:17 am

To be honest... sure it's possible to make a MCE component update addon - true addon. but it requires to update the user's cmpnents folder... for MCE specific files... extracting mediactr.cab then recabbing it is also required. Thus it may be a little bit annoying to do this. and M$ doesn't allow people release such an addon containing MCE component if we just make an addon with updated mediactr.cab...

so if you don't mind, you can run KB900325 at T-13(svcpack.inf), using switch /q.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
kaitsevaim
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:30 am
Location: Estonia

Postby kaitsevaim » Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:39 am

i said it wont integrate, at least with nlite, also via svcpack. Maybe with RVM integrator it does, i dont know. Updated mediactr.cab is a very good idea. I hope thats allowed if i understood you right. Here are all kinds of update packs...why cant we make a component update pack? I´ll do a request thread soon. 8)
Most important question is why and everything begins of your choice
JaSai
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:11 am

Postby JaSai » Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:19 pm

It's a very nice addon. How to localize this addon to other language windows?
kaitsevaim
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:30 am
Location: Estonia

Postby kaitsevaim » Tue Mar 24, 2009 2:40 am

hey yumeyao! KB959772 still shows up in Microsoft update. I integrated the hf manually after this addon and now automatic updates is happy :) . So...i guess there are some missing entries or something about the versions of the files updated by the hotfix. Could you please verify?
Most important question is why and everything begins of your choice
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:35 am

I'll review it tomorrow. I have a lot of homework to do today. Thanks.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
superleiw
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:22 am

Postby superleiw » Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:27 pm

thanks for this
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:55 pm

updated.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
*Reaper*
Posts: 594
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:01 am

Postby *Reaper* » Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:57 pm

Nice work....

One quick question.....

I know they used to say integrate IE7 before WMP 11....

Now that IE8 is out....

Does this require any particular order of integration?

IE8 first, then this etc.....

Thanks for all your work.... It is very much appreciated!
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:43 pm

I never heard the saying of "integrate IE7 before WMP 11"...
I can tell, there wouldn't be any conflict between IE and wmp, at least, i think both onepiece's and sereby's IE8 addon can be integrated with this addon without worrying about order.

for me, since i've just finished my IE8 addon, so my order is somehow like "WMP 11 before IE8"..... but, this is not intended, you can see.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
wolfsoul
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 9:28 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby wolfsoul » Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:13 pm

OK bit late and maybe feeling stupid.. but is this nlite compatible..
Each time I try it it gives that error kaitsevam had..

Edit..
Actually I see you already explained what's wrong with it so nevermind sorry
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:11 am

updated.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
wolfsoul
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 9:28 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby wolfsoul » Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:52 am

The error is gone thnx.. nlite has no probs with this now
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:42 am

updated.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
zilan
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:49 am

Postby zilan » Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:52 pm

thx yumeyao
sittingduck77
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:38 am

Postby sittingduck77 » Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:50 am

Thanks for this, yumeyao. However, when I have the addon installed and I choose to view a video file in fullscreen, moving the mouse around causes a flickering of both the mouse cursor and the control panel at the bottom. When moving the mouse into the control panel, the flickering stops, but I don't recall a "normally" installed WMP11 to flicker these places when moving the mouse around in a fullscreen environment. Is this something that is fixable (if it is indeed cause by the addon). Thanks.
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:09 am

run regedit, browse to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\MediaPlayer\Preferences, then deletes value FSControls_ControlsTimeout, FSControls_CursorTimeout and FSControls_MoveSpeed.

It'll be fixed, or behavior-optimized in next version. thanks for feeding back.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
sittingduck77
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:38 am

Postby sittingduck77 » Sat Sep 19, 2009 8:01 pm

Thanks. I think I've found another problem. If I open a video and then close the player again, I can't delete the video afterwards. It's like WMP doesn't "release" the file, and I have to reboot in order to be able to delete the file. Anyone else get this?
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:26 pm

I don't think so. It must be Windows Explorer's video preview, that prevents you from deleting it.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
User avatar
wolfsoul
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 9:28 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Postby wolfsoul » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:52 pm

This addon's been working for me great lately Thnx
User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby beats » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:58 pm

@sittingduck77, here's a fix:

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
;Fix Windows Explorer video preview quirks
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{87D62D94-71B3-4b9a-9489-5FE6850DC73E}]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\SystemFileAssociations\.avi\shellex\PropertyHandler]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.avi\ShellEx]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.mpg\ShellEx]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.mpe\ShellEx]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.mpeg\ShellEx]
AudiG
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:09 pm

Postby AudiG » Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:14 pm

So, it looks like I'm the only dumb one here :) I thought I read this through but I'm missing something. I was planning on sliptreaming this with nlite. Do I actually just need to copy all of the files from the zipped file into i386 (and needed subfolders)?
User avatar
beats
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:11 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby beats » Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:22 pm

No. In nLite, select "Hotfixes, Add-ons & Update Packs"; then select "Insert" and browse to the location where you saved yumeyao's WMP11 addon.
sittingduck77
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:38 am

Postby sittingduck77 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:58 pm

Thanks, beats! I'll give your fix it a try.
adric
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

KB968816

Postby adric » Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:04 am

When installing XP with integrated SP3 QFE Update Pack (user_hidden) and checking the system with Autopatcher, Iit indicates that KB968816 is installed . When I install the updatepack including your wmp11 addon , Autopatcher indicates KB968816 is not installed. Any idea why this is so?

edit::
I also noticed that the KB968816.cat file from WMP11 and the QFE UpdatePack KB968816.CAT are not identical.

Thanks, Al
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:44 am

updated.

@adric
it's not kb968816.cat that causes this issue. I think it's because of AutoPatcher's update checking method. Try Windows Update for a precise check.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
adric
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Postby adric » Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:33 pm

yumeyao wrote:updated.

@adric
it's not kb968816.cat that causes this issue. I think it's because of AutoPatcher's update checking method. Try Windows Update for a precise check.


@yumeyao

From what I have been able to determine, one of the checks Autopatcher uses, is to see if the .cat files for that fix both have the same md5sum. If they do not, Autopatcher will assume that the installed fix is an older version than what it has downloaded from msoft. and not flag it as installed.

I would still like to know why your .cat file for that fix is different than the one that comes from msoft.

Al
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:28 pm

ok, I see. My cat IS from M$, only that it may not comes from enu branch. But in fact all updates in different languages share same file here, it's because the cat files signs update.inf so they differ.

BTW, does autopatcher stop asking you for it after you have replaced the cat file?
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
adric
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Postby adric » Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:06 pm

yumeyao wrote:ok, I see. My cat IS from M$, only that it may not comes from enu branch. But in fact all updates in different languages share same file here, it's because the cat files signs update.inf so they differ.

BTW, does autopatcher stop asking you for it after you have replaced the cat file?


I 'm not sure. I will try replacing the .cat file and md5sum it has with yours and let you know, but I need to do a new install since I've been doing some tests installing from usb and I recently wiped my SP3 partition, so I may not have an answer for you right away

Al.
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:55 pm

a hard test(200+MiB of downloading at 10KB/s and the AutoPatcher Updater cracks again and again) result:
yes you are correct. I'll put the english KB968816.cat in next release.

BTW, I see many updates are reported as missing by autopatcher(I have my WMP Addon + user_hidden's Update Pack integrated), and most of them are obsolete or unappliable(requiring certain situations), so why are you still sticking to this one?
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)
adric
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:51 am

Postby adric » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:28 pm

yumeyao wrote:a hard test(200+MiB of downloading at 10KB/s and the AutoPatcher Updater cracks again and again) result:
yes you are correct. I'll put the english KB968816.cat in next release.

BTW, I see many updates are reported as missing by autopatcher(I have my WMP Addon + user_hidden's Update Pack integrated), and most of them are obsolete or unappliable(requiring certain situations), so why are you still sticking to this one?


I only use autopatcher to do some cross-checking after installing addons and update packs. I also like to have all MS update files in one place without having to go online in case I need to install something that is not on my system

I too noticed updates being reported as missing, but after checking them, I decided they were not needed and left it at that.

Al
StarChild
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:44 am

Postby StarChild » Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:59 pm

This addon has a similar issue as the OnePiece addon, at least before he fixed it.

The OnePiece addon had Media Sharing that did not work.

This addon has Media Sharing that cannot be enabled.

Other than that the addon installs aand runs fine.
User avatar
yumeyao
Moderator
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:24 pm
Location: Taiyuan, Shanxi, PR China

Postby yumeyao » Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:26 pm

@StarChild
[s]can you write a simple guide on how to test it? thx.

and you may try extract WindowsXP-MSCompPackV1-x86.exe from WMP11 installer, then install it, to see whether it fixes this issue.[/s]


EDIT:
after reading wmp help, I know how to enable it. Yes the issue exists.

EDIT2:
installing WindowsXP-MSCompPackV1-x86.exe won't fix ths issue. I'll work to see the reason later.

EDIT3:
I found the solution.
click on "start" -> "run", type

Code: Select all

regsvr32.exe /s "%programfiles%\windows media player\wmpnssci.dll"
and hit return.

then click on "start" -> "run", type

Code: Select all

"%programfiles%\windows media player\WMPNetwk.exe" install
and hit return.

Obsolutely I'll update this addon to fix this issue asap. thanks for your feedback.
Image

My work list(Hosted by dumpydooby)

Return to “Update Pack Addons”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests